This is an archive of ALL betting system reviews including current reviews and final reviews.

goal trader syndicate

Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate – New Review

Occasionally you are asked to review something and can get the wrong end of the stick as to what it is all about.

This was the case initially with Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate, which upon seeing the name we thought was a football trading system – or perhaps even tennis as it is part of the Tennis-Tips website.

However, we learned upon closer inspection that it is nothing to do with either football or tennis, but is actually a horse racing service.

Secondly, with the word “Trader” in the title, you could be forgiven for thinking this was a trading system. In fact, it is just a straightforward tipping service with no trading involved.

Thirdly, it doesn’t appear to be much of a syndicate in the traditional sense of the term, rather it is just Robert’s tips which he shares with a small group of followers.

So it reminds me a little bit of the old saying about the Holy Roman Empire – that it wasn’t holy, Roman, nor an empire.  

Anyway, enough about the name – that is not really important.

What is important is whether the service can produce regular profits and make some money for us punters.

It hasn’t been going long but results so far look promising.

Since starting out in December of last year, Robert has made over £14,000 profit.

Before you get too carried away with that figure though, please note that staking is high, with stakes ranging between 10 and 1,000 points.

So there probably aren’t too many of you out there who can stake £1,000 on one bet.

However, the return on investment is very good at 120%, so even at lower staking you would have done well so far.

The strike rate has been good so far as well at 37%, so a good proportion of winners.

So looks pretty decent all in all. 

Although Robert runs another service we have reviewed – Tennis Tips – horse racing is actually his main speciality. Over the years he has refined his strategy and analytical methods and his horse racing betting makes up a significant part of his annual income now. 

Let’s hope we can add to our own annual income with his tips. We will run our normal three month trial of this one, – which we started receiving tips on from 16th Feb – and will update results regularly.

In the meantime you can check out Robert’s Goal Trader Syndicate here.

 

football betting alerts pic

Football Betting Alerts – New Review

Occasionally there is something that lands in your inbox that genuinely makes you sit up and take notice.

We have just had that feeling with a new football service that on the basis of what we have seen so far, could be one of the best betting systems we have come across in a long time.

The service in question is called Football Betting Alerts and is provided by the same team behind Football Trading Alerts, amongst others.

The system was designed by a guy called “The Professor”, who has built an algorithm to find instances where the chances of a particular event occurring in a football match are over 80%.

He is a professor of mathematics and a computer systems specialist, so clearly knows what he is talking about when it comes to these things.

His selections were proofed for over three months to the FTA team and the results were nothing short of superlative.

With stakes of just £10 lays (liability of max £40), the Professor made over £1,000 profit over the proofing period.

What is more, the strike rate for that period was over 80%, which to make that kind of profit at such a high strike rate is quite incredible.

Selections are of two types:

  1. Lay the draw at the start of the match (and either just leave it to run to the end or trade out in the last 15 minutes, depending on your personal preference)
  2. Lay the current score at HT (or back over 0.5/1.5/2.5 etc depending on the current score)

That’s it, pretty simple.

They are planning to set up a bot so that you can add that to your subscription and have the bets placed automatically, so all bases are covered.

We signed up to test the system ourselves and will run a three month live trial here on the site.

This weekend was our first of testing it out and results were excellent.

On Saturday, there were 11 selections and 9 were winners, with 2 scratch trades – so no losers! On Sunday, things weren’t quite as good, with 10 selections, 7 winners and 3 losers.

Overall on the weekend, with £50 lays of the LTD and £100 back stakes on the over 0.5/1.5/2.5 etc, we made over £250 profit.

A superb start and needless to say if those results hold up over the long run, then we are talking about something very special.

You can check out Football Betting Alerts here.

 

pro footy tips

Pro Footy Tips – Final Review

We have completed our six month trial of Pro Footy Tips and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    +67 points
Strike Rate:    24%
Bank Growth:    89%
Cost:   £1 for first month, then £29.95/month or £69.95/quarter
ROI:   14%
Average number of bets:    1 per day
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Pro Footy Tips – Full Review

 

Pro Footy Tips is a football tipster from the Betting Gods stable. It is run by a chap called Geir who has been betting professionally on football for over 20 years. 

He takes a contrary approach to betting, going for selections that are not always the obvious ones and sometimes quite large outsiders.

Based on the results of our six month live trial, it appears that approach works rather well!

We finished the trial with 67 points of profit, which represented an 89% growth of the recommended 75 point bank. 

As you can see from the graph below, we did go into deficit for the early part of the trial before a strong run lifted us well into profit by the end. 

The return on investment for the trial was 14%, which is very good for football where it is tough to break through 10% for the majority of tipsters.

This is quite selective betting, with an average of just one bet per day and you can see a lot of work goes into choosing the tips.

Overall it has been an excellent trial and we are pleased to award Pro Footy Tips a recommended rating. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  As mentioned above, with just tip per day on average, the workload in following the service is minimal.   

Availability of prices:  The recommended prices were generally freely available and you should have no problem achieving the advertised results.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 24%, which is lower than most football services but is quite good when you consider the average odds of the tips is 4.75.  

Advised Betting Bank: A 75 point bank is recommended for following the service. However, we did go 40 points down at one stage so we think a 100 point bank would be more appropriate here. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are  £1 for the first month, then £29.95 per month, £69.95 per quarter or £249.95 for a lifetime subscription.

 

OVERALL RATING: PASSED

For quite a while we struggled to find a profitable football tipster but thankfully now we have quite a few.

Pro Footy Tips looks like possibly the best of them, with an excellent trial completed and 67 points of profit made.

The approach is quite an unusual one, with the unfancied teams being selected rather than the obvious picks, but it clearly works very well.

The return on investment of 14% is highly commendable and particularly high for football.

We think a 100 point bank should be used rather than the recommended 75 point one, but with that proviso we are happy to give Pro Footy Tips a recommended rating. Well worth adding to your portfolio.

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Pro Footy Tips – Results Update

7th January 2017

More profits for Pro Footy Tips since our last update, with a further 6 points added over the last month.

That takes them to 78 points up overall for the trial, a very impressive total.

You can view full results here.

January has started well, with winners on Macclesfield at 3.1 and Platanias at 4.9. Let’s hope for more of the same over the last month or so of the six-month trial. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Pro Footy Tips – Results Update

6th December 2016

The excellent form of Pro Footy Tips continues, with a further 27 points profit added since our last update.

That means they are now 72 points up for the trial, which is most commendable.

You can view full results here.

The approach here is to focus on outsiders, with the likes of Forest to beat Newcastle at 4/1, St Gallen to beat Sion at 10/3 and Chesterfield to beat Bristol Rovers at 3.8 amongst the recent winners.

It certainly seems to be working and apparently has done so for decades for the professional gambler behind the service.

May the good form continue!

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Pro Footy Tips – Results Update

17th November 2016

Pro Footy Tips has bounced back – big time. 

When we lasted update their results, they were 33 points down for our trial.

Well, in just three weeks they have completely turned things around and are now 45 points up. So that’s 78 points profit made since our last update.

You can view full results here.

Superb stuff and that’s more of what we were expecting from them from the get-go.

They have landed some very nice winners recently, including a 12/1 double involving Partick and Gefle.  

Let’s hope for more of the same over the remainder of the trial. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Pro Footy Tips – Results Update

26th October 2016

A small improvement for Pro Footy Tips since our last update a month ago. They have made 9 points profit in that time, meaning they are now 33 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

Let’s hope this improvement is a sign of things to come and we start moving towards profit for the trial overall.  

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Pro Footy Tips – Results Update

28th September 2016

It has continued to be a tough time for Pro Footy Tips, who have lost a further 22 points since our last update at the end of August.

That means they are now 42 points down for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

This is one of those unfortunate examples of a tipster with a lot of promise and expectation prior to launch, but sadly who hasn’t generated the same results when going live – yet anyway.

Let’s hope for a big turnaround in form over the next month.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Pro Footy Tips – Results Update

31st August 2016

It’s been a tough start to our trial of Pro Footy Tips, with 20 points lost so far to advised stakes. 

You can view full results here.

Bets come in a wide variety of leagues around the world, so use of a good number of bookmaker accounts will probably help when following the service.

Runs like this will inevitably happen from time to time in betting, so let’s hope it’s just a blip and things improve over the remainder of the trial and beyond. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Pro Footy Tips – New Review

30th July 2016

With the start of the football season just a week away it seems a great time to start a new trial of a football tipster.

The tipster in question is called Pro Footy Tips and comes from the reputable Betting Gods stable.

Their record so far is very impressive, with over 130 points profit made since the service started in March this year.

Backing the tips at just £10 per point would have made you £326 per month so far – pretty good going by any standard.

The thing that really stands out about Pro Footy Tips though is the return on investment (ROI).

Normally with a football tipster, you tend to think of a good ROI as being around 10%.  

However, Pro Footy Tips’ ROI so far stands at an amazing 45%! 

Quite whether this can be maintained in the long run remains to be seen, but certainly it shows they seem to have a significant edge over the market.

The strike rate so far is also healthy at over 35%, so hopefully we shouldn’t have too many losing runs here.

Looking over the results, we are intrigued by some of the markets bet on, particularly the use of the HT 0-0 market during the Euros, which given how stifled a lot of the games were, seems like a very good option!

We understand that the guy who runs the service has been a professional football bettor since 1988 and is a real expert in football gambling, which the results would certainly seem to back up so far.

There are a real dearth of good football tipsters out there, so to find one would be a real bonus. 

We are hopeful this will turn out to be a good one, but only time will tell of course.

So we will start our normal three month trial today and will report back soon on how things are progressing.

In the meantime you can check out Pro Footy Tips here.

 

greatbets-pic

GreatBets.com – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Great Bets and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    +827 points
Strike Rate:    32%
Bank Growth:    165%
Cost:   £25/week, £99/month or £249/quarter 
ROI:   14%
Average number of bets:    4 per day
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here. 

 

GreatBets.com – Full Review

 

Great Bets is a multi-sports tipster with a focus primarily on horse racing.

It is run by a guy called Martin who has been betting professionally since he left university more than 10 years ago.

Over time he has developed a system of rules that allows him to pick winners with a high degree of accuracy. He recently decided to share this approach with the public via his website.

We have been following the bets for three months now and are pleased to report that they have performed excellently under live trial conditions, producing 827 points profit to advised prices.

Here are the results for the trial in graph format:

A little bit of a rollercoaster ride, but overall a strongly positive graph that finished well up.

We should point out that average stakes during our trial were around 15 points, so the profit would be around 55 points profit to 1 point level stakes.

The total is still very impressive however and meant we more than doubled our bank during the trial, increasing it by an astonishing 165% in three months.

That is one of the highest totals every recorded here at Honest Betting Reviews and the best for a while. 

We enjoyed a strong strike rate of 32% during the trial and a commendable return on investment of 14%, which is a pretty good ratio to have between those two metrics.

At Betfair SP, results were also very good, with 556 points profit made, which is the equivalent of around 37 points profit at one point level stakes.

Here is the how bets broke down by sport:

 

Sport Percentage of total bets during trial
Football 4%
Horse Racing  94%
Snooker 0.5%
Tennis 1.5%

 

As you can see, horse racing bets make up a large majority of the bets. 

All in all there is a great deal to like about the service and we have no hesitation in awarding Great Bets a RECOMMENDED rating. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are around 4 bets per day on average, so the bet volume is a little higher than most services. Tips are normally sent out in the morning with plenty of time to get the bets on.  

Availability of prices:  Although there was a bit of a difference between the advised prices and Betfair SP results (i.e. a 33% difference), we did not see huge pressure on prices after they were sent out, but more often a gradual move down in some cases. So it should be practical to follow and even at Betfair SP you should still make a good profit. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 32%, which is a good level and should mean the losing runs will be manageable hopefully. 

Advised Betting Bank: They advise using a 500 point bank with their advised staking of between 10 and 30 points, which was sufficient for the trial, although we were over 200 points down at one stage and the 500 point bank might come under pressure if there was an extended drawdown. We think a 750 point bank would give you a bit more peace of mind. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £25/week, £99/month, £249/quarter, £459 for 6 months or £849 for 12 months. Whilst these appear high on the face of it, for what you are getting they are well worth it. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

With a massive 165% growth of the bank over the trial, Great Bets has positively smashed it and is one of the best trials we have experienced for a while.

A very tasty 827 points profit were made, which would be £578 after subscription costs if you were betting at £1 per point, or £3,886 if you were able to bet at £5 per point. 

The results published on the website for the period prior to our trial are mighty impressive too, with over 2,500 points profit made and 11 profitable months out of 11.

Some people may balk at the high subscription costs, but for once in this industry we can see that they do seem justified given the results achieved to date.

The advantage of having the subscription costs at this level is that it should protect prices for the elite group of subscribers lucky enough to become members.

If you are serious about your betting, we can highly recommend joining that elite group of Great Bets members.   

You can sign up to Great Bets here. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

GreatBets.com – Results Update

14th January 2017

More profits for Great Bets since our last update a month ago.

They have added another 155 points profit at advised prices, bringing them to 658 points up for the trial overall. 

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP, we have added another 140 points of profit to stand at 402 points up overall.

Just a reminder that the staking here ranges between 10 and 30 points per selection, worth bearing in mind when looking at the points total, which are still excellent.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

GreatBets.com – Results Update

15th December 2016

Things continue to go very well for Great Bets, a multi-sports tipster. They have made a further 268 points profit since our last update, bringing them to 503 points up overall.

 You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP they have added 262 points profit to be 307 points up so far.

The good news is that they are now offering a completely free 7 day trial, with no paypal or credit card details required. 

Looks well worth a go based on what we haves seen so far. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

GreatBets.com – Results Update

28th November 2016

It has been a good start to our trial of Great Bets. After one month of following the selections, we are 235 points up at advised prices and 45 points up at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here. 

There are quite a large of number of bets, with 142 so far. Most of these are in horse racing, with a few bets in football and tennis.

Staking varies between 10 and 30 points, with more of the latter lately.

So far the results are living up to those prior to the trial, which is promising.

Anyway, back soon with more updates.

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

GreatBets.com – New Review

8th November 2016

We are commencing a new trial today of a promising sports tipster called Great Bets. 

Having a look at their past results, they have apparently made over 2500 points profit since commencing tipping in March 2016.

They tip in a variety of sports including horse racing, football and tennis. 

The service is run by a guy called Martin, who says he left university in 2002 and over the last 10 years has made a profitable income from betting online.

He is clearly a huge sports enthusiast and follows events from all over the world. Having developed and refined his betting strategy over a number of years, Martin is now ready to share this system with the public via the Great Bets website.

The good news is you can get a 7 day free trial with no credit card or Paypal details needed, to see if this is a service for you before signing up to one of the longer memberships.

We are always on the lookout for new tipping talent so we are looking forward to seeing how this one gets on under the spotlight of a live trial.

So we will kick off a three month trial and see how Martin performs. Please note that we started receiving tips on 28th October 2016 so we will record results from then onward.

We will return soon with our first update on how things are going.

In the meantime, you can check out Great Bets here.

master racing tipster

Master Racing Tipster – 20 Month Update

Here at Honest Betting Reviews we don’t believe in trialing a tipster for just three months and then forgetting about them.

We believe in following them for long periods of time, to give as fair and accurate a picture of the tipster’s performance as possible.

For example, we have been proofing the tips of the Master Racing Tipster for over 20 months now, a really good period to be able to judge a tipster.  

It is also high time for an update on how things have been going.

Previously, we gave Master Racing Tipster a five star rating after our original three month trial and after six months. 

So how have things gone in the intervening 14 months since our last update?

 

Results Update

Well, we are pleased to report they have gone very well, with another 187 points of profit added to the 174 points made during the first six months we followed the Master.

That means the Master Racing Tipster has made 361 points profit over the 20 months we have followed the tips.

If you had staked at £25 per point, that would have amounted to £9025 profit. Not a bad little second income! 🙂 

Here’s a look at the results in graph format:

As you can see, it is an excellent profit graph with steady growth over the course of more than 900 bets placed during the period we have been following the tips.

There was a small decline in the middle as results stagnated for a period, but those who have stuck with the service over the long term have been richly rewarded.

Incredibly, those results have been achieved with a return on investment of over 30%, which is almost unheard of over such a long period and certainly puts the Master Racing Tipster up there with the very best in the industry.

The strike rate has been a healthy 28% as well, so a good proportion of winners.

 

OVERALL VERDICT:

Master Racing Tipster remains undoubtedly one of the best horse racing tipsters out there and well worthy of a continued 5-star rating. 

Few tipsters can perform so consistently over a long period and the Master has done so amazingly well, with over 360 points profit made during the 20 months we have proofed the tips.

If you haven’t added this to your portfolio then we suggest doing so as soon as you can. 

And the good news is that you can get a 30-day trial for just £1 here. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Master Racing Tipster – Six Month Update

26th June 2015

We now have over six months of proofed results for Master Racing Tipster and are pleased to report that it has continued to perform excellently since the end of our trial in June.

Since the trial concluded on 26th June 2015, they have added another 59 points of profit at advised prices and another 31 points profit at Betfair SP.

That means in total for the six months we have been following them, Master Racing Tipster have made 174 points profit at advised prices and 109 points profit at Betfair SP.

You can view full results here.

Here is a graph of the profit over the six month period: 

 

 

As you can see, an excellent profit graph – pretty much all just steady growth with very little drawdown at all.

At advised prices we have had just under 350% bank growth – so if you had started off with a bank of £1,000 it would now be worth £4,500. Very impressive stuff.

And at Betfair SP, whilst the results are somewhat lower, you would still have achieved over 200% bank growth -no mean feat either.

All that has been achieved with a 54% return on investment and a 32% strike rate, which really is fantastic.

Conclusion

Overall we are pleased to say that after six months Master Racing Tipster continues to merit a 5 star rating and its place as our number 1 tipster.

Make sure you get on board whilst places are still available.

RATING:  

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Master Racing Tipster – Final Review

26th June 2015

We have completed our three month trial of Master Racing Tipster and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss: +115 points
Strike Rate: 34%
Bank Growth: 230%
Cost: £1 for first month then £59.95 per month or £154.95 per quarter
ROI: 83%
Average number of tips:  1 per day
VERDICT PASSED 

 

You can view full results here

 

Master Racing Tipster Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Master Racing Tipster and what can we say apart from…WOW! And we mean WOW!

We thought when Banker Bets made 95% profit in three months and nearly doubled the bank over the course of the trial, it might never be beaten.

How wrong we were!

Master Racing Tipster has gone and more than trebled the bank in three months! That means if you had started off with £1,000 at the beginning of the trial, you would have £3,300 now.

The service managed a phenomenal 83% return on investment (ROI) over the three months, which we have rarely seen in over a decade of following tipsters. 

Sometimes a tipster can rack up impressive profits just by bagging one or two really big priced winners (like a 100/1 shot) that distort their figures and make them look amazing.

That has not been the case here though. The highest price winner was 12/1 and the strike rate was a very healthy 34%, so the service showed an excellent level of consistency. 

Here is a graph of the results over the course of the trial:

Betting Graph

As you can see, just nice steady profit all the way – a punter’s dream!

You always get a full write-up for the selections which is reassuring and you can see the logic behind the tips.

The service is based on good old fashioned form study and seems to focus on well-handicapped horses – those that have suitable conditions, a jockey claiming a few pounds off, that can be forgiven a recent bad run or a combination of factors meaning they are good value.

The approach certainly worked over our trial anyway! 🙂

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Good – it’s an easy service to follow as well with just an average of one bet per day so minimal work on your part.

Availability of prices: OK – tips are e-mailed out the evening before racing and you want to get your bets on as quickly as possible. We found that generally you can get close to advised prices if you get your bets on within an hour or so of the tips being sent out.

Sometimes it is difficult because only a couple of bookies will have priced up when bets are sent out, so if that is the case you may want to be a bit careful and not lump on too heavily as bookies don’t like it when big bets are placed as soon as odds are priced up the evening before racing.

If you wait until the next day then generally prices will have fallen quite a bit. 

However, they still managed to make 78 points profit at Betfair SP (BSP) which is a very healthy 156% bank growth, so even if you just bet at Betfair SP you should still do nicely.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was very good at 34%, which makes the results look even more impressive because generally you are getting a good ratio of winners so can stake at reasonable levels.

Advised Betting Bank: The advised betting bank is 50 points, which seems fine given the 34% strike rate achieved during our trial and the long-term strike rate of 31%.

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are fairly reasonable for a service of this quality with the first month at £1 followed by £59.95 per month, £154.95 per quarter, or £359.95 for life.

Certainly we have seen services with results like this one charge upwards of £1,000 per year, so we think the subscription costs are good value for what you are getting.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED  

We have no hesitation whatsoever in placing this on our approved list – with bells on!

To have more than trebled the bank in three months is amazing stuff.

In total the service has been running for over a year and has racked up over 300 points profit.

Now we can’t verify the results before our trial started but all our experience with having monitored Bettinga number of Betting Gods’ services is that their results are fully accurate so we have no reason to doubt the past results.

Our only word of warning is on prices – you may not be able to quite match the advised prices. Even at Betfair SP you would have made 78 points profit though, which is still very impressive.

We would expect in reality you will achieve somewhere between the Betfair SP results and the advised results without too much bother. 

So all in all it really has been a fantastic trial and we would advise getting on board whilst you can – there is always a risk with a service as good as this that they have to limit numbers at some point to protect prices, otherwise it could become unworkable.

You can sign up to Master Racing Tipster here.

 

 

 

 

 

football-formula-pic

The Football Formula – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of The Football Formula and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:    +13 points
Strike Rate:   66%
Bank Growth:    52%
Cost:   £1 for first month then £29.95/month or £69.95/quarter
ROI:   6%
Average number of bets:   2 per day
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

The Football Formula – Full Review

 

The Football Formula is a football tipster from the Betting Gods stable of tipsters. 

They bet in the over 2.5 goals and match odds markets and virtually all the tips are odds-on selections.

We are not sure exactly what the formula for selecting their tips is, but it certainly seems to work!

Over the course of our three month trial, they made 13 points of profit which is a very good return when you are betting at average odds of 1.61 and all bets are 1 point level stakes.

Our bank grew by 52% over the trial, which is a solid return obtained with minimum fuss and effort.

We went into slight deficit early on, but for the rest of the trial we were in profit and we had a nice uplift at the end, as you can see below:

The great thing about the service is that with such a high strike rate (over 70% in the long run), you can bet at reasonably high stakes and multiply your bank many times over in a much quicker time than with a low strike rate service, all else being equal.

We have often said the same thing about our favourite football tipster, Banker Bets, and our bank has grown strongly over the course of two years of following their tips. Hopefully we will see the same thing here over the long term. 

In any event, the Football Formula has proved itself worthy of a RECOMMENDED rating based on our trial and is a service we will watch with interest to see how it develops and whether it can keep up its level of consistency. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are around 2 tips per day on average, so the workload is very manageable. Tips are normally sent out in the morning with a good amount of time to get the bets per day. 

Availability of prices:  With most of the tips in the major European leagues, there is no problem with liquidity and you should be able to comfortably match the advised odds and possibly even beat them. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 66%, which is a little below the long term average of 72% but still very good and enough to see good profit made over the trial.  

Advised Betting Bank: A 25 point bank is advised when following the service, which seems adequate considering the high strike rate and was certainly never threatened during our trial. 

Subscription costs: £1 for the first month then £29.95 per month, £69.95 per quarter or £249.95/lifetime.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

Making a profit in football is notoriously difficult to do, so it is good to have found what looks like a profitable football tipster in the form of The Football Formula.

During our three month live trial, they made 13 points profit and grew the bank by over 50%, which is a very decent return.

With a high strike rate of around 70%, this is a service with lots of winners and the potential to allow you to build a substantial bank over time.

On this basis, we are pleased to award The Football Formula a RECOMMENDED rating and will continue with monitor results with great interest. 

You can try out the tips for 30 days for just £1 here. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Football Formula – Results Update

15th January 2017

It has been a good month for the Football Formula, a football tipster that has added a further three points of profit since our last update.

That means they are now 9 points up for the trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

All bets are one point win bets, so the staking is nice and straightforward. The vast majority of the tips are odds-on so the strike rate is high as well. 

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Football Formula – Results Update

17th December 2016

Not a great deal to report from the Football Formula since our last update, with no points added or lost since our last update.

That means we are still six points up for the trial after two months.

You can view full results here.

Hopefully they can kick on over the last month of the trial and produce some stellar profits.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Football Formula – Results Update

2nd December 2016

There has been good progress from The Football Formula since our last update, with 7 points of profit added.

That brings them to 6 points up for the trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

Hopefully they can keep the good run going and clock up some more solid profits.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Football Formula – Results Update

9th November 2016

It’s been a quiet start so far for The Football Formula, with 1 point lost over the first few weeks of our trial.

You can view full results here.

Most of the bets so far have been in the over 2.5 goals market, with some other win bets in the main match odds. And they come from all over the top European leagues, so there aren’t too many problems in getting the advised odds.

Anyway, back soon with some more updates.

 

 

 

 

 


The Football Formula – New Review

20th October 2016

Always on the look out for new profitable football tipsters, today we have one from the Betting Gods stable of tipsters.

It is called The Football Formula and has amassed a pretty decent record since starting tipping in May of this year, having made over £650 profit to just £10 stakes.

That has come at an amazingly high strike rate of over 78%, which means we are talking about a service that delivers a lot of winners.

And the return on investment to date is over 25%, which is very high for a football tipster. Normally 10% or above is impressive when betting on football.

They mainly concentrate on the over/under market and judging by the results so far, it seems they may have a “formula” for tackling his particular market.

As we have written in our own article about over/under 2.5 goals, it is one of the most popular and liquid markets in football, second only to the match odds market normally.

So certainly there is scope for making money out of it and we shouldn’t need to be too worried about prices disappearing in such a liquid market.

Bets come in leagues all over Europe and in international matches and there are around 50 bets per month, so around 2 bets per day on average which is very manageable.

We will kick off our three month trial of The Football Formula today then and let’s hope it delivers some decent results over the trial. 

We will revert soon with our first update on how things are going.

In the meantime, you can check out The Football Formula here. 

gary-priestley-image

Gary Priestley Horse Racing Tips – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Gary Priestley’s horse racing tips and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:    +99 points
Strike Rate:    26%
Bank Growth:    50%
Cost:   Free
ROI:   16%
Average number of bets:   3 per day
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:   

 

You can view full results here.

 

Gary Priestley Horse Racing Tips – Full Review

 

Gary Priestley is a horse racing tipster who started out on Twitter but has now moved to having a website presence and we were asked to proof his tips for three months.

We are pleased to report that the trial has gone very well, with 99 points profit made at advised prices. 

As you can see from the graph below, we were in profit for pretty much the whole trial and did hit the heady heights of over 120 points up at one stage. 

That represented a growth in our bank of 50% and came at a return on investment of 16%, which is more than respectable. 

All tips are staked at one point each-way, which makes it nice and simple to follow. Full reasoning for the tips is usually provided which is reassuring and Gary clearly knows his stuff when it comes to the gee-gees. 

For those of you with limited access to bookie accounts though this may not be a viable service to follow, as at Betfair SP Gary only made 22 points profit over the trial, a big reduction compared to the results at advised prices.

All in all though it has been an impressive trial and we are happy to give Gary a RECOMMENDED rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are around 3-4 bets per day, so a little bit of time is required to place the bets but nothing too onerous. Tips are normally sent out the evening before racing, so plenty of time to get the bets on.

Availability of prices:  As mentioned above, there was a big difference between the results at advised prices and Betfair SP. The selections often get smashed in between the tips being sent out and the off time, so you need to get your bets on quickly and preferably in the evening when they are sent out. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 26%, which isn’t bad at all but means a degree of patience will be required when following the service.  

Advised Betting Bank: We used a 200 point bank for the trial which we think should be sufficient in the long run, bearing in mind staking is 1 point each-way and the average odds of the tips was 19.5 

Subscription costs: The tips are currently provided free, but this may change in future. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

We were asked to proof the tips of Gary Priestley for three months and are pleased to report that he has made an excellent return during our live trial, netting 99 points profit.

Gary clearly knows his stuff when it comes to the horses and you can tell a lot of time goes into choosing the selections.

With average odds of over 18/1, a degree of patience is needed when following the service as there will be some down periods.

And for those who are limited to using Betfair (or the other exchanges) then the returns are likely to be considerably lower than for those able to use the bookies.

However, as long as you aware of this at the outset then there is a lot to like about Gary Priestley’s horse racing tips and it’s a service well worth adding to your portfolio on the basis of what we have seen. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Gary Priestley Horse Racing Tips – Results Update

19th December 2016

A small loss for Gary Priestley since our last update, with 4 points dropped at advised prices.

That means Gary is now 78 points up at advised prices for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, a huge gap has developed as we are now just 16 points up. So it is questionable whether the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Gary Priestley Horse Racing Tips – Results Update

5th December 2016

A bit of a decline for Gary Priestley since our last update, with 25 points lost over the last three weeks.

He is still well up for the trial overall though, with 82 points of profit made so far at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP Gary has made 37 points profit, so just under half of the profits at advised prices. 

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Gary Priestley Horse Racing Tips – Results Update

16th November 2016

The excellent form of Gary Priestley continues, with another 71 points of profit made at advised prices.

That takes him to 107 points up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things are also going very well, with 99 points of profit made to date.

Lots of big priced winners and placed horses, this has been exciting stuff so far.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

*(This post was corrected on 17.11.16 as previous results had two incorrect entries). 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Gary Priestley Horse Racing Tips – Results Update

21st October 2016

It’s been a very good start to our trial of Gary Priestley’s Horse Racing Tips, with 36 points profit made at advised prices so far.

You can view full results here.

The results at Betfair SP are even better, with 50 points profit made so far.

That is perhaps not surprising, as there are lots of long-odds tips (average odds so far is 19/1), and at those big odds you often see a massive Betfair SP.

A good example of this was Munsarim, who was advised (and won) at 12/1 but whose Betfair SP was 29.65.

With such high average odds though, this will require some patience as there will be losing runs along the way.

Anyway, very good start from Gary.  

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Gary Priestley Horse Racing Tips – New Review

7th October 2016

Always on the look out for new talent, we recently came across a horse racing tipster called Gary Priestley who seemed worthy of attention.

Tipping at one point each-way stakes, Gary has apparently racked up over 1300 points profit since March 2013, no mean feat at all. 

During that time, he managed 28 out of 42 profitable months, which is pretty decent consistency.

Gary has been a tipster on Twitter for a number of years, known as the “Twitter Tipper” and can be found on Twitter here (although he has stopped providing his tips there).

Now Gary is moving from Twitter to the more formal setting of a website, via the Tipsters Review platform. The nice thing is that the tips are still provided for free (for now at least).

Before that, Gary was a bookmaker for 15 years, between 1988 and 2003. So it is a case of gamekeeper turned poacher for Gary.

So with quite a pedigree in the horse racing industry, hopefully we have found a top class tipster on the GGs.

Gary normally sends tips out at around 7pm (UK time) the evening before racing, so there should be plenty of time to get the bets on.

So without further ado, we will get the trial underway and see how Gary gets on under the spotlight of a live trial.

We will return soon with an update on how things are going (note – tips were received from 28th September, so we will record results from then).

 

the-value-machine-pic

The Value Machine – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of The Value Machine and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    -14 points
Strike Rate:    14%  
Bank Growth:    -6%
Cost:   £7 for first 14 days then £57/month or £147/quarter 
ROI:    -1%
Average number of bets:    12 per day
VERDICT:   NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

The Value Machine – Full Review

 

The Value Machine is a piece of software that finds value bets for horse racing. 

It does this by looking for instances where the bookies’ price for a horse is above that on Betfair. As Betfair has been shown in numerous studies to be a perfect market – i.e. to predict accurately the chances of a given horse winning, then in these instances the bookies must be wrong.

The software is very easy to use. You just open it up, click on the afternoon or evening’s selections and they are produced instantly for you.

Then it is just a case of placing the selections, which can take a bit of time as there are on average over 10 selections per day.

We had high hopes for this coming into our trial, as the system on which it is based – the Morning Value Service – had amassed over 3,500 points of profit over five years.

And certainly the logic to it seems sound.

However, unfortunately over our trial, we made a loss of 14 points to the best available bookies price.

That was over the course of more than 1100 bets, so a massive sample size!

At Betfair SP, the results were worse, with a 45 point loss being made. 

And taking the best available Betfair price at the time selections were generated did not seem like a tenable option, as that made a 66 point loss over the trial.

It was disappointing to have made a loss, but of course it may just have been that we hit it at a bad time. Indeed, early on in the trial we went over 100 points up, so clearly there is potential here.

You can see how things went in the profit graph below:

As you can see, we were in profit for most of the trial but went on a huge losing streak towards the end, dropping over 100 points. 

However, more worrying for us is the actual viability of this system.

During the trial, we had our Stan James account closed, which we had for over 10 years and had not even been limited before.

We also had another account limited, which was frustrating.

This problem did not seem limited to us either, as we were contacted by other users who said they had lost bookie accounts when using this.

It is possible that the bookies see people who are using this as arbers, as in theory when the Betfair price is above the bookies’, it could be an opportunity to arb.

Or perhaps they just someone who is exploiting value.

Either way, the bookies really don’t seem to like this and that presents a significant problem for users.

There are of course always steps you can take to try and keep your bookie accounts open, but it is not an ideal situation.

So overall, unfortunately we are not able to recommend The Value Machine at this time and award it a NEUTRAL rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are a large number of bets to place, so you do have to allocate some time to placing the bets, say around 20-30 minutes per day. 

Availability of prices:  As mentioned above, this is a big concern. A fair proportion of the bets come from just one bookie and it often Stan James. However, Stan James are likely to close your account if you place lots of these bets with them. Using Betfair SP does not appear, on the basis of our trial, to be a viable angle to long-term profit. So you may have to make do long term with taking with taking slightly less than the best available price in some instances.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was low at just 14%, which is quite a bit below what is stated on the website, i.e.  17%. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 250 point betting bank is advised, which we think is about right. From the high to low, we experienced around a 120 point drawdown, so about half the bank. Anything less than a 200 point bank would be at risk of going bust. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £7 for the first 14 days then £57 per month or £147 per quarter.  

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

We had high hopes coming into our trial of The Value Machine and early on it looked like those hopes were being richly fulfilled, as we went over 100 points up.

Sadly though, a slide then set in and we ended up 14 points down at best available prices.

That was disappointing, but what was more worrying was that we had bookie accounts closed as a result of placing these bets, one of which we had held for over 10 years. We also received reports from other users of the same thing. 

The bookies are likely to think you are either arbing or exploiting prices at least, so you are at risk of losing accounts when using this system.

We may well have just hit this at a bad time and no doubt results will pick up for them over time. Indeed, we think the logic of the system is sound.

However, with slight concerns over bookie account closures, we think a NEUTRAL rating is the only fair verdict here. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

13th December 2016

The tough times continue for The Value Machine, with a further 36 points lost since our last update.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +34 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: -17 points
  • Betfair SP: +19 points

You can view full results here.

So we have lost a large portion of the substantial profit we had build up earlier in the trial and the recent slide has been a little troubling to say the least.

But hopefully things will turn around shortly and we will be back to winning ways. It can’t come soon enough!

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th November 2016

A very tough run for The Value Machine since our last update, with 40 points lost at advised prices.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +70 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +22 points
  • Betfair SP: +57 points

You can view full results here.

It’s been a very up and down trial, with some great runs followed by some long losing streaks. However, being 70 points up is still very good going, so we have to take the rough with the smooth and look at the bigger picture here.

Talking of pictures, the other one that is emerging here is that taking the best available Betfair price when selections are generated is not a good option, with it now being nearly 50 points behind the advised prices.

So it seems that if you want to use Betfair, then using Betfair SP is a much better option.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th November 2016

More fantastic profits for The Value Machine over the last week. 

We have gained another 41 points profit at advised prices since our last update. 

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +110 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +71 points
  • Betfair SP: +94 points

You can view full results here.

We had high hopes for the Value Machine coming into our trial and it has certainly not disappointed. The results have been superb and one of the best trials we have seen here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Let’s just hope they open it up soon to all those members who want to join.  

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

15th November 2016

There has been an improvement for The Value Machine – a piece of software for betting on the horses – since our last update a couple of weeks ago, with 19 points profit made at advised prices.

That means the totals for the trial to date are:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +69 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +39 points
  • Betfair SP: +53 points

You can view full results here.

So still ticking along nicely at about the half way point of our trial. 

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

1st November 2016

The downtrend has continued unfortunately for The Value Machine over the last week, with another 10 points lost at advised prices.

Overall though things have still been very good, with a month’s worth of bets now accumulated.

Here are the totals for the trial so far:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +50 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +24 points
  • Betfair SP: +41 points

You can view full results here.

The best price available at the bookies is still leading the pack at 50 points up, followed by BSP at 41 points up and the Betfair price at the time of the selection coming in last at 24 points up. 

An excellent first month overall, let’s hope for more of the same over the rest of the trial. 

Another warning though that there is a real risk you will have bookie accounts closed if you use this – we have had reports of this from a few members. 

Kieran says he is going to put up a section on the Value Machine website about keeping bookie accounts open, so watch out for that. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

24th October 2016

There has been something of a correction for The Value Machine since our last update a week ago. 

They have dropped 23 points at advised prices, which was perhaps due as things couldn’t really have gone on in the same incredible way they started.

But overall things have still gone very well so far. Here are the updated totals:-

  • Bookies Price Taken: +59 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +41 points
  • Betfair SP: +48 points

You can view full results here.

One significant thing to mention however is that we were contacted by a member this week who said his Stan James account had been shut down – not just stake-limited, but actually shut down – as a result of bets placed using The Value Machine.

That is a significant problem because a large percentage of the bets The Value Machine generates are with Stan James.

To be honest though, we are not that surprised this has happened and we think there is a real risk bookies will close your accounts if you are using this. The bookies have software that can track betting patterns such as that generated by using The Value Machine.

So that is why we are tracking prices available at Betfair and Betfair SP, to see if the service is still profitable without relying on the bookies.

On that front things are looking good so far, but it is too early to draw any conclusions.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

18th October 2016

The Value Machine continues to produce excellent results, adding further profit since our last update a week ago.

Here is where we are now after two weeks:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +82 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +68 points
  • Betfair SP: +75 points

You can view full results here.

Quite outstanding results so far and good to see it is working very well at Betfair so far too.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – Results Update

9th October 2016

It’s been an excellent start to our trial of The Value Machine, which is living up to its pre-launch billing.

This is software that finds value horse racing selections at the click of a button. It is the same process as that used by the Morning Value Service, which has made over 3,500 points profit in 5 years.

For the purposes of this review, we are recording selections at the best price available at the bookies when selections are generated, the Betfair price available when selections are generated and Betfair SP.

Here are the results to one point level stakes after one week of the selections:

  • Bookies Price Taken: +66 points
  • Betfair Price Taken: +54 points
  • Betfair SP: +67 points

You can view full results here.

Superb stuff so far, couldn’t have asked for much more really.

There are lots of selections, with 160 bets after just one week, so you need to have a bit of time available to place the bets. 

Although to date the results suggest you could just use Betfair SP, which would save quite a lot of time. 

The Value Machine is closed to new members for the moment, but we understand Kieran may reopen it to a restricted number of new members at some point, depending on how prices hold up etc.

You can get your name down here to be contacted if it does reopen.

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

UPDATE – We have just heard that The Value Machine will be closing its doors on the evening of Tuesday 4th October – so if you want to join up you must do so before then!

You can sign up for a 2 week trial for just £7 here.

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

The Value Machine – New Review

One of the first betting systems we reviewed here at Honest Betting Reviews was the Morning Value Service, which is run by a guy called Kieran Ward.

It’s a service we’ve followed personally for a long time and is without doubt one of the best systems we have ever come across.

It finds value bets on the horse racing and has made just short of 3500 points profit in 5 years of operating, which equates to over £70,000 profit to just £20 stakes.

We have followed the selections ourselves for two years and can verify that the results are completely genuine and accurate.

The main problem with the Morning Value Service however was that in order to protect prices, Kieran had to limit membership to a very select number of people.

Plus membership was very expensive, at £400 for 3 months. 

However, now he is releasing the tools behind the money-making machine that Kieran has used so successfully over the last few years and at a much lower cost.

It is a piece of software called The Value Machine and it promises to be very special. It is being released at 12 midday GMT on Friday 30th September, but you can get your name down before then to get a copy here.

Basically – as the name suggests – the software generates bets that have inherent value in them.

The great thing about releasing this as a piece of software is that it will mean people will not all be choosing the same bets at the same time, as selections will change depending on the odds over the course of a day – but the inherent value will remain the same.

And as we say, it will be much cheaper than the Morning Value Service. 

Kieran is offering an initial trial for 2 weeks for just £7, followed by £57+VAT per month, so you can get a feel for the software before deciding if you want to proceed.

If the software could match the results achieved by the Morning Value Service, then it would be an awesome betting system and could generate profit month after month for its users – as the Morning Value Service has done.

We are going to be giving the software a full trial here at Honest Betting Reviews to see how well it works.

We are excited about this one – certainly all the contact we have had with Kieran suggests he is honest, hardworking and upfront and we understand a lot of effort has gone into developing the software to be the best it can possibly be.

So let’s hope we have uncovered another gem here – only time will tell of course. 

We will provide regular updates on how the trial progresses.  

In the meantime you can check out the Value Machine here – from 12 Midday on 30th September. 

 

Oddsmonkey screenshot 2

Odds Monkey Review

We originally reviewed Odds Monkey back in March 2016 when it was just an odds matching tool, but a huge amount has been added to the site since then, so we thought it was high time for an update to look at all the tools now available.

We have tested all the new features for a month and here are the results from our trial:

 

Profit/loss:    +£1045
Bank Growth:    105%
Cost:   £15 per month or £150 per year
ROI:   N/A
Average number of bets:    Up to 30 per day
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating: 

 

 

What Does Odds Monkey Offer Now?

Odds Monkey used to be just an odds matching tool. How things have changed!

It is now a comprehensive matched betting package including pretty much everything you could possibly ask for if you have any interest in free bets and bonuses.

It represents exceptionally good value to get all the different things it offers as part of just one package. 

You can go right through from a novice matched bettor right up to a professional here, with all the tools and training included. 

When you sign up to Odds Monkey, you will get all of the following included:

  • List of New Account Offers
  • List of Existing Account Offers
  • Odds Matcher
  • Betting Calculator
  • Racing Matcher
  • Each Way Matcher
  • Acca Matcher
  • Dutching Tool
  • Tennis Matcher

We will go through each one of these in turn below together with our overall view of Odds Monkey.

 

Free Bet Offers for New Accounts

As an Odds Monkey subscriber you get full access to their lists of free bets and offers for opening new accounts various bookmakers. 

At the time of writing there are 38 new account offers to take advantage of, with full guides on how to do these offers. 

The offers are set out into neat categories such as “bet x get x,” “risk free bet” and “rollover bonus” which helps to differentiate them as these offers are actually quite different when you get down to claiming them

There is a summary for each offer as well, as shown below:

Plus once you have done the offers, you tick them off as completed on the list so you know which ones you’ve done. 

The guides are very helpful and everything is set out very clearly. 

 

Free Bet Offers for Existing Bookmaker Accounts

If you already hold accounts with the bookies, then as you know you will sometimes receive free bet offers and bonuses to incentivise you to bet with that bookie.

Odds Monkey includes a list of these offers as well, with a very useful “Daily Offer Calendar” which lists all the offers for the day, together with details of the offers and links through to the bookie’s website. 

This calendar will be your meat and drink if you are a regular matched bettor.

There are also lists of casino, games and bingo offers included with the Odds Monkey subscription.

 

 

The Odds Matcher

The Odds Matcher is a tool for comparing odds between bookies and betting exchanges such as Betfair to make matched betting easier. It provides a table listing all the best opportunities for selecting the best value matched bets.

When you are doing matched betting, you are looking ideally for bets where the odds with the betting exchanges (e.g. Betfair, Betdaq, Smarkets) are as close to the bookies’ odds as possible.

When the exchange odds are the same as the bookies’ odds (or very close to it), then it allows you to maximise the money you will make from each free bet or bonus offer. 

It will also save you time, as otherwise you would have to find all the bets yourself which would be very time-consuming.

Below is a look at the live table for using the Odds Matcher and setting up your matched bets.

In the table above you can see the date and time of the event, the sport, the race or match time and the selection.

Then in red you have the rating, which tells you how much value there is in the bet. The you have the relevant bookmaker and betting exchange and the odds, which you can click through to.

Where the rating is above 100, this means the betting exchange odds are above the bookies’ odds for that selection.

 

 

The Betting Calculator

The betting calculator allows you to calculate exactly how much money you need to place on each part of the matched bet and how much you will make, as below:

 

Racing Matcher 

The Racing Matcher is an amazing tool that looks at each upcoming race, the offers that are available for it and the best odds matches for it.

So for example below, you have the 12.45 at Southwell, with three offers available – £50 free with Bet365, £25 free with Betfred and £25 free with Totesport.

Then you click on one of the offers and it opens up the odds matcher with the best odds available with the exchanges to execute the offer. 

This is a nice way of working your way through the racecard in an afternoon and taking advantage of lots of free bet offers.

 

The Eachway Matcher

The Eachway Matcher allows you to identify value in each-way bets and place them in a risk-free manner. 

This occurs when the place odds with the bookie are good enough that you can guarantee a profit whatever happens.

You can generally make £5 – £10 per bet and there are normally multiple opportunities per day. Be careful with these though as the bookies can limit you fairly quickly if you are doing lots of them. 

 

The Acca Matcher

The Acca Matcher is a tool to take advantage of the bookies’ offers on football accumulators. So you can back an accumulator with the bookies and lay each leg on the exchanges and (presuming the odds don’t change dramatically) lock in a profit.

You can generally make around £10 per offer on this and there are normally a few to do each day during the regular football season. 

 

Dutching Tool

The dutching tool is a means of finding arbs between the bookies. So for example in a football match you would back the home team with one bookie, the draw with another bookie and the away team with another bookie, guaranteeing a profit whatever the outcome.

However, the bookies hate arbers so you would be risking account closures by doing this very often. 

 

Tennis Matcher

There is also a Tennis Matcher with tennis offers and an odds matcher to find you the closest match between the bookies odds and the exchanges. 

However, there are not as many tennis offers as racing or football ones and it appears the last ones were during the US Open which was some months ago.

 

Premium Membership versus Standard Membership

For a fee of £15 per month or £150 per year, you can get premium membership which gives you access to all the above, which is quite amazing. Considering how much money you can make using all the different tools, it is fantastic value. 

Standard membership gives you access to a couple of offers and guides as an introduction.

 

Overall Verdict

Odds Monkey is a one-stop shop for matched bettors and has a wealth of tools and guides at your disposal.

The claim on their website is that you can make “up to £1500 per month” and whilst we usually dismiss such claims as nonsense, in this case it is actually realistic.

In one month we made just over £1,000, which for a £15 subscription fee is quite amazing.

As with all matched betting, you do have to put the time into it to make it worthwhile and the more time you put in the better you will do.

It is also worth bearing in mind that if you are outside the UK and Ireland, Odds Monkey will have limited appeal as you won’t get access to all the free bets and bonuses that we have here.

Overall though Odds Monkey is an excellent product and one we are happy to recommend. 

Rating: 5 out of 5

 

first favourite logo

First Favourite – Nine Month Update

We completed a six month trial of horse racing tipster First Favourite back in October and gave it a neutral rating.

We agreed to continue monitoring the service to see if results picked up and to update our review periodically on how things were going.

So after nine months we thought it would be a good time for a quick update.

Well the good news is that it has been a very good three months for First Favourite since we completed our trial.

They have made a solid 7 points profit in that time to level stakes, bringing their total profits since we started proofing the tips to 3 points profit overall.

Using their compounding approach and taking the profits at the end of each month and resetting the bank, you would have made £837 profit over the last three months starting with a £1,000 bank.

There have been 15 bets over the last three months, with 11 of those winning, a very decent strike rate of 73%.

This is very much a service for the patient investor who is prepared to build their bank gradually over time. If you have that patience, then this could the service for you.

We are pleased to progress they have been making and if the current form continues then First Favourite should be well on its way to a passed rating. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Final Review

13th October 2016

We have reached the end of our six month trial of First Favourite and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:    -4.45 points
Strike Rate:    52%
Bank Growth:    -0.3%
Cost:   £47+VAT
ROI:   -0.1%
Average number of bets:    2 per week
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating: 

 

You can view full results here.

 

First Favourite – Full Review

 

We have given First Favourite – a horse racing tipster – a six month trial rather than the usual three months, as there are a very low number of bets, so we wanted to get a proper look at the service.

So after six months of tipping, how have they done?

Well, we are pretty much back where we started, at £4 down to £100 stakes at advised prices – so very close to break even.

Below is the profit graph for the trial:

As you can see, things were going quite well midway through the trial, but unfortunately dipped later on. 

At Betfair SP things were a little worse, at -£339.

The results seen during our trial were quite a bit below those achieved prior to the trial. In 2015, there were apparently 12 winning months out of 12. 

The good news is the workload is incredibly low here, with just 2 bets per week.

This kind of selective betting will not be to everyone’s taste – some people will want a larger number of bets to get their teeth stuck into rather than the “slowly, slowly, catchy monkey” approach taken here.

But certainly the results during the trial have not been bad and break even is deserving of a neutral rating in our view.

If results pick up over the coming months, then an upgrade in rating may be appropriate.

Until then, the jury’s out on First Favourite.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Tips are sent out early in the morning of racing, so plenty of time to get the bets on. As we say, with an average of just 2 bets per week, the workrate is incredibly low here. 

Availability of prices: Prices do tend to steam in somewhat by the off, so it is advisable to get your bets on as soon as possible after tips are sent out. However, we generally found prices were readily obtainable so you should be able to match the advised prices as long as you have a few bookie accounts still open.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 52%, which is a little below the long term strike rate of 55% and may explain the results being a little worse than normal as well.  

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank was advised, but we used a 1500 point bank when using 100 point stakes for each bet. 

Subscription costs: Subscription costs are £47 + VAT per month.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

First Favourite is a horse racing tipster that takes a very selective approach to tipping, with just two bets per week on average.

After a six month trial, we have finished pretty much level from following their tips.

So we feel a neutral rating is the only reasonable verdict here for the time being. Hopefully results will pick up over coming months for them. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

12th September 2016

It’s been a good month for First Favourite since our last update, with 137 points of profit added at advised prices.

That means they are now 229 points up overall for our trial at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have added 43 points profit to sit at -104 points overall.

As we have said before, this is a slowly-slowly catchy-monkey service, with a low bet volume and a gradual approach to building a bank.

We have now been following the service for five months, so will be looking to wrap up the review next month. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

14th August 2016

Unfortunately there has been a bit of a downturn for First Favourite since our last update.

Sadly they have dropped 395 points at advised prices, bringing them to 92 points up for the trial as a whole. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a similar story, with 453 points lost since our last update to sit at -147 points for the trial overall.

It is a shame they have hit a sticky patch as it had a cracking run from mid-June to mid-July, but hopefully it is just a blip and normal service will be resumed shortly.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

17th July 2016

First Favourite has been on a fantastic run of form since our last update, with eight of the ten bets over the last month winning.

That means they have added 476 points profit to stand at 487 points up for the trial as a whole.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP the results have also been good, with 364 points profit added over the last month to stand at 306 points profit for the trial overall.

We have also been monitoring the advised prices closely and can say that the prices are generally widely available and do not disappear within a short time as you see with some other services, which means you should be able to match the results at advised prices if you have bookie accounts.

The other thing worth noting is that the longest losing streak for First Favourite this year has been just two bets! 

That is quite a remarkable statistic and I don’t know if I’ve ever seen that before. Just shows the level of consistency and means this is a very easy service to follow – it doesn’t seem to have the rollercoaster experience you get with some other services. 

So overall very impressed with First Favourite so far and let’s hope things continue in the same vein.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

17th June 2016

First Favourite are still in profit for our trial – but only just.

When we did our last update a month ago, they were 165 points in profit at advised prices, where as now they are 11 points up, so a decline of 154 points since last time.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP, the total so far is 58 points down, so a little bit worse than the advised prices.

As we have said before, this is very much a selective service with a low number of bets per week, but the long-term record is strong and justifies such an approach.

Anyway, let’s hope things pick up a bit by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – Results Update

19th May 2016

Well normally after a month of a trial we have lots to report but things have been quiet for First Favourite to say the least!

As we said at the outset, this is selective betting. But it has been very selective so far, with only 5 bets advised.

You can view full results here.

The good news is that the selective approach is paying off so far, with three of the five bets having been winners, with a profit of 165 points accrued to 100 point stakes.

You can see the effectiveness of the service, with 15 of the 16 months so far having been profitable. It is slow steady bank building, which is quite a nice way of doing things.

Anyway, we will update things in about a month’s time and see if things are still going strong.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

First Favourite – New Review

19th April 2016

We have just come across a horse racing tipster who we think has great potential and are quite excited to be trialing here at Honest Betting Reviews.

The tipster in question is called First Favourite and is run by a guy called Mel Gee.

There are two things in particular that interest us about this service.

First up is the high strike rate. We have written elsewhere about the importance of strike rate in betting systems, but in short the reason is that having a high strike rate means you can use larger stakes and build a bank much more quickly. 

Plus losing streaks tend to be much shorter, thus making it easier psychologically to follow the service.

First Favourite claims to have a strike rate of 55%, which is a fantastically high strike rate to be able to achieve a profit at. 

That means over half of bets have been winners! That’s what we like to see.

The second thing we like about this service is the level of consistency. Apparently in 2015 there were 12 winning months out of 12, which is remarkable going.

The three years previous to that were also profitable, although it doesn’t say to what level.

Now the only thing we would say is that this is a selective service, so if you’re looking for loads of bets every day then it might not be your thing.

But as we are always keen to stress, at the end of the day it is the amount of profit in your bank account that really counts rather than the number of bets and on the profit front First Favourite certainly seems to have delivered so far.

The good thing is there is a 60-day no-quibbles money back guarantee, so if it doesn’t turn out as hoped we can always get a refund.

So with much anticipation we will get the trial underway and let’s hope we can see some great profits accumulated over the next few months.

Back soon with our first update on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out First Favourite here.