the-value-machine-pic

The Value Machine – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of The Value Machine and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:   -14 points
Strike Rate:   14%  
Bank Growth:   -6%
Cost:  £7 for first 14 days then £57/month or £147/quarter 
ROI:   -1%
Average number of bets:   12 per day
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

The Value Machine – Full Review

 

The Value Machine is a piece of software that finds value bets for horse racing. 

It does this by looking for instances where the bookies’ price for a horse is above that on Betfair. As Betfair has been shown in numerous studies to be a perfect market – i.e. to predict accurately the chances of a given horse winning, then in these instances the bookies must be wrong.

The software is very easy to use. You just open it up, click on the afternoon or evening’s selections and they are produced instantly for you.

Then it is just a case of placing the selections, which can take a bit of time as there are on average over 10 selections per day.

We had high hopes for this coming into our trial, as the system on which it is based – the Morning Value Service – had amassed over 3,500 points of profit over five years.

And certainly the logic to it seems sound.

However, unfortunately over our trial, we made a loss of 14 points to the best available bookies price.

That was over the course of more than 1100 bets, so a massive sample size!

At Betfair SP, the results were worse, with a 45 point loss being made. 

And taking the best available Betfair price at the time selections were generated did not seem like a tenable option, as that made a 66 point loss over the trial.

It was disappointing to have made a loss, but of course it may just have been that we hit it at a bad time. Indeed, early on in the trial we went over 100 points up, so clearly there is potential here.

You can see how things went in the profit graph below:

As you can see, we were in profit for most of the trial but went on a huge losing streak towards the end, dropping over 100 points. 

However, more worrying for us is the actual viability of this system.

During the trial, we had our Stan James account closed, which we had for over 10 years and had not even been limited before.

We also had another account limited, which was frustrating.

This problem did not seem limited to us either, as we were contacted by other users who said they had lost bookie accounts when using this.

It is possible that the bookies see people who are using this as arbers, as in theory when the Betfair price is above the bookies’, it could be an opportunity to arb.

Or perhaps they just someone who is exploiting value.

Either way, the bookies really don’t seem to like this and that presents a significant problem for users.

There are of course always steps you can take to try and keep your bookie accounts open, but it is not an ideal situation.

So overall, unfortunately we are not able to recommend The Value Machine at this time and award it a NEUTRAL rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are a large number of bets to place, so you do have to allocate some time to placing the bets, say around 20-30 minutes per day. 

Availability of prices:  As mentioned above, this is a big concern. A fair proportion of the bets come from just one bookie and it often Stan James. However, Stan James are likely to close your account if you place lots of these bets with them. Using Betfair SP does not appear, on the basis of our trial, to be a viable angle to long-term profit. So you may have to make do long term with taking with taking slightly less than the best available price in some instances.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was low at just 14%, which is quite a bit below what is stated on the website, i.e.  17%. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 250 point betting bank is advised, which we think is about right. From the high to low, we experienced around a 120 point drawdown, so about half the bank. Anything less than a 200 point bank would be at risk of going bust. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £7 for the first 14 days then £57 per month or £147 per quarter.  

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

We had high hopes coming into our trial of The Value Machine and early on it looked like those hopes were being richly fulfilled, as we went over 100 points up.

Sadly though, a slide then set in and we ended up 14 points down at best available prices.

That was disappointing, but what was more worrying was that we had bookie accounts closed as a result of placing these bets, one of which we had held for over 10 years. We also received reports from other users of the same thing. 

The bookies are likely to think you are either arbing or exploiting prices at least, so you are at risk of losing accounts when using this system.

We may well have just hit this at a bad time and no doubt results will pick up for them over time. Indeed, we think the logic of the system is sound.

However, with slight concerns over bookie account closures, we think a NEUTRAL rating is the only fair verdict here. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

13th December 2016

The tough times continue for The Value Machine, with a further 36 points lost since our last update.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +34 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: -17 points
  • Betfair SP: +19 points

You can view full results here.

So we have lost a large portion of the substantial profit we had build up earlier in the trial and the recent slide has been a little troubling to say the least.

But hopefully things will turn around shortly and we will be back to winning ways. It can’t come soon enough!

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th November 2016

A very tough run for The Value Machine since our last update, with 40 points lost at advised prices.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +70 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +22 points
  • Betfair SP: +57 points

You can view full results here.

It’s been a very up and down trial, with some great runs followed by some long losing streaks. However, being 70 points up is still very good going, so we have to take the rough with the smooth and look at the bigger picture here.

Talking of pictures, the other one that is emerging here is that taking the best available Betfair price when selections are generated is not a good option, with it now being nearly 50 points behind the advised prices.

So it seems that if you want to use Betfair, then using Betfair SP is a much better option.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th November 2016

More fantastic profits for The Value Machine over the last week. 

We have gained another 41 points profit at advised prices since our last update. 

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +110 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +71 points
  • Betfair SP: +94 points

You can view full results here.

We had high hopes for the Value Machine coming into our trial and it has certainly not disappointed. The results have been superb and one of the best trials we have seen here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Let’s just hope they open it up soon to all those members who want to join.  

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

15th November 2016

There has been an improvement for The Value Machine – a piece of software for betting on the horses – since our last update a couple of weeks ago, with 19 points profit made at advised prices.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +69 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +39 points
  • Betfair SP: +53 points

You can view full results here.

So still ticking along nicely at about the half way point of our trial. 

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

1st November 2016

The downtrend has continued unfortunately for The Value Machine over the last week, with another 10 points lost at advised prices.

Overall though things have still been very good, with a month’s worth of bets now accumulated.

Here are the totals for the trial so far:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +50 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +24 points
  • Betfair SP: +41 points

You can view full results here.

The best price available at the bookies is still leading the pack at 50 points up, followed by BSP at 41 points up and the Betfair price at the time of the selection coming in last at 24 points up. 

An excellent first month overall, let’s hope for more of the same over the rest of the trial. 

Another warning though that there is a real risk you will have bookie accounts closed if you use this – we have had reports of this from a few members. 

Kieran says he is going to put up a section on the Value Machine website about keeping bookie accounts open, so watch out for that. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th October 2016

There has been something of a correction for The Value Machine since our last update a week ago. 

They have dropped 23 points at advised prices, which was perhaps due as things couldn’t really have gone on in the same incredible way they started.

But overall things have still gone very well so far. Here are the updated totals:-

  • Bookies Price Taken: +59 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +41 points
  • Betfair SP: +48 points

You can view full results here.

One significant thing to mention however is that we were contacted by a member this week who said his Stan James account had been shut down – not just stake-limited, but actually shut down – as a result of bets placed using The Value Machine.

That is a significant problem because a large percentage of the bets The Value Machine generates are with Stan James.

To be honest though, we are not that surprised this has happened and we think there is a real risk bookies will close your accounts if you are using this. The bookies have software that can track betting patterns such as that generated by using The Value Machine.

So that is why we are tracking prices available at Betfair and Betfair SP, to see if the service is still profitable without relying on the bookies.

On that front things are looking good so far, but it is too early to draw any conclusions.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

18th October 2016

The Value Machine continues to produce excellent results, adding further profit since our last update a week ago.

Here is where we are now after two weeks:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +82 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +68 points
  • Betfair SP: +75 points

You can view full results here.

Quite outstanding results so far and good to see it is working very well at Betfair so far too.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

9th October 2016

It’s been an excellent start to our trial of The Value Machine, which is living up to its pre-launch billing.

This is software that finds value horse racing selections at the click of a button. It is the same process as that used by the Morning Value Service, which has made over 3,500 points profit in 5 years.

For the purposes of this review, we are recording selections at the best price available at the bookies when selections are generated, the Betfair price available when selections are generated and Betfair SP.

Here are the results to one point level stakes after one week of the selections:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +66 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +54 points
  • Betfair SP: +67 points

You can view full results here.

Superb stuff so far, couldn’t have asked for much more really.

There are lots of selections, with 160 bets after just one week, so you need to have a bit of time available to place the bets. 

Although to date the results suggest you could just use Betfair SP, which would save quite a lot of time. 

The Value Machine is closed to new members for the moment, but we understand Kieran may reopen it to a restricted number of new members at some point, depending on how prices hold up etc.

You can get your name down here to be contacted if it does reopen.

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

UPDATE – We have just heard that The Value Machine will be closing its doors on the evening of Tuesday 4th October – so if you want to join up you must do so before then!

You can sign up for a 2 week trial for just £7 here.

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – New Review

One of the first betting systems we reviewed here at Honest Betting Reviews was the Morning Value Service, which is run by a guy called Kieran Ward.

It’s a service we’ve followed personally for a long time and is without doubt one of the best systems we have ever come across.

It finds value bets on the horse racing and has made just short of 3500 points profit in 5 years of operating, which equates to over £70,000 profit to just £20 stakes.

We have followed the selections ourselves for two years and can verify that the results are completely genuine and accurate.

The main problem with the Morning Value Service however was that in order to protect prices, Kieran had to limit membership to a very select number of people.

Plus membership was very expensive, at £400 for 3 months. 

However, now he is releasing the tools behind the money-making machine that Kieran has used so successfully over the last few years and at a much lower cost.

It is a piece of software called The Value Machine and it promises to be very special. It is being released at 12 midday GMT on Friday 30th September, but you can get your name down before then to get a copy here.

Basically – as the name suggests – the software generates bets that have inherent value in them.

The great thing about releasing this as a piece of software is that it will mean people will not all be choosing the same bets at the same time, as selections will change depending on the odds over the course of a day – but the inherent value will remain the same.

And as we say, it will be much cheaper than the Morning Value Service. 

Kieran is offering an initial trial for 2 weeks for just £7, followed by £57+VAT per month, so you can get a feel for the software before deciding if you want to proceed.

If the software could match the results achieved by the Morning Value Service, then it would be an awesome betting system and could generate profit month after month for its users – as the Morning Value Service has done.

We are going to be giving the software a full trial here at Honest Betting Reviews to see how well it works.

We are excited about this one – certainly all the contact we have had with Kieran suggests he is honest, hardworking and upfront and we understand a lot of effort has gone into developing the software to be the best it can possibly be.

So let’s hope we have uncovered another gem here – only time will tell of course. 

We will provide regular updates on how the trial progresses.  

In the meantime you can check out the Value Machine here – from 12 Midday on 30th September. 

 

first favourite logo

First Favourite – Nine Month Update

We completed a six month trial of horse racing tipster First Favourite back in October and gave it a neutral rating.

We agreed to continue monitoring the service to see if results picked up and to update our review periodically on how things were going.

So after nine months we thought it would be a good time for a quick update.

Well the good news is that it has been a very good three months for First Favourite since we completed our trial.

They have made a solid 7 points profit in that time to level stakes, bringing their total profits since we started proofing the tips to 3 points profit overall.

Using their compounding approach and taking the profits at the end of each month and resetting the bank, you would have made £837 profit over the last three months starting with a £1,000 bank.

There have been 15 bets over the last three months, with 11 of those winning, a very decent strike rate of 73%.

This is very much a service for the patient investor who is prepared to build their bank gradually over time. If you have that patience, then this could the service for you.

We are pleased to progress they have been making and if the current form continues then First Favourite should be well on its way to a passed rating. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Final Review

13th October 2016

We have reached the end of our six month trial of First Favourite and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:   -4.45 points
Strike Rate:   52%
Bank Growth:   -0.3%
Cost:  £47+VAT
ROI:  -0.1%
Average number of bets:   2 per week
VERDICT: NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

First Favourite – Full Review

 

We have given First Favourite – a horse racing tipster – a six month trial rather than the usual three months, as there are a very low number of bets, so we wanted to get a proper look at the service.

So after six months of tipping, how have they done?

Well, we are pretty much back where we started, at £4 down to £100 stakes at advised prices – so very close to break even.

Below is the profit graph for the trial:

As you can see, things were going quite well midway through the trial, but unfortunately dipped later on. 

At Betfair SP things were a little worse, at -£339.

The results seen during our trial were quite a bit below those achieved prior to the trial. In 2015, there were apparently 12 winning months out of 12. 

The good news is the workload is incredibly low here, with just 2 bets per week.

This kind of selective betting will not be to everyone’s taste – some people will want a larger number of bets to get their teeth stuck into rather than the “slowly, slowly, catchy monkey” approach taken here.

But certainly the results during the trial have not been bad and break even is deserving of a neutral rating in our view.

If results pick up over the coming months, then an upgrade in rating may be appropriate.

Until then, the jury’s out on First Favourite.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Tips are sent out early in the morning of racing, so plenty of time to get the bets on. As we say, with an average of just 2 bets per week, the workrate is incredibly low here. 

Availability of prices: Prices do tend to steam in somewhat by the off, so it is advisable to get your bets on as soon as possible after tips are sent out. However, we generally found prices were readily obtainable so you should be able to match the advised prices as long as you have a few bookie accounts still open.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 52%, which is a little below the long term strike rate of 55% and may explain the results being a little worse than normal as well.  

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank was advised, but we used a 1500 point bank when using 100 point stakes for each bet. 

Subscription costs: Subscription costs are £47 + VAT per month.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

First Favourite is a horse racing tipster that takes a very selective approach to tipping, with just two bets per week on average.

After a six month trial, we have finished pretty much level from following their tips.

So we feel a neutral rating is the only reasonable verdict here for the time being. Hopefully results will pick up over coming months for them. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

12th September 2016

It’s been a good month for First Favourite since our last update, with 137 points of profit added at advised prices.

That means they are now 229 points up overall for our trial at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have added 43 points profit to sit at -104 points overall.

As we have said before, this is a slowly-slowly catchy-monkey service, with a low bet volume and a gradual approach to building a bank.

We have now been following the service for five months, so will be looking to wrap up the review next month. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

14th August 2016

Unfortunately there has been a bit of a downturn for First Favourite since our last update.

Sadly they have dropped 395 points at advised prices, bringing them to 92 points up for the trial as a whole. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a similar story, with 453 points lost since our last update to sit at -147 points for the trial overall.

It is a shame they have hit a sticky patch as it had a cracking run from mid-June to mid-July, but hopefully it is just a blip and normal service will be resumed shortly.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

17th July 2016

First Favourite has been on a fantastic run of form since our last update, with eight of the ten bets over the last month winning.

That means they have added 476 points profit to stand at 487 points up for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP the results have also been good, with 364 points profit added over the last month to stand at 306 points profit for the trial overall.

We have also been monitoring the advised prices closely and can say that the prices are generally widely available and do not disappear within a short time as you see with some other services, which means you should be able to match the results at advised prices if you have bookie accounts.

The other thing worth noting is that the longest losing streak for First Favourite this year has been just two bets! 

That is quite a remarkable statistic and I don’t know if I’ve ever seen that before. Just shows the level of consistency and means this is a very easy service to follow – it doesn’t seem to have the rollercoaster experience you get with some other services. 

So overall very impressed with First Favourite so far and let’s hope things continue in the same vein.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

17th June 2016

First Favourite are still in profit for our trial – but only just.

When we did our last update a month ago, they were 165 points in profit at advised prices, where as now they are 11 points up, so a decline of 154 points since last time.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, the total so far is 58 points down, so a little bit worse than the advised prices.

As we have said before, this is very much a selective service with a low number of bets per week, but the long-term record is strong and justifies such an approach.

Anyway, let’s hope things pick up a bit by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

19th May 2016

Well normally after a month of a trial we have lots to report but things have been quiet for First Favourite to say the least!

As we said at the outset, this is selective betting. But it has been very selective so far, with only 5 bets advised.

You can view full results here.

The good news is that the selective approach is paying off so far, with three of the five bets having been winners, with a profit of 165 points accrued to 100 point stakes.

You can see the effectiveness of the service, with 15 of the 16 months so far having been profitable. It is slow steady bank building, which is quite a nice way of doing things.

Anyway, we will update things in about a month’s time and see if things are still going strong.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – New Review

19th April 2016

We have just come across a horse racing tipster who we think has great potential and are quite excited to be trialing here at Honest Betting Reviews.

The tipster in question is called First Favourite and is run by a guy called Mel Gee.

There are two things in particular that interest us about this service.

First up is the high strike rate. We have written elsewhere about the importance of strike rate in betting systems, but in short the reason is that having a high strike rate means you can use larger stakes and build a bank much more quickly. 

Plus losing streaks tend to be much shorter, thus making it easier psychologically to follow the service.

First Favourite claims to have a strike rate of 55%, which is a fantastically high strike rate to be able to achieve a profit at. 

That means over half of bets have been winners! That’s what we like to see.

The second thing we like about this service is the level of consistency. Apparently in 2015 there were 12 winning months out of 12, which is remarkable going.

The three years previous to that were also profitable, although it doesn’t say to what level.

Now the only thing we would say is that this is a selective service, so if you’re looking for loads of bets every day then it might not be your thing.

But as we are always keen to stress, at the end of the day it is the amount of profit in your bank account that really counts rather than the number of bets and on the profit front First Favourite certainly seems to have delivered so far.

The good thing is there is a 60-day no-quibbles money back guarantee, so if it doesn’t turn out as hoped we can always get a refund.

So with much anticipation we will get the trial underway and let’s hope we can see some great profits accumulated over the next few months.

Back soon with our first update on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out First Favourite here.

 

 

racing investment pic

Racing Investment – Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Racing Investment and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:   -10 points
Strike Rate:   37%
Bank Growth:   -6%
Cost:  £40+VAT/month or £80+VAT/quarter 
ROI:  -2%
Average number of bets:   1 per day
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Racing Investment Full Review

 

Racing Investment is a horse racing tipster from the Bet Fan group of tipsters. 

Coming into our trial, they had amassed some astonishing results, racking up over 600 points profit at an almost unheard of return on investment of 91%.

However, as is often the case in this business, the trial results didn’t live up to the pre-trial results and we are left somewhat disappointed here.

Overall, we have finished 10 points down after three months. Given that all selections are backed with 5 points, it is the equivalent of being just 2 points down to 1 point level stakes.

That is very close to breaking even, so we think a neutral rating is a fair judgement here. 

Looking at how things went in graph format, we can see the volatile nature of the results:

However, it should be borne in mind that the 5 point stakes accentuate the up and down nature of the results.

One thing to note though is that they finished 48 points down at Betfair SP, so it is questionable whether the service is practical to follow at BSP.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Tips are sent out in the morning (or you can log in to the Bet Fan website) and there is an average of just one bet per day, so it is a very simple service to follow with minimal time commitment. 

Availability of prices: Prices are generally fairly available and you shouldn’t have too many problems getting the advised price. However, as we state above, the Betfair SP results were quite a bit worse so beware of using BSP. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 37%, which is quite a bit below the pre-trial average of 61%, and explains why the results weren’t as good during our trial. 

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank was advised, but we used a 150 point bank for the trial and it was never in jeopardy during the trial.

Subscription costs: Subscription costs are £40+VAT per month or £80+VAT per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

We had high hopes for Racing Investment coming into our trial, which had the almost perfect trifecta of great results, at a high strike rate and phenomenal ROI.

However, as we see so often here, it couldn’t reproduce those results under a live trial and ended up more or less breaking even at advised prices over our trial.

So the only fair verdict seems like a neutral rating here.

We will keep an eye on things to see if results pick up, but for the time being its a watching brief for this one.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – Results Update

13th October 2016

It’s been a disappointing time for Racing Investment, who have dropped 12 points since our last update to be -3 points for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have been considerably worse, with 29 points dropped since our last update to be -39 points for the trial overall.

We had high hopes for this service as the results coming into our trial were outstanding, but as is so often the case, they have failed to reproduce those results under the spotlight of a live trial.

Anyway, only a couple of weeks left in our trial of Racing Investment, so let’s hope for a good finish from them. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – Results Update

17th September 2016

A bit of a decline for Racing Investment since our last update unfortunately.

They have lost 28 points since our last update at advised prices, leaving them at 9 points up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, things are slightly worse, with 39 points dropped since our last update to be 10 points down for the trial.

Hopefully this is just a minor blip for Racing Investment and things will get back on track soon, as their results coming into the trial were highly impressive.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – Results Update

23rd August 2016

Our pre-trial expectations have for once not been let down, so far at least.

We started out this trial with high hopes that we had found something special in the form of Racing Investment.

And the first month has been very good, delivering 37 points of profit at advised prices and 29 points profit at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

It is a very simple service to follow, with generally just one bet per day. And with a high strike rate, it has been low stress so far as well. 

So far so good then for Racing Investment. Let’s hope for more of the same going forward.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – New Review

25th July 2016

Today we are commencing a new trial of a horse racing service called Racing Investment.

This is a horse racing tipster that looks highly promising.

As those of you who have been following Honest Betting Reviews for a while know, there are a few key ingredients we look for when searching for a good tipster.

Other than the obvious good profit levels shown – in this case over 660 points profit to date – we want to see consistency. Has the tipster had a majority of winning months?

In the case of Racing Investment, every month so far has been profitable, so check.

Then we look at strike rate – does the tipster have a high strike rate, meaning losing runs will be short and staking can be higher?

In this case, the strike rate is a very impressive 61% – meaning more bets have won than lost so far, which is very encouraging indeed – check.

After that it is a case of checking out the return on investment (ROI). In this case that is also exceptionally high, at an astonishing 91%.

We actually struggle to remember a service with such a high ROI – so it’s certainly a check on that front.

Next up we consider how the results stack up at Betfair SP. For many of us who have had our bookie accounts closed or limited, being able to make a profit at Betfair SP is crucial.

Well it’s good news on that front too – the Betfair SP results are also very strong, with 522 points profit made to date at a return on investment of over 70% – check again.

Finally, we look at how long the service has been going.

Basically it’s a case of the longer the better. If a service can demonstrate a winning record over a long period then it is unlikely to be just chance and more likely that they have a genuine edge over the market.

Racing Investment doesn’t quite score on this front as it’s only been going since January 2016, but by the end of our review we will have three months more results to chalk up and a better feel of the long-term profitability of the service.

With such an impressive record to date, we really couldn’t resist testing this out and are genuinely excited about its prospects.

We also like the fact that the sales page is – well, fairly non-salesy – and focuses on the fact that the service is based around a business model and shrewd investing, not gambling.

Anyone who takes such an approach is much more likely to succeed and the results so far certainly back that up.

Anyway, enough of the build-up, let’s get things going and kick off the trial.

We’ll be back soon with our first update.

In the meantime, you can check out Racing Investment here. 

 

galileo racing pic

Galileo Racing – Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Galileo Racing and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:   -13 points
Strike Rate:   39%
Bank Growth:   -13%
Cost:  £39.50 per month or £89.50 per quarter
ROI:  -9%
Average number of bets:   6 per week
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Galileo Racing – Full Review

 

Galileo Racing is a horse racing tipster from the reputable Pro Betting Club stable.

Coming into our trial, it had made over 300 points profit at a return on investment of over 25%, so we were very hopeful that this would turn out to be a winner.

Sadly though, things didn’t quite work out as we had hoped and the trial finished with a loss of 13 points.

As things go it is not the worst trial we have ever had and there is always the possibility they will get things back on track soon.

So for the moment we give them a neutral rating and hopefully things will improve for Galileo Racing over the Autumn and beyond.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Not bad. You have to log in to the Pro Betting Club site each day rather than having the tips sent to you by e-mail/text, which would be preferable. But there are usually just one or two bets per day, so the time involved is minimal. 

Availability of prices: There are no prices advised as such, which is very unusual for a horse racing tipster.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 39%, which includes placed horses. 

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank was advised, but we used a 100 point bank for the trial, which seemed plenty enough to take account of any losing runs. 

Subscription costs: Subscription costs are £39.50 per month or £89.50 per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

It’s been a slightly disappointing trial for the horse racing tipster Galileo Racing.

A loss of 13 points was not what we were hoping for, but was not the worst outcome of a trial we have seen either. 

So a neutral verdict and a watching brief will be the order of the day for this one for the time being.

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – Results Update

10th August 2016

Things have picked up a bit for Galileo Racing, a horse racing tipster from the Pro Betting Club stable.

They have added 9 points of profit at advised prices since our last update a month ago, bringing them to -17 points for the trial overall.

 You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have added 6 points of profit since our last update to reach -24 points for the trial overall.

We have just a couple of weeks left in our trial of Galileo Racing, so let’s hope for a strong run at the end to bring them into profit for the trial overall.

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – Results Update

13th July 2016

Unfortunately it is been a slightly disappointing time for Galileo Racing. 

The service has lost 20 points at advised prices since our last update, meaning it is now 26 points down for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are a little lower, at -30 points for the trial.

We had high hopes for this one at the outset, so it is a shame it has not quite lived up to those hopes yet.

Still, it is relatively early days in the trial as we have only had 41 bets so far, which is a fairly small number to go on.

Anyway, let’s hope things have picked up for them by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – Results Update

15th June 2016

It’s been an up and down start to our trial of Galileo Racing, who stated off strongly and went 13 points into profit quickly, but have had a tough run since then.

So far for the trial they are 6 points down at early prices and 10 points down at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

Interestingly they don’t actually include advised prices with their selections, so it is just a case of grabbing the best price you can when the tips are released.

It is very early days in the trial, so plenty of time to get going, with Royal Ascot this week being a good starting point hopefully.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – New Review

25th May 2016

What do you look for in a horse racing tipster?

Obviously the bottom line is that you want it to make you money.

But beyond that, what are the important things for a service to have?

Well in our view, we like a tipster to have the following things:

  • A high number of winning months
  • A good strike rate, so losing runs are short and you can bet at reasonably high stakes
  • A decent return on investment
  • Sensible staking
  • Prices that are obtainable

For our next trial, we think we may have found a service that meets all these criteria – well at least four of them anyway.

The service in question is called Galileo Racing and it comes from the respected Pro Betting Club.

It has had 13 out of 14 winning months so far, so very good on that front.

The strike rate is around 30%, which is very respectable for a racing service and means winners should be regular enough.

The return on investment is apparently 25%, which over a 14 month period is very high indeed. There aren’t many tipsters that manage above a 20% ROI in the long term.

Staking is sensible as well, with either a 2 point win bet or 1 point each way on every tip.

So that just leaves the question of whether prices are obtainable.

Well we will find out soon enough! 

Indeed, that is partly what reviewing these services is about, in addition to checking results are accurate and that they are practical to follow.

So without further ado, we will get our trial of Galileo Racing underway and let’s hope it lives up to the pre-trial billing we have just given it!

We will revert soon with our first update on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Galileo Racing here.

 

frankel image

GG Tips – Final Review

After two months we thought it was time to call it a day on our trial of GG Tips.

With a grand total of 336 points lost, there didn’t seem much point continuing to monitor results.

As we suspected at the outset, it is virtually impossible to make a profit from tipping in every race and that has proved to be the case here.

So certainly we couldn’t advise that you back all the bets put up by GG Tips.

 

Potentially Profitable Angles

However, is there any aspect of the service that might have potential of generating profit?

Well, here is a breakdown of the results by the type of bet over our trial:

 

Bet TypeProfit/loss
Every race   -251.7 points
Bet of the Day    -0.78 points
Daily Double -23.1 points
Tasty Treble -59 points
Lucky 15 +4.11 points
Outsider -7.5 points

 

So there is potential in the Bet of the Day, Lucky 15 and Outsider bets. All of the results are recorded at SP, so using Betfair SP or early prices, you would certainly be able to beat these results.

Using Betfair SP, you would have made a profit on the Bet of the Day selections, which is good news and confirms our initial thoughts that having a “nap” of the day is much more likely to produce a profit than backing in all races.

The other good thing about GG Tips is that it is free and there is a host of other information on the site, including cards and results, news stories, blogs from tipsters and horse racing experts and alerts where you can get notified if a particular horse is due to run.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

So overall we think a neutral rating is a fair verdict for GG Tips.

It is probably best avoiding the tips in all the individual races, but the Bet of the Day, Lucky 15 and Outsider Bets have shown the potential to be profitable. 

And with the service being free and having a number of other features, GG Tips is overall a decent racing site in our opinion.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

GG Tips – Results Update

23rd April 2016

It’s been a sorry story for GG Tips, who have dropped another 175 points since our last update.

That puts them 285 points down for the trial so far. 

You can view full results here.

Our worry expressed at the start of the trial was that it is virtually impossible to make a profit when tipping in every race and that certainly seems to have been borne out here.

We may conclude this trial early as it is so far down there doesn’t seem a great deal of point in continuing it much longer.

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

GG Tips – Results Update

30th March 2016

It’s been a rough start to our trial of GG Tips. This is a website that provides tips for every race in the UK and Ireland on a daily basis, plus their best bet of the day and some multiple selections.

After a month of following all their tips, they are -110 points down to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

This seems to be proof if ever it were needed that it is practically impossible to make a profit from tipping on every race. 

However, unfortunately their naps and multiples haven’t done very well either. Although yesterday they were very close to going through the card at Southwell, picking 6 out of 7 winners. 

Anyway, hopefully things will pick up for them over the remainder of the trial. 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

GG Tips – New Review

22nd February 2016

Today we are starting a new trial of a free horse racing tipster called GG Tips – or to give them their proper website name, gg.co.uk.

This is a very popular tipping site that offers tips for every race in the UK!

Not bad going, although we usually have reservations about tipsters who do that, as it can often mean you are tipping for the sake of it in races when there isn’t really a good bet.

But fortunately they also have their “best bets” of the day that include a single, double, treble, lucky 15 and an outsider of the day.

So hopefully these more focused bets – their naps if you like – will produce the goods. That’s not to say betting in every race can’t work of course, it’s just that it is hard and we haven’t seen it done successfully before.

It’s always nice to see a tipster that offers their tips for free though, especially as there are some quite expensive ones out there – often who aren’t even very good!

There don’t seem to be any results for their tips published on the site – or at least none that were easy to find – which is usually a small cause for concern, but does not necessarily mean the results aren’t good. We shall find out!

Anyway, this website has a very big following so we doubt people are following them if they aren’t very good. That’s the theory anyhow. 

We will run our normal trial and see how they get on.

Back soon with an update on GG Tips.

 

Horse-Racing-HD-Wallpapers-12

Profit Pony – Final Review

Update 19th May 2016

Just a quick note to say we will be continuing to monitor Profit Pony for a few months to see results over the long term. So far the news is good with 50 points of profit accumulated to date in May.

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Profit Pony and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:   -11 points 
Strike Rate:  23%
Bank Growth:   -11%
Cost:  £19.99/month, £49.99/quarter or £79.99/6 months
ROI:  -5%
Average number of tips:   1.5 per day
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Profit Pony – Full Review

 

They call it the reviewer’s curse. 

You find a tipster that has an amazing record. In this case over 900 points of profit and 17 winning months out of 18.

Then you start your trial. And things seem to go immediately wrong.

In our case we managed to hit their worst month ever, with February finishing 35 points down.

Things improved somewhat over the rest of the trial however, to finish with an 11 point loss at advised prices and -18 points at Betfair.

That is certainly no catastrophe and represents just an 11% reduction in the betting bank, so we think overall a neutral rating is a fair verdict for Profit Pony.

Here are the results for the trial in graph format:

As you can see, things got off to a rough start but recovered well to almost finish level by the end of the trial.

Previous Concerns

We had expressed some concerns in our previous results update about some discrepancies between our results and those published on the Profit Pony website.

We have now received confirmation from them that the additional tip for the Irish Grand National which returned 41 points profit was a Twitter tip.

There is also a tip listed in their results on 16th April which returned 6 points and that appears to have been a Twitter tip as well.

It is fair enough if they want to include the Twitter tips in their results, presuming these are clearly marked as such.

As we said previously though, we hadn’t received any instructions to also follow their Twitter tips, so can’t include these in our results.

We think the service would benefit with some guidance upon signing up about how best to follow the tips and some information about the additional Twitter tips.

And we also think customer service could be improved somewhat as it took a good few weeks to hear back regarding our questions.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Tips are sent out at varying times, which can make things a little tricky. But there are on average just 1-2 tips per day, so the workload is low and should only take a few minutes a day to get the bets on.

Availability of prices: The prices were generally freely available, with the odd one or two being backed quite significantly. There wasn’t too much of a difference between the results at advised prices and Betfair SP, which is reassuring. Our advice would be to back the tips as soon as you can after they are sent out to maximise returns.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 23%, which is pretty good for the kind of profit they have been making. The winners come reasonably regularly which is positive. 

Advised Betting Bank: There is no betting bank advised but we used a 100 point bank for the trial which we think would be sufficient, although a 150 point bank would certainly give you enough leeway. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are pretty reasonable at £19.99/month, £49.99/quarter or £79.99 for 6 months.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

It seems to have been a case of reviewer’s curse here with Profit Pony hitting their worst ever run as soon as we signed up.

The trial finished 11 points down in the end, which was only a small loss so we think a neutral rating is fair here.

We do think the service could benefit from some clear instructions after people sign up though as to what to do regarding their Twitter tips.

And an improvement in customer service would help things as well.

The long-term results are very good however and we wouldn’t want to write this service off purely on the basis of our trial. It seems worth following them for a little longer to see if the form previous to our trial can be recaptured.

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Profit Pony – Results Update

2nd April 2016

It has continued to be a tricky time for Profit Pony, who are still struggling during our trial.

They are now 30 points down at advised prices after two months of following their tips and -22 points at Betfair SP.

That is a slight improvement on last time though, when they were 37 points down at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

However, perhaps of more concern to us is the discrepancy between our results and their recorded results on their website.

On 29th March, they have a tip recorded for Rogue Angel winning the Irish Grand National at 33/1, giving them a supposed 41.25 points profit according to their own results.

However, we have scoured our e-mails and cannot find any evidence of having received this tip.

On their website at the bottom it merely says “Some may have missed the Grand National tip so the profit for March for them would of been around +29pts.”

There is no explanation as to why some “may have missed this tip,” which is rather galling when you consider this makes a 41 point difference to the bank for the month.

We have e-mailed Profit Pony about this but are yet to receive a response. We have also e-mailed them about a couple of other issues during our trial and have had no reply to those questions either.

So customer service here seems very poor and is a major cause for concern.

In addition, that Irish Grand National tip is not the only discrepancy between our results and theirs. 

There are a couple of other occasions where we did not receive any e-mail for tips recorded in their results. 

It may be that they are including some of their Twitter tips, but if they are then this is a significant problem because we have no record of having been advised to follow both their e-mails and Twitter feed.

Even if we were, we would ask why that would be the case as most people would not have the additional time to follow Twitter waiting for a tip to be sent out. We would also ask why all tips could simply not be sent by e-mail anyway.

In addition, the tips are sent out at erratic times which makes it a little tricky to follow the service not having that consistency.

Overall then, unless we have some very distinct clarification on these issues and a major improvement in customer service, we would have to issue significant warnings about following Profit Pony for the time being.

We will update things with our final review in a few weeks, when hopefully we will have things cleared up.  

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Profit Pony – Results Update

15th February 2016

Well they call it the reviewer’s curse. You join a service that has an outstanding record. Over 900 points profit in 18 months for Profit Pony, with the worst month being a loss of just 19 points.

Then they hit their worst ever run.

Since I started proofing the tips on 25th January, they have lost 37 points at advised prices, with only two winners so far.

You can view full results here.

Things are a little better at Betfair SP, with the total standing at -29 points so far.

Maybe it is a curse, or just one of those strange coincidences. Who knows? But either way it is disappointing. 

Hopefully this is just a minor blip and we will return to normality very soon.  

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Profit Pony – New Review

22nd January 2016

We have come across a horse racing tipster that we are quite excited about.

It doesn’t happen very often, as we trawl through tipster websites across the internet and tend to find results that either aren’t very good at all or seem too good to be true (and nearly always are).

Well in this instance we have found one that is between those two extremes, whilst being towards the latter end of the scale, in that their results look excellent – but not so good that they are obviously made up.

Plus they apparently used to tip on twitter before they set up their website and had a loyal group of followers with a clear tipping history you could see on twitter.

The service in question is called Profit Pony and has a fairly clear and simple website where you can view their previous results.

And what results they are! Over 900 points profit since starting in July 2014, with 17 profitable months out of 18.

From what we can tell so far most of the tips are 1 point win or 1 point each way, so it is not like they use some crazy staking system to inflate results either.

The only losing month was April 2015 when they apparently had over 25 second place horses (out of 109), so sounds like they were very unlucky that month.

There isn’t a great deal of info given about how tips are selected, other than to say that they are a small team of dedicated punters.

Let’s hope I haven’t put the kibosh on them with the big build up and they can keep up their previous level of form for the duration of our trial and beyond.

Will be back soon with our first update on how Profit Pony get on.

In the meantime you can check out the service here.

 

horse racing

Templegate Tips – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Templegate Tips and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:   -11 points
Strike Rate:  23%
Bank Growth:   -11%
Cost:  FREE
ROI:  -4%
Average number of bets:   3 per day
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL 
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Templegate Tips – Full Review

 

So we have completed our trial of “Britain’s No.1 Tipster.” Is Templegate deserving of that title following his efforts over the last three months?

Well not quite – with a total of 11 points lost over the trial, it has not exactly been award-winning stuff.

However, it has not been a disaster either and considering as a newspaper tipster he is forced to tip pretty much every day, they are certainly not the worst results in the world.

So we think a neutral rating is the fairest verdict for Templegate.

Here are the results for the trial in graph format:

As you can see, things got off to a bad start but he managed to battle back and only finished slightly down in the end.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: A relatively straightforward service to follow. Tips are normally posted well before racing on the Sun website and there are 3 tips per day on average, so the workload isn’t too great.

Availability of prices: There was a bit of a difference between the advised prices and Betfair SP results, with the former making 11 points loss but the latter made 39 points loss. However, there is not a stampede for prices in the same way as with other popular tipsters like Pricewise and Hugh Taylor, so you should be able to match the prices or get close to them.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 23%, so a little bit of patience will be required in following this service.

Advised Betting Bank: A betting bank is not advised for the service but we used a notional 100 point bank, which seemed more than adequate with a maximum drawdown of 34 points during the trial.

Subscription costs: The good thing is that the tips are provided free through the Sun website.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

We started out this trial by saying we were sceptical of newspaper tipsters and that most of them make a loss in the long term.

However, Templegate seems to be one of the few exceptions to this rule and has apparently made over 200 points profit at a return on investment of 10% over the long run.

He didn’t quite manage to achieve those levels during our trial, but a loss of 11 points was no calamity either. 

So we think a neutral verdict is a fair verdict for Mr Jones and we will keep an eye on things to see how he progresses.

Certainly if you going to the races and are looking for some newspaper tips to go on then you could do worse than using Templegate’s.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Templegate Tips – Results Update

22nd March 2016

There has been a bit of return to form for Templegate – at advised prices at least – since our last update in February. 

He has managed 13 points of profit at advised prices in that time, although at Betfair SP he has actually lost 3 points.

So that puts Templegate on -5 points overall at advised prices and -29 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

So quite a difference there between the advised prices and Betfair SP, but good to see things picking up for Mr Jones. 

Back soon with our final review.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Templegate Tips – Results Update

1st February 2016

It has been a rough start to our trial of “Britain’s no.1 Tipster.” After three weeks, Steve Jones, aka Templegate of the Sun, is 18 points down at early prices and -26 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

As we said at the outset of the trial, we are normally very sceptical of newspaper tipsters, primarily because they are forced to tip every day and to have “winners” for their readers rather than selectively making tips to achieve long-term profits.

However, Mr Jones has apparently achieved long-term profits, so perhaps deserves some acclaim for that.

It hasn’t been an ideal start to the trial, but to be fair things have been tough lately with the weather and changeable conditions, so hopefully things will pick up for the remainder of the trial.

We will return soon with further updates.  

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Templegate Tips – New Review

8th January 2016

One of the most famous names in horse racing tipping is Templegate – aka Steve Jones of the Sun.

Modestly calling himself “Britain’s No.1 Tipster,” Templegate provides tips each day in the Sun Newspaper, with Naps and then picks for each race on the day, as is normal for newspaper tipsters.

You would be forgiven for being sceptical about newspaper racing tipsters, who typically make a substantial loss over the long term. This is partly because they are forced to tip in every race and invariably just pick favourites so that they can talk about having “winners,” with their newspaper rarely tracking their overall profit and loss.

However, Templegate has actually proven quite adept at tipping, have apparently made over 200 points profit on his naps over the last couple of years.

We are always on the lookout for free tipsters who provide consistent profit, so with a strong record we thought it would be interesting to put Templegate under the microscope of a live trial here at Honest Betting Reviews.

We will also be intrigued to see how prices stand up and whether there is a stampede for his tips in the same way as there is for the likes of Pricewise and Hugh Taylor.

So with that in mind we kick of our live trial of Templegate’s tips and will report on progress soon.

 

max racing image

Max Racing Tips – Final Review

Our three month trial of Max Racing Tips has finished and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:   -18 points 
Strike Rate:   29%
Bank Growth:   -18%
Cost:  14 day free trial then £29.95/month or £69.95/quarter
ROI:  -5%
Average number of bets:   1 per day
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Max Racing Tips Full Review

 

There have been quite a few neutral ratings for horse racing tipsters here at Honest Betting Reviews and Max Racing Tips joins the club.

This is a tipster from the reputable Betting Gods stable that tips quite selectively with approximately one bet per day.

Things were a bit of a struggle for them at one stage, as they were 68 points down midway through the trial, made an abortive attempt to get back in the black but made a decent recovery towards the end, as you can see below.

Somewhat of a rollercoaster ride I think they call that!

Overall they finished 18 points down, which from a 100 point bank is a slight disappointment but nothing hugely alarming.

For now we think a neutral rating is a fair rating and we will keep an eye on things at Maxing Racing tips for a while to see if they can recapture the form shown prior to our trial.

 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: With just 1 bet per day on average, the workload is low and selections are normally sent out in the morning so plenty of time to get the bets down.

Availability of prices: There was no issue with the availability of prices and there was little difference between the results at advised prices and Betfair SP, which is a good sign. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 29%, which is somewhat below the long term average of 34%.

Advised Betting Bank: No bank was advised when we signed up so we used a 100 point bank, which was more than comfortable for the trial.   

Subscription costs: You can get a free 14 day trial – as with all Betting Gods services – followed by subscription costs of £94.95/per month; £69.95/quarter or £149.95 for life.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Max Racing Tips had made over 200 points profit coming into our trial, but as is so often the case, they failed to match that level during a live trial, dropping 18 points overall.

Things were much worse than that at one stage, as they were 68 points down at one point but made a good recovery towards the end.

A loss of 18% of the bank isn’t the end of the world and we think a neutral rating here is fair for this one. 

As ever we will keep an eye on things and see if matters improve over the coming months. 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – Results Update

11th February 2016

There has been a bit of an improvement for Max Racing Tips, who have added 26 points of profit at advised prices and 19 points profit at Betfair SP since our last update a month ago.

That has started to turn things around for them, as they were 56 points down last time so are now 30 points down at advised prices and 36 points down at Betfair SP for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

Let’s hope the turnaround continues and they can finish the trial in profit.

Back soon with our final review of Max Racing Tips.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – Results Update

12th January 2016

It has been more pain for Max Racing Tips since our last update a month ago. They have lost an additional 9 points to stand at -56 points at advised prices and -55 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

Staking is quite high here, with an average of 2.75 points per selection, so at 1 point level stakes it would be more like 20 points down, which is more palatable.

With a month to go it will be a very decent effort indeed for this one to get back into profit.

Back in a month with our final verdict on Max Racing Tips.

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – Results Update

9th December 2015

It’s been a very rough start to our trial of Max Racing Tips from the Betting Gods stable. 

Unfortunately they are 47 points down at advised prices and 49 points down at Betfair SP. 

You can view full results here.

It is still early days though, with under three weeks of results so far, so plenty of time to turn things around. Let’s hope they can do so quickly.

Back soon with more updates.

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – New Review

20th November 2015

It’s over to Betting Gods again today for another one of their promising horse racing tipsters.

This time it is Max Racing Tips, who began tipping back in May and since then have amassed over 200 points of profit.

Apparently high levels of painstaking research go into the tips and that certainly appears to be reflected in the results.

The strike rate so far is a healthy 36% and the return on investment is an impressive 26%.

There are on average about 40 bets per month, so just over one per day which sounds manageable.

We will put this one through its paces and see how it gets on under the spotlight of our trial. It will be subjected to a three month trial as usual, so plenty of time to get a feel for the service.

Our trial will include looking at the results at Betfair SP and how obtainable the advised prices are.

So let’s hope the promising form continues and we get another winning horse racing tipster from the Betting Gods stable.

We will report back soon with the first results update.

In the meantime you can check out Max Racing tips here.

 

horse racing

Percentage Form Edge – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of the Percentage Form Edge and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:   -11 points 
Strike Rate:   10%*
Bank Growth:  -11%
Cost:  £1 for 14 days then £29.95 + VAT/month 
ROI:  -3%
Average number of bets:   4 per day
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

*Strike rate for all bets was 10%, but strike rate in terms of profitable races was 47%

 

 

Percentage Form Edge Full Review

 

At the end of our three month trial of the Percentage Form Edge it is a slightly disappointing conclusion to things, with a final total of -11 points at advised prices and -29 points at Betfair SP.

The service is run by a chap called Denis Hatcher (not Thatcher – phew!) and takes an unusual approach to betting by tipping numerous horses in the same race. Obviously the hope is that one of the outsiders you have backed goes on to win.

Things didn’t turn out quite that way during the trial, although early on it looked promising as they were 47 points up at one stage.

As you can see though, things took a turn for the worse for the last two-thirds of so of the trial with a steady decline to finish in slight deficit.

Overall to finish with a small loss is no catastrophe by any means though so we are happy with a neutral rating for the Percentage Form Edge and to keep an eye on things for the time being.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: The service is quite a straightforward one to follow. Bets are sent out in the morning and you are normally talking about just one or two races per day. You then just back the selections either at Betfair or the bookies and you are done for the day.

Availability of prices: There was no problem with getting the advised prices and there wasn’t a huge difference between advised prices and Betfair SP, with the latter being just 18 points worse off over the course of the trial.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 10% in terms of the number of selections that won, but if you looked at the number of races that were profitable, then the strike rate was actually 47%.

Advised Betting Bank: A bank of 100 points was used for the trial, which seemed plenty given the high strike rate in terms of profitable races and was never in jeopardy during the trial.

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £1 for the first 2 weeks then £29.95 + VAT / per month.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

The Percentage Form Edge takes a novel approach to betting, which we are always appreciate and there was a stage during the trial when things were going really well for them.

Unfortunately results took a downturn and we ended up with a loss of 11 points at advised prices and 29 points at Betfair SP.

The loss was no disaster by any means and represented just 11% of the bank used for the trial.

At the moment we can’t really recommend the Percentage Form Edge on the basis of our trial, but we will keep an eye on it and see if things improve over the coming months.

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Percentage Form Edge – Results Update

7th January 2016

There has been a small downturn for the Percentage Form Edge since our last update just over a month ago. They have lost 4 points at advised prices and 19 points at Betfair SP over that time.

That leaves them 19 points up at advised prices and 9 points up at Betfair SP for the trial overall to date.

You can view full results here.

As mentioned in previous updates, this is slightly unusual approach to tipping, using a dutching method of backing numerous horses in each race. Then you obviously hope that the biggest price selection wins!

So far there have been a few of those and let’s hope for a few more before the trial concludes.

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Percentage Form Edge – Results Update

30th November 2015

It has been a good start to our trial of Percentage Form Edge, who are 23 points up so far at advised prices and 28 points up at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

The positive returns for November now means they have racked up 11 winning months out of 11 since the service started in January according to the results on the website, which is superb tipping.

It’s quite an easy service to follow – generally there are just one or two races per day and you just back all the selections to 1 point level stakes.

The results so far suggest you could just back all the tips at Betfair SP, which would make things even easier, but it is too early to draw any conclusions on that front yet.

Anyway, a good start from Percentage Form Edge and we are impressed with this service so far.

Back soon with further updates.

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Percentage Form Edge – New Review

28th November 2015

Today we are commencing a trial of a horse racing betting system with a difference.

The service in question is Percentage Form Edge and the difference is that they tip multiple horses in each race – so “dutching” if you like using official terminology.

This is the first service we have trialed that uses a dutching system and we have to say it is an unusual approach in this day and age.  

However, that it is not to say that it is not profitable. On the contrary, we would say based on the results published on their website, it looks very profitable. 

They have amassed over 300 points profit since the service started in January of this year.

And what’s more, they’ve never had a losing month according to their results – that’s pretty impressive stuff!

In some ways we are surprised that dutching isn’t a more common approach in horse racing betting. You see it more often in football betting (double chance betting) and Betfair trading with insurance positions and the like. But for some reason not often in horse racing.

Perhaps there is just a convention in horse racing to only back one horse per race, but we always welcome new approaches and would even argue that coming up with a new angle that other punters aren’t already using is probably your best chance of making a profit. Ultimately you are betting against the market so if you are just doing the same old form reading as most other punters then you will struggle to make a profit.

Anyway, that is all just theorising and as ever in the end it all comes down to results – just as any football manager will tell you.

So we will record all the results of this during our three month trial and see how things come out in the end.

In the meantime you can check out Percentage Form Edge here.

 

each way king

Each Way King – Final Review

We have completed our three month trial of the Each Way King and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:   -3 points 
Strike Rate:   28%
Bank Growth:   -3%
Cost:  Free 14 day trial then £24.96/month or £59.95/quarter
ROI:   -1%
Average number of tips:   2 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Each Way King Full Review

 

We seem to have a bit of a theme at the moment – neutral reviews. 

We have another one here with the Each Way King. This one is at least a bit more straightforward than the previous two which fell slightly between two stools and were difficult to grade. 

But this has ended up just 3 points down after three months so there seems no other fair verdict than a neutral rating.

Things got off to a promising start as they went over 30 points up early on, but sadly those early gains were given away in a steady trend downwards, as you can see below:

It’s a nice easy service to follow with just two bets per day and betting each way means you have a higher strike rate so the losing runs are shorter.

For the time being though, this is one to watch and to see if results pick up over the longer term.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: There are just 2 bets per day on average and workload is minimal with this service – should only take a few minutes each day to place the bets.

Availability of prices: There was no issue with the availability of prices, although there was a small difference between the advised prices and Betfair SP (14 points over the course of the trial) so it may be best to take early prices to make the most of the service. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 28%, which is just very slightly below the long-term average of 29.5%. 

Advised Betting Bank: No bank was advised when we signed up so we used a 100 point bank, which was more than comfortable for the trial.   

Subscription costs: You can get a free 14 day trial – as with all Betting Gods services – followed by subscription costs of £24.95/per month; £59.95/quarter or £149.95 for life.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL  

It has been one of those slightly quiet trials for the Each Way King where not a great deal has happened to be honest.

Fortunes have fluctuated a little bit during the trial but in the end they finished 3 points down, so very close to breaking even.

It’s a nice easy service to follow and betting each way gives you shorter losing runs, which is always appreciated.

So after just about breaking even, the only reasonable verdict seems to be a neutral rating. We will keep an eye on the Each Way King for a while and see where the service ends up going.

You can check out the Each Way King here.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Each Way King – Results Update

24th January 2016

It’s been a case of treading water really for the Each Way King since our last update, with just one point lost at advised prices and 4 points lost at Betfair SP.

That means for the trial overall they are 1 point up at advised prices and 12 points down at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

With just a couple of weeks left in the trial it will be interesting to see if they can push on and finish in profit.

Back with our final review soon.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Each Way King – Results Update

28th December 2015

There has been something of a reversal for the Each Way King since our last update just over a month ago.

They have dropped 25 points at advised prices and 26 points at Betfair SP over the last month.

That means they are just 2 points in profit at advised prices and 8 points down at Betfair SP for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

Hopefully there will be an upturn for them as we head into the New Year. Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Each Way King – Results Update

21st November 2015

It has been a good start to our trial of Each Way King, who are 27 points up at advised prices and 18 points up at Betfair SP after three weeks of results.

You can view full results here.

This is a fairly easy service to follow, with just a couple of bets per day. 

We are noting a bit of a gap opening up already between advised prices and Betfair SP though, so this will be something to keep an eye on.

Anyway, a good start to the trial and let’s hope they continue in the same vein.

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Each Way King – New Review

2nd November 2015

It would be fair to say that most tipsters like to bet “on the nose” as it were. It is about picking winners they would say. To be fair there is a certain attraction about the simplicity of that approach.

However, on the other side you have those who would argue that backing each-way allows you to profit when your horses run well but don’t quite get the job done, whether it be due to bad luck, ill-suiting conditions or just not quite being good enough on the day.

Another advantage to backing each-way is that it enables you to build a bank more steadily, with a higher strike rate and shorter losing runs.

Anyway, whichever approach you prefer, sitting squarely on the latter side of the argument is a new service we are trialing, Each Way King from the Betting Gods stable. 

Well so far the each-way style certainly seems to be working for them, with over 170 points profit accumulated since the service started in June.

That has been achieved with a 30% strike rate and 35% return on investment, which is excellent going.

Staking is nice and simple at between 0.5 and 1 points each way on each selection, so no crazy staking system to inflate results.

There are generally around 2 bets per day, so it should be fairly manageable in terms of workload. 

We will run our normal three month trial and see if this can deliver us some royal profits. 

In the meantime, you can check out Each Way King here.