This is an archive of ALL betting system reviews including current reviews and final reviews.

goal trader syndicate

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   +368 points 
Strike Rate:   35%
Bank Growth:  25%
Cost:  £49.99 per month 
ROI:  14%
Average number of tips:  One per day
VERDICT:  PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Full Review

 

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate, despite what the name may suggest, is a horse racing betting service that provides daily tips for UK racing.

It is run the same person behind TennisTips.co.uk, which we have reviewed previously here at Honest Betting Reviews.

The first thing to remark on with the Goal Trader Syndicate is that staking is very variable.

In fact, it varies between 10 points and 1,000!

Having said that, the one 1,000 point bet came before our trial started and during the trial the biggest stake has been 200 points (which we had once) and few 100 point bets.

So if you are using the service then you need to have a pretty big bank and be prepared for some big stakes on a few of the bets.

In terms of results, it has done well, finishing with 368 points profit to advised prices at a return on investment of 14%.

As you can see below, it was a little up and down but overall always in positive territory.

What is interesting though is that the results at Betfair SP were actually quite a bit better, finishing with 661 points profit. 

It is very rare to have a service that does better at Betfair SP than advised prices, so that is quite a USP for the Syndicate.

The only thing to note is that with a large bank required, the profit accrued during the trial only translated into 25% bank growth at advised prices or 44% at BSP, which is very respectable but isn’t as much as some other services we have reviewed here.

All in all though it has been a good effort and we are pleased to say that Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate is awarded a PASSED rating. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There is around one tip per day, with bets sent out late in the evening (quite consistently between 10pm and 11.30pm), so an easy service to follow.

Availability of prices:  As we have discussed above, the Betfair SP results actually beat the advised prices, so there is no issue with the availability of prices.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 35%, which is pretty solid. 

Advised Betting Bank: We used a 1500 point bank for the trial, which with a 35% strike rate and average staking at 30 points per bet should be enough, but if you wanted to be more cautious we would recommend a 2,000 point bank. 

Subscription costs: The subscription fees are £49.99 per month. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate is a horse racing tipster who takes a selective approach to betting.

The service racked up an impressive 661 points profit at Betfair SP over our three month trial, which warrants a PASSED rating.

The staking is a little crazy, with stakes between 10 and 200 points, so ideally we would like to stakes a little less variable.

So you need a big bank and to be prepared for those occasional big stakes when following the service.

But to have achieved a clear profit at Betfair SP and beat the advised prices is a decent achievement and marks this out as quite a unique service. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Results Update

1st May 2017

There has been an interesting – and unusual – divergence in results for horse racing tipster Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate since our last update just over a month ago.

At advised prices, there has been a small decline over that period, with 50 points lost. 

At Betfair SP however, there has actually been an improvement, with 67 points profit being made.

You can view full results here.

That means that at advised prices, we are 262 up points up for the trial, but at Betfair SP we are 466 points up.

It is a rare thing to be significantly better off at Betfair SP than advised prices, so we will keep an eye on this and see if it is maintained in the long run.

If so, it could be a real plus for the service, with so many other services struggling to make a profit at Betfair SP.

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – Results Update

26th March 2017

It’s been a good start to our trial of Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate, a horse racing tipster from the man who runs tennistips.co.uk.

So far we are 312 points up at advised prices after just over a month.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are even better, with 399 points profit made so far.

As we remarked at the outset, staking is very variable, with anything from 10 to 200 points being staked per selection.

So that is worth bearing in mind if you are following the service and setting an appropriate bank accordingly. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – New Review

24th February 2017

Occasionally you are asked to review something and can get the wrong end of the stick as to what it is all about.

This was the case initially with Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate, which upon seeing the name we thought was a football trading system – or perhaps even tennis as it is part of the Tennis-Tips website.

However, we learned upon closer inspection that it is nothing to do with either football or tennis, but is actually a horse racing service.

Secondly, with the word “Trader” in the title, you could be forgiven for thinking this was a trading system. In fact, it is just a straightforward tipping service with no trading involved.

Thirdly, it doesn’t appear to be much of a syndicate in the traditional sense of the term, rather it is just Robert’s tips which he shares with a small group of followers.

So it reminds me a little bit of the old saying about the Holy Roman Empire – that it wasn’t holy, Roman, nor an empire.  

Anyway, enough about the name – that is not really important.

What is important is whether the service can produce regular profits and make some money for us punters.

It hasn’t been going long but results so far look promising.

Since starting out in December of last year, Robert has made over £14,000 profit.

Before you get too carried away with that figure though, please note that staking is high, with stakes ranging between 10 and 1,000 points.

So there probably aren’t too many of you out there who can stake £1,000 on one bet.

However, the return on investment is very good at 120%, so even at lower staking you would have done well so far.

The strike rate has been good so far as well at 37%, so a good proportion of winners.

So looks pretty decent all in all. 

Although Robert runs another service we have reviewed – Tennis Tips – horse racing is actually his main speciality. Over the years he has refined his strategy and analytical methods and his horse racing betting makes up a significant part of his annual income now. 

Let’s hope we can add to our own annual income with his tips. We will run our normal three month trial of this one, – which we started receiving tips on from 16th Feb – and will update results regularly.

In the meantime you can check out Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate here.

 

tennis pic

Robert Fraser’s Tennis Tips – New Review

With Summer on the way it seems like a good time to get a new trial of a tennis tipster underway.

It won’t be long before the tennis circuit heads to Paris for the French Open and the second grand slam of the season, followed of course by the grass court season and the magic of Wimbledon.

So far this season has been like rolling back the years with Federer and Nadal dominating proceedings, whilst Murray and Djokovic have had their struggles.

Roger has chosen to skip the rest of the clay court season to concentrate on trying to win Wimbledon again, which may prove to be a wise choice come July.

Meanwhile Rafa looks like a solid favourite to capture his tenth French Open title, which would be quite a staggering achievement.

So all in all it is set to be a fascinating few months of tennis and a great time to jump on board a promising tennis tipster.

The one in question is called Robert Fraser’s Tennis Tips, who you may know from his other service providing horse racing tips.

In terms of his tennis tips, Robert has amassed an impressive 200 points of profit since commencing tipping in February this year.

That has come at a sterling return on investment of well over 50% with a strong strike rate of 42%.

So far betting £10 per point would have made you over £500 per month profit, although bear in mind that staking is up to 10 points per selection so that would entail up to £100 per selection at those stakes. 

If these results could be repeated long term then it would be mighty impressive.

We only one tennis service we have approved so far and that is Tennis Genie. 

Let’s hope Robert Fraser ends up being added to that list.

We will run a standard three month trial of this one and will report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Robert Fraser’s Tennis Tips here.

 

bf scalper

Betfair Scalper – Results Update

Firstly we would like to apologise for the delay in updating our review of Betfair Scalper as quite a few of you have been contacting us over e-mail asking for updates.

We have had some technical issues with the site (which you may have noticed!) which meant having to move it to a new server and sorting out some gremlins. 

Plus we wanted to take the time to really understand the training videos properly and to be sure we knew what we were doing, to be fair to the makers of the course.

Anyway, now that we have got round to updating our review, what do we think?

 

Early Thoughts

There are a lot of videos to get through and it is a lot to take in, particularly if you are new to trading the markets on Betfair.

You will need to sign up to Bet Angel Professional (or equivalent trading software), which costs around £20 to £30 per month depending on which package you go for. 

It is clearly a genuine product and not just one of these sloppily put together pieces of rubbish you see so many of floating around the internet these days.

These are detailed and clearly worked-out strategies for trading the horse-racing markets before the off on Betfair.

Basically you are looking to trade in the last 5-10 minutes before the race and looking for certain patterns on the candle charts to indicate when to execute a trade.

As the name of the product suggests, this is about scalping – taking one or two ticks profit out of each trade – rather than looking for big swings in prices.

The training is primarily about watching the strategies that the author of the course  (whom I believe is called Stuart) and learning from what he does.

It is not a rigid set of rules setting out a fixed system, but rather about learning a strategy.

Or to be more precise, there are two main strategies in the “Basic Scalping” course, which is all we have looked at so far.

So you really need to take some time to watch the videos (some of the main ones more than once), understand the techniques and then practice, practice and practice and some more.

If you do that, then you have a chance of making it a success. 

 

Results

Now we should preface this by saying that everyone who uses Betfair Scalper will get different results. As we say it is not a rigid set of rules so it will depend which races you do, where you enter and exit trades, how many trades you do and so on.

What we have found so far though, both in practice and live, is that it has worked remarkably well.

Our tester has just done his first live day today (only staking £2 per trade), but made a profit in 11 out of 12 races and scratch (level) in the other. The Betfair screenshot for the afternoon is below:

 

 

 

A really good day then, just nice steady profits and no losing races which is reassuring.

Obviously this is just one day so we will have to see a much broader set of results before drawing any conclusions, but certainly so far it is looking good and we are enjoying trading in this way – in fact it can be quite addictive!

Of course the other thing is that we are only trading with £2 stakes, so we obviously need to build these up to a point where we are making enough profit to make the time invested worthwhile. Only making £2.90 for an afternoon’s work – no matter how much fun – is not going to bring home the bacon!

Stuart trades in £50 stakes in the videos but says he trades up to £200 when he is trading himself, so we will aim to ultimately get up at least to £50 – £100 per trade and see at that point how much you could make from trading a day’s races.

 

Early Conclusion

We like the course and think the strategies set out in it are sound. There is a lot to take in but ultimately it should be worth taking the time to watch all the videos.

The proof of the pudding with these things is always in the eating though – can you actually make any money with it?

So far we would say yes, although it is still early days.

We will aim to test it for another month or so and get a bigger body of results to go on before drawing our final conclusions and wrapping up our review.

In the meantime, you can check out Betfair Scalper here. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Betfair Scalper – New Review

31st March 2017

Today we are commencing a review of a Betfair trading product called Betfair Scalper.

In case you aren’t aware, scalping is the process of skimming small but consistent profits from trading the movements in odds at the exchanges.

It’s easier said than done, as you can imagine.

The idea of scalping originates from the stock market, where companies spend billions developing bots that can trade at a fraction of a second – apparently as little as a trillionth of a second now – to skim off little amounts from changes in share prices.

So as you can imagine, it is a super-competitive field in the stock market world and a tough place to make a profit whilst competing against the mega banks and financial experts.

However, the Betfair markets are a little less competitive than this and offer up an opportunity to make a profit for the shrewd trader.

Certainly the barriers to entry are much lower, as you can trade for just £2 per bet where as with the stock market you tend to need hundreds or even thousands of pounds to get going.

It is therefore with great interest that we approach this trial of Betfair Scalper, which offers the possibility of making some decent profits from trading without needing to worry about the result of a horse race.

We have heard lots of positive things about this, so start off with expectations that this should be a novel and interesting product to review.

It is primarily a trading course, with over ten hours of training videos teaching you the very same methods the owners use to make hundreds of pound per week. 

If the process works, then the great thing about it is you can use it again and again to build up a bank and make a decent second income for yourself.

Plus you don’t need to worry about having your bookie accounts closed as this is all on Betfair, so you can just keep on doing it.

Even if you were just making £2 per race, if you did that 10 times per day it would be £20 per day, or £600 per month. 

And of course once you are experienced you could potentially up your stakes and make considerably more than that – quite a tantalising prospect. 

Now as this is a training course rather than a set “system,” we plan to do a review of the course and then a sample of our results for a period to give a comprehensive picture of the package.

So without further ado we will get the review underway and will report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime, you can check out Betfair Scalper here.

 

 

 

the-professors-formula pic

The Professor’s Formula – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of the Professor’s Formula and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  -57 points
Strike Rate:   26%
Bank Growth:  -57%
Cost:  £3.79 for first month then £14.95/month or £29.95/quarter 
ROI:  -27%
Average number of bets:  One per day
VERDICT:  FAILED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

The Professor’s Formula – Full Review

 

The Professor’s Formula is a horse racing tipster from the Tipster Street stable, who specialises in flat racing on both the turf and all-weather.

Sadly the Professor has had one of those trials where pretty much everything has gone wrong and we have ended up 57 points down in the end.

As you can see from the graph below, at one stage we were actually over 80 points down, so in some ways it could have been worse. 

Either way though it has been a painful trial and we have no choice but to award the Professor’s Formula a FAILED rating unfortunately. 

Of course it could just be one of those instances where we caught the service at a bad time, but any service that loses such a large portion of your bank will test the patience of any gambler and will be too much for most to bear.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There is approximately just one tip per day, which is sent out in the morning of racing.

Availability of prices:  With Betfair SP used for all tips, you know you can match the published results. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 26%, which in itself is no disaster, but there were no really big winners in there to make the low strike rate profitable.  

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is advised for following the service, which came close to being wiped out at one point as we went over 80 points down. 

Subscription costs: The subscription fees are £3.79 for the first month then £14.95 per month or £29.95 per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: FAILED

Unfortunately with 57% of our bank being lost over the trial, The Professor’s Formula has failed to make the grade and is not a service we can recommend at this stage.

On to the next trial for us…

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Professor’s Formula – Results Update

30th April 2017

It has been a rough old ride for followers of the Professor’s Formula in recent times.

Since our last update a month ago, the Professor has dropped another 13 points meaning he is now 66 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

There isn’t long left in the trial now so it looks like this one is headed for the failed pile unfortunately, barring a big winner being hit to turn things around. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Professor’s Formula – Results Update

29th March 2017

Horse racing tipster The Professor’s Formula has continued to struggle, with another 7 points lost since our last update.

That means the Professor is now 53 points down for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here

Hopefully he can land one of his big-priced winners and really turn things around for his followers.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Professor’s Formula – Results Update

10th March 2017

The tough times have continued for horse racing tipster the Professor’s Formula, with another 21 points lost since our last update.

That puts the Professor 46 points down so far. 

You can view full results here

Just a reminder that all results are recorded at Betfair SP, so the advised prices and BSP are the same in this instance.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Professor’s Formula – Results Update

19th February 2017

It’s been a rough old start for horse racing tipster The Professor’s Formula, with 25 points lost so far.

You can view full results here

This is one of those rare services which uses Betfair SP to record results, which is refreshing because you know prices are obtainable and results are not inflated.

Although it has been a slow start, to be fair they tip at high odds, with selections up to 70/1, so there are likely to be losing streaks when following this service.

Hopefully things will have picked up by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Professor’s Formula – New Review

7th February 2017

After recently commencing a trial of a promising Tipster Street service – Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – we thought we would follow it up with another. 

This time it is the turn of the intriguingly named The Professor’s Formula. 

It is a horse racing service that has been running for over two years and in that time has produced 320 points profit.

Although they don’t give away what the formula is – understandably – it is applied to flat turf and all weather racing only. 

Of particular note is the fact that it uses the exchanges, which I know will appeal to many of you who have lost access to their bookie accounts.

The Professor has landed some massive winners in his time tipping, including Petite Jack at Lingfield in June last year at a whopping BSP of 59.74, which netted a very pleasant 167 points profit.

The average monthly profit is a healthy £525 to £25 stakes and the return on investment is an impressive 35%.

With a strike rate of 39%, the Professor has some impressive metrics that give us encouragement that this may be a top service.

Only time will tell of course, so we will run our normal three month trial here and will report back soon on how things are progressing.

In the meantime, you can check out the Professor’s Formula here.  

shane-murphys 3

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   -23 points
Strike Rate:   32%
Bank Growth:  -23%
Cost:  £4.99 for first month then £19.95/month or £39.95/quarter
ROI:  -9%
Average number of tips:  1.5 per day
VERDICT:  FAILED
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – Full Review

 

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – as you may have guessed from the name – is a horse racing tipster from the Tipster Street stable specialising in bets on Irish racing.

Unfortunately it has been a tough trial for Shane, with a loss of 23 points at advised prices over the three months and 38 points at Betfair SP.

That equates to a loss of 23% of the advised starting bank, which is just low enough to warrant a FAILED rating sadly.

However, we don’t think this is a fatally flawed service and the results prior to our trial were good, with three successful years of betting, so we will continue to monitor with a view to a potential upgrade if results improve.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are approximately 1.5 tips per day, which are sent out in the morning of racing.

Availability of prices:  The prices were generally freely available, although the results at Betfair SP were somewhat lower so it pays to use the bookies if you can. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 32%, which is solid but a bit below where it needed to be to generate a profit at the prices the tips are given at. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is advised for following the service, which seems reasonable and should be sufficient to cover losing runs. 

Subscription costs: The subscription fees are £4.99 for the first month then £19.95 per month or £39.95 per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: FAILED

Unfortunately it has been a tough trial for Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips, which made a 23 point loss in the three months we proofed the tips.

On the basis of those results we have to award the service a failed rating sadly, but at the same time we don’t think the service is inherently flawed and it may well have just been that we hit it at a bad time.

So we will keep an eye on things and see if results improve over the coming months. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – Results Update

22nd April 2017

It continues to be a struggle for Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips unfortunately, with another 5 points lost at advised prices since our last update.

That means Shane is now 40 points down for the trial at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, there has been no change since our last update and Shane is still 51 points down for the trial overall.

So sadly it doesn’t look like this one is going to make the grade as we approach the end of the trial, but as we often say it goes to show how hard this tipping game really is.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – Results Update

28th March 2017

It’s been a rough old run for Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips, with 27 points lost at advised prices since our last update.

That means Shane is now 35 points down for our trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are even worse, with 30 points lost since our last update and 51 points lost overall for the trial. 

All we can say is – let’s hope things turn around for Shane, and fast! 

 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – Results Update

9th March 2017

Not much change for horse racing tipster Shane Murphy since our last update, with one point gained at advised prices.

That means Shane is now 8 points down for our trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have been a little worse, with 10 points lost since our last update and 21 points lost overall for the trial.

Hopefully things will pick up for Shane by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – Results Update

18th February 2017

It’s been a slow start to our trial of Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips, with 9 points lost so far to advised prices after a couple of weeks.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are very similar, with 11 points lost so far.

It is very early days so nothing to get too concerned about at this point. 

One thing to be aware of when following a tipster who specialises in Irish racing is that there are a lot less races than in UK racing. For example, you often go two or three days without any races at all.

So patience is a watchword here, but Shane’s long term results are very good so hopefully it will be worth the wait. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips – New Review

3rd February 2017

Today we are commencing a new trial of a horse racing tipster who specialises in Irish racing.

The name of the tipster is Shane Murphy and he comes from the Tipster Street stable.

With a name like Shane Murphy, he couldn’t sound much more Irish so it seems appropriate that he is tipping on races in Ireland.

His record is superb and it is no wonder that Shane has built up quite a following in the Emerald Isle. 

Having started tipping in 2014, Shane has made 318 points profit so far, a very decent total. 

However, it was last year in 2016 that things really took off for Shane, with over 250 points profit made on the year. 

Each year so far has been profitable, with 63 points made in 2015 and 19 points in 2014.

It’s a service with a decent strike of 36%, so it shouldn’t be too painful to follow in terms of losing streaks.

We are looking forward to getting another of a tipster specialising in Irish racing underway after our successful trial of Classic Racing Gold last year.

There aren’t many Irish racing specialists around so would be good to another one to our portfolio, particularly as Classic Racing Gold has closed its doors to new members.

And the nice thing about Tipster Street services is that you can get your first month for a reduced fee, with this one offering the first 30 days for just £4.99. 

So without further ado we will kick off the trial of Shane Murphy and will return with our first update in a couple of weeks.

In the meantime you can check out Shane Murphy’s Irish Tips here. 

boxing tipster

The Boxing Betting Tipster – New Review

We are pleased to present a first for us here at Honest Betting Reviews: today we are starting our first ever trial of a boxing tipster.

Having been going for over two years now, it is actually surprising that we haven’t reviewed any boxing tipsters yet.

That is likely down to the fact that quite simply there aren’t many boxing tipsters out there!

Which again, is slightly surprising when you consider how much money is wagered on the sport.

For the big fights in Vegas and other box office heavyweight contests like the recent Joshua v Klitschko contest, upwards of $100 million are wagered on the fights, according to reports.

And that is just the legitimate money wagered through the mainstream bookmakers. Alot more will be bet offline in big cash bets between underground bookies and punters.

There is a beautiful simplicity about betting on boxing as well – just two fighters, going head to head, and only one result.

But for some reason it doesn’t seem to attract anywhere near the number of tipsters as horse racing and football.

So it is nice to finally have one to look at and in comes in the form of the aptly-named Boxing Betting Tipster from the reputable Betting Gods stable.

The results so far look pretty punchy – if you’ll excuse the pun – with over 40 points profit made since starting tipping in January.

The strike rate has been a solid 32% whilst the return on investment has been an excellent 77%.

It is something of a low volume service with around 5-10 bets per month on average, so we will run a minimum 6 month trial here to ensure we have a decent number of bets to go on.

Let’s hope for some knockout returns from the Boxing Betting Tipster – we will report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out the Boxing Betting Tipster here.  

 

carl nicholson

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   +45 points
Strike Rate:  16%
Bank Growth:  90%
Cost:  £24.99 per month or £299 per year
ROI:  29%
Average number of bets:  1.5 per day
VERDICT:  PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here. (please see second tab of spreadsheet for Cheltenham results)

 

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Full Review

 

Carl Nicholson is a Harvard maths and computer science graduate who worked as a professional race reader for Daily Racing Form in the USA.

He published a book in 2012 called Value Backing – The Value Backing Guide to Make Money Betting and follows the principles laid out in that book to find value in his horse racing picks.

Did that approach work during our trial though?

Indeed it did, with Carl racking up 26 points profit at advised prices on his main selections, plus another 19 points profit at Cheltenham, making 45 points profit in total at advised prices. 

That works out at a return on investment of 29%, an exceptionally high return and worthy of considerable praise.

Our bank nearly doubled over the trial, growing by 90% in the three months we followed the tips.

At Betfair SP, things weren’t quite as good, with the trial finishing 14 points in profit – so less than half the profit achieved at advised prices.

Overall though we have been impressed by the quality of Carl’s tipping and are happy to award him a RECOMMENDED rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are around 1.5 tips per day which are sent out the night before racing, so a very simple service to follow. 

Availability of prices:  The prices contract quite noticeably before the race, which is evidence of the value Carl is able to identify. Having bookmaker accounts available to you will certainly be an advantage, as at Betfair SP the profits were less than half those at advised prices.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 16%, so there will inevitably be some losing streaks along the way as Carl searches for value tips at decent odds. 

Advised Betting Bank:  A 50 point bank is recommended for following the service and is what we used during the trial, although to be on the safe side you may wish to consider a 75 point bank. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £24.99 per month or £299 per year

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

Carl Nicholson seems like a smart chap – indeed he must have been to have gone to Harvard. 

Certainly during our trial he seems to have proved smarter than the bookies, taking a good wad of cash off them.

In fact he made 45 points profit at advised prices, which represented a 90% growth of our bank and a 29% return on investment.

That very much backs up the results published on his website prior to our trial, which make impressive viewing.

Overall then we think this is a top notch service and are going to check out Carl’s other offering – his Stable Whispers service.

You can check out Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary here.  

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

21st April 2017

A small retraction for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary since our last update a couple of weeks ago.

Carl has dropped 9 nine points at advised in that time, meaning he is know 33 points up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have followed a similar trajectory, with 10 points lost since our last update and a total of 8 points profit for the trial overall. 

It is worth pointing out that Carl has been plagued by a run of second-place finishes recently, some of them at quite big prices, so things could have been substantially better with a little more luck.

Anyway, that is the way it goes sometimes in betting and Carl has still has done well so far overall and hopefully his luck will turn round shortly.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

10th April 2017

The good form continues for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary, which has added another 21 points profit since our last update, putting him on 42 points up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

Carl also provided tips for each race at Aintree on Saturday, which would have added a further 11 points profit if you had followed those additional tips, with Fountains Windfall winning at 16/1.

At Betfair SP there is quite a significant difference, with 15 points profit made since our last update and 18 points profit overall. 

So things going nicely for Carl, let’s hope for more of the same over the remainder of the trial.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

3rd March 2017

Things have picked up nicely for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary, with 13 points profit made since our last update three weeks ago.

That means Carl is now 21 points up at advised prices for the trial overall. 

He also provided tips for every race at Cheltenham, which did very well, making 19 points profit at advised prices and 16 points at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

Please note there is a second tab on the results spreadsheet for the Cheltenham results.

At Betfair SP, things have not been quite as good (as we seem to say quite a lot these days!), with 2 points profit made since the last update and 3 points made for the trial overall.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

3rd March 2017

It’s been a tough run for Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary since our last update, with 8 points lost at advised prices.

That means Carl is now 8 points up overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are a little worse off, with 12 points lost since our last update, leaving us just one point up for the trial so far.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – Results Update

17th February 2017

It’s been a good start to our trial of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary.

Carl is a Harvard graduate who has developed a betting strategy to identify value horse racing selections.

After two weeks, we are 16 points up at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, things are also going well as we are 13 points up.

With Cheltenham and Aintree just round the corner, should be an exciting time for horse racing tipsters such as Carl. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary – New Review

2nd February 2017

They say in betting, value is everything.

Certainly any professional or serious bettor will tell you it is a crucial part of the equation. 

There is no point backing winners if they are all at terrible value. After all, if you have a 50% strike rate, but your average odds are 10/11, you will lose money overall.

But shift those average odds to just 11/10 with the same strike rate and you will be a winning gambler overall.

The value approach to betting is one that has been adopted and developed to a significant degree of expertise by Carl Nicholson, the subject of our next trial here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Carl is said to be a Harvard graduate in maths and computer science who worked for a professional race reader in the US, before turning his mind to professional gambling himself.

Carl has quite literally written the book on value betting, with the publication of his seminal work, “Value Backing – The Value Backing Guide to Make Money Betting.”

As we always say though, theory is one thing, practice another. The proof is whether someone can make money under a live trial, not just produce interesting theories about betting.

So we will see whether Carl can live up to expectations under live trial conditions.

The results on the website look promising however, with over 150 points profit made over the last 18 months to 1 point level stakes, plus 27 points profit on the Breeders’ Cup.

That has been achieved at an excellent return on investment of 28%, which is up there with the best in the racing industry.

The strike rate is 17%, so it is a service that focuses on the longer-odds selections. 

So looks like a promising service all in all.

We will run our normal three month live trial and will update results here on a regular basis.

In the meantime, you can check out Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary here. 

Frankie Dettori

The Snout – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of The Snout and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   -21 points
Strike Rate:   21% (including placed horses)
Bank Growth:  -28%
Cost:  £30/month, £75/quarter or £250/year
ROI:  -9%
Average number of bets:  2.5 per day
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

The Snout – Full Review

 

The Snout is the second horse racing tipster we have reviewed from the Tipsters Empire stable of tipsters, after DG Tips which achieved a PASSED rating.

So did The Snout live up to the achievements of its stable partner DG Tips?

Well unfortunately during our three month trial it didn’t, finishing with a loss of 21 points at advised prices and 42 points at Betfair SP.

Here is the results graph for the trial:

As you can see, it was quite an up and down time, eventually finishing quite a bit behind. 

That doesn’t quite tell the whole story however, as since our trial ended we have continued tracking the tips and they have actually turned things around quite remarkably.

Since our trial ended on 4th April, The Snout have added 39 points of profit, meaning that since we started proofing the tips at the start of the year, they have actually made 18 points of profit.

That isn’t bad going and although not quite enough in terms of bank growth to achieve a passed rating, it’s on the right track and warrants a NEUTRAL rating at this time, with a watching brief to see how things progress.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are 2.5 bets per day on average, which is certainly manageable in terms of workload. Bets are normally sent out in the evening before racing. 

Availability of prices:  A little like its stable partner DG Tips, the prices of The Snout’s tips do tend to contract before the off time, so getting the bets on early will help. At Betfair SP the results were twice as bad as at advised prices, so it is doubtful the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 21% (including placed horses), so a degree of patience will be required when following the tips.

Advised Betting Bank: No bank was advised upon joining the service, but we used a 75 point bank for the trial to give enough leeway to cover losing runs. 

Subscription costs: The subscription fees are £30/month, £75/quarter, £135/6 months or £250/year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

The Snout had a tough initial three month trial here at Honest Betting Reviews, finishing 21 points down at advised prices.

However, since the trial ended, they have had a cracking month, notching up 39 points of profit. 

So that means in effect they have made 18 points profit in four months of us following the tips.

That translates into bank growth of 24%, which isn’t quite enough to warrant a passed rating, but is still a solid return.

So we will keep an eye on things here and see if the form of the previous month continues. If so, The Snout may well be due an upgrade. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The Snout – Results Update

22nd March 2017

Sadly the comeback for The Snout is over and things have gone in the other direction. 

Since our last update, they have lost 19 points at advised prices, putting them 17 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, things have been even tougher, with 18 points lost, putting them 41 points down for the trial overall.

Like it’s stablemate DG Tips then, it doesn’t look like The Snout is practical to follow at Betfair SP.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The Snout – Results Update

28th February 2017

The fightback continues for The Snout, at advised prices at least. 

Since our last update a couple of weeks ago, they have made 6 points profit at advised prices, meaning they are now 2 points up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a different story however. They actually made a loss of 4 points since our last update, putting them 23 points down at Betfair SP for the trial as a whole. 

So on the basis of what we have seen so far, it doesn’t appear this service is practical to follow at Betfair SP. We will keep a close eye on this for the rest of the trial though to see if the trend continues.

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The Snout – Results Update

11th February 2017

Something of a fightback for The Snout since our last update a couple of weeks ago.

They have made 15 points profit at advised prices since our last update, meaning they are now just 4 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things continue to be a struggle however, with 8 points of profit made since our last update to put them 19 points down for the trial overall.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The Snout – Results Update

26th January 2017

It has been a tough start to our trial of horse racing tipster The Snout from the Tipsters Empire stable, who are 19 points down so far at advised prices after three weeks.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they are 27 points down, so not an ideal start by any means.

Like the other Tipsters Empire service we are reviewing, DG Tips, virtually all the bets are to 1 point stakes, which makes things straightforward.

Anyway, let’s hope we will have better news to report on The Snout by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The Snout – New Review

12th January 2017

They say one good turn deserves another. 

So after commencing our first trial of a tipster from the Tipsters Empire stable a few days ago in the form of DG Tips, we thought we would follow it up quickly with a second. 

The tipster in question is (interestingly) called The Snout. We are not quite sure how he acquired that name The Snout, but apparently this lad was born and bred in the home of jumps racing, Cheltenham.

He specialises in many aspects of racing and has built up quite a following in his time as a tipster since June 2015.

The highlight of his tipping career came on 30th August 2016 when he landed a 5939/1 fourfold, including winners at 13/2 and 10/1.

Some members apparently had £5 e/w on, which netted them over £30,000!

Leaving that amazing feat aside, The Snout has amassed some impressive results overall, with over 250 points profit made in just 18 months.

That includes over 100 points profit over the last six months and five of those six months were profitable. 

So we have a promising horse racing tipster in the offing and are keen to get this trial underway.

Just a note that we started receiving tips on 5th January so we will record results from then.

We will update the trial at regular intervals with the results.

In the meantime you can check out The Snout at Tipsters Empire here. 

quentin franks racing

Quentin Franks Racing – Two Year Update

We have now been following the tips of Quentin Franks Racing for over two years, so thought it would be a good time for an update.

At the time of our last update just over a year ago, we awarded Quentin a five star rating, with 284 points profit having been made in that year.

Well since then, Quentin has put on the afterburners and exceeded even those exceptional levels, notching up well over 550 points profit.

That means since we started proofing the tips in March 2015, the service has made over 800 points profit. 

You probably don’t need us to tell you that is quite incredible stuff! 

To just £10 stakes that would be over £8,000 profit or if you are able to stake higher at £25 per point, it would be £20,000 profit.

Here is a look at the results in graph format since we started proofing the tips:

As you can see, just an amazingly smooth and steady upward curve – exactly what every investor is looking for! 

Back when we updated this last year, we upgraded Quentin Franks to be our number one recommended tipster.

We have absolutely no reason to change that – in fact our view of the service has only been strengthened in that time.

Out of the last 21 months, an astonishing 19 have been profitable.

That is a record of consistency most tipsters can only dream of.

A truly brilliant service and one that has made us a rather substantial amount of money from following his tips – thank you Quentin! 

OVERALL VERDICT:

We are running out of superlatives to describe Quentin Franks Racing so instead we will simply say this: if you are not already a member, we strongly suggest you sign up today.

It’s a decision we doubt you will regret. 

 

 

 


Quentin Franks Racing – One Year Update

28th March 2016

As it is now a year since we started proofing Quentin Franks Racing tips, we thought it would be a good time to provide an update on how things have been going.

Our original three month trial concluded in June 2015 with a neutral rating and 6 points of profit accumulated.

However, things have really taken off since then for Quentin.

Here are the monthly totals since the trial concluded in June last year:

  • July: +9 points profit
  • August: +32 points profit
  • September: +40 points profit
  • October: +26 points profit
  • November: +30 points profit
  • December: +93 points profit
  • January: -11 points loss
  • February: +29 points profit
  • March: +36 points profit

So a highly impressive 284 points profit since our trial ended nine months ago.

And eight winning months out of nine – not bad either!

Here is the profit graph for the last nine months:

As you can see, a mightily impressive profit graph with solid, steady growth – just what we want to see.

Over the last nine months we have seen bank growth of 284% – so if you had started with a bank of £1,000 it would now be worth £3,840. 

Or if you had started with a bank of £10,000 it would now be worth £38,400.

Overall these results have been achieved with a strike rate of 25% and a return on investment of 17%, which is very respectable indeed.

Conclusion

With superb results since our trial ended nine months ago, we have no hesitation in upgrading Quentin Franks Racing to a passed rating.

This is definitely one to subscribe to whilst you still can – there are very few tipsters out there with as consistent a record as Quentin Franks and this is the sort of service that can make you steady profits month after month.

Highly recommended.

Rating: 5 stars

Good News! You can get a 30 day trial of Quentin Franks Racing for just £1 here.

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

We have completed our three month trial of Quentin Franks Racing and here are the results:

 

Profit/loss:+6 points
Strike Rate:23%
Bank Growth:6%
Cost:£1 for 1st month then £39.95 per month or £99.95 per quarter
ROI:1.4%
Average number of tips:3 per day
VERDICT:
NEUTRAL  

 

You can view full results here

 

Quentin Franks Racing Final Review

The third in our series of Betting Gods trials is complete. So how did Quentin Franks Racing compare to the likes of Master Racing Tipster and Big Race Bookie Busters?

Well unfortunately it hasn’t done quite so well, ending up with figures of 6 points profit at advised prices and -41 points at Betfair SP.

We had high hopes for Quentin as coming into this trial he had amassed over 180 points of profit and racked up nine winning months out of nine.

But sadly as we see often with tipsters, it is difficult to keep up with the top form indefinitely and at some point there will be a dip.

That said, making 6 points profit at advised prices is no disaster so we are not ready to write off Mr Franks just yet. 

Anyway, here are the results of the trial in graph format:

Graph

As you can see, quite topsy-turvy! But actually the fluctuations weren’t that large, varying between 17 points up or down over the course of the trial.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Fairly good – there are on average 3 bets per day which are normally sent around 9am (British time). It shouldn’t take too long to place the bets.

Availability of prices: OK – prices do tend to go fairly quickly and certainly by race time you are looking at considerably lower prices. This is evidence by the big 50 point difference between the advised results and Betfair SP results.

So you want to get your bets on quickly to achieve the best prices.

Strike rate: The strike rate was 23% for the trial, which is close to the long-term average of 25%. 

Advised Betting Bank: The advised betting bank is 100 points, which seems reasonable. Staking is 1 or 2 points with the very occasional 3 point bet.

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are acceptable at £1 for the first month then £39.95 per month or £99.95 per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL  

The bar has been set very high recently with the achievements of Master Racing Tipster and Big Race Bookie Busters, so perhaps we shouldn’t judge every service by their high standards.

We had high expectations for Quentin Franks Racing coming into the trial and whilst he hasn’t quite delivered what we were hoping, he has not had a disaster either. 

Given the impressive long-term record, we will place this in the neutral category for now and see if Quentin can recapture his previous form over the coming months.

You can check out Quentin Franks Racing here

 

 

 

 

dg-tips-pic

DG Tips – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of DG Tips and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +22 points
Strike Rate:  36% (including placed horses)
Bank Growth:    44%
Cost:  £30/month, £75/quarter or £250/year
ROI:  8%
Average number of bets:  3 per day
Verdict:  PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

DG Tips – Full Review

 

DG Tips is a horse racing tipster from the Tipsters Empire stable of tipsters. 

They entered our trial with a strong reputation, having amassed over 400 points profit in just 18 months of tipping.

Often we find that strong performances prior to our trial don’t always translate into strong performances under live trial conditions.

Fortunately though, we are pleased to say that was certainly not the case with DG Tips, which performed admirably during our trial, notching up a solid 22 points of profit at advised prices.

That was achieved with a good strike rate of 36% (including placed horses) and a decent return on investment of 8%.

And since our trial ended, they have racked up a further 28 points of profit, meaning that since we started following the tips at the beginning of January this year, they have made a very impressive 50 points of profit.

That is a strong performance from a tipster whose tips are nearly all 1-point level stakes.

As you can see from the graph below, it was a little bit of a roller-coaster ride over the trial, but we were always in profit and things have continued positively since the trial ended.

The only downside to the service is that based on the evidence of our trial, it doesn’t appear practical to follow at Betfair SP, as it actually made a 20 point loss at Betfair SP compared to the 22 point profit made at advised prices.

So overall we are happy to award DG Tips a RECOMMENDED rating and four stars.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are around 3 tips per day which are sent out the night before racing, so enough time to place the bets and not too time-consuming either. 

Availability of prices:  The prices get pushed in significantly between when tips are sent out and the off, so early placement of your bets is imperative. As we state above, it does not appear on the basis of our trial that using Betfair SP will be a viable option with this service. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 36% (including placed horses), so a decent proportion of bets giving a return. 

Advised Betting Bank: We used a 50 point bank for the trial which we think should be sufficient in the long run, bearing in mind the vast majority of stakes are 1 point and with a 36% strike rate. 

Subscription costs: The subscription fees are £30/month, £75/quarter, £135/6 months or £250/year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

DG Tips has performed very well during our trial, notching up 22 points of profit. Since our trial ended they have been in stellar form, adding another 28 points of profit.

That means in just over four months of following the tips, they have made 50 points of profit.

All that with the vast majority of tips to one point stakes is impressive stuff.

The only downside is that the service does not appear practical to follow at Betfair SP, so to get the most out DG Tips you will need access to bookmaker accounts.

As long as you have that, then this is one we would recommend adding to your betting portfolio. 

You can check out DG Tips here.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

DG Tips – Results Update

21st March 2017

A small decline for DG Tips since our last update a month ago, with 3 points lost at advised prices.

That means they are now 28 points up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have fared a little worse, with 16 points lost since our last update, leaving them 4 points down for the trial.

So it is looking questionable as to whether the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP, but certainly at advised prices it has been doing well. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

DG Tips – Results Update

27th February 2017

Things continue to move on nicely upwards for horse racing tipster DG Tips from the Tipsters Empire stable. 

They have added another 13 points of profit at advised prices since our last update a couple of weeks ago.

That means they are now 31 points up for the trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

At Befair SP there is a bit of a difference, with 9 points of profit added since our last update and 12 points of profit made overall.

So it is still unclear whether the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP, but at advised prices it is looking very good. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

DG Tips – Results Update

10th February 2017

More profits for DG Tips since our last update a couple of weeks ago. 

They have added another 6 points of profit in that time at advised prices, taking them to 18 points up overall for the trial.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have struggled somewhat, with 1 point actually lost since our last update, taking us to 3 points up overall for the trial.

So the jury is out on whether this service is practical to follow at Betfair SP – we will need more date before making any conclusions there.

But at advised prices things are going very well and we are impressed with the results.  

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

DG Tips – Results Update

23rd January 2017

It has been a good start to our trial of horse racing tipster DG Tips from the Tipsters Empire stable.

So far we are 12 points up to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP we are 4 points up, so a bit of a gap opening up there. We will keep an eye on things to see if that remains the case over the rest of the trial.

The vast majority of bets are to 1 point stakes, so that keeps things nice and simple. 

So far so good then from DG Tips – let’s hope they keep up the good work. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

DG Tips – New Review

9th January 2017

We are pleased to be getting a new trial underway of a very promising-looking horse racing tipster.

This is our first trial of a tipster from the Tipsters Empire stable and it is always nice to find a new source of tipping talent.

The tipster in question is called DG Tips and from the results so far, looks the most impressive of the tipsters on the Tipsters Empire platform.

In eighteen months of tipping they have made over 400 points profit, which is excellent stuff. The last six months have all been profitable, with July being particularly outstanding with 75 points of profit and October also very good with 40 points profit.

Their winners have included Saigon City at 40/1, Calvinist at 33/1 and Wall of Fire at 28/1.

This does seem to be a service that tips at longer odds so patience may be required, but if you are someone who likes the big wins then this could be for you.

The tips include detailed write-ups which we always like to see and clearly DG knows his horses.

We are quite excited about this trial as we think we could be onto something special here. Only time will tell of course but the previous results are pretty phenomenal.

Just a note that we started receiving tips on 5th January so that is when we will record results from.

We will report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out DG Tips from Tipsters Empire here.