racing wins

Racing Wins – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Racing Wins and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:    -21 points 
Strike Rate:   29%
Bank Growth:   -21%
ROI:   -7%
Average number of bets:   2.5 per day 
Cost:   £14.95/month or £79/per year 
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Racing Wins – Full Review

 

Racing Wins is a horse racing tipping service provided by a chap called Pete Thomson.

The service was unveiled a few months ago to quite a bit of fanfare so we were eager to check it out and see if it could live up to the hype of the launch.

So we subjected to a live three month trial here on the site, recording all selections to both advised prices and Betfair SP.

After three months then, how has Racing Wins got on? Has it lived up to the hype of the launch?

Well if you’ve seen the results above then you will know it has ended up somewhat disappointing us, with a loss of 21 points being made to advised prices and a 25 point loss at Betfair SP. 

With the 100 point bank that we used for the trial, that worked out at a loss of 21% of the bank – so about a fifth.

As you can see from the graph below, things were going ok for most of the trial but tailed off badly towards the end. 

Racing Wins Profit Graph

The return on investment was -7%, so not too great either unfortunately.

Overall then Racing Wins was somewhere between a failed and a neutral rating, but given it certainly wasn’t a washout by any means, we will err on the side of caution of plump for a NEUTRAL rating.

Hopefully they can turn things around and move into profit in the coming months, so we will keep an eye on things and see if they can manage to do that.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  Tips are normally sent out in the morning between 9 and 10 am. There are four tips per day when there are some tips, although some days there are no tips. Overall a fairly straightforward service to follow.   

Availability of prices:  There was no problem at all getting the advised prices and little difference between them and the BSP results.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was a solid 29%.

Advised Betting Bank: No betting back is advised for following the service, but we used a 100 point bank for the trial. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £14.95 per month or £79 per year which are very reasonable by today’s standards. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Racing Wins was released a few months ago to a good deal of interest from the betting community in what looked on paper like a very promising tipster.

As is so often the case though, the results in a live trial haven’t lived up to the pre-trial billing and we have ended up 21 points down after three months.

Whilst that’s not the end of the world, we were hoping for more so can only award this a NEUTRAL rating for the time being.

We will keep an eye on things for the time being and see if results improve over the coming months.

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – Results Update

1st September 2017

A reversal of fortunes for horse racing tipster Racing Wins since our last update a few weeks ago.

They have dropped 11 points in that time to advised prices, meaning they are now 10 points down for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a fairly similar picture, with 14 points dropped since our last update to put them 12 points down for the trial overall.

Just a few weeks left in the trial here, so we will need to see some really good results in that time for this to achieve a passed rating.

We will see… 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – Results Update

7th August 2017

A move back in the right direction for horse racing tipster Racing Wins since our last update three weeks ago. 

They have added 8 points of profit in that time to advised prices, meaning they are now 1 point up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been pretty similar, with 10 points won since our last update putting them on 2 points up for the trial overall.

Good to see the positive momentum, let’s hope it continues for Racing Wins.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – Results Update

15th July 2017

It’s not been a great start to our trial of Racing Wins, a new horse racing tipster service.

After just under a month of following the tips, we are 7 points down at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been a similar story, with 8 points lost so far.

Still, it’s early days and we are only a little down, so things could easily turn around quickly and get back on track.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – New Review

13th June 2017

Today we are commending a new trial of horse racing service called Racing Wins. 

This a new service and one which we have been asked to proof as part of their venture out into the tipping world.

The results prior to the official commencement of the service look promising, with four profitable months out of four and 164 points profit made.

In terms of the strike rate, that is pretty good too at over 33%, so it should be a reasonably sensible service to follow.

There are four different tip types as part of Racing Wins, including the Nap (i.e. best bet of the day), Next Best, Third Best & Outsider Bet.

Interestingly from the results published to date, the Third Best and Outsider have produced the most profit. Although perhaps that isn’t such a surprise when you consider that 

The tips are provided by a guy called Pete Thomson and he tips five days per week, i.e. taking Sundays and Mondays off – when the racing doesn’t tend to be much good anyway.

Subscriptions are very reasonably priced at just £14.95 per month or £67 per year, which if the live results match the pre-launch ones would represent excellent value.

Now just a quick note that Racing Wins doesn’t officially start until Monday 19th June – which as luck would have it is the start of Royal Ascot – but you can get your name down before then to make sure you get a place as this is the kind of thing that may sell out.

Anyway, we are looking forward to testing this out and will get going with proofing the results as soon as the service commences on 19th June.

In the meantime you can check out Racing Wins here.

 

 

 

ascot

FA Racing – Final Review

We have reached the end of our two month trial of FA Racing and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    -15 points 
Strike Rate:    23%
Bank Growth:   -15%
ROI:   -3%
Average number of tips:   6 per day
Cost:   £57/month, £137/quarter or £425/year
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

FA Racing Full Review

 

FA Racing is a horse racing tipping service from the same team behind the popular Football Advisor service (hence the initials FA).

It is based on the bets that John (who runs the service) has been placing himself for a number of years and apparently does rather well off.

John decided a few months ago to start making these selections public via the new FA Racing service and the results prior to our trial looked very promising indeed. 

But how would it get on under the spotlight of a live trial?

Well the first thing to say is that there are a large number of bets! There were nearly 400 bets in just two months, which is one of the highest bet volumes we have seen.

Sadly in this case though, quantity didn’t necessarily translate into quality and we ended the trial 15 points down to advised prices.

Here are the results over the trial in graph format:

FA Racing Profit Graph

As you can see, it was quite an up and down trial! However, most of the time it fluctuated from down back towards even and was only in surplus for a brief period early on. 

Using a 100 point bank, the final results represented just a 15% drawdown so it was certainly no disaster, therefore we feel a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance. 

Although it has not excelled during our trial, it hasn’t done too badly either so we don’t feel FA Racing warrants a failed rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  With an average of six bets per day this is a high-volume service and with some of the bets being multiples like Yankees and Trixies, there is quite a bit of work involved in following the service. 

Availability of prices:  Prices were generally fairly obtainable. There was an 18 point difference between the advised prices and BSP results, so a little bit of a gap but with over 400 bets being placed, it is actually a fairly small difference. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 23%, which is fairly reasonable. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is advised for following the service, which seemed adequate to us and was never in jeopardy during our trial.  

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £57 per month, £137 per quarter or £425 per year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Football Advisor is a respected football tipping service and as the results of FA Racing prior to our trial looked very promising, we were optimistic that this could be a real winner.

Unfortunately though results during the trial were a little disappointing, with a 15 point loss being made to advised prices.

This isn’t the worse service we have come across and a 15% loss of the bank was no catastrophe, so we are awarding FA Racing a NEUTRAL rating.

It may be a service to keep an eye on to see how it develops in future, but for the moment it isn’t one we can recommend. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – Results Update

20th August 2017

It continues to be a bit of a struggle for FA Racing, with 6 points lost to advised prices since our last update.

That puts them 15 points down overall to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been considerably worse, with 8 points lost since our last update and 37 points lost overall, so it is looking questionable as to whether the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – Results Update

8th August 2017

A bit of a reversal of form lately for FA Racing, with a winning position unfortunately becoming a losing one since our last update.

They have lost 18 points in that time at advised prices, meaning they are now 9 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP the picture is slightly worse, with 22 points lost since our last update and 29 points lost overall.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – Results Update

20th July 2017

It’s been a solid if unspectacular start for horse racing tipster FA Racing, which is a trial service being tested out by Football Advisor (so doesn’t have its own separate website yet). 

We started receiving tips on 5th July and since then we have made 7 points profit at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

To Betfair SP it hasn’t been quite so good, with 7 points lost so far.

This is a high volume service, with a good number of bets per day and normally an additional Trixie or Yankee on top. 

A good start then, hopefully things will continue in the same fashion.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – New Review

28th June 2017

A while ago we ran a review of the popular football betting service Football Advisor.

Although it only managed a neutral rating during our trial, it is a well respected service and has made over 300 points profit overall since starting a few years ago.

So our interest was piqued when we saw their new potential service – FA Racing – undergo a beta launch at the start of June.

Jon Robertson, who runs the Football Advisor service, started out his days with the racing website systemlays.co.uk which took a systems-based approach to horse racing betting and was a well-liked site.

Jon decided to sell the site in 2012 to concentrate on new avenues, including starting Football Advisor. Unfortunately the new owners of systemlays did not keep it going and it is now defunct. 

However, Jon has continued to bet on the horses himself over the years and to do rather well at it.

So with him making a nice additional income from horse racing, Jon thought it was time to run a three month trial to see if he could launch a new horse racing service based on his bets.

He did this at the start of June and it has been quite successful to say the least! So far June has given followers a whopping ROI of 45.5% and over 50 points profit.

Winners have included:

Caspian Prince 25/1
Hallings Comet 19/1
Marmajuke Bay 16/1
Artscape 14/1
Theflyingpoet 9/1

Plus just yesterday there was another winner at 5/2. 

So although it’s still early days, this does look like a promising service and one we decided it is worth investigating.

We have therefore paid our £20 and signed up for the final two months of the three month beta trial.

We will record results here for the next two months and if things go anything like as well as June has gone, then we fully expect this will turn into a full service in due course.

In the meantime, you can sign up for the final two months of the trial of FA Racing for just £20 here. 

 

 

 

horse racing

Betting in the Know – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Betting in the Know and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   -12 points 
Strike Rate:   22%
Bank Growth:   -8%
Cost:   £25 per month 
ROI:   -2%
Average number of Bets:   3 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Betting In the Know – Full Review

 

Betting in the Know is a horse racing tipster that came into our trial with a pretty phenomenal-looking set of results. 

They had apparently accumulated over 1400 points profit in three years according to the results on their website, at a return on investment of over 25%.

Figures like those would put them in the elite league of horse racing tipping with the likes of Hugh Taylor, Equine Investments and Quentin Franks Racing.

So we headed into the trial with high hopes that they could replicate that kind of form during three months of live testing.

However, as we seem to say often here at HBR, that sadly didn’t turn out to be the case.

In fact, they made a loss of 12 points in the end to advised prices.

At one point during the trial we were actually 80 points up and at another we were over 50 points down, so it was one hell of a roller-coaster, as you can see below!

Betting In the Know Profit Graph

A late really brought us back towards the break even point, so in the end we think a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance.

The bank ended up 8% down, which although disappointing is no disaster either. 

It doesn’t look like the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP, as we lost a whopping 78 points at BSP, significantly more than at advised prices.

Our main issue with the service was the advised betting bank, which will go into more depth below.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  The workload is a little higher than with some comparable services, with around three bets per day on average. The tips are sent out the evening before racing, so plenty of time to get the bets on. 

Availability of prices:  As mentioned above, there was a big difference between the advised prices and Betfair SP and the advised prices did tend to get hit in significantly by the off. So certainly if you are following the service you will need bookie accounts and to get your bets on the night before racing. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 22%, below where it would need to be to generate a profit. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is recommended for following the service, with a possible 150 point bank advised if you want to be conservative. We think given that both during our trial and previously they have suffered drawdowns of close to 100 points, a bank of 200 points should be advised.

It would be pretty galling if you had joined at the start of April this year with a 100 point bank and seen your entire bank wiped out. We see this a lot with tipping services advising insufficient banks and it is probably the single biggest reason that people lose money from following tipsters long term. So we would definitely advise a 200 point bank here given the strike rate and taking levels. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are very reasonable at £25 per month. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Betting in the Know looked like a promising service coming into our trial but sadly didn’t deliver during our three month live test, finishing 12 points down to advised prices.

We may just have hit the service at the wrong time as the results published on their website matched ours so it seems like a genuine service and things may well turn around for them.

Our two things to note about the service are that it doesn’t seem practical to follow at Betfair SP and the advised bank should be increased to 200 points.

So it’s a watching brief for now for Betting in the Know to see if they can turn things around long term.

 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Betting in the Know – Results Update

15th June 2017 

A small decline for Betting in the Know since our last update, with just 2 points lost at advised prices since our last update a couple of weeks ago.

Sadly though that means they are still well down for the trial overall – 44 points down to be precise at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been nothing short of a disaster, with another 12 points lost and 99 lost overall.

So something spectacular is needed between now and the end of the trial for this to turn things around. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Betting in the Know – Results Update

1st June 2017 

Unfortunately the tough run continues for Betting in the Know, with 56 points lost at advised prices since our last update three weeks ago.

That means they are now 42 points down for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP the news is worse, with 66 points lost since our last update and 87 overall.

It’s been a nightmare run for them, but these things happen in betting and sometimes you just hit a service at its worst time, which certainly seems to have been the case here. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Betting in the Know – Results Update

11th May 2017 

There has been a drastic reversal for Betting in the Know since our last update unfortunately, with 59 points lost at advised prices over the last three weeks.

That has taken them from 73 points in profit for the trial down to just 14 points in profit.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is an even sorrier tale, with 66 points lost since our last update, putting them on -21 points for the trial overall.

This just shows you the ups and downs you can get with betting and it can be tough to take at times, but is also another reminder of the importance of having a big enough betting bank and plenty of patience when you approach any system or strategy.

Let’s hope things have picked up by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Betting in the Know – Results Update

20th April 2017 

It’s been a very good start to our trial of horse racing tipster Betting in the Know, which has notched up a remarkable 73 points of profit at advised prices since our trial started a month ago.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are also good but not quite as outstanding as at advised prices, with 45 points of profit made to date.

There are a fair number of tips, with nearly 100 advised so far in our first month of following the service. The tips are sent out in the evening before racing, so plenty of time to get the bets on.

A strong start then for Betting in the Know, let’s hope things continue in the same vein!

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Betting in the Know – New Review

20th March 2017 

Today we are starting a new trial of an interesting-looking horse racing tipster called Betting in the Know.

We think being in the know is usually a good thing whatever business you are in, but it certainly pays in the horse racing industry. 

Looking at their results, it sure looks like they are “in the know” when it comes to betting on the nags.

With over 1400 points profit made since starting up in March 2014, their points total is up there with the very best.

The return on investment over the last year is over 26%, which is excellent stuff.

Looking at the profit graph, they appear to have built profits very steadily over the last three years, with a high proportion of winnings months to losing ones.

Staking seems pretty reasonable at between 1 and 5 points per bet, with most selections at around 2 points. A 100 point bank is recommended, which seems fair given the staking.

The good news is that you can get 30 days access to the tips for just £9.99, an appealing offer given the results published on the website.

We will run our standard three month live trial of this one and will report back soon on how things have started.

In the meantime you can check out Betting In the Know here. 

 

 

 

 

the-value-machine-pic

The Value Machine – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of The Value Machine and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    -14 points
Strike Rate:    14%  
Bank Growth:    -6%
Cost:   £7 for first 14 days then £57/month or £147/quarter 
ROI:    -1%
Average number of bets:    12 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

The Value Machine – Full Review

 

The Value Machine is a piece of software that finds value bets for horse racing. 

It does this by looking for instances where the bookies’ price for a horse is above that on Betfair. As Betfair has been shown in numerous studies to be a perfect market – i.e. to predict accurately the chances of a given horse winning, then in these instances the bookies must be wrong.

The software is very easy to use. You just open it up, click on the afternoon or evening’s selections and they are produced instantly for you.

Then it is just a case of placing the selections, which can take a bit of time as there are on average over 10 selections per day.

We had high hopes for this coming into our trial, as the system on which it is based – the Morning Value Service – had amassed over 3,500 points of profit over five years.

And certainly the logic to it seems sound.

However, unfortunately over our trial, we made a loss of 14 points to the best available bookies price.

That was over the course of more than 1100 bets, so a massive sample size!

At Betfair SP, the results were worse, with a 45 point loss being made. 

And taking the best available Betfair price at the time selections were generated did not seem like a tenable option, as that made a 66 point loss over the trial.

It was disappointing to have made a loss, but of course it may just have been that we hit it at a bad time. Indeed, early on in the trial we went over 100 points up, so clearly there is potential here.

You can see how things went in the profit graph below:

The Value Machine Profit Graph

As you can see, we were in profit for most of the trial but went on a huge losing streak towards the end, dropping over 100 points. 

However, more worrying for us is the actual viability of this system.

During the trial, we had our Stan James account closed, which we had for over 10 years and had not even been limited before.

We also had another account limited, which was frustrating.

This problem did not seem limited to us either, as we were contacted by other users who said they had lost bookie accounts when using this.

It is possible that the bookies see people who are using this as arbers, as in theory when the Betfair price is above the bookies’, it could be an opportunity to arb.

Or perhaps they just someone who is exploiting value.

Either way, the bookies really don’t seem to like this and that presents a significant problem for users.

There are of course always steps you can take to try and keep your bookie accounts open, but it is not an ideal situation.

So overall, unfortunately we are not able to recommend The Value Machine at this time and award it a NEUTRAL rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are a large number of bets to place, so you do have to allocate some time to placing the bets, say around 20-30 minutes per day. 

Availability of prices:  As mentioned above, this is a big concern. A fair proportion of the bets come from just one bookie and it often Stan James. However, Stan James are likely to close your account if you place lots of these bets with them. Using Betfair SP does not appear, on the basis of our trial, to be a viable angle to long-term profit. So you may have to make do long term with taking with taking slightly less than the best available price in some instances.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was low at just 14%, which is quite a bit below what is stated on the website, i.e.  17%. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 250 point betting bank is advised, which we think is about right. From the high to low, we experienced around a 120 point drawdown, so about half the bank. Anything less than a 200 point bank would be at risk of going bust. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £7 for the first 14 days then £57 per month or £147 per quarter.  

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

We had high hopes coming into our trial of The Value Machine and early on it looked like those hopes were being richly fulfilled, as we went over 100 points up.

Sadly though, a slide then set in and we ended up 14 points down at best available prices.

That was disappointing, but what was more worrying was that we had bookie accounts closed as a result of placing these bets, one of which we had held for over 10 years. We also received reports from other users of the same thing. 

The bookies are likely to think you are either arbing or exploiting prices at least, so you are at risk of losing accounts when using this system.

We may well have just hit this at a bad time and no doubt results will pick up for them over time. Indeed, we think the logic of the system is sound.

However, with slight concerns over bookie account closures, we think a NEUTRAL rating is the only fair verdict here. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

13th December 2016

The tough times continue for The Value Machine, with a further 36 points lost since our last update.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +34 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: -17 points
  • Betfair SP: +19 points

You can view full results here.

So we have lost a large portion of the substantial profit we had build up earlier in the trial and the recent slide has been a little troubling to say the least.

But hopefully things will turn around shortly and we will be back to winning ways. It can’t come soon enough!

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th November 2016

A very tough run for The Value Machine since our last update, with 40 points lost at advised prices.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +70 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +22 points
  • Betfair SP: +57 points

You can view full results here.

It’s been a very up and down trial, with some great runs followed by some long losing streaks. However, being 70 points up is still very good going, so we have to take the rough with the smooth and look at the bigger picture here.

Talking of pictures, the other one that is emerging here is that taking the best available Betfair price when selections are generated is not a good option, with it now being nearly 50 points behind the advised prices.

So it seems that if you want to use Betfair, then using Betfair SP is a much better option.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th November 2016

More fantastic profits for The Value Machine over the last week. 

We have gained another 41 points profit at advised prices since our last update. 

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +110 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +71 points
  • Betfair SP: +94 points

You can view full results here.

We had high hopes for the Value Machine coming into our trial and it has certainly not disappointed. The results have been superb and one of the best trials we have seen here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Let’s just hope they open it up soon to all those members who want to join.  

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

15th November 2016

There has been an improvement for The Value Machine – a piece of software for betting on the horses – since our last update a couple of weeks ago, with 19 points profit made at advised prices.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +69 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +39 points
  • Betfair SP: +53 points

You can view full results here.

So still ticking along nicely at about the half way point of our trial. 

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

1st November 2016

The downtrend has continued unfortunately for The Value Machine over the last week, with another 10 points lost at advised prices.

Overall though things have still been very good, with a month’s worth of bets now accumulated.

Here are the totals for the trial so far:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +50 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +24 points
  • Betfair SP: +41 points

You can view full results here.

The best price available at the bookies is still leading the pack at 50 points up, followed by BSP at 41 points up and the Betfair price at the time of the selection coming in last at 24 points up. 

An excellent first month overall, let’s hope for more of the same over the rest of the trial. 

Another warning though that there is a real risk you will have bookie accounts closed if you use this – we have had reports of this from a few members. 

Kieran says he is going to put up a section on the Value Machine website about keeping bookie accounts open, so watch out for that. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th October 2016

There has been something of a correction for The Value Machine since our last update a week ago. 

They have dropped 23 points at advised prices, which was perhaps due as things couldn’t really have gone on in the same incredible way they started.

But overall things have still gone very well so far. Here are the updated totals:-

  • Bookies Price Taken: +59 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +41 points
  • Betfair SP: +48 points

You can view full results here.

One significant thing to mention however is that we were contacted by a member this week who said his Stan James account had been shut down – not just stake-limited, but actually shut down – as a result of bets placed using The Value Machine.

That is a significant problem because a large percentage of the bets The Value Machine generates are with Stan James.

To be honest though, we are not that surprised this has happened and we think there is a real risk bookies will close your accounts if you are using this. The bookies have software that can track betting patterns such as that generated by using The Value Machine.

So that is why we are tracking prices available at Betfair and Betfair SP, to see if the service is still profitable without relying on the bookies.

On that front things are looking good so far, but it is too early to draw any conclusions.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

18th October 2016

The Value Machine continues to produce excellent results, adding further profit since our last update a week ago.

Here is where we are now after two weeks:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +82 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +68 points
  • Betfair SP: +75 points

You can view full results here.

Quite outstanding results so far and good to see it is working very well at Betfair so far too.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

9th October 2016

It’s been an excellent start to our trial of The Value Machine, which is living up to its pre-launch billing.

This is software that finds value horse racing selections at the click of a button. It is the same process as that used by the Morning Value Service, which has made over 3,500 points profit in 5 years.

For the purposes of this review, we are recording selections at the best price available at the bookies when selections are generated, the Betfair price available when selections are generated and Betfair SP.

Here are the results to one point level stakes after one week of the selections:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +66 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +54 points
  • Betfair SP: +67 points

You can view full results here.

Superb stuff so far, couldn’t have asked for much more really.

There are lots of selections, with 160 bets after just one week, so you need to have a bit of time available to place the bets. 

Although to date the results suggest you could just use Betfair SP, which would save quite a lot of time. 

The Value Machine is closed to new members for the moment, but we understand Kieran may reopen it to a restricted number of new members at some point, depending on how prices hold up etc.

You can get your name down here to be contacted if it does reopen.

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

UPDATE – We have just heard that The Value Machine will be closing its doors on the evening of Tuesday 4th October – so if you want to join up you must do so before then!

You can sign up for a 2 week trial for just £7 here.

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – New Review

One of the first betting systems we reviewed here at Honest Betting Reviews was the Morning Value Service, which is run by a guy called Kieran Ward.

It’s a service we’ve followed personally for a long time and is without doubt one of the best systems we have ever come across.

It finds value bets on the horse racing and has made just short of 3500 points profit in 5 years of operating, which equates to over £70,000 profit to just £20 stakes.

We have followed the selections ourselves for two years and can verify that the results are completely genuine and accurate.

The main problem with the Morning Value Service however was that in order to protect prices, Kieran had to limit membership to a very select number of people.

Plus membership was very expensive, at £400 for 3 months. 

However, now he is releasing the tools behind the money-making machine that Kieran has used so successfully over the last few years and at a much lower cost.

It is a piece of software called The Value Machine and it promises to be very special. It is being released at 12 midday GMT on Friday 30th September, but you can get your name down before then to get a copy here.

Basically – as the name suggests – the software generates bets that have inherent value in them.

The great thing about releasing this as a piece of software is that it will mean people will not all be choosing the same bets at the same time, as selections will change depending on the odds over the course of a day – but the inherent value will remain the same.

And as we say, it will be much cheaper than the Morning Value Service. 

Kieran is offering an initial trial for 2 weeks for just £7, followed by £57+VAT per month, so you can get a feel for the software before deciding if you want to proceed.

If the software could match the results achieved by the Morning Value Service, then it would be an awesome betting system and could generate profit month after month for its users – as the Morning Value Service has done.

We are going to be giving the software a full trial here at Honest Betting Reviews to see how well it works.

We are excited about this one – certainly all the contact we have had with Kieran suggests he is honest, hardworking and upfront and we understand a lot of effort has gone into developing the software to be the best it can possibly be.

So let’s hope we have uncovered another gem here – only time will tell of course. 

We will provide regular updates on how the trial progresses.  

In the meantime you can check out the Value Machine here – from 12 Midday on 30th September. 

 

racing investment pic

Racing Investment – Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Racing Investment and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    -10 points
Strike Rate:    37%
Bank Growth:    -6%
Cost:   £40+VAT/month or £80+VAT/quarter 
ROI:   -2%
Average number of bets:    1 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Racing Investment Full Review

 

Racing Investment is a horse racing tipster from the Bet Fan group of tipsters. 

Coming into our trial, they had amassed some astonishing results, racking up over 600 points profit at an almost unheard of return on investment of 91%.

However, as is often the case in this business, the trial results didn’t live up to the pre-trial results and we are left somewhat disappointed here.

Overall, we have finished 10 points down after three months. Given that all selections are backed with 5 points, it is the equivalent of being just 2 points down to 1 point level stakes.

That is very close to breaking even, so we think a neutral rating is a fair judgement here. 

Looking at how things went in graph format, we can see the volatile nature of the results:

Racing Investment Profit Graph

However, it should be borne in mind that the 5 point stakes accentuate the up and down nature of the results.

One thing to note though is that they finished 48 points down at Betfair SP, so it is questionable whether the service is practical to follow at BSP.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Tips are sent out in the morning (or you can log in to the Bet Fan website) and there is an average of just one bet per day, so it is a very simple service to follow with minimal time commitment. 

Availability of prices: Prices are generally fairly available and you shouldn’t have too many problems getting the advised price. However, as we state above, the Betfair SP results were quite a bit worse so beware of using BSP. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 37%, which is quite a bit below the pre-trial average of 61%, and explains why the results weren’t as good during our trial. 

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank was advised, but we used a 150 point bank for the trial and it was never in jeopardy during the trial.

Subscription costs: Subscription costs are £40+VAT per month or £80+VAT per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

We had high hopes for Racing Investment coming into our trial, which had the almost perfect trifecta of great results, at a high strike rate and phenomenal ROI.

However, as we see so often here, it couldn’t reproduce those results under a live trial and ended up more or less breaking even at advised prices over our trial.

So the only fair verdict seems like a neutral rating here.

We will keep an eye on things to see if results pick up, but for the time being its a watching brief for this one.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – Results Update

13th October 2016

It’s been a disappointing time for Racing Investment, who have dropped 12 points since our last update to be -3 points for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have been considerably worse, with 29 points dropped since our last update to be -39 points for the trial overall.

We had high hopes for this service as the results coming into our trial were outstanding, but as is so often the case, they have failed to reproduce those results under the spotlight of a live trial.

Anyway, only a couple of weeks left in our trial of Racing Investment, so let’s hope for a good finish from them. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – Results Update

17th September 2016

A bit of a decline for Racing Investment since our last update unfortunately.

They have lost 28 points since our last update at advised prices, leaving them at 9 points up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, things are slightly worse, with 39 points dropped since our last update to be 10 points down for the trial.

Hopefully this is just a minor blip for Racing Investment and things will get back on track soon, as their results coming into the trial were highly impressive.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – Results Update

23rd August 2016

Our pre-trial expectations have for once not been let down, so far at least.

We started out this trial with high hopes that we had found something special in the form of Racing Investment.

And the first month has been very good, delivering 37 points of profit at advised prices and 29 points profit at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

It is a very simple service to follow, with generally just one bet per day. And with a high strike rate, it has been low stress so far as well. 

So far so good then for Racing Investment. Let’s hope for more of the same going forward.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Investment – New Review

25th July 2016

Today we are commencing a new trial of a horse racing service called Racing Investment.

This is a horse racing tipster that looks highly promising.

As those of you who have been following Honest Betting Reviews for a while know, there are a few key ingredients we look for when searching for a good tipster.

Other than the obvious good profit levels shown – in this case over 660 points profit to date – we want to see consistency. Has the tipster had a majority of winning months?

In the case of Racing Investment, every month so far has been profitable, so check.

Then we look at strike rate – does the tipster have a high strike rate, meaning losing runs will be short and staking can be higher?

In this case, the strike rate is a very impressive 61% – meaning more bets have won than lost so far, which is very encouraging indeed – check.

After that it is a case of checking out the return on investment (ROI). In this case that is also exceptionally high, at an astonishing 91%.

We actually struggle to remember a service with such a high ROI – so it’s certainly a check on that front.

Next up we consider how the results stack up at Betfair SP. For many of us who have had our bookie accounts closed or limited, being able to make a profit at Betfair SP is crucial.

Well it’s good news on that front too – the Betfair SP results are also very strong, with 522 points profit made to date at a return on investment of over 70% – check again.

Finally, we look at how long the service has been going.

Basically it’s a case of the longer the better. If a service can demonstrate a winning record over a long period then it is unlikely to be just chance and more likely that they have a genuine edge over the market.

Racing Investment doesn’t quite score on this front as it’s only been going since January 2016, but by the end of our review we will have three months more results to chalk up and a better feel of the long-term profitability of the service.

With such an impressive record to date, we really couldn’t resist testing this out and are genuinely excited about its prospects.

We also like the fact that the sales page is – well, fairly non-salesy – and focuses on the fact that the service is based around a business model and shrewd investing, not gambling.

Anyone who takes such an approach is much more likely to succeed and the results so far certainly back that up.

Anyway, enough of the build-up, let’s get things going and kick off the trial.

We’ll be back soon with our first update.

In the meantime, you can check out Racing Investment here. 

 

galileo racing pic

Galileo Racing – Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Galileo Racing and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    -13 points
Strike Rate:    39%
Bank Growth:    -13%
Cost:   £39.50 per month or £89.50 per quarter
ROI:   -9%
Average number of bets:    6 per week
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Galileo Racing – Full Review

 

Galileo Racing is a horse racing tipster from the reputable Pro Betting Club stable.

Coming into our trial, it had made over 300 points profit at a return on investment of over 25%, so we were very hopeful that this would turn out to be a winner.

Sadly though, things didn’t quite work out as we had hoped and the trial finished with a loss of 13 points.

As things go it is not the worst trial we have ever had and there is always the possibility they will get things back on track soon.

So for the moment we give them a neutral rating and hopefully things will improve for Galileo Racing over the Autumn and beyond.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Not bad. You have to log in to the Pro Betting Club site each day rather than having the tips sent to you by e-mail/text, which would be preferable. But there are usually just one or two bets per day, so the time involved is minimal. 

Availability of prices: There are no prices advised as such, which is very unusual for a horse racing tipster.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 39%, which includes placed horses. 

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank was advised, but we used a 100 point bank for the trial, which seemed plenty enough to take account of any losing runs. 

Subscription costs: Subscription costs are £39.50 per month or £89.50 per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

It’s been a slightly disappointing trial for the horse racing tipster Galileo Racing.

A loss of 13 points was not what we were hoping for, but was not the worst outcome of a trial we have seen either. 

So a neutral verdict and a watching brief will be the order of the day for this one for the time being.

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – Results Update

10th August 2016

Things have picked up a bit for Galileo Racing, a horse racing tipster from the Pro Betting Club stable.

They have added 9 points of profit at advised prices since our last update a month ago, bringing them to -17 points for the trial overall.

 You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have added 6 points of profit since our last update to reach -24 points for the trial overall.

We have just a couple of weeks left in our trial of Galileo Racing, so let’s hope for a strong run at the end to bring them into profit for the trial overall.

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – Results Update

13th July 2016

Unfortunately it is been a slightly disappointing time for Galileo Racing. 

The service has lost 20 points at advised prices since our last update, meaning it is now 26 points down for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are a little lower, at -30 points for the trial.

We had high hopes for this one at the outset, so it is a shame it has not quite lived up to those hopes yet.

Still, it is relatively early days in the trial as we have only had 41 bets so far, which is a fairly small number to go on.

Anyway, let’s hope things have picked up for them by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – Results Update

15th June 2016

It’s been an up and down start to our trial of Galileo Racing, who stated off strongly and went 13 points into profit quickly, but have had a tough run since then.

So far for the trial they are 6 points down at early prices and 10 points down at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

Interestingly they don’t actually include advised prices with their selections, so it is just a case of grabbing the best price you can when the tips are released.

It is very early days in the trial, so plenty of time to get going, with Royal Ascot this week being a good starting point hopefully.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Galileo Racing – New Review

25th May 2016

What do you look for in a horse racing tipster?

Obviously the bottom line is that you want it to make you money.

But beyond that, what are the important things for a service to have?

Well in our view, we like a tipster to have the following things:

  • A high number of winning months
  • A good strike rate, so losing runs are short and you can bet at reasonably high stakes
  • A decent return on investment
  • Sensible staking
  • Prices that are obtainable

For our next trial, we think we may have found a service that meets all these criteria – well at least four of them anyway.

The service in question is called Galileo Racing and it comes from the respected Pro Betting Club.

It has had 13 out of 14 winning months so far, so very good on that front.

The strike rate is around 30%, which is very respectable for a racing service and means winners should be regular enough.

The return on investment is apparently 25%, which over a 14 month period is very high indeed. There aren’t many tipsters that manage above a 20% ROI in the long term.

Staking is sensible as well, with either a 2 point win bet or 1 point each way on every tip.

So that just leaves the question of whether prices are obtainable.

Well we will find out soon enough! 

Indeed, that is partly what reviewing these services is about, in addition to checking results are accurate and that they are practical to follow.

So without further ado, we will get our trial of Galileo Racing underway and let’s hope it lives up to the pre-trial billing we have just given it!

We will revert soon with our first update on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Galileo Racing here.

 

frankel image

GG Tips – Final Review

After two months we thought it was time to call it a day on our trial of GG Tips.

With a grand total of 336 points lost, there didn’t seem much point continuing to monitor results.

As we suspected at the outset, it is virtually impossible to make a profit from tipping in every race and that has proved to be the case here.

So certainly we couldn’t advise that you back all the bets put up by GG Tips.

 

Potentially Profitable Angles

However, is there any aspect of the service that might have potential of generating profit?

Well, here is a breakdown of the results by the type of bet over our trial:

 

Bet Type Profit/loss
Every race    -251.7 points
Bet of the Day     -0.78 points
Daily Double  -23.1 points
Tasty Treble  -59 points
Lucky 15  +4.11 points
Outsider  -7.5 points

 

So there is potential in the Bet of the Day, Lucky 15 and Outsider bets. All of the results are recorded at SP, so using Betfair SP or early prices, you would certainly be able to beat these results.

Using Betfair SP, you would have made a profit on the Bet of the Day selections, which is good news and confirms our initial thoughts that having a “nap” of the day is much more likely to produce a profit than backing in all races.

The other good thing about GG Tips is that it is free and there is a host of other information on the site, including cards and results, news stories, blogs from tipsters and horse racing experts and alerts where you can get notified if a particular horse is due to run.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

So overall we think a neutral rating is a fair verdict for GG Tips.

It is probably best avoiding the tips in all the individual races, but the Bet of the Day, Lucky 15 and Outsider Bets have shown the potential to be profitable. 

And with the service being free and having a number of other features, GG Tips is overall a decent racing site in our opinion.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

GG Tips – Results Update

23rd April 2016

It’s been a sorry story for GG Tips, who have dropped another 175 points since our last update.

That puts them 285 points down for the trial so far. 

You can view full results here.

Our worry expressed at the start of the trial was that it is virtually impossible to make a profit when tipping in every race and that certainly seems to have been borne out here.

We may conclude this trial early as it is so far down there doesn’t seem a great deal of point in continuing it much longer.

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

GG Tips – Results Update

30th March 2016

It’s been a rough start to our trial of GG Tips. This is a website that provides tips for every race in the UK and Ireland on a daily basis, plus their best bet of the day and some multiple selections.

After a month of following all their tips, they are -110 points down to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

This seems to be proof if ever it were needed that it is practically impossible to make a profit from tipping on every race. 

However, unfortunately their naps and multiples haven’t done very well either. Although yesterday they were very close to going through the card at Southwell, picking 6 out of 7 winners. 

Anyway, hopefully things will pick up for them over the remainder of the trial. 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

GG Tips – New Review

22nd February 2016

Today we are starting a new trial of a free horse racing tipster called GG Tips – or to give them their proper website name, gg.co.uk.

This is a very popular tipping site that offers tips for every race in the UK!

Not bad going, although we usually have reservations about tipsters who do that, as it can often mean you are tipping for the sake of it in races when there isn’t really a good bet.

But fortunately they also have their “best bets” of the day that include a single, double, treble, lucky 15 and an outsider of the day.

So hopefully these more focused bets – their naps if you like – will produce the goods. That’s not to say betting in every race can’t work of course, it’s just that it is hard and we haven’t seen it done successfully before.

It’s always nice to see a tipster that offers their tips for free though, especially as there are some quite expensive ones out there – often who aren’t even very good!

There don’t seem to be any results for their tips published on the site – or at least none that were easy to find – which is usually a small cause for concern, but does not necessarily mean the results aren’t good. We shall find out!

Anyway, this website has a very big following so we doubt people are following them if they aren’t very good. That’s the theory anyhow. 

We will run our normal trial and see how they get on.

Back soon with an update on GG Tips.

 

Horse Racing

Profit Pony – Final Review

Update 19th May 2016

Just a quick note to say we will be continuing to monitor Profit Pony for a few months to see results over the long term. So far the news is good with 50 points of profit accumulated to date in May.

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Profit Pony and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:    -11 points 
Strike Rate:   23%
Bank Growth:    -11%
Cost:   £19.99/month, £49.99/quarter or £79.99/6 months
ROI:   -5%
Average number of tips:    1.5 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Profit Pony – Full Review

 

They call it the reviewer’s curse. 

You find a tipster that has an amazing record. In this case over 900 points of profit and 17 winning months out of 18.

Then you start your trial. And things seem to go immediately wrong.

In our case we managed to hit their worst month ever, with February finishing 35 points down.

Things improved somewhat over the rest of the trial however, to finish with an 11 point loss at advised prices and -18 points at Betfair.

That is certainly no catastrophe and represents just an 11% reduction in the betting bank, so we think overall a neutral rating is a fair verdict for Profit Pony.

Here are the results for the trial in graph format:

Profit Pony Results Graph

As you can see, things got off to a rough start but recovered well to almost finish level by the end of the trial.

Previous Concerns

We had expressed some concerns in our previous results update about some discrepancies between our results and those published on the Profit Pony website.

We have now received confirmation from them that the additional tip for the Irish Grand National which returned 41 points profit was a Twitter tip.

There is also a tip listed in their results on 16th April which returned 6 points and that appears to have been a Twitter tip as well.

It is fair enough if they want to include the Twitter tips in their results, presuming these are clearly marked as such.

As we said previously though, we hadn’t received any instructions to also follow their Twitter tips, so can’t include these in our results.

We think the service would benefit with some guidance upon signing up about how best to follow the tips and some information about the additional Twitter tips.

And we also think customer service could be improved somewhat as it took a good few weeks to hear back regarding our questions.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Tips are sent out at varying times, which can make things a little tricky. But there are on average just 1-2 tips per day, so the workload is low and should only take a few minutes a day to get the bets on.

Availability of prices: The prices were generally freely available, with the odd one or two being backed quite significantly. There wasn’t too much of a difference between the results at advised prices and Betfair SP, which is reassuring. Our advice would be to back the tips as soon as you can after they are sent out to maximise returns.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 23%, which is pretty good for the kind of profit they have been making. The winners come reasonably regularly which is positive. 

Advised Betting Bank: There is no betting bank advised but we used a 100 point bank for the trial which we think would be sufficient, although a 150 point bank would certainly give you enough leeway. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are pretty reasonable at £19.99/month, £49.99/quarter or £79.99 for 6 months.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

It seems to have been a case of reviewer’s curse here with Profit Pony hitting their worst ever run as soon as we signed up.

The trial finished 11 points down in the end, which was only a small loss so we think a neutral rating is fair here.

We do think the service could benefit from some clear instructions after people sign up though as to what to do regarding their Twitter tips.

And an improvement in customer service would help things as well.

The long-term results are very good however and we wouldn’t want to write this service off purely on the basis of our trial. It seems worth following them for a little longer to see if the form previous to our trial can be recaptured.

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Profit Pony – Results Update

2nd April 2016

It has continued to be a tricky time for Profit Pony, who are still struggling during our trial.

They are now 30 points down at advised prices after two months of following their tips and -22 points at Betfair SP.

That is a slight improvement on last time though, when they were 37 points down at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

However, perhaps of more concern to us is the discrepancy between our results and their recorded results on their website.

On 29th March, they have a tip recorded for Rogue Angel winning the Irish Grand National at 33/1, giving them a supposed 41.25 points profit according to their own results.

However, we have scoured our e-mails and cannot find any evidence of having received this tip.

On their website at the bottom it merely says “Some may have missed the Grand National tip so the profit for March for them would of been around +29pts.”

There is no explanation as to why some “may have missed this tip,” which is rather galling when you consider this makes a 41 point difference to the bank for the month.

We have e-mailed Profit Pony about this but are yet to receive a response. We have also e-mailed them about a couple of other issues during our trial and have had no reply to those questions either.

So customer service here seems very poor and is a major cause for concern.

In addition, that Irish Grand National tip is not the only discrepancy between our results and theirs. 

There are a couple of other occasions where we did not receive any e-mail for tips recorded in their results. 

It may be that they are including some of their Twitter tips, but if they are then this is a significant problem because we have no record of having been advised to follow both their e-mails and Twitter feed.

Even if we were, we would ask why that would be the case as most people would not have the additional time to follow Twitter waiting for a tip to be sent out. We would also ask why all tips could simply not be sent by e-mail anyway.

In addition, the tips are sent out at erratic times which makes it a little tricky to follow the service not having that consistency.

Overall then, unless we have some very distinct clarification on these issues and a major improvement in customer service, we would have to issue significant warnings about following Profit Pony for the time being.

We will update things with our final review in a few weeks, when hopefully we will have things cleared up.  

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Profit Pony – Results Update

15th February 2016

Well they call it the reviewer’s curse. You join a service that has an outstanding record. Over 900 points profit in 18 months for Profit Pony, with the worst month being a loss of just 19 points.

Then they hit their worst ever run.

Since I started proofing the tips on 25th January, they have lost 37 points at advised prices, with only two winners so far.

You can view full results here.

Things are a little better at Betfair SP, with the total standing at -29 points so far.

Maybe it is a curse, or just one of those strange coincidences. Who knows? But either way it is disappointing. 

Hopefully this is just a minor blip and we will return to normality very soon.  

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Profit Pony – New Review

22nd January 2016

We have come across a horse racing tipster that we are quite excited about.

It doesn’t happen very often, as we trawl through tipster websites across the internet and tend to find results that either aren’t very good at all or seem too good to be true (and nearly always are).

Well in this instance we have found one that is between those two extremes, whilst being towards the latter end of the scale, in that their results look excellent – but not so good that they are obviously made up.

Plus they apparently used to tip on twitter before they set up their website and had a loyal group of followers with a clear tipping history you could see on twitter.

The service in question is called Profit Pony and has a fairly clear and simple website where you can view their previous results.

And what results they are! Over 900 points profit since starting in July 2014, with 17 profitable months out of 18.

From what we can tell so far most of the tips are 1 point win or 1 point each way, so it is not like they use some crazy staking system to inflate results either.

The only losing month was April 2015 when they apparently had over 25 second place horses (out of 109), so sounds like they were very unlucky that month.

There isn’t a great deal of info given about how tips are selected, other than to say that they are a small team of dedicated punters.

Let’s hope I haven’t put the kibosh on them with the big build up and they can keep up their previous level of form for the duration of our trial and beyond.

Will be back soon with our first update on how Profit Pony get on.

In the meantime you can check out the service here.

 

horse racing

Templegate Tips – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Templegate Tips and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:    -11 points
Strike Rate:   23%
Bank Growth:    -11%
Cost:   FREE
ROI:   -4%
Average number of bets:    3 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL 
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Templegate Tips – Full Review

 

So we have completed our trial of “Britain’s No.1 Tipster.” Is Templegate deserving of that title following his efforts over the last three months?

Well not quite – with a total of 11 points lost over the trial, it has not exactly been award-winning stuff.

However, it has not been a disaster either and considering as a newspaper tipster he is forced to tip pretty much every day, they are certainly not the worst results in the world.

So we think a neutral rating is the fairest verdict for Templegate.

Here are the results for the trial in graph format:

Templegate Tips Profit Graph

As you can see, things got off to a bad start but he managed to battle back and only finished slightly down in the end.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: A relatively straightforward service to follow. Tips are normally posted well before racing on the Sun website and there are 3 tips per day on average, so the workload isn’t too great.

Availability of prices: There was a bit of a difference between the advised prices and Betfair SP results, with the former making 11 points loss but the latter made 39 points loss. However, there is not a stampede for prices in the same way as with other popular tipsters like Pricewise and Hugh Taylor, so you should be able to match the prices or get close to them.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 23%, so a little bit of patience will be required in following this service.

Advised Betting Bank: A betting bank is not advised for the service but we used a notional 100 point bank, which seemed more than adequate with a maximum drawdown of 34 points during the trial.

Subscription costs: The good thing is that the tips are provided free through the Sun website.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

We started out this trial by saying we were sceptical of newspaper tipsters and that most of them make a loss in the long term.

However, Templegate seems to be one of the few exceptions to this rule and has apparently made over 200 points profit at a return on investment of 10% over the long run.

He didn’t quite manage to achieve those levels during our trial, but a loss of 11 points was no calamity either. 

So we think a neutral verdict is a fair verdict for Mr Jones and we will keep an eye on things to see how he progresses.

Certainly if you going to the races and are looking for some newspaper tips to go on then you could do worse than using Templegate’s.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Templegate Tips – Results Update

22nd March 2016

There has been a bit of return to form for Templegate – at advised prices at least – since our last update in February. 

He has managed 13 points of profit at advised prices in that time, although at Betfair SP he has actually lost 3 points.

So that puts Templegate on -5 points overall at advised prices and -29 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

So quite a difference there between the advised prices and Betfair SP, but good to see things picking up for Mr Jones. 

Back soon with our final review.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Templegate Tips – Results Update

1st February 2016

It has been a rough start to our trial of “Britain’s no.1 Tipster.” After three weeks, Steve Jones, aka Templegate of the Sun, is 18 points down at early prices and -26 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

As we said at the outset of the trial, we are normally very sceptical of newspaper tipsters, primarily because they are forced to tip every day and to have “winners” for their readers rather than selectively making tips to achieve long-term profits.

However, Mr Jones has apparently achieved long-term profits, so perhaps deserves some acclaim for that.

It hasn’t been an ideal start to the trial, but to be fair things have been tough lately with the weather and changeable conditions, so hopefully things will pick up for the remainder of the trial.

We will return soon with further updates.  

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Templegate Tips – New Review

8th January 2016

One of the most famous names in horse racing tipping is Templegate – aka Steve Jones of the Sun.

Modestly calling himself “Britain’s No.1 Tipster,” Templegate provides tips each day in the Sun Newspaper, with Naps and then picks for each race on the day, as is normal for newspaper tipsters.

You would be forgiven for being sceptical about newspaper racing tipsters, who typically make a substantial loss over the long term. This is partly because they are forced to tip in every race and invariably just pick favourites so that they can talk about having “winners,” with their newspaper rarely tracking their overall profit and loss.

However, Templegate has actually proven quite adept at tipping, have apparently made over 200 points profit on his naps over the last couple of years.

We are always on the lookout for free tipsters who provide consistent profit, so with a strong record we thought it would be interesting to put Templegate under the microscope of a live trial here at Honest Betting Reviews.

We will also be intrigued to see how prices stand up and whether there is a stampede for his tips in the same way as there is for the likes of Pricewise and Hugh Taylor.

So with that in mind we kick of our live trial of Templegate’s tips and will report on progress soon.

 

Max Racing

Max Racing Tips – Final Review

Our three month trial of Max Racing Tips has finished and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:    -18 points 
Strike Rate:    29%
Bank Growth:    -18%
Cost:   14 day free trial then £29.95/month or £69.95/quarter
ROI:   -5%
Average number of bets:    1 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Max Racing Tips Full Review

 

There have been quite a few neutral ratings for horse racing tipsters here at Honest Betting Reviews and Max Racing Tips joins the club.

This is a tipster from the reputable Betting Gods stable that tips quite selectively with approximately one bet per day.

Things were a bit of a struggle for them at one stage, as they were 68 points down midway through the trial, made an abortive attempt to get back in the black but made a decent recovery towards the end, as you can see below.

Max Racing Tips Profit Graph

Somewhat of a rollercoaster ride I think they call that!

Overall they finished 18 points down, which from a 100 point bank is a slight disappointment but nothing hugely alarming.

For now we think a neutral rating is a fair rating and we will keep an eye on things at Maxing Racing tips for a while to see if they can recapture the form shown prior to our trial.

 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: With just 1 bet per day on average, the workload is low and selections are normally sent out in the morning so plenty of time to get the bets down.

Availability of prices: There was no issue with the availability of prices and there was little difference between the results at advised prices and Betfair SP, which is a good sign. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 29%, which is somewhat below the long term average of 34%.

Advised Betting Bank: No bank was advised when we signed up so we used a 100 point bank, which was more than comfortable for the trial.   

Subscription costs: You can get a free 14 day trial – as with all Betting Gods services – followed by subscription costs of £94.95/per month; £69.95/quarter or £149.95 for life.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Max Racing Tips had made over 200 points profit coming into our trial, but as is so often the case, they failed to match that level during a live trial, dropping 18 points overall.

Things were much worse than that at one stage, as they were 68 points down at one point but made a good recovery towards the end.

A loss of 18% of the bank isn’t the end of the world and we think a neutral rating here is fair for this one. 

As ever we will keep an eye on things and see if matters improve over the coming months. 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – Results Update

11th February 2016

There has been a bit of an improvement for Max Racing Tips, who have added 26 points of profit at advised prices and 19 points profit at Betfair SP since our last update a month ago.

That has started to turn things around for them, as they were 56 points down last time so are now 30 points down at advised prices and 36 points down at Betfair SP for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

Let’s hope the turnaround continues and they can finish the trial in profit.

Back soon with our final review of Max Racing Tips.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – Results Update

12th January 2016

It has been more pain for Max Racing Tips since our last update a month ago. They have lost an additional 9 points to stand at -56 points at advised prices and -55 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

Staking is quite high here, with an average of 2.75 points per selection, so at 1 point level stakes it would be more like 20 points down, which is more palatable.

With a month to go it will be a very decent effort indeed for this one to get back into profit.

Back in a month with our final verdict on Max Racing Tips.

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – Results Update

9th December 2015

It’s been a very rough start to our trial of Max Racing Tips from the Betting Gods stable. 

Unfortunately they are 47 points down at advised prices and 49 points down at Betfair SP. 

You can view full results here.

It is still early days though, with under three weeks of results so far, so plenty of time to turn things around. Let’s hope they can do so quickly.

Back soon with more updates.

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Max Racing Tips – New Review

20th November 2015

It’s over to Betting Gods again today for another one of their promising horse racing tipsters.

This time it is Max Racing Tips, who began tipping back in May and since then have amassed over 200 points of profit.

Apparently high levels of painstaking research go into the tips and that certainly appears to be reflected in the results.

The strike rate so far is a healthy 36% and the return on investment is an impressive 26%.

There are on average about 40 bets per month, so just over one per day which sounds manageable.

We will put this one through its paces and see how it gets on under the spotlight of our trial. It will be subjected to a three month trial as usual, so plenty of time to get a feel for the service.

Our trial will include looking at the results at Betfair SP and how obtainable the advised prices are.

So let’s hope the promising form continues and we get another winning horse racing tipster from the Betting Gods stable.

We will report back soon with the first results update.

In the meantime you can check out Max Racing tips here.