View all the betting system that have got neutral results in our test or see the betting systems currently under review.

Speedform pic

Speedform – Final Review

Speedform is a speed and form ratings service for UK horse racing. 

Ratings services are a longstanding feature of horse racing and provide a way for punters to compare horses based on a range of factors and to see how they line up for a race today. Ratings platforms such as Timeform and Raceform have been around for many years and proved popular with aspiring punters. Speedform focuses on the metric of speed but utilises other factors in its ratings calculations too. 

The Speedform ratings service is pretty simple to use and after signing up you get access to the daily ratings and their key metrics. 

We followed the ratings for just under three months, using a strict criteria:-

– Backing the top rated SF (the speed rating) horse when the rating is clear by 5 points
– Odds between 5.0 and 26.0 at BSP
– Only horses that have run within the last 30 days

We weren’t able to follow the ratings every day due to other commitments but that was OK, they are not “tips” as such so you can use them as and when you are able to.

Using the above criteria we did struggle however, finishing with a loss of 76 points after around 300 selections. 

In this instance we don’t feel it is appropriate to give a final “verdict” as such as there are multiple different ways you can use the ratings and we only tested one, so people using different strategies may have done better than us. But at the same time based on using the criteria listed above we couldn’t recommend the ratings at the moment either. 

We would like to see an option for e-mail selections to be sent out if you select certain criteria as that would make things much easier and user-friendly, so we hope such an option is added in future. It would also be useful to run various strategies in a “test mode” to see if they work and to find optimal use of the ratings, which at the moment would all have to be done manually. 

Anyway, as we say we aren’t able to give a definitive verdict on the Speedform ratings for now but unfortunately using the criteria described above we did finish with quite a considerable loss for our trial. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Speedform – Results Update

11th February 2020

Speedform is a ratings and form guide service for UK horse racing based on speed ratings. We have been following the ratings for just over two months now, using a strict criteria:-

  • – Backing the top rated SF (the speed rating) horse when the rating is clear by 5 points
  • – Odds between 5.0 and 26.0 at BSP
  • – Only horses that have run within the last 30 days

We haven’t been able to follow the ratings every day due to other commitments but that is OK, they are not “tips” as such so you can use them as and when you are able to.

It’s been a rough time recently though, with 49 points lost since our last update a month ago. 

That means we are now 57 points down for our trial overall. 

You can get full results here.

As mentioned last time, there have been quite a few seconds, including a number at decent odds, so the picture could be quite different right now.

As it is though things have been a struggle so let’s see if they can turn things around over the next few weeks. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Speedform – Results Update

10th January 2020

Speedform is a ratings and form guide service for UK horse racing based on speed ratings. We have been following the ratings for just over a month now, using a strict criteria:-

  • – Backing the top rated SF (the speed rating) horse when the rating is clear by 5 points
  • – Odds between 5.0 and 26.0 at BSP
  • – Only horses that have run within the last 30 days

We haven’t been able to follow the ratings every day due to other commitments but that is OK, they are not “tips” as such so you can use them as and when you are able to. 

Anyway, so far we are 8 points down to 1-point level stakes. 

You can get full results here.

There have been quite a few second places so we could be in profit if just a couple of those had come in, but of course that is betting for you. 

The ratings are easy to use and it only takes 10-15 minutes each day to find the selections and place the bets. 

In any event, let’s hope a few of those seconds start turning into firsts by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Speedform – New Review

3rd December 2019

We have something a little different for you today here at Honest Betting Reviews. 

We are taking a look at a service called Speedform, which is a speed and form ratings service for UK horse racing. 

Ratings services are a longstanding feature of horse racing and provide a way for punters to compare horses based on a range of factors and to see how they line up for a race today. Ratings platforms such as Timeform and Raceform have been around for many years and proved popular with aspiring punters. 

One aspect of ratings which has grown in ubiquity is rating horses based on their speed. In simple terms this means recording the time it takes for a horse to complete a race of a given distance and comparing it to the time taken by other horses to complete the same distance. 

Speed ratings are largely an American idea, popularised by Andrew Beyer in a number of very technical and in-depth books, the most famous of which is Beyer on Speed. 

Although not exactly a light read which you’d take with you on holiday, Beyer’s seminal work explained in great detail how the speed of horses is a very important, but largely overlooked, factor in horse racing. Speed ratings demonstrated they could be very profitable if used in the right way and therefore become very popular.  

The Speedform website explains the value of speed ratings quite well:-

“Most casual punters will simply look at the finishing positions of the horses in a race to determine the likely winner, but this often does not tell the whole story….

For instance, say we have a 7f race at Kempton, Horse A won it’s last race and Horse B came 4th, both over the same course and distance as today and carrying the same weight, Horse A is the obvious winner right?.

Wrong. Because if we look at the speed ratings the horses achieved in those races, Horse A achieved a speed rating of 86 compared to Horse B’s rating of 91, which means although Horse A won it’s race, that race was run in a slower time than Horse B’s race, so although Horse B only managed to come 4th, it covered the 7f in a quicker time, so all other things been equal Horse B should beat Horse A today.”

Just using speed ratings on their own isn’t a surefire way to success of course, but when used in the right context and in combination with other form factors, is a potential way to gain an edge on other punters. 

What really piqued our interest was the past results on the website, which show for instance:

  • – 581 points profit (BSP) from 2849 runners (ROI: 20%) for backing horses to a given criteria
  • – A profit of 95 points (BSP) from 546 runners (ROI: 17%) when backing at odds of 4/1 or less in given criteria
  • – A lay profit of 731 points (to early prices) to a morning price of 6/1 or less when laying to certain criteria. 

So very strong results there and well worth investigating further to see if they hold up in a live trial. 

With a ratings service like this of course it is all about how you use the ratings, so people will get different results depending on how they use the ratings.

What we will aim to do is give an overview of the service and then also provide a sample of results from following the criteria that gave the 581 points profit at BSP mentioned above (which was over about an 18 month period).

So we will kick off a review today and will report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Speedform for yourself here.

 

 

 

 

 

Pay per Profit

Pay Per Profit – Final Review

We have come to the end of our 12 month trial of Pay Per Profit and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +24 points
Strike Rate:  35%
Bank Growth:  16%
ROI:  4%
Average number of bets:  1 per day
Cost:  £25 for each 15 points profit made
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Pay Per Profit – Full Review

 

Pay Per Profit is a horse racing service from the PuntHub stable of tipsters and they take a different approach to the typical subscription model whereby you pay a monthly or quarterly membership fee. 

Instead they use a “Pay Per Profit” model. What this means is you pay £25 (in advance) for each 15 points profit they make – referred to as a “cycle” – regardless of how long it takes. If you were staking at just £10 per point that would mean you were paying £25 for each £150 of profit made. 

We have been following the service for very nearly a full year now and things started off very well, with four cycles of profit being completed in the first four months. 

So that added up to 71 points of profit in pretty quick time and things were moving along very smoothly. 

Then a new cycle started on 24th June and unfortunately…it is still going! 

Yes a full seven months later we are still bogged down in the same cycle and are 46 points down for that Cycle.

So we thought it was probably time to wrap up this review as we could have ended up waiting forever to complete the Cycle!

Whilst it has been disappointing to have been stuck in a rut for a while, the service still made a profit of 24 points for our trial overall. 

Taking into account the length of time of the trial and total subscription costs, we think in the end a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance. 

 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: The tips are sent out via Telegram and come in at various times on the day of racing. With an average of just 1 bet per day it’s a very simple service to follow. 

Availability of prices: We didn’t notice any real pressure on prices and indeed the BSP results were pretty similar to those at advised prices, with 12 points being made at BSP versus 24 points at advised prices. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 35% (including placed horses) which is pretty good and meant the losing streaks did not tend to be too long. 

Advised Betting Bank: We couldn’t find a recommended bank for the service but would imagine a 150 point bank would be more than sufficient for following the service.  

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £25 for every 15 points profit made. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Pay Per Profit is an interesting concept of charging for profit made rather than on a monthly basis. It started off our trial very well, making over 70 points in its first four months. 

However, after an extended drawdown, the current cycle has been going on for seven months now, currently sitting 46 points down. 

So it is time to draw a line under our review and award this a NEUTRAL rating, as whilst it was in profit at 24 points for our trial overall once the length of time and subscription costs are taken into account most people will probably have broken even or be slightly down in the end. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

23rd December 2019

It looks like this cycle of Pay Per Profit may go on forever unfortunately, with it having continued for a full six months now. 

Since our last update they have lost 19 points at advised prices, meaning this Cycle is now 36 points down overall at advised prices. 

For our trial overall however they are still 19 points up at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have lost 22 points since our last update and are 36 points down for the Cycle, but 25 points up for our trial overall.

Credit to those who have stuck with this for the last six months, all we can hope really is that they hit a run of winners and get back into profit for the Cycle. Fingers crossed! 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

19th November 2019

There’s been some movement in the right direction for Pay Per Profit over the last month, with 8 points profit made at advised prices since our last update.

That means they’re getting back towards even for this Cycle, currently sitting 17 points down at advised prices. For our trial overall they are 38 points up however.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have made 12 points profit since our last update and are 14 points down the Cycle, but 47 points up for our trial overall.

It is obviously taking a long time to complete this eighth Cycle, but at least they are moving in the right direction and hopefully by the time of our next update they will be back in profit for the cycle. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

20th October 2019

Well this current cycle of Pay Per Profit is taking some time to complete. Just a reminder that this is a horse racing tipster whereby you pay for each 15 points of profit they make – called a “cycle” – rather than a monthly subscription fee.

This is the eighth cycle overall and the fourth of our trial. It started back in June and is taking much longer than the others to complete which were all quite swift. 

They have lost 2 points since our last update at advised prices, meaning they are 25 points down overall at advised prices for this cycle.

You can view full results here.

They are still 30 points up for our trial overall at advised prices however. 

Not a great deal of movement at BSP, with just one point lost since our last update and 26 points lost for this cycle. 

Hopefully we’ll have some more positive news to report by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

20th September 2019

It’s been very quiet lately for Pay Per Profit, with only a handful of bets since our last update just over a month ago. 

In that time they have lost 4 points at advised prices, meaning they are 23 points down for their eighth cycle.  

They are still 32 points up for our trial overall at advised prices however. 

You can view full results here.

Not much change at Betfair SP either, with 6 points lost since our last update, 25 points lost for the eighth cycle and 36 points up for our trial overall. 

This cycle is taking a bit of time to complete but hopefully by the time of our next update it will be finished. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

16th August 2019

It’s been a while since we updated the results for horse racing service Pay Per Profit. The main reason for that is we have tended to wait until a cycle is complete before updating the results, but unfortunately the current cycle has been going on for some time so we thought best to update things now anyway. 

Having started on 24th June, the eighth cycle is currently 19 points down at both advised prices and BSP.

You can view full results here. 

Although it has been a bit of a struggle for this cycle, it is worth remembering that we are still 36 points up for our trial overall, which is good going. 

They are currently taking a bit of a break – we presume for a holiday – but hopefully when they return they will press on and get into profit and then finish the cycle. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

6th June 2019

It took a little longer this time but Pay Per Profit has just completed its sixth cycle of profit, with 16 points profit made at advised prices after 71 bets. 

That means they have now made 55 points profit for our trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here. 

The Betfair SP results continue to hold up well, with 16 points profit also made this cycle and 44 points profit made for our trial overall. 

So this has been performing very well and is doing exactly what it says on the tin – delivering nice solid profits for a set fee. 

Just to say if you want to join the next cycle then you can sign up here – but you will need to do so quickly as doors are due to close very shortly.

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

23rd April 2019

Pay Per Profit has just completed its sixth cycle of profit, which took 42 bets this time.

In terms of our trial they have made 37 points profit since our last update and 39 points profit for our trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP they have made 27 points profit since our last update and 28 points profit for our trial overall. 

Please note if you would like to join up for the next round, you need to do so by tomorrow evening – i.e. 24th April at the latest. You can sign up here. 

This has been doing very well and we are impressed by the results so far, let’s hope that continues. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – Results Update

4th March 2019

It’s been a quiet start to our trial of Pay Per Profit, a horse racing service where you pay for each 15 points of profit they make rather than monthly.

So far after a month of our trial they are 2 points up at advised prices. 

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP it is a similar story, with 1 point of profit made for our trial to date.

Just a reminder that these are the Evening Bets we are following, there are also morning bets and late bets available as separate services. 

A low betting volume with just 10 bets so far, but with the break for equine flu that is understandable and we expect things to pick up now with Cheltenham coming up and lots of top class racing on the cards. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Pay Per Profit – New Review

4th February 2019

With most tipsters the idea is that you pay a monthly or quarterly subscription for the tips and then place the bets and see how things go. 

Some of the time you make a profit that more than covers the subscription, so all is good. 

On other occasions, the tipster has a losing run which can be painful as you are both losing money and have to pay subscription fees. 

So the service we are looking at today takes a different approach and rather than having a subscription model, uses a “Pay Per Profit” model. 

What this means is you pay £25 for each 15 points profit they make, regardless of how long it takes. If you were staking at just £10 per point that would mean you were paying £25 for each £150 of profit made. 

So far it hasn’t been taking long to reach the 15 point profit target, with three rounds already being completed since 18th December 2018.

Here is a look at the results in table format:

 

RoundNo. of BetsPoints StakedPoints ProfitROI%
Round 11431.519.662%
Round 247.2515207%
Round 3714.517.55121%
Overall2553.2552.1597%

 

Pretty amazing results there, with nearly 100% ROI to date and over 50 points of profit. 

They offer three services – morning bets, evening before racing bets and late bets – so the results above are for the evening before racing bets.

We have crunched the numbers and so far the evening before racing bets are holding up well at BSP, with 45 points profit made versus 52 at advised prices so not too much of a difference. 

Tips are provided via the Telegram messenger app, which you can download to your phone, tablet or laptop pretty easily. 

This looks like a promising service so we are eager to see how it performs under a live trial. 

Please check back here for regular updates on how things are going. 

In the meantime you can check out Pay Per Profit here. 

 

 

 

 

jakblak racing

Jakblak Racing – Final Review

We have reached the end of our seven month trial of Jakblak Racing and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  -8 points
Strike Rate:  14%
Bank Growth:  -5%
ROI:  -3%
Average number of bets:  1-2 per day
Cost:  £2.99 for 28 day trial then £34.99/month or £87.50/quarter
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Jakblak Racing – Full Review

 

Jakblak Racing is a horse racing tipster from the Tipsters Empire tipping platform. We aren’t quite sure where the name comes from or if it has anything to do with the Hollywood actor Jack Black, but in any event the results looked quite promising coming into our trial. 

We ran an extended seven month trial to give us a really good picture of the service and that included nearly 300 bets, a decent sample size.

Sadly in the end though we finished 8 points down to advised prices at the conclusion of our trial. Although disappointing to finish with a loss, that only represented 5% of the recommended starting bank, which is no disaster by any means. 

We don’t normally include BOG in our official results but if we had done the results would have been about 10 points of profit for our trial. 

Looking at the BSP results, they weren’t quite as good with a loss of 24 points made for our review period. 

Overall then given that the service more or less broke even at advised prices during our trial, we believe a NEUTRAL rating is fair here. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: The tips are normally sent out either the evening before racing at around 9-10pm or the morning of racing at between 8am and 9am GMT, so plenty of time to get the bets on. With an average of just 1-2 bets per day it’s a very simple service to follow. 

Availability of prices: We experienced no real issues in getting the advised prices during our trial.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 14% (including placed horses) which is on the low side, so a good deal of patience is required if following the service. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 150 point bank is recommended for following the service which seems a reasonable amount to us and was certainly never in jeopardy at any stage of our trial. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £2.99 for the first 28 days then £34.99 per month, £87.50 per quarter or £157.50 for six months. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

After an extended seven-month trial Jakblak Racing finished with a loss of 8 points to advised prices. Whilst that was a little disappointing, it only represented a 5% loss of the recommended bank so we think a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Jakblak Racing – Results Update

21st October 2019

It’s been an excellent month for Jakblak Racing, with a bumper 49 points profit made at advised prices since our last update.

That puts them 18 points up for our trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it was also a good month but not quite as impressive as at the advised prices, with a profit of 31 points made. That puts them 2 points down for our trial overall at BSP.

It’s been great to see the turnaround this month with two winners at 16/1, one at 14/1 and plenty more in addition to those. Keep up the good work Mr Blak!  

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Jakblak Racing – Results Update

21st October 2019

No change for Jakblak Racing since our last update, with no points won or lost over the last month at advised prices. 

That means he is still 31 points down at advised prices for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it was a slightly better month, with 6 points profit made but overall Jakblak is still 33 points down for our trial at BSP.

Let’s see if things have turned around by the time of our next update and he can move towards making a profit for our trial.  

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Jakblak Racing – Results Update

23rd September 2019

The struggles continue for Jakblak Racing unfortunately, with another 12 points lost at advised prices since our last update a month ago. 

That means they are now 31 points down for our trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have lost 15 points since our last update and 39 points for our trial overall.

There are signs of a possible turnaround for them however with three winners in the last nine bets, including one at 14/1, so hopefully they are starting to get things back on track – for Jakblak…

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Jakblak Racing – Results Update

23rd July 2019

It’s been a rough old month for Jakblak Racing unfortunately, with 30 points lost at advised prices since our last update.

That means they are now 19 points down for our trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

It’s a similar picture at Betfair SP, with 34 points lost since our last update and 24 points lost for our trial overall.

Hopefully the results over the last month are just a temporary blip as their form prior to that was very consistent. Let’s see if they can get back on track over the next month. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Jakblak Racing – Results Update

23rd July 2019

It’s been a decent start to our trial of Jakblak Racing, with a profit of 11 points made so far to advised prices after one month. 

You can view full results here.

It’s a very similar story at Betfair SP, with 10 points profit made for our trial to date.

The nice thing about this service is it’s just one or two bets per day and all to one point level stakes, so very straightforward to follow.

All good so far then, let’s hope that continues.  

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Jakblak Racing – New Review

19th June 2019

It’s been a while since we did any reviews of services on the Tipsters Empire platform but they appear to have found some promising tipsters lately so we thought it was about time we checked them out. 

We recently did a shout-out for the Wizard of Big Odds as it has amassed some amazing results, but unfortunately due to its popularity had to close its doors to new members recently and instigate a waiting list for anyone wanting to join. 

However another service on the Tipsters Empire platform which looks very promising is Jakblak Racing and it is welcoming new members so we thought we would give it a test-run. 

We’re not sure where the name comes from – presumably it doesn’t have anything to do with the Hollywood actor Jack Black – but whatever the origin the service itself looks very promising.

With over £1,500 profit made to £10 stakes since starting up a year ago, Jak has achieved an excellent return on investment of over 27% and an average monthly profit of £129. 

All staking is 1 point win which we like and there is usually just one selection per day, so nice and straightforward to follow. 

The profit graph is very smooth as well with a high proportion of winning months so far. 

There is currently a 28 trial available for just £2.99 which is very reasonable and gives a good period to test the service out for. 

We will aim to run our standard three month trial and will report back here regularly on how things are going. 

In the meantime you can check out Jakblak Racing here.

 

 

 

 

Football Acca Tipster

Football Acca Tipster – Final Review

We have reached the end of our seven month trial of Football Acca Tipster and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +6 points
Strike Rate:  53%
Bank Growth:  3%
ROI:  0.1%
Average number of bets:  1-2 per day
Cost:  £1.99 for first 15 days then £27 per month
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Football Acca Tipster – Full Review

 

Football Acca Tipster is a service from the Betting Gods tipster platform and – as the name suggests – they provide accumulator bets (accas) on the footy. 

They tip in a variety of leagues across Europe and most of the accas are doubles and trebles. A number of different markets are used including match odds, over/under, BTTS, double and chance and more. 

We followed the service for a full seven months to get a good picture of its performance. It got off to a very rough start, going over 80 points down at one stage but fought back well to finish 6 points up in the end. 

Staking varies between 2 and 5 points, with 3.4 being the average, so that may have inflated the loss made early on in the trial. 

However, overall the service has ended up pretty much back where it started, so we feel only a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: The tips are normally sent out in the morning of the matches giving plenty of time to get the bets on. With an average of 1-2 bets per day following the service isn’t too onerous by any means. 

Availability of prices: Prices are freely available and there should be no problem matching the advised prices. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 53% which is pretty decent and means lots of winning accas. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 200 point bank is recommended for following the service which seems a reasonable amount to us and even with the early losses was never in jeopardy. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £1.99 for the first 15 days then £27/month.

There is a full money-back guarantee for the first 30 days. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Accumulators are a popular form of betting and Football Acca Tipster focuses on backing doubles and trebles in major football matches. 

It got off to rocky start to our trial, going over 80 points down at one stage but bounced back well to finish just in profit. 

Overall given it finished just 6 points up in the end it receives a NEUTRAL rating from us for the time being. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Football Acca Tipster – Results Update

29th October 2019

It’s been a good comeback for the Football Acca Tipster this month, with a profit of 21 points made since our last update.

That means they are now 1 point up for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

This has been an impressive fightback as they were over 80 points down at one stage in our trial and many would have given up at that stage but it just shows patience and a long-term outlook can really pay off sometimes.

Hopefully they’ll keep it going and push on now to make some nice profits by the end of our trial. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Football Acca Tipster – Results Update

2nd October 2019

No change for the Football Acca Tipster over the last month, with no net difference in their P/L since our last update. 

That means they are still 19 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

With just over a month left in our trial, let’s see if they can make a big push and get into profit by the end of our review.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Football Acca Tipster – Results Update

31st August 2019

Football Acca Tipster has continued its fightback, making another 9 points profit since our last update a month ago. 

Unfortunately though after the previous losses they are still 19 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

If they continue the form of the last couple of months then they should manage to get back into profit for our trial, which would be good to see. 

The nice thing about the service is that even though they are doing accas, the strike rate is still high at over 48%. Just need to push that up a little higher and then they’ll be back in the black. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Football Acca Tipster – Results Update

29th July 2019

It’s been a good month for Football Acca Tipster, with 16 points profit made since our last update.

However, unfortunately they are still 28 points down for our trial overall after the previous losses.

You can view full results here.

We have decided to extend the review from 3 months to 6 months to give them a chance to show their form once the main leagues kick off again as obviously over the last few months it has just been the Summer leagues which tend to be more tricky.

So let’s see if they can get into profit once the action get underway in a couple of weeks.

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Football Acca Tipster – Results Update

27th June 2019

Not much change for Football Acca Tipster since our last update, with a profit of 2 points made over the last month or so.

Sadly though they are still 44 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

The results probably look a bit worse than they actually are however, as staking is quite high with often 3 or 4 points being used per bet. 

So in reality they would be around 10-15 points down if betting at 1 point level stakes.

Anyway, whatever the staking let’s hope we have some more positive news to report on the results by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Football Acca Tipster – Results Update

21st May 2019

So far after one month of following the tips, Football Acca Tipster is 46 points down for our trial to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

We had expressed skepticism at the outset that anyone could make a consistent profit from backing accumulators and so far that is being borne out. 

However, it is still early days with only a month gone in our trial so we shouldn’t give up hope yet. Let’s see if they can turn things around over the remainder of our trial. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Football Acca Tipster – New Review

13th May 2019

Regular followers of the site will know we are normally skeptical about accumulator betting. Basically it is generally considered the “mugs” style of betting as you are normally just multiplying the bookies’ edge over you, meaning you are taking terrible value on your bets.

Hence why you see so many bookies offering acca-based bonuses to the unsuspecting punter – bookies love accas because they make so much money from them.

However, in theory this idea could be turned on its head, if – and it’s a big if – you were able to find consistent value on your bets.

Then by putting them in accumulators you would actually be able to multiply your edge over the bookies.

To do this consistently would be quite a feat but the tipster we are looking at today appears to have found a way to make accumulator betting profitable – and that is Football Acca Tipster from the reputable Betting Gods platform.

They have made over £700 to £10 stakes since last October and that has been achieved with a strike rate of 25%.

Even though they bet on accumulators, the average odds are just over 2.0 and a good number of the bets are doubles.

The results have been quite up and down so far, but they have had a good May so that is encouraging at least.

We have actually been receiving the tips since 17th April so will record results from then. 

Please check back here for updates on how the review how is going.

In the meantime you can check out Football Acca Tipster here.

 

 

 

 

 

Oddball Tips pic

Oddball Tips – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Oddball Tips and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  -12 points
Strike Rate:  22%
Bank Growth:  -8%
ROI:  -12%
Average number of bets:  5 per week
Cost:  £2.99 for 1st 28 days then £30/month, £75/quarter or £179 per season
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here. 

 

Oddball Tips – Full Review

 

Oddball Tips is a football betting service from the Tipsters Empire platform of tipsters. The vast majority of their tips are accumulators, focusing mainly on the match odds and both teams to score markets.

For the most part they concentrate on English football from the Premier League down to the National League but also tip in other top leagues around Europe.

Coming into our trial the results looked pretty strong with over 100 points profit made at a return on investment of over 20%. 

However, unfortunately after three months of following the tips we are left with a small loss of 12 points. 

As that is only an 8% loss of the advised betting bank of 150 points, it wasn’t a disaster by any means and we think a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Most of the tips are sent out the evening before matches or early in the morning, so plenty of time to get the bets on.  

Availability of prices: There was no problem at all with obtaining the advised prices as the tips are normally in the main markets and liquidity strong. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 22% which is OK in itself but would need to be a little higher to achieve a profit at the odds tipped at. 

Advised Betting Bank: For once we would say the recommended bank was sufficient, with a 150 point bank advised which should be enough to cover drawdowns etc. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £2.99 for the first 28 days then £30 per month, £75 per quarter or £179 per season

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

With a small loss of 12 points made during our three month review, it was a slightly disappointing trial but certainly no disaster for Oddball Tips.   

With just an 8% loss of the recommended betting bank we think a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance and it’s a service to keep an eye on for now. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Oddball Tips – Results Update

9th November 2019

A slight decline over the last month for football specialist Oddball Tips, with 4 points lost since our last update.

That means they are now 18 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here. 

Despite the loss for the month they have staged something of a recovery lately, with three of the last six bets winning at odds of 1.5, 2.99 and 6.82, so hopefully that’s a sign of things to come and them getting back towards a profit for our trial overall. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Oddball Tips – Results Update

10th October 2019

It’s been a slow start to our trial of football tipster Oddball Tips, with a loss of 14 points made so far after one month. 

You can view full results here. 

Most of the tips are accumulators and come in a variety of leagues including the English leagues as well as some European ones and the Champions League. 

Although it’s not got off to a great start, not a lot of damage has been done and just one or two of the accas landing could turn things around.

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Oddball Tips – New Review

12th September 2019

Today we are starting a new trial of a football tipster from the Tipsters Empire platform called Oddball Tips. 

According to the website, Oddball Tips keeps it simple. With so many football markets available, Oddball sticks to the win, draw or goal markets, in order to ensure that everyone can the bet on.

They follow football on a daily basis, from the Premier League down to National League, as well as other top leagues around Europe. Along with many punters, they’ve had accounts banned in the past by betting on random leagues and sports so stick to the main leagues now. 

The results so far look very impressive with over £1,150 profit made at a return on investment of 20%, which is high for football. 

The strike rate however is lower than most football services at 15%. That is because most of their tips are accumulators with odds as high as 90/1 in some cases. 

A 150 point betting bank is recommended for following the service which seems reasonable given the strike rate and staking used, which tends to be between 0.5 and 2 points. 

It’s an interesting looking service and we are keen to get the review going and see how they get on. We will update results here during our trial at regular intervals so you can see what kind of progress they are making. 

In the meantime you can check out Oddball Tips for yourself here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Naked Trader

The Naked Trader – Final Review

We have reached the end of our trial of the Naked Trader, but rather than doing our normal numbers table summarising the results, we thought it would be more useful to sketch out our final conclusions on what we have found by following Robbie’s service.

So here are our findings:-

 

                    1. There is no point following Robbie’s trades

As we suspected, there is absolutely no point in copying Robbie’s trades based on the results of our trial.

After more than four months of trying to copy his trades, whilst Robbie has made over 200% profit, we have in fact made over 100% loss!

Yes I will repeat that again just in case you missed it – whilst he made a whopping profit, we made a substantial loss. Ouch.

You can view full results here.

Basically the problem is that by the time you have found out about a trade that Robbie has made – which is usually a week or two after he has bought or sold the share, the price will invariably have moved against you.

Now you may be wondering why this is. Surely, all else being equal, at least a portion of the shares would stay roughly the same price, or on a few you would expect the share to fall after Robbie has bought it, or rise after he has sold it.

Well sadly not.

This may be because Robbie is so damn good at picking shares, he knows when to buy (just as a share is about to go up) and when to sell (just when a share is about to go down).

Or the cynical among you may think that there is the possibility of what is often called “aftertiming” – i.e. picking shares after they have gone up and then saying you had bought them earlier.

Who knows? We don’t think that is the case as frankly we don’t think Robbie could have maintained his reputation and made as much money as he apparently has if he wasn’t actually very good at picking shares but was just aftertiming. Plus he seems like a standup guy from what we know of him.

Either way, the bottom line is you shouldn’t try copying his trades because in all likelihood you will lose money based on the results of our trial.

It would be great if Robbie offered a share picks service where he sent out e-mails or texts right after he has bought or sold a share, like many services we know do, but alas he seems reluctant to do so.

Hopefully at some point in the future he will consider doing so…

 

               2. Robbie has big bucks to trade with

When you look at Robbie’s results, it is tempting to think you can make similar amounts to him by following his process.

Beware though that Robbie has huge amounts of money to invest. At any one time, he may have well over £100,000 invested in shares and sometimes closer to £200,000.

For most people, investing those amounts is not feasible. You may look at his results and see that he has made say £80,000 profit in a year and think you can make similar amount.

But that would only be realistic if you had the huge sums that Robbie does to invest, often buying £10,000 worth of  shares in a company.

In one of his books, Robbie says that realistically, if you are really disciplined, follow his advice and do all the things a good trader does, you could make around 15-20% profit per year.

If you have £10,000 to invest, that would £1,500 to £2,000 profit per year. Think about that and whether it is worth the time needed and the risk to make that kind of money.

For some people it will be and they enjoy doing the research and the enjoyment of owning shares, but for others it may be better off looking to an investment trust or index fund.

But either way you are unlikely to become a millionaire trading shares unless you have a large amount to invest in the first place and are prepared to wait a number of years.

 

       3. A few big winners make all the difference

Looking at Robbie’s trading history and reading his books, the thing that jumps out is how significant some of his trades have been.

Just the top 30 trades he has done have made over £230,000 in themselves and the top 10 have made over £118,000.

And that doesn’t include those shares that he still holds, some of which go back many years.

Some of these have gone up hugely, by 10 or even 15 times, so those will be worth many tens of thousands of pounds now as well.

So it really does emphasise the point Robbie makes in his books about riding the winners and shedding the losers.

If you can turn a few into 10 or 20-baggers, you can put up with quite a lot of shares that don’t do very much or make a small loss.

 

      4. His books are very good

We have read a lot of books over the years about buying shares and making money in general and we have to say that Robbie’s are among the best.

They are amazingly easy to understand and very clearly written. So much of the jargon of share dealing is demystified and things explained in plain English. There is a lot people not just in the financial sector but anyone writing a how-to guide or self-help book could learn.

The other thing that is so good about the Naked Trader is that it gives you a step-by-step guide to picking shares that is very specific. So many books like this talk in theory and generalities which sounds good but then you think “what am I actually meant to do to implement the ideas?” 

You won’t have that here – everything is set out for you so will know exactly what to do.

 

So there you have it, hopefully that has given you a bit of a sense of how best to follow the Naked Trader and what to expect if you do. Ultimately it is not a get-rich-quick-scheme but rather a useful guide to buying and selling shares and that is what you should take it for.

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Naked Trader – Results Update

10th October 2016

There has been a reasonable amount of activity from the Naked Trader (aka Robbie Burns) since our last update at the end of August.

From following his trades, of those that are closed, we are currently 4.5% in profit, versus Robbie’s profit of 93.7%.

You can view full results here.

So a huge difference there and it underlines the difficulty of making any money from following his trades. 

Of those trades that are still open, we are generally also buying at much higher prices than Robbie, so it looks like this is not really an avenue to profit.

Of our own trades, MXCP has fallen slightly to 2.92 and Opti has stayed steady at 70.45, whilst Purplebricks has risen to 134.50. 

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Naked Trader – Results Update

29th August 2016

Not much to report for the Naked Trader, as Robbie is on holiday until 8th September so new trades or closed trades from him since our last update.

In terms of my own trades following the advice in Robbie’s books, both are going well.

MXCP, which I bought at 2.9p is now up to 3.19p at the time of writing and Purplebricks, which I shorted at 145p, is now trading at 129.2p.

I have also invested in Optibiotix Health (OPTI) at 71p.

This is a very interesting little biotech company that works in the field of the microbiome.

If you don’t know what the microbiome is, don’t worry, neither did I. It is basically all the billions of microbes that live in your gut and around your body. 

It is a relatively new area of science but they are discovering that by tinkering with these microbes they can have a huge impact on human health. It’s kind of like those yoghurts with “good bacteria” in them, except with much more potential.

Anyway, OPTI are making great strides in this field and have over 40 patents already secured. They are focusing on the foods markets for things like cholestorel, weight loss and diabetes, which are much quicker to market than going down the drug trials route, which can take 10-15 years. 

They already have deals signed with some big multinational players and have a number of other deals pending.

If any of their patented strains really hit the mark then this could be huge, but even if they don’t they should be generating steady revenues soon and there is room for solid growth. One to tuck away in a draw for a while and see how big it can become. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Naked Trader – Results Update

2nd August 2016

At the time of our last update on the Naked Trader, we said we would be focusing more on the overall package offered rather than just following the trades blindly.

So we are going to take a look at a couple of things in this update – firstly our own share trades based on the advice in Robbie’s books.

Secondly, we have recently purchased and read his book “Trade like a Shark,” so will give our initial thoughts on that.

 

Robbie’s Trades

But before that, a quick word on how Robbie’s own trades have been going.

Well to be honest, the main takeaway we have so far is that it seems fairly pointless, in that by the time they are posted on his website or in his fortnightly e-mail, the prices have changed completely.

You can view full results here.

This is akin to the popular tipsters like Pricewise and Hugh Taylor, who once they have given out a selection, the price crashes and all the value is gone.

Well here we have a situation where pretty much all the shares Robbie has bought have gone up considerably in price by the time you hear about them.

So not ideal by any means.

 

Own Share Trades

Right, moving on to our own share trades, we have made two so far.

MXC Capital (MXCP)

First up I have bought into a company called MXC Capital. They are a merchant bank that specialises in the technology and IT sector. 

They have a great business model, in that they basically advise companies in the tech sector on takeovers and mergers etc. In doing this, they advise on and execute the transaction, secure the funding and then add the operational management experience to drive the strategy of a particular company.

So they get big fat fees for advising on the transaction, get shares in said company at a considerable discount, then use their expertise to drive it forward and make the shares that they hold worth more! Clever stuff.

So far they have done this with spectacular success, with all seven investments they have made growing considerably. Their investments of £31m are now worth £73m in a short space of time. 

Plus they posted £12m in post-tax profits this year from what they have been making on the deals. 

They have a policy of returning some of the returns to shareholders, which was done this year by way of a share buy-back, thus increasing the attractiveness of the holding. 

I really can’t understand how they are only valued at a market cap of just over £100m with investments worth £73m plus posting £12m a year in profits.

So MXCP seems to fulfill all of Robbie’s criteria set out in the Naked Trader – all of its statement are very positive and produce plentiful green under his traffic light system. Its profits are well over 10x its market cap, it is a good size company (over £100m) and has a clear, effective business model with experienced and skilled management.

So I bought in at 2.9p and expect to hold this for a good time if it grows as anticipated. I have put in a stop loss at 15% below my buy price.

 

Purplebricks (PURP)

At the other end of the spectrum in terms of value is the online estate agent Purplebricks. 

This is a classic example to me of a company that is overhyped and is valued almost entirely on PR rather than actual numbers.

If you break it down, they are valued at over £350m and yet they only generated £18.6m in revenue and made a £10.5m loss last year. 

They have a target of 3,500 new instructions pcm to maintain their own growth forecasts, but at the moment are barely managing 2,800. 

They have the difficulties of a slowing housing market following Brexit and a rapidly decreasing number of sales, plus new rivals to contend with like Yopa. 

In their results a lot of this is glossed over by mention of “£2.8 billion of house sales,” which is actually irrelevant when you consider they charge a fixed fee and that any company involved in housing can make figures look good by quoting aggregate house price sales in today’s market.

So on the basis of all this, I think they are one of the most overvalued companies in the history of the market and have put in a big SHORT of them on the spreads at 145p.

 

Trade Like a Shark

Finally, as I mentioned, Robbie has released a new book called Trade Like a Shark which we will be reviewing separately, but a quick heads up that it is very good guide to trading psychology and could be applied to all forms of investing, not just share trading. 

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Naked Trader – New Review

24th June 2016

We just wanted to do a quick update on our review of the Naked Trader (aka Robbie Burns).

It is not that we have any results yet, but rather than we received an e-mail from Robbie pointing out the dangers of copying his trades.

We did mention this when kicking off the review below, but did want to stress again that Robbie does not advised copying his trades. 

Robbie has emphasised that those “copying” him would be buying a share blindly that might already have risen a lot and he might be considering selling.  

If you “copied” a trade there is a danger that there could be a profits warning. Robbie would be out
and take his loss. However someone who “copied” may not know. A share he bought
recently issued a surprise profits warning. He got out fast but still lost £1,000. Anyone still
holding it a day later would have lost more than half their money. 

To be honest, we would have to agree with Robbie’s sentiments and strongly advise against copying his trades. 

Notwithstanding the advice that we always give about only risking what you can afford to lose, being responsible for your own positions and never following a system until we have at the very least completed our own three month trial and given a clear recommendation, we can see the downsides of trading on a “delayed” basis as you would be here.

We will be paper trading the shares for the review – as much for an academic exercise but also to see how the advice on Robbie’s books and e-mails translates into actual trades and what we can learn from them.

We will also be seeing if we can choose our own shares based on what we have learned and whether we can make a profit ourselves.

So please don’t risk any of your earned cash on copying the trades – keep it in your pocket, or if you do want to spend something, buy one of Robbie’s books and get a good introduction to buying and selling shares. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Naked Trader – New Review

2nd June 2016

When I started out investing in the stockmarket I began by reading Robbie Burns’ book the Naked Trader, which is an excellent guide for those new to buying shares.

It is one of those how-to guides that really takes you through the process step and step and tells you how to make money from shares.

Robbie himself claims to have made over £1 million from trading shares, which is a sizeable sum indeed.

So after reading his book and seeing how successful he had been, I took to the internet to see if there was more I could find out about him.

And so I came across the Naked Trader website, on which Robbie helpfully records all his trades.

At the time of writing, Robbie is over £1,256,000 in profit from all his share trades, plus his spread bets and Big Brother bets.

The thought occurred to me – and I accept I am certainly not the first person who has thought this – what if I just copied all Robbie’s trades?

Could I, too, become a millionaire? 

How nice it would be, just wake up, check the stocks, then off to play golf and spend the afternoon down the pub.

Well sadly as seems to always be the case with these things, it was not quite as easy as it at first appeared. 

Robbie only updates the trades every couple of weeks, so often the price of a stock will have changed quite a bit between when Robbie bought or sold it and when it is posted on the website.

But just how much does it change? Can you still make a nice profit?

Having looked at the history on the site, there are some shares that Robbie holds for many months or even years that double or treble in price, so you should not be losing out much by missing a couple of ticks here or there.

However, to be sure about how much money you could actually make following Robbie’s trades, I thought the only fair way would be to run a live trial.

So here is what I will do – I will sign up to Robbie’s e-mails and then buy the exact same shares Robbie does as soon as I receive the emails. 

Then I will record the results here on the website and see how much money I make.

We will probably need to run the trial for longer than the normal three months, so six months is probably more reasonable to get an accurate picture of what kind of money you can make.

Now just to say that Robbie doesn’t actually advise following his trades – but then who is he to stop us!

Anyway, it should be a fun trial and it will be interesting to see if we can learn anything from a master. Robbie is primarily a fundamentals man and looks at a company’s performance and likely direction rather than studying charts and using complex software. 

In fact his approach is refreshingly simple and is quite unusual in this day and age when everyone seems to want to make everything more and more complicated.

Let’s see how Mr Burns does under the spotlight and hopefully he can make us a few bob.

In the meantime you can check out the Naked Trader website here.

 

Goal Hunter

Goal Hunter – Final Review

We have reached the end of our trial of Goal Hunter and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +£27
Strike Rate:  65%
Bank Growth:  11%
ROI:  3%
Average number of bets:  n/a
Cost:  £77
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here. 

 

Goal Hunter – Full Review

 

Goal Hunter is a football trading strategy for the over/under markets on Betfair. It comes from the Football Advisor team, who have other services which have previously passed trials here at Honest Betting Reviews. 

The Goal Hunter strategy comes in the form of a PDF guide which is 31 pages in length. The PDF sets out the statistics behind the trading strategy, how to select matches to trade and then goes onto explain how to trade the strategy during football matches. 

There are a few mistakes in the guide, not least the calculation that odds of 1.5 imply a 50% win probability (in fact odds of 1.5 imply a 66.7% win probability). 

However, these small errors should not distract from the overall guide, which is clear and logical and sets out a step-by-step process to follow when trading the over/under markets and the reasoning behind the strategy. 

If you don’t want to go through the process of selecting which matches to trade based on the criteria set out in the guide, then you can receive the Daily Trade Sheets at an extra cost (£37 at the time of writing). 

For the purpose of our trial, we utilised the Daily Trade Sheets and only traded those games that had a positive value (indicated in green on the spreadsheets). 

So how did the strategy do and what did we think of it?

Well, the first thing to stress is that everyone will have different results depending on which games they trade and how they trade them. Within the overall strategy there are slightly different options you can choose to follow depending on how a game is unfolding.

For our part we made a profit of £27 in the end after 100 matches traded, using a total risk of £8 per match (we started off with a £10 risk but reduced that to £8 after realising the final £2 probably wasn’t worth risking if a trade was going totally against you). 

That isn’t bad and a profit is a profit as they say, so is not to be sniffed at. The profit graph for the trial was pretty good too:

The guide is also clear and sets out how to react in different scenarios, which is good to see. Quite often trading guides only tell you what to do when the trade goes for you, not what to do when it goes against you, which is something that tends to annoy us. 

We would advise taking up the option of the Daily Trade Sheets if you are going to join the service as they save a lot of time and provide some useful info on value. 

However, whilst these aspects of Goal Hunter were positive, we feel like £27 was quite a small amount to have made from trading 100 matches and the ROI of around 3% didn’t seem quite high enough for the time and effort put in.

We agonised quite a bit over whether to award this a passed rating or not, but ultimately we feel like there are more sophisticated trading strategies out there for the football markets (notably the Football Trading Webinars we reviewed previously) and the trading strategy outlined here would be nothing new to experienced traders. 

So we have decided in the end to award Goal Hunter a NEUTRAL rating. Ultimately it did OK and made a profit so we can’t complain from that point of view. If you are new to trading then this could be a good introduction and get you used to trading a simple strategy.

For more experienced traders however we think you will be probably be looking for something more advanced. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  You can either trade games live, which is probably preferable in order to maximise profits, or “set and forget.” If you trade live then it is obviously quite a time commitment to follow the matches, but the strategy is very straightforward to understand. If you take up the Trade Sheets, they are normally sent out at around 7am UK time.

Availability of prices: Not applicable in this case as you are trading on Betfair. 

Strike rate: The win rate for the trial was 65%, which is pretty good. 

Advised Betting Bank: We used a £250 bank based on £8 risked per matched which seemed a very safe level for us. 

Subscription costs: The costs are a one-off fee of £77 for the Goal Hunter PDF and then £37 for the Daily Trade Sheets.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Goal Hunter is a football trading strategy for the over/under markets on Betfair. It is a PDF guide with an optional extra of trade sheets indicating which matches are best to trade for the day.

After trading 100 matches we made a profit of £27 to an £8 risk level per match, which isn’t bad.

However, for the time put in we didn’t feel it was quite enough profit to award this a passed rating and the strategy itself is probably something experienced traders are already familiar with. 

So it’s a NEUTRAL rating from us on this occasion for this trading strategy. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Goal Hunter – Results Update

20th June 2019

It’s been a slow start to our trial of Goal Hunter, a trading strategy for the over/under markets in football matches. 

We are using the Daily Trade Sheets which are an optional extra with the service and give you the best games to trade in for the day, with the expected value for each game. 

So far after trading 45 matches we are 11 points down.

You can view full results here. 

It is important to stress that these are just our own results and everyone will have different results depending on which games they trade and how exactly they trade them. 

The problem for us however has been that 0-0s hit you very hard and we have had too many of them so far – five to be exact. 

Ideally we would like to get up to 100 matches traded before finishing the review, although at this time of the year there aren’t too many matches to trade so we will see how things go. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Goal Hunter – New Review

19th May 2019

We have been pleased to see a number of new sports trading products coming to the market recently as we are seeing an evolution in how people bet. 

The fact is that these days there is so much knowledge and info out there about a sporting event before it starts, the odds are very rarely wrong pre-event. Hence you are seeing fewer and fewer tipsters passing reviews here at Honest Betting Reviews – and even fewer maintaining their results in the long run.

But in-running all kinds of crazy things happen and people don’t know how to react – prices move all over the shop. You particularly see this in golf and NFL but also sometimes football, cricket and tennis. Plus of course it is much easier to predict how a price will move than who will actually win an event.

As professional bettors have come to realise this, so they have shifted to trading in-running or in some cases trading prices before the off. 

We see this as a definite trend in the world of gambling and only expect it to continue as more sophisticated bots and software are developed. Those investors able to find an edge in the in-play markets will make a killing whilst the rest are left behind in the dust. 

So today we have another promising new trading product to look at and this one is called Goal Hunter and comes from Jon Roberts and the Football Advisor team. 

Goal Hunter is part of their new trading platform – Betting Prophet – and shares their Number One Football Trading strategy and how they apply it almost every day.

The idea is to show you clearly and easily how to start making real trading profits. Everything is apparently covered in detail, laid out in an easy to follow format.

After joining up and following the guide you should be able to accurately predict the price movements in the goal markets and understand how the markets work, what influences the price movements and how to predict the price change at any moment.

They promise to show you how and where to find the best and most optimal trading opportunities.

You can also get access to their daily “trading sheets” – which are the lists of matches, prices and trading opportunities for the next 24 hours.

This all sounds great and if it works as well as described it will be a hugely valuable tool, but as ever we will remain skeptical until we have seen it in action and tested it for ourselves.

So we will run a trial of this detailing our thoughts on the strategy as well as recording our results from trading the system. So please watch out here for regular updates on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Goal Hunter for yourself here.

 

 

 

 

 

Horse racing

LMR Racing – Final Review

We have reached the end of our six-month trial of LMR Racing and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +15 points
Strike Rate:  27%
Bank Growth:  15%
ROI:  9%
Average number of bets:  One per day
Cost:  £9.99 for 1st month then £19.95/month
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

LMR Racing – Full Review

 

LMR Racing is a horse racing tipster service that started out under the Betinfo24 banner but then moved over to Tipster Street during the course of our review. 

At the outset of our trial they had one of the most impressive records we had ever seen, with over 400 points profit made in 18 months at an ROI of over 40%.

As so often proves the case however, those kinds of results were not repeated under the spotlight of a live trial and in the end they finished just 15 points up after an extended six month review period.

A profit is still a profit and so it should not be sniffed at, but given the kind of results published prior to our review, we had rather been hoping for something more. 

Once subscription costs are taken into account you would have pretty much broken even betting at £10 per point and with bank growth of only 15% in six months, we feel like a NEUTRAL rating is probably the fairest judgement here. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Good – tips are normally sent out the morning of racing at around 9am UK time. With an average of just 1 bet per day there isn’t much work involved in following the service however. 

Availability of prices: We didn’t see any issue with obtaining the advised prices and there wasn’t a great deal of difference between the results at advised prices and Betfair SP.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 27%, which is pretty decent and there were no significant drawdowns during the trial. 

Advised Betting Bank: As 100 point bank was recommended for following the service which we think is more than reasonable given the staking and strike rate. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are pretty reasonable at £9.99 for the first 30 days then £19.95/month. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Finishing with a profit is always welcome and LMR Racing finished our six month trial with a profit of 15 points, which is pretty decent. 

However, taking into account subscription costs and the length of time of the trial, it wasn’t quite enough to warrant a recommended rating at the moment. 

It’s a service we’ll keep an eye on though to see if they can find the kind of form shown prior to our trial. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – Results Update

22nd April 2019

A small improvement for LMR Racing since our last update at the end of March, with 6 points profit made in the intervening time at advised prices.

That means they are now 7 points up for our trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they are now also in profit, with 12 points made since our last update and 9 points profit made overall. 

Hopefully the recent improvement is a sign of things to come and they can build on that success. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – Results Update

30th March 2019

Still not much movement for LMR Racing recently, with a small loss of 2 points at advised prices since our last update early in March. 

That means they are now just 1 point up at advised prices for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here. 

Not much change at Betfair SP either, with a loss of just 1 point since our last update and 9 points lost for our trial overall. 

We are waiting for this service to catch fire, has just been treading water for the majority of our trial to date. Let’s see if that has happened by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – Results Update

5th March 2019

Not much change for LMR Racing recently, with a profit of just one point at advised prices since our last update in mid-February.

That means they are now 3 points up for our trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP things have been going slightly the other way, with 3 points lost since our last update and 8 points lost for our trial overall. 

The good news is they say their plans are now finalised for the upcoming turf Flat Season which begins at the end of the month..March, April and May are normally good months for them and with strong info lined up before then they believe there are exciting times ahead. Let’s hope so!

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – Results Update

16th February 2019

A quiet time lately for LMR Racing both in terms of the number of advised bets and the results. Since our last update they have lost 6 points at advised prices.

That means they are now just 2 points up for our trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP they have also lost 6 points since our last update but are now 5 points down for our trial overall. 

With the break for the Equine Flu outbreak understandably there hasn’t been much betting action lately but things should be ramping up over the next few weeks. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – Results Update

25th January 2019

A bit of backtracking for LMR Racing since our last update a month ago, with 10 points lost at advised prices in that time.

They are still ahead for our trial overall however, with 8 points profit made at advised prices.

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP they have lost 8 points since our last update and are 1 point up overall.

Hopefully with the new home at Tipster Street they will settle down now and start to produce the goods. 

We will back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – Results Update

19th December 2018

It’s been a good run for LMR Racing since our last update, with a profit of 18 points made over the last month at advised prices. 

That means they are now 16 points up for our trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here. 

The results at Betfair SP have also been good but not quite as much profit as at advised prices, with 13 points made since our last update and 9 points overall.

Just a note to say the service has moved home from BetInfo24 over to Tipster Street, who are currently offering the first month of membership for just £9.99 – you can get the deal here. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – Results Update

15th November 2018

It’s been a quiet start to our trial of LMR Racing, both in terms of the results and number of bets.

In terms of results, so far after one month they are 2 points down to advised prices.

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP it is a similar picture, with 4 points lost to date. 

As we say, it has also been a quiet start in the number of bets, with just 22 bets so far so this is quite careful in its selection process.

Anyway, let’s hope we have more significant news to report by the time of the next update.

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

LMR Racing – New Review

22nd October 2018

Today we are taking a look at a new tipster from the BetInfo24 stable called LMR Racing

We recently commenced a trial of another horse racing service, Racing Exchange, and remarked that the results looked almost too good to be true. 

Well we could say the same here, in that the results really do like quite amazing. 

With over 440 points profit since January 2017 at an incredible ROI of over 40%, these are some of the best results we have seen for some time.  

That would be over £44,000 profit to £100 stakes or £11,000 to £25 stakes in less than two years of betting. 

Much as with Racing Exchange though, we feel that these whilst results are pretty awesome, they are just about the right side of being possible and therefore we are willing to give this one a trial. 

There are around 30-40 bets per month and the strike rate has been 37% so far, which is pretty decent. 

There isn’t much info about the selection process or who the people behind LMR Racing are, but fair enough if they want to keep themselves and their method private. 

Anyway, we will kick off our review and will aim to run our standard three month trial for this one. We have been receiving selections since 19th October so will record results from then.

You can check out LMR Racing here. 

 

 

 

 

Etoro homepage

Etoro Trade Copier – Final Review

It is now nearly 18 months since we started our review of the Etoro Trade Copier so we thought about time we wrapped up our review.

Just a reminder that this is a stock and crypto service where you can follow other people’s trades automatically. It saves a lot of time because you don’t have to do anything yourself other than choose who you want to follow and for how much. 

After following eight people for an extended period of time, we made a small profit of $276 from $8,000 invested. 

Whilst that wasn’t too bad, to be honest we would have done better just following an index fund of the stock market as a whole. For example the S&P 500 has gone up around 10% over the course of our review and so if we had taken the $8,000 and invested it in an S&P 500 index tracker we would have done considerably better than following the traders we did on Etoro.

It seems like the traders do well when the market is going up and badly when it is going down, but we aren’t sure if any of them have developed strategies to make a profit regardless of the overall market conditions, or “alpha,” which is the returns someone generates over and above the market average.

We also weren’t entirely sure about the Etoro platform setup. Whilst it looks very nice, it is difficult to view a trader’s full trading history if you want to copy them, which is kind of essential in our view.

In summary then we award this a NEUTRAL rating – it made a small profit which is good, but really the returns were very minimal overall and we could have done significantly better investing funds elsewhere, even in entities such as index funds.

The idea of “social trading” is nice in theory but we are yet to see evidence that it is better – or even as good as – investing with dedicated financial professionals in the traditional manner. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Etoro Trade Copier – Results Update

18th July 2018

The positive momentum has continued for our Etoro Trade Copying account, with $307 profit made since our last update.

That means we are now $276 up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

Just a reminder that this is a stock and crypto service where you can follow other people’s trades automatically. It saves a lot of time because you don’t have to do anything yourself other than choose who you want to follow and for how much. 

With the improvement recently it is now working rather well and is proving a good way to make some passive income for us. 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Etoro Trade Copier – Results Update

21st May 2018

There has been a big uptick in our Etoro Trade Copying Portfolio recently, with $282 growth in our portfolio value since our last update . 

But unfortunately after the very tough month we had previously, we are still $31 down overall.

You can view full results here.

Just a reminder that this is a stock and crypto service where you can follow other people’s trades automatically. It saves a lot of time because you don’t have to do anything yourself other than choose who you want to follow and for how much. 

If it works it would be an ideal form of passive income, but at the moment as we are down overall the jury is still out on this one for the time being. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Etoro Trade Copier – Results Update

16th April 2018

It’s been a rough ride for our Etoro Trade Copying portfolio since our last update a month ago, with $428 lost in that time. 

That means we are now $313 down for the trial overall, which is a little disappointing.

You can view full results here.

To be fair it has been something of a bear market over the last month so it is perhaps not surprising that the traders we are following are all showing a loss.

However, we are concerned that they all seem to be long on their positions, with very shorts being taken. How much of their success is just down to the fact we have been in a bull market for the last few years rather than their skills as traders is unclear. A really good trader will make profit in both bull and bear markets as they have an underlying strategy that works. 

Anyway, let’s not get too disheartened, hopefully our traders will turn things around shortly. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Etoro Trade Copier – Results Update

16th March 2018

Things have finally started moving forward in our trial of the Etoro Trade Copying service after we had some initial problems getting things set up properly.

So far in the trial we are $115 up, which isn’t bad considering that you don’t have to do anything other than click “copy” on the people whose trades you want to follow.

You can view full results here.

At the moment we are following eight different people, which gives a good amount of diversification.

Hopefully now things are working properly and moving in the right direction we will continue to see those profits being built. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Etoro Trade Copier – Results Update

15th February 2018

It has still been a little quiet for my Etoro trade copying portfolio, with not a lot of action over the last couple of months.

However, what action there has been has generated positive returns, and I am now 11 points up overall.

You can view full results here.

Only two of the five traders I have been following have been active, so today I have added three more traders to my portfolio to hopefully see some more movement.

Still, despite things being quiet, it is good to be in profit considering the correction in the stock market recently.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Etoro Trade Copier – Results Update

12th January 2018

It’s been a bit of a false start to our trial of the Etoro’s Trade Copier so far unfortunately. One thing they don’t make very clear is that to follow some of the traders, you need to invest a minimum amount to be able to copy their trades.

We are following five different traders and so far after more than a month, we have only copied the trades of two of them.

It is a shame this isn’t made a little clearer and although visually it is a very nice platform and most of it is intuitive, a little more guidance from them would improve the user experience considerably.

Anyway, for what it’s worth we are 0.17 points up so far for the traders we have been able to copy.

You can view full results here.

We have upped our investment in all the traders now to $1000 each, so that should be enough to copy all of their trades.

Hopefully by the time of the next update we will have a more complete picture to give you regarding how things are going.

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Etoro Trade Copier – New Review

30th November 2017

Today we are starting a trial of something a little bit different here at Honest Betting Reviews.

As regular followers will know, we like to try out a variety of means of making some additional income and not just restrict ourselves to betting systems. We try out trading systems, forex strategies and have even gotten into cryptocurrencies lately.

So today we are going to test something new – a “social trading network”  called Etoro.

What is unique and great about Etoro is that you can copy the trades of expert traders on there with just the click of a button. Hence the “social trading” idea.

It’s a fun and interactive way to get involved in trading without needing to be an expert yourself or spend a fortune on expensive software or trading courses.

Amazingly, according to the Etoro website, a massive 78% of copied trades closed on the platform have been profitable (as at 17.08.2017). That’s a huge edge as normally you’d expect it to be around 50%.  

That’s the “wisdom of the crowds” at its finest really.

There are hundreds of traders on Etoro platform and their full records are there for you to view, so you can see:

  • – How much they have won and lost overall
  • – Their monthly profit and loss
  • – What things they like to trade
  • – Their open positions
  • – Their max drawdown
  • – How many trades they have made in total
  • – What percentage of their trades are profitable (strike rate)
  • – How many people are copying their trades

It really gives you all the information you need to decide who to follow. 

There are some very successful traders on there, people who have a very high percentage of winning months, low drawdowns and returns in excess of 80% and even 90%. 

That beats the hell out of most Wall Street hedge fund managers and any kind of index fund – and certainly massively beats bank interest rates at the moment!

Etoro is also a really nice platform visually and user-friendly too. 

The great thing about is that you don’t need to be an expert on the markets or spend hours studying charts and lines and bollinger bands and all that complicated stuff.

You can just sign up, deposit some funds, choose who you want to copy and then sit back and (hopefully) let them make you some money!

So it’s potentially a nice source of passive income.

There are also other options on the Etoro platform like you can trade yourself (and if you do well people can copy you, thus making you some additional income) and there are “copyfunds” so you can copy large investment funds like their special cryptocurrency fund or a stock market fund.

However, for this review we are going to concentrate on copying other traders as that’s the easiest one to do and is something anyone can do. 

So we are going to have a portfolio of different people we follow to balance the risk and not leave ourselves exposed if one person has an unfortunate run.

We will detail who we have chosen in our next update, so you could even copy us copying other traders if you like 🙂

Anyway, we will kick the review off now and will report back here soon on how it’s going.

In the meantime you can check out Etoro here.

 

 

 

Football

Ultimate Football Tips – Final Review

We have come to the end of our six month trial of Ultimate Football Tips and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  -23 points
Strike Rate:  44%
Bank Growth:  -31%
ROI:  -6%
Average number of bets:  1-2 per day
Cost:  £1 for first 7 days then £39/quarter or £279/year
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Ultimate Football Tips – Full Review

 

Ultimate Football Tips  is a football tipster from the reputable Betting Gods tipster platform.

It covers a range of bet types such as over/under goals, match outcome, correct score, and Asian handicap and bets come in a variety of leagues around the world – anything from the Premier League to Australia to the UAE. 

Staking is pretty sensible at between one and three points, with most bets being just one point. 

Coming into our trial results looked very promising with over 100 points profit made so we were keen to do an extended six-month trial to see how they would perform over the longer term.

Unfortunately though at the end of our review period they have finished with a loss of 23 points.

That equated to an ROI of minus 6% and a loss to the advised bank of 31%.

Whilst those figures are disappointing they are no disaster either, although it was quite an up and down trial, as you can see below:

They had actually battled back to even at one stage so a shame to see the subsequent decline but then a good rally towards the end. 

So in the end we consider that a NEUTRAL rating is the right verdict for Ultimate Football Tips. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Good – tips are sent out well in advance of matches and with an average of 1-2 bets per day there isn’t too much work involved in following the service. 

Availability of prices: Good – we found the prices were generally available and there was no real downward pressure on prices after the tips were released. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 44%, which was solid enough but just needs to be a little higher to start turning a profit at the odds tipped at. 

Advised Betting Bank: The bank advised for following the service is 75 points, which given that they were nearly 50 points down at one stage seems a little on the low side to us and we think a 100 point bank would be more appropriate. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £1 for first 7 days then £39 per quarter or £279 per year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Ultimate Football Tips had something of a quiet six month trial with us and finished with a small loss of 23 points. 

Whilst that was disappointing it was not a disaster either so we feel a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Ultimate Football Tips – Results Update

28th January 2019

It’s been a good month for Ultimate Football Tips since our last update, with a profit of 9 points made. 

Unfortunately though they are still down for our trial overall – 26 points down in fact. 

You can view full results here.

There isn’t long left in our six month trial of this service so we will be wrapping up the review in a couple of weeks. Let’s hope for a burst at the end to take them into profit for the trial overall. 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Ultimate Football Tips – Results Update

24th December 2018

More losses unfortunately for Ultimate Football Tips since our last update, with 9 points lost over the last month.

That means they are now 35 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

It’s been a bit of a struggle for this one during our trial so a turnaround in form is needed quickly – hopefully the new year will bring that. 

This is our last update before Christmas so from the whole team here at Honest Betting Reviews we wish you a very Merry Christmas and happy holidays!

 

 

 

 


Ultimate Football Tips – Results Update

24th November 2018

Unfortunately there’s been a dip again for Ultimate Football Tips, with a loss of 25 points since our last update a month ago.

That means they are now 26 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

With the international break the action has been a bit sparse but hopefully with a good month or more of interrupted league competition things can get back on track. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Ultimate Football Tips – Results Update

20th October 2018

It’s been a good comeback for Ultimate Football Tips, which has won back virtually all the losses made in the first month of our trial. 

Since our last update they have made 36 points profit, which puts them just 1 point down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

The bets come in a wide variety of leagues from around the world so a little bit of searching to find the odds at oddschecker or your bookie are required on occasion, but in reality it’s quite straightforward to follow the service. 

Anyway, good to see the recent recovery and we will report back on whether it has continued at the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Ultimate Football Tips – Results Update

20th September 2018

It’s been a tough start to our trial of Ultimate Football Tips, with 37 points lost in the first month of our trial.

You can view full results here.

This could be one of those cases of the trialist, with things going great for them until we start a trial and then it all heads south. 

However, the last four bets have all won, so let’s hope that marks the start of a turnaround and by the time of our next update we are reporting some decent profits having been made. 
—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Ultimate Football Tips – New Review

16th August 2018

The start of the football season is really kicking off with a bang in terms of promising new footy services to trial here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Not only have we recently started trials of two very interesting-looking services – Player Profits and Bank Builder – but now we have a third and it may turn out to be the best of the lot.

This one is called Ultimate Football Tips and it comes from the reputable Betting Gods tipster platform.

It covers a range of bet types such as over/under goals, match outcome, correct score, and Asian handicap, but all with a selective, professional, disciplined approach to betting.

The results so far look excellent, with over 100 points profit made since May 2018, which works out at an average of over £250 profit per month to just £10 stakes.

That has been achieved with a very high return on investment of 33% and a win rate of over 37%, which are very strong metrics for a footy tipster.

Already the bank has more than doubled after just over three months of tipping.

The workload looks very manageable too with an average of just one or two bets per day so far.

Overall then this looks like it could be a top quality football service and we are looking forward to testing it out under live trial conditions.

We started receiving tips on 9th August so we will record results from then onwards.

As usual we will update things here regularly as the trial unfolds so you can see if this one is living up its billing.

In the meantime you can check out Ultimate Football Tips here.