goal trader syndicate

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:    +368 points 
Strike Rate:    35%
Bank Growth:   25%
Cost:   £49.99 per month 
ROI:   14%
Average number of tips:   One per day
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Full Review

 

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate, despite what the name may suggest, is a horse racing betting service that provides daily tips for UK racing.

It is run the same person behind TennisTips.co.uk, which we have reviewed previously here at Honest Betting Reviews.

The first thing to remark on with the Goal Trader Syndicate is that staking is very variable.

In fact, it varies between 10 points and 1,000!

Having said that, the one 1,000 point bet came before our trial started and during the trial the biggest stake has been 200 points (which we had once) and few 100 point bets.

So if you are using the service then you need to have a pretty big bank and be prepared for some big stakes on a few of the bets.

In terms of results, it has done well, finishing with 368 points profit to advised prices at a return on investment of 14%.

As you can see below, it was a little up and down but overall always in positive territory.

What is interesting though is that the results at Betfair SP were actually quite a bit better, finishing with 661 points profit. 

It is very rare to have a service that does better at Betfair SP than advised prices, so that is quite a USP for the Syndicate.

The only thing to note is that with a large bank required, the profit accrued during the trial only translated into 25% bank growth at advised prices or 44% at BSP, which is very respectable but isn’t as much as some other services we have reviewed here.

All in all though it has been a good effort and we are pleased to say that Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate is awarded a PASSED rating. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There is around one tip per day, with bets sent out late in the evening (quite consistently between 10pm and 11.30pm), so an easy service to follow.

Availability of prices:  As we have discussed above, the Betfair SP results actually beat the advised prices, so there is no issue with the availability of prices.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 35%, which is pretty solid. 

Advised Betting Bank: We used a 1500 point bank for the trial, which with a 35% strike rate and average staking at 30 points per bet should be enough, but if you wanted to be more cautious we would recommend a 2,000 point bank. 

Subscription costs: The subscription fees are £49.99 per month. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate is a horse racing tipster who takes a selective approach to betting.

The service racked up an impressive 661 points profit at Betfair SP over our three month trial, which warrants a PASSED rating.

The staking is a little crazy, with stakes between 10 and 200 points, so ideally we would like to stakes a little less variable.

So you need a big bank and to be prepared for those occasional big stakes when following the service.

But to have achieved a clear profit at Betfair SP and beat the advised prices is a decent achievement and marks this out as quite a unique service. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Results Update

1st May 2017

There has been an interesting – and unusual – divergence in results for horse racing tipster Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate since our last update just over a month ago.

At advised prices, there has been a small decline over that period, with 50 points lost. 

At Betfair SP however, there has actually been an improvement, with 67 points profit being made.

You can view full results here.

That means that at advised prices, we are 262 up points up for the trial, but at Betfair SP we are 466 points up.

It is a rare thing to be significantly better off at Betfair SP than advised prices, so we will keep an eye on this and see if it is maintained in the long run.

If so, it could be a real plus for the service, with so many other services struggling to make a profit at Betfair SP.

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Results Update

26th March 2017

It’s been a good start to our trial of Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate, a horse racing tipster from the man who runs tennistips.co.uk.

So far we are 312 points up at advised prices after just over a month.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are even better, with 399 points profit made so far.

As we remarked at the outset, staking is very variable, with anything from 10 to 200 points being staked per selection.

So that is worth bearing in mind if you are following the service and setting an appropriate bank accordingly. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – New Review

24th February 2017

Occasionally you are asked to review something and can get the wrong end of the stick as to what it is all about.

This was the case initially with Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate, which upon seeing the name we thought was a football trading system – or perhaps even tennis as it is part of the Tennis-Tips website.

However, we learned upon closer inspection that it is nothing to do with either football or tennis, but is actually a horse racing service.

Secondly, with the word “Trader” in the title, you could be forgiven for thinking this was a trading system. In fact, it is just a straightforward tipping service with no trading involved.

Thirdly, it doesn’t appear to be much of a syndicate in the traditional sense of the term, rather it is just Robert’s tips which he shares with a small group of followers.

So it reminds me a little bit of the old saying about the Holy Roman Empire – that it wasn’t holy, Roman, nor an empire.  

Anyway, enough about the name – that is not really important.

What is important is whether the service can produce regular profits and make some money for us punters.

It hasn’t been going long but results so far look promising.

Since starting out in December of last year, Robert has made over £14,000 profit.

Before you get too carried away with that figure though, please note that staking is high, with stakes ranging between 10 and 1,000 points.

So there probably aren’t too many of you out there who can stake £1,000 on one bet.

However, the return on investment is very good at 120%, so even at lower staking you would have done well so far.

The strike rate has been good so far as well at 37%, so a good proportion of winners.

So looks pretty decent all in all. 

Although Robert runs another service we have reviewed – Tennis Tips – horse racing is actually his main speciality. Over the years he has refined his strategy and analytical methods and his horse racing betting makes up a significant part of his annual income now. 

Let’s hope we can add to our own annual income with his tips. We will run our normal three month trial of this one, – which we started receiving tips on from 16th Feb – and will update results regularly.

In the meantime you can check out Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate here.

 

 

 

 

carl nicholson

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:    +45 points
Strike Rate:   16%
Bank Growth:   90%
Cost:   £24.99 per month or £299 per year
ROI:   29%
Average number of bets:   1.5 per day
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here. (please see second tab of spreadsheet for Cheltenham results)

 

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Full Review

 

Carl Nicholson is a Harvard maths and computer science graduate who worked as a professional race reader for Daily Racing Form in the USA.

He published a book in 2012 called Value Backing – The Value Backing Guide to Make Money Betting and follows the principles laid out in that book to find value in his horse racing picks.

Did that approach work during our trial though?

Indeed it did, with Carl racking up 26 points profit at advised prices on his main selections, plus another 19 points profit at Cheltenham, making 45 points profit in total at advised prices. 

That works out at a return on investment of 29%, an exceptionally high return and worthy of considerable praise.

Our bank nearly doubled over the trial, growing by 90% in the three months we followed the tips.

At Betfair SP, things weren’t quite as good, with the trial finishing 14 points in profit – so less than half the profit achieved at advised prices.

Overall though we have been impressed by the quality of Carl’s tipping and are happy to award him a RECOMMENDED rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are around 1.5 tips per day which are sent out the night before racing, so a very simple service to follow. 

Availability of prices:  The prices contract quite noticeably before the race, which is evidence of the value Carl is able to identify. Having bookmaker accounts available to you will certainly be an advantage, as at Betfair SP the profits were less than half those at advised prices.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 16%, so there will inevitably be some losing streaks along the way as Carl searches for value tips at decent odds. 

Advised Betting Bank:  A 50 point bank is recommended for following the service and is what we used during the trial, although to be on the safe side you may wish to consider a 75 point bank. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £24.99 per month or £299 per year

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

Carl Nicholson seems like a smart chap – indeed he must have been to have gone to Harvard. 

Certainly during our trial he seems to have proved smarter than the bookies, taking a good wad of cash off them.

In fact he made 45 points profit at advised prices, which represented a 90% growth of our bank and a 29% return on investment.

That very much backs up the results published on his website prior to our trial, which make impressive viewing.

Overall then we think this is a top notch service and are going to check out Carl’s other offering – his Stable Whispers service.

You can check out Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary here.  

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

21st April 2017

A small retraction for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary since our last update a couple of weeks ago.

Carl has dropped 9 nine points at advised in that time, meaning he is know 33 points up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have followed a similar trajectory, with 10 points lost since our last update and a total of 8 points profit for the trial overall. 

It is worth pointing out that Carl has been plagued by a run of second-place finishes recently, some of them at quite big prices, so things could have been substantially better with a little more luck.

Anyway, that is the way it goes sometimes in betting and Carl has still has done well so far overall and hopefully his luck will turn round shortly.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

10th April 2017

The good form continues for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary, which has added another 21 points profit since our last update, putting him on 42 points up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

Carl also provided tips for each race at Aintree on Saturday, which would have added a further 11 points profit if you had followed those additional tips, with Fountains Windfall winning at 16/1.

At Betfair SP there is quite a significant difference, with 15 points profit made since our last update and 18 points profit overall. 

So things going nicely for Carl, let’s hope for more of the same over the remainder of the trial.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

3rd March 2017

Things have picked up nicely for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary, with 13 points profit made since our last update three weeks ago.

That means Carl is now 21 points up at advised prices for the trial overall. 

He also provided tips for every race at Cheltenham, which did very well, making 19 points profit at advised prices and 16 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

Please note there is a second tab on the results spreadsheet for the Cheltenham results.

At Betfair SP, things have not been quite as good (as we seem to say quite a lot these days!), with 2 points profit made since the last update and 3 points made for the trial overall.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

3rd March 2017

It’s been a tough run for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary since our last update, with 8 points lost at advised prices.

That means Carl is now 8 points up overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are a little worse off, with 12 points lost since our last update, leaving us just one point up for the trial so far.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

17th February 2017

It’s been a good start to our trial of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary.

Carl is a Harvard graduate who has developed a betting strategy to identify value horse racing selections.

After two weeks, we are 16 points up at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, things are also going well as we are 13 points up.

With Cheltenham and Aintree just round the corner, should be an exciting time for horse racing tipsters such as Carl. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – New Review

2nd February 2017

They say in betting, value is everything.

Certainly any professional or serious bettor will tell you it is a crucial part of the equation. 

There is no point backing winners if they are all at terrible value. After all, if you have a 50% strike rate, but your average odds are 10/11, you will lose money overall.

But shift those average odds to just 11/10 with the same strike rate and you will be a winning gambler overall.

The value approach to betting is one that has been adopted and developed to a significant degree of expertise by Carl Nicholson, the subject of our next trial here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Carl is said to be a Harvard graduate in maths and computer science who worked for a professional race reader in the US, before turning his mind to professional gambling himself.

Carl has quite literally written the book on value betting, with the publication of his seminal work, “Value Backing – The Value Backing Guide to Make Money Betting.”

As we always say though, theory is one thing, practice another. The proof is whether someone can make money under a live trial, not just produce interesting theories about betting.

So we will see whether Carl can live up to expectations under live trial conditions.

The results on the website look promising however, with over 150 points profit made over the last 18 months to 1 point level stakes, plus 27 points profit on the Breeders’ Cup.

That has been achieved at an excellent return on investment of 28%, which is up there with the best in the racing industry.

The strike rate is 17%, so it is a service that focuses on the longer-odds selections. 

So looks like a promising service all in all.

We will run our normal three month live trial and will update results here on a regular basis.

In the meantime, you can check out Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary here.