VIP service pic

The VIP Service – Final Review

We have completed our three month trial of the VIP Service and here are the final results:

 

Profit/Loss:  -4 points
Strike Rate:  56%
Bank Growth:  -16%
ROI:  -9%
Average number of bets:  4 per week
Cost:  £39.99/month, £99.99/quarter or £249.99/year
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

The VIP Service – Full Review

 

The VIP Service is a high strike rate horse racing service focusing on backing favourites, many of them at odds-on. 

It is an unusual approach to betting to back odds-on shots, but statistically it makes sense in that the favourite-longshot bias means you get better value backing at shorter odds and the value gets worse the higher the odds are.

Coming into our trial the performance of the VIP Service seemed to back that up, with a strong return on investment of over 25%.

However, unfortunately during our trial they weren’t able to achieve the same high strike-rate as previously, with the hit rate for our trial coming in at 56% versus 77% previously. 

That meant they finished with a loss of 4 points at advised prices at the end of our three month trial, which isn’t the end of the world but was a little disappointing not to have made a profit.

So we feel the only fair verdict here is a NEUTRAL rating, as although they finished in deficit it was only a small one in the end. 

We will keep an eye on things to see if results improve over the long term and they can back to that higher strike rate of over 75%.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  A pretty simple service to follow with a low bet volume of only a few bets per week, normally sent out late at night for the next day’s racing. 

Availability of prices: There was not much of a problem in getting the advised prices and the Betfair SP results ended up pretty similar to the advised price results, with just 2 points difference between them. 

Strike rate: As we mentioned above, the strike rate for the trial was 56%, which is below where it needed to be to generate a profit.  

Advised Betting Bank: A 10 betting bank is advised for following the service, which seemed too low to us and could be in jeopardy if they hit a losing run, so we used a 25 point bank instead.

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £39.99/month, £99.99/quarter or £249.99/year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

The VIP Service is a high strike-rate horse racing tipping service that focuses on backing favourites. 

It takes a selective approach to betting but unfortunately wasn’t able to generate a profit during our trial, finishing 4 points down in the end.

Given it wasn’t far off finishing level for the trial, we are awarding this a NEUTRAL rating and it is one to keep a watching brief on for the time being. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The VIP Service – Results Update

10th September 2018

Not much change for horse racing tipster The VIP Service since our last update, with just 3 points lost at advised prices over the last month or so.

That means they are also 3 points down for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a similar picture, with 3 points lost since our last update and 4 points lost for the trial overall.

This is a high strike-rate service that tends to tip hot favourites (often at odds-on), which is traditionally quite a tough way to make long-term profit but it can be done so we are hopeful they will get moving in the right direction over the remainder of the trial.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The VIP Service – Results Update

2nd August 2018

It’s been a quiet start to our trial of horse racing tipster The VIP Service, as we are currently level at advised prices after one month of following the tips.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it’s a very similar story, with just one point lost so far in the trial. 

This is a service that focuses on strong favourites, many of which are odds-on. That is often a tough approach to generate a profit from but they seem to have managed it well based on the results published on the website. 

At the end of the day it’s all about finding value, even that is at short odds. Let’s see whether we have some positive news to report on them having done that by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

The VIP Service – New Review

10th July 2018

Today we are going to take a look at the first in a series of tipsters from the BetInfo 24 tipster stable.

This is a new tipster platform we haven’t looked at yet, but it seems like they have some promising tipsters on their books.

At the moment there are six tipsters – all of them horse racing – with more on the way apparently.

The first one we are going to take a look at it is called The VIP Service and is a high strike-rate approach primarily backing favourites.

They have achieved a 77% strike rate so far, with an impressive return on investment of 25%.

When taking a look at the results you can see that most of the selections are odds-on, with the highest tending to be at the 15/8 level. 

So to have achieved such a high return on investment by backing primarily odds-on shots is quite an achievement. 

According to the BetInfo24 website, the service originated back in 2016 by a chap called Matt who runs the very popular TPS Ratings service. He found that his unique ratings were throwing up some very highly rated, short priced favourites that were producing an exceptional strike rate. BetInfo24 found that these VIP selections were making a good return on investment, in fact it far outweighed any bank, savings or stocks and shares accounts.

It is billed as a high staking service, with the results using £500 per bet having made over £16,000 profit to date. Although as with any service, you can use whatever stakes you please and the main thing is how main points profit they make.

And from that perspective they look to be performing very well so far.

So we are looking forward to testing this one out and have in fact been receiving selections for a week or so now so will record results from when we started receiving the tips.

Anyway, without further ado we will kick off the trial and will report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out The VIP Service for yourself here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

racing genius

Racing Genius – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Racing Genius and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  -9 points
Strike Rate:  40%
Bank Growth:  -9%
ROI:  -7%
Average number of bets:  One per day
Cost:  £14.95/month or £67/year
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Racing Genius – Full Review

 

Racing Genius is a relatively new horse racing tipster and it comes from the Pete Thomson stable, which has given other services such as Football Value Tips and Racing Wins.

Like the latter, it came into our trial with some excellent-looking results and quite a bit of fanfare.

It claimed to have made over £15,000 profit in five months and for every month so far to have been profitable.

So we were not surprisingly quite intrigued to see if those results could be maintained under the spotlight of live trial.

Well, unfortunately those results were not maintained during our live trial and in fact we finished with a 9 point loss during the three months we followed the service.

Since our trial ended a couple of weeks ago they have added around 9 points profit to take them back to even, but either way it has been somewhat of a disappointing trial.

Much as with Racing Wins, the pre-trial results promised a lot but it has failed to deliver so far.

So whilst it is a NEUTRAL rating from us, it is also a note of caution to be wary of services that show excellent results but those results haven’t been proofed any where.

It is always best to wait for the services to be proofed first and to see if the results stand up to independent scrutiny before signing up with your hard-earned cash.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  A pretty simple service to follow with just 1 or 2 bets per day and are usually sent out the morning of racing, around 9-10am UK time. 

Availability of prices: There was not much of a problem in getting the advised prices and the Betfair SP results ended up pretty similar to the advised price results, with just 2 points difference between them. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 40% (including placed horses), which is good for a horse racing service but wasn’t quite high enough to produce a profit.  

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank is advised for following the service but we used a 100 point bank, which seemed reasonable to us given the strike rate and odds tipped at and was never in jeopardy at all during our trial. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are reasonable at £14.95 per month or £67 per year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Horse racing tipster Racing Genius finished around level for the period we followed it, meriting a NEUTRAL rating for it.

Whilst that is no disgrace by any means, the pre-trial results published on the website and the fanfare around the launch raised expectations quite high and sadly it didn’t live up to those expectations.

So as ever we would just warn you to be careful about results that aren’t independently proofed before signing up to a tipster or system.  

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Genius – Results Update

6th August 2018

Horse racing tipster Racing Genius has dropped back since our last update, with 9 points lost over the last couple of weeks at advised prices.

That means they are now 3 points down for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have lost 12 points since our last update and are also 3 points down for the trial overall, so the advised prices and BSP results are level at the moment.

Just a couple of weeks left in this trial and it needs something special to get itself into the passed category by the end.  

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Genius – Results Update

19th July 2018

It’s been a bit of a fightback for Racing Genius since our last update a month ago, with 11 points profit made in that time at advised prices.

That means they are 6 points up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

Things have also been going well at Betfair SP, with 14 points profit made since our last update and 9 points profit made for the trial overall.

So this tipster has been living up to their name a little more lately. Let’s hope for more of the same going forward. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Genius – Results Update

14th June 2018

It’s been a little bit of a slow start to our trial of Racing Genius, which is 5 points down so far to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

It’s a very similar story too at Betfair SP, with 5 points also lost so far.

There are signs things may be picking up for them though with an 8/1 winner and a 9/2 winner in the last three bets. 

Hopefully that’s a sign of things to come and they can into profit and start living up to their name…

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Racing Genius – New Review

18th May 2018

We are taking a look at a new horse racing tipster that has been getting a lot of attention lately and it is called Racing Genius.

The service has been running for five months and in that time has apparently made £15,593 profit, with all five months being profitable.

The breakdown of those months is as follows:-

  • – Dec: £1,838 profit
  • – Jan: 2,898 profit
  • – Feb: 2,450 profit
  • – Mar: 3,588 profit
  • – Apr: 4,819 profit

The strike rate has ranged around the 40% – 50% mark which is very respectable and the return on investment has been at a very high 61%, which is one of the most impressive returns we have come across and would be extremely good if it could be maintained over the long term.

There are 50-60 tips per month, which seems very manageable in terms of workload and means about 2 bets per day on average.

There isn’t much given away from what we have seen in terms of the selection approach used by the person (or team) behind Racing Genius, but it is understandable if they don’t want to give away their secrets.

At the moment the service hasn’t gone live yet, but will do so on 22nd May. In the meantime you can sign up for a pre-trial of the service until it formally launches.

It will be interesting to see how this one gets on, the published results look very strong but we have seen that many times before and then the service has failed to reproduce the results under the spotlight of a live trial. 

In any event, we are looking forward to testing it out and will see how it gets on – let’s hope we see the kind of results they are talking about during our trial.

We will run a standard three month trial once things kick off on 22nd May and will report back soon after that on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Racing Genius here.

 

 

 

 

Football advisor

FA Racing Lays – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of FA Racing Lays and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  -4 points
Strike Rate:  76%
Bank Growth:  -4%
ROI:  -1%
Average number of bets:  4 per day
Cost:  £50/month, £125/quarter or £400/year
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.  (please note there are two tabs on the spreadsheet for Lays 1 and Lays 2).

 

FA Racing Lays – Full Review

 

FA Racing Lays is a service which provides daily horse racing lay bets to be placed on the exchanges such as Betfair.

It comes from the reputable Football Advisor stable and came into our trial with very impressive-looking results of having made over 200 points profit since launching in 2016.

We have come across very few successful laying services over the years and in fact there is only one that has passed a trial with us and is still in existence and that is Little Acorns. 

Making money from betting on horses to lose sounds like it should be easy – but in reality it’s actually much harder than most people think.

What seem like no-hopers actually end up wining all the time – thanks to luck, the opposition having off days and trainer tactics to set horses up for certain races.

Given that there are so few good laying services out there, we were hopeful that FA Racing Lays would break the mould and prove to be successful under a live trial.

Sadly though that hasn’t turned out to be the case here, with a loss of 4 points having been made over our three month trial.

There are two systems as part of the service, Lays 1 – which are lays between 4.0 and 8.0 on Betfair and Lays 2 – which are lays up to 10.0 on Betfair. 

Interestingly Lays 2 performed better during our trial, making 9 points profit compared to a 13 point loss for Lays 1. 

Lays 2 has been introduced more recently so perhaps is a more refined system, but it is too early to make any definitive statements on that.

Overall then with a small loss of 4 points, which represented just a 4% decline of the bank, we will award FA Racing Lays a NEUTRAL rating.

Although disappointing to have not finished with a profit, the loss was only minor and the bank is still largely intact at the end of the trial.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are an average of four bets per day, so the workload is a little higher here than with some other services. Tips are normally sent out the morning of racing with plenty of time to get the bets on. Selections only become bets if the odds are within specified ranges however, so you either need to monitor the prices just before the races or set up a bot to place the bets.

Availability of prices: All bets are to be placed with Betfair so there is no problem in terms of availability of prices.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 76%, which is a solid win rate but would need to be a little higher to generate a profit based on the results of our trial. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is advised for following the service, which seems reasonable to us given the historical performance of the service and during our trial. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are quite high at £50 per month, £125 per quarter or £400 per year and results would need to be quite a bit better to justify those prices.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Making consistent profits from laying horses is a tough task and although we had hoped that FA Racing Lays would manage to crack it, in the end they finished our trial with a loss of 4 points.

Whilst that was no disaster and only represented a very small decline in the betting bank, it means a NEUTRAL rating for the service and a watching brief for now on this one. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing Lays – Results Update

23rd July 2018

More losses unfortunately for FA Racing Lays, with another 7 points dropped since our last update about a month ago.

That means they are now 14 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

Please note on the results spreadsheet there are two tabs, which you can access at the bottom of the sheet for the two different laying systems – Lays 1 and Lays 2.

Interestingly it is now the Lays 2 which are now doing well, with 4 points of profit made and the Lays 1 which are struggling, with a loss of 18 points for our trial – which is the opposite of how they started.

Just a note that the results are all recorded at Betfair SP anyway so no need for a separate comparison of BSP results. 

Anyway, disappointing to see the recent dip in form here and let’s hope they can turn things around quickly. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing Lays – Results Update

26th June 2018

Unfortunately it has been a tough run lately for Football Advisor Lays, with 18 points lost since our last update a month ago.

That means they are now 7 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

Please note on the results spreadsheet there are two tabs, which you can access at the bottom of the sheet for the two different laying systems – Lays 1 and Lays 2.

To be fair to them, results are recorded at Betfair SP so it is possible you could beat the published results by taking early prices.

However, it seems fair to record results at BSP as everyone knows they can achieve that.

Anyway, hopefully the recent results are just a blip and they will be back to winning ways soon.

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing Lays – Results Update

23rd May 2018

It’s been a good start to our trial of FA Racing Lays from Football Advisor, which is a service that provides horse racing lays to be placed on Betfair. 

So far after three weeks of our trial they are 11 points up, which is good going.

You can view full results here.

Please note on the results spreadsheet there are two tabs, which you can access at the bottom of the sheet for the two different laying systems – Lays 1 and Lays 2.

So far Lays 1 are doing better, at 11 points up whilst Lays 2 are level for the trial to date. 

Selections can either be laid when receive tips are received or you can wait until closer to the off when there is more liquidity in the market. But minimum and maximum odds are given for laying the selections so you are looking at odds up to 10.0 (9/1) at the max for laying.

Anyway, a good start here and we are liking the look of this one so far. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing Lays – New Review

1st May 2018

Today we are taking a look at a long standing service with a very successful record that has recently relaunched its services with a new website and new suite of betting packages.

The service in question is called Football Advisor (or FA for short) and they have been providing tips since 2014.

Originally they just provided win bets for football, but over time they have added lay bets and horse racing tips as well. 

So now there are a number of different tipping services operated by Football Advisor. In summary these are:

  • – Football Advisor Prime (the original main football win bets)
  • – Football Advisor Lays (football lay bets)
  • – FA Racing (racing win bets)
  • – FA Racing Lays (racing lay bets)
  • – Acca Club (accumulator bets)

However, you can sign up to receive tips in a variety of different ways. 

  • – Full Portfolio – all the services mentioned above plus some extras
  • – Football – all the football services
  • – Racing – all the racing services
  • – Lays – all the lay services
  • – Bets – all the win bets services

Since August 2017 when the complete set of services were up and running they have made over 150 points profit with a strike rate of 49%, which is strong stuff. 

The results in April were particularly impressive, with the Full Portfolio making 67.1 units profit across all services, delivering 6.1% ROI and 17.9% ROC.

Our plan is to trial all the services under the FA umbrella, but doing that all at once would involve a pretty intense work load so we will be aiming to review one or two services at a time. A couple of them we have trialled before so it will be more a case of re-reviews rather than new reviews.

We will start off with have FA Racing Lays, a service which has made over 200 points profit since launching at the beginning of 2016. 

It has an excellent strike rate of over 85%, which means a very high proportion of successful lays. The return on investment has averaged 5%, which is pretty good for a laying service.

Selections are laid at Betfair SP (if certain odds criteria are met), so that means it should be possible to match their results.

There are somewhat of a dearth of good laying services so we are looking forward to seeing if this one can continue to deliver the kind of results it has achieved to date.

We will launch our three month trial today then and will update results here regularly so you can check on how things are progressing.

In the meantime you can check out FA Racing Lays and the other FA services here. 

 

 

 

 

Architect tips

Architect Tips – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Architect Tips and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +1 point
Strike Rate:  30%
Bank Growth:  1%
ROI:  0.2%
Average number of bets:  4 per day
Cost:  £2.99 for first 28 days then £34.99/month or £87.50/quarter
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Architect Tips – Full Review

 

The Architect is a renowned horse racing tipster from the Tipsters Empire stable and came into our trial with an impressive record of having made close to 350 points profit since starting up a couple of years ago.

The service is run by a horse racing expert called Steven Dowler and he provides detailed write-ups with all the selections which is good to see and you can tell he not only really knows his stuff but also just loves racing generally.

The trial was going very well early on as we went over 40 points up at one stage and it looked like we were heading for a big profit haul.

However, sadly things tailed off towards the end of the trial and we ended up pretty much level at advised prices, finishing just one point up in the end. You can see the progress of the trial represented in the graph below:

At Betfair SP the results were a little worse, with a loss of 21 points being made.

The strike rate was solid at 30% and the ROI was obviously level given the profit of just one point made. 

So overall then with the trial finishing level it is not surprising that we are awarding Architect Tips a NEUTRAL rating.  

To be fair to them, since our trial ended they have been on a good run, adding 18 points of profit over the last week. 

Whilst that is positive to see, it probably wouldn’t have been enough to push this into the passed category anyway in terms of the resulting ROI and bank growth, so it’s still a watching brief for us on this one for the time being to see if results can turn consistently profitable.  

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are an average of four bets per day, so the workload is a little higher here than with some other services. Tips are normally sent out the evening before racing so plenty of time to get the bets on. 

Availability of prices: The prices do tend to contract between the release time and the race, so it is advisable to get the bets on quickly. Based on our findings during the trial, we suspect that at Betfair SP you would make around half the profits of the advised prices, so that would be 175 points versus 350 points over the last two years for example.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 30% including placed horses, which is a solid hit rate for a horse racing service.  

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is advised for following the service, which seems reasonable to us given the 30% strike rate and average stake of around one point per bet. From the results history it looks like the worst drawdown the service has suffered has been around 35 points, so a 100 point bank would have been comfortable to cover those losses.

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are fairly reasonable at £2.99 for the first 28 days then £34.99 per month, £87.50 per quarter, £157.50 for six months or £279.99 per year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

You can tell from reading the write-ups that accompany his tips that The Architect is a serious gambler and not just a hobbyist chancing his arm at tipping. He clearly knows his stuff and studies the races in great detail.

Although that approach appears to have worked well over the long run, unfortunately the service hit a bit of a quiet run during our three month trial and finished pretty much level in the end, making just one point of profit.

Unsurprisingly then it’s a NEUTRAL rating from us and a watching brief for now to see how things progress going forward to see if he can recapture his pre-trial form. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Architect Tips – Results Update

10th July 2018

Horse racing tipster Architect Tips has made a small loss since our last update, dropping 10 points at advised prices over the last three weeks.

But the good news is that they are still ahead for the trial overall, 20 points up at advised prices to be precise.

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP there hasn’t been much change, with just 1 point lost since our last update, meaning they are level for the trial overall at BSP.

Not long to go in this trial now with just a couple of weeks left, so let’s hope for a big finish from Architect Tips.

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Architect Tips – Results Update

20th June 2018

It’s been a good time for Architect Tips since our last update a month ago, with 25 points profit made in that time at advised prices.

That takes them to 30 points profit for the trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here. 

The story is a little different at Betfair SP, with just 2 points profit made since our last update and 1 point profit made for the trial overall.

So it is questionable whether the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP based on our results so far, but at advised prices things have been going very well.

We will keep an eye on how the BSP results compare over the remainder of the trial to see if that gap is maintained. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Architect Tips – Results Update

17th May 2018

It’s been a positive start to our trial of horse racing tipster Architect Tips from the Tipsters Empire, with 5 points profit made so far at advised prices. 

You can view full results here. 

At Betfair SP, things haven’t been quite as good, with 1 point lost so far. 

This is quite a high volume service, with nearly 100 bets already after just three weeks, so quite a bit of betting action each day to get stuck into. 

Anyway, so far this is looking promising so let’s see how the trial progresses over the next couple of months.

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Architect Tips – New Review

27th April 2018

It’s been a while since we reviewed any tipsters from the Tipsters Empire stable of tipsters so today we are pleased to be able to start a new trial of one of their leading services, The Architect.

This is a horse racing tipster and they have been very consistent since starting up in March 2016, so just over two years ago.

In that time they have made an impressive 345 points profit, which equates to £3,450 at £10 per point stakes or £17,280 profit to £50 stakes.

On an average monthly basis, that also works out at over £140 profit per month to just £10 stakes, so we are talking about the real deal here.

Those results have been achieved with a very healthy strike rate of 33% and a solid return on investment of 11%, very respectable figures in the tipping business.

The service is provided by a chap called Steven Dowler, who has apparently had a passion for the horses since the age of just 11. He says he puts in many hours work, studying each horse with great depth, watching races back to deliver the best profitable tips around, which also includes a review on how each selection has run and fully packed write-ups on how each tip is expected to perform.

He covers both flat and national hunt racing and odds can be anything from odds-on to 40/1. Steven has managed to land some fantastic multiple bets, including a brilliant 150/1 treble back in August 2016 and a 303/1 four timer, including horses at 5/2, 6/5, 13/8 and 14/1.

The costs are £2.99 for a 28 day trial (new customers only) then £34.99/month, £87.50/quarter or £279.99/year. 

So all in all this looks like a very solid service, but as ever let’s see how it gets on under the spotlight of live trial.

Without further ado then we will kick off the trial today and will report back soon on how results are coming along.

In the meantime you can check out the Architect’s Tips at Tipsters Empire here. 

 

 

 

 

fantastic 8s pic

Fantastic Eights – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Fantastic Eights and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +13 points
Strike Rate:  19%
Bank Growth:  4%
ROI:  2%
Average number of bets:  2 per day
Cost:  £44+VAT per month or £88+VAT per quarter 
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Fantastic Eights – Full Review

 

Fantastic Eights is a horse racing betting service from the Betfan stable of tipsters and they have an excellent long-term record, having amassed over 3,000 points profit since starting tipping in 2015.

The name “Fantastic Eights” refers to the fact that they concentrate on handicap races with eight runners or less – focusing ideally on races with five or six runners.

So how did they get on during our live trial?

Well it was a bit of an up-and-down ride for them over the course of the three month trial, as they went nearly 150 points up at one point but finishing just 13 points up in the end.

You can see the rolercoaster nature of the trial in the graph below:

It is worth noting that all staking is to 5 point bets, so to 1 point level stakes they would have made the equivalent of just under 3 points profit.

And with that staking it also meant the return on investment (ROI) was just 2% and bank growth just 4%.

The other thing to note is that the Betfair SP results were considerably worse than those at advised prices, with a loss of 130 points having been made during the trial, so it doesn’t look like the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP. 

So overall the performance wasn’t quite good enough to warrant a passed rating and it is a NEUTRAL rating in the end for Fantastic Eights from us.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  There are an average of 2 bets per day so a fairly low workload involved in following the service. However, bets are often sent out at different times so you have to keep an eye out for that.

Availability of prices: The prices do tend to get affected quite a bit after being sent out and as noted above, the BSP results for our trial were not profitable. So in effect you will need access to multiple bookie accounts and act quickly after tips are sent out to make the most of the service. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 19%, which is reasonable but does require a degree of patience as there were some medium-length losing streaks during the trial. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 300 point bank is advised for following the service, which with 5 point stakes per bet is the equivalent of a 60 point bank to 1 point level stakes. That seems fair enough to us, but you may want to use a 500 point bank to be on the safe side. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £44+VAT per month or £88+VAT per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Fantastic Eights is a horse racing service with an excellent long-term record but unfortunately didn’t achieve great results during our trial, ending with just 13 points profit.

However, with such a good long-term record it may have just been a blip so we will keep an eye on things to see if they can get back to their impressive previous form. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Fantastic Eights – Results Update

12th May 2018

Horse racing tipster Fantastic Eights has been on excellent form lately, with 124 points profit made at advised prices since our last update.

That means they are now 125 points up for the trial overall at advised prices. All bets are to 5 points stakes, so it is the equivalent of being 25 points up at 1 point level stakes.

You can view full results here.

As we have said before, it doesn’t appear that the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP, but at least they are now in profit at BSP, with 97 points profit made since our last update and 12 points profit made overall. 

Good to see the comeback here, will be interesting to see if it continues.

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Fantastic Eights – Results Update

26th April 2018

There’s been something of a correction for horse racing service Fantastic Eights recently, with 54 points lost at advised prices since our last update.

That means they are now just 1 point up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it’s as we suspected last time – there is a big difference with advised prices and we aren’t sure the service will be practical to follow at BSP. Since our last update they have lost 91 points and are now 85 points down for the trial overall at Betfair SP.

We have also been keeping an eye on the availability of prices and there does tend to be a lot of pressure on prices, so you have really have to get your bets on quickly after tips are sent out. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Fantastic Eights – Results Update

5th April 2018

It’s been a good start to our trial of horse racing tipster Fantastic 8s, with 55 points profit made at advised prices after one month. 

You can view full results here.

There is already a big difference opening up between the results at advised prices and Betfair SP however, with the latter just 6 points up so far, so it will be interesting to see if that gap is maintained during the remainder of the trial. 

Staking here is 5 points per bet, so the results at advised prices are the equivalent of 11 points up to 1 point level stakes, which is worth bearing in mind when looking at the results.

Anyway, a positive start to our trial and let’s see if that continues. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Fantastic Eights – New Review

6th March 2018

Today we are starting a trial of a horse racing tipster with an outstanding long-term record who has carved out a special niche for themselves in the horse racing markets.

The niche they focus on is small fields in handicap races. By concentrating on races with an average of 5-6 runners, they have found the ability to identify value horses and achieve a strike rate of around 20%.

The service in question is called Fantastic Eights and it comes from the Betfan stable of tipsters. 

The “Eights” in the title refers to focusing on races with 8 runners or less.

It is a service we have been meaning to review for a while and are pleased to now have a chance to do that.

As we say, it has an excellent long-term record, having made very close to 3,400 points profit since starting up three years ago.

The staking is generally to 5 points, so that’s the equivalent of 680 points profit to one point level stakes, which is still mighty impressive. 

That has been made with a return on investment of 20%, which is a very good level to have maintained over the course of three years. The strike rate is pretty decent at 18%

What we like most of all about this service though is the consistency, with a very smooth profit graph that has gone steadily upwards over the last three years, as you can see below:

Of course, as we are always keen to point out, past results are no guarantee of future success, so we will wait to see how this one gets on during a live trial.

But certainly all the signs are encouraging and this is a service that has established itself with a strong reputation over a long period of time. 

We will run our standard three month trial and will report back here regularly on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Fantastic Eights here. 

 

 

 

 

The Racing Tipster pic

The Racing Tipster – Final Review

We have come to the end of our three month trial of The Racing Tipster and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   +8 points 
Strike Rate:  26%
Bank Growth:    8%
ROI:  7%
Average number of bets:   1 per day
Cost:  £50/month, £135/quarter or £480/year 
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

The Racing Tipster – Full Review

 

What name could be more appropriate for the provider of tips on the gee-gees than The Racing Tipster

That is the title of the latest service we have just finished trialling here at Honest Betting Reviews, having proofed their tips for the last three months. 

It is run by a chap called Joel Ellis who has many years of knowledge and also form studying that has enabled him to devise this horse racing system. Coming into our trial, the results looked very impressive with over 300 points profit made to 1-point level stakes in just over a year of tipping.

The service is very straightforward to follow, with an average of just one bet per day, normally provided in the morning. Unusually, prices are given based on the current price at Betfair rather than the bookies’ best price.

So on to the important bit – what were the results like during our trial? Well, they ended up 8 points up at advised prices. That equated to a return on investment of 7% and was achieved with a strike rate of 26%

As you can see from the graph below, it was quite a topsy-turvy trial. 

At Betfair SP, a profit of 5 points was made during the trial. 

Whilst a profit was made during the trial, the bank only grew by 8% which wasn’t quite enough to warrant a passed rating for the Racing Tipster as we normally look for bank growth of 20-25% or more to award a passed rating, . 

So for the time being it’s a NEUTRAL rating from us and a watching brief for now. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  As we say, the workload is very low here with just one bet per day on average, with tips normally sent out in the morning. 

Availability of prices: Interestingly tips were sent out with the current Betfair price, rather than best bookies’ prices. We found that sometimes where the price was low (3.0 or below), it was tough to match the quoted price, but where prices were higher, we would often beat the advised prices. Ultimately the two things pretty much balanced each other out and that was backed up by the Betfair SP coming out very similar to the advised prices, with just a 3 point difference over the trial.

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 26%, which is somewhat below the long-term average of 37% and may explain why the results during the trial didn’t quite match up to the longer-term ones. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is advised when following the service and that seems very sensible to us based on the 1-point level staking and strike rate. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are a little on the high side based on comparative services, at £50 per month, £135 per quarter or £480 per year. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

The Racing Tipster came into our trial boasting strong results of over 300 points profit in just over a year of tipping.

Unfortunately the results during our trial didn’t quite match those dizzy heights, but they did still manage to generate of profit of 8 points at advised prices.

Whilst it is good to see a profit was made, with the bank only growing by 8% during our trial that wasn’t quite enough to warrant a passed rating as we normally look for bank growth of 20-25% or more to award a passed rating,

So it is a NEUTRAL rating for The Racing Tipster and it’s a watching brief for the time being on this one for us.  

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Racing Tipster – Results Update

10th May 2018

Not much change for The Racing Tipster since our last update a few weeks ago, with 4 points lost in that time at advised prices. 

That puts them 9 points up for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

A similar story at Betfair SP as well with 5 points lost since our last update, putting them 8 points up overall.

Not long left in the trial, let’s hope for some big results to finish things off. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Racing Tipster – Results Update

19th April 2018

The Racing Tipster has been on decent form since our last update, racking up a nice 10 points profit in that time at advised prices. 

That means they are now 13 points up at advised prices for the trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

Last time we noted the slightly unusual position of the Betfair SP results being better than the advised prices. Well that gap has been closed now, with the BSP results making just 2 points profit since our last update, putting them on 13 points profit overall as well.  

Good to see this one moving along nicely though, let’s hope for more of the same by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Racing Tipster – Results Update

28th March 2018

There’s been an unusual divergence for The Racing Tipster since our last update, with the Betfair SP results actually outpacing the advised price results.

At advised prices, there has been a 1 point loss since our last update, resulting in a net position of being 3 points up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP however there has actually been a 5 point gain since our last update, putting them 11 points up for the trial overall. 

That is down in large part to Big Country winning at Wolverhampton, which made 10 points profit at BSP but only 5 points profit at advised prices.

Anyway, it will be interesting to see if the current trend of the Betfair SP beating the advised prices continues. 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Racing Tipster – Results Update

3rd March 2018

It’s been a good start to our trial of The Racing Tipster. After a couple of weeks, they are 4 points up at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they are actually doing a little better, with 6 points profit made so far in the trial.

This is just the kind of service we like – just one or two bets per day, all to 1 point stakes and plenty of time to get the bets on.

Let’s hope the strong start continues.

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

The Racing Tipster – New Review

15th February 2018

Today we are starting a new trial of a horse racing tipster with the very apt name of just  “The Racing Tipster.”

The Racing Tipster is apparently a tipster organisation run by a chap called Joel Ellis who has many years of knowledge and also form studying that has enabled him to devise this horse racing system.

It delivers an average of one to two horse racing tips on a daily basis in the win market in Betfair. The service can also be used with other leading bookmakers as well.

The results published on the website look very impressive and it has one of the strongest profit graphs we have seen. Just take a look at this:

Racing Tipster Profit Graph

Just the kind of unwavering upward growth you dream of really.

Since starting up in January 2017 the service has apparently made over 300 points profit, with an impressive strike rate of 39% and average odds of 3.88.

That works out at profit of 22 points each month and what is encouraging is that every month so far has been profitable according to their results.

Now as we always say, it remains to be seen if those results can be replicated under the spotlight of a live trial.

But there is only one way to find out, so today we will kick things off and get going on a standard three month trial.

As usual, results will be updated here regularly.

In the meantime, you can check out The Racing Tipster here.

 

 

 

 

eachwayv tipstrr

Each Way Value Tips – Final Review

We have completed our three month trial of Each Way Value Tips and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   +20 points
Strike Rate:  37%
Bank Growth:   4%
ROI:  3%
Average number of bets:   1 per day
Cost:  £15/week, £29/month or £69/quarter 
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Each Way Value Tips – Full Review

 

Each Way Value Tips is a horse racing tipster from the Tipstrr stable of tipsters and as you may have figured out from the name, it specialises in each-way betting.

They apparently study the form and highlight opportunities to produce winning horse racing picks as they aim to make long term profits through selecting valuable odds.

We were quite hopeful when starting off the trial as they had averaged a return on investment of over 40% prior to our trial starting, which is obviously pretty exceptional. 

As so often turns out to be the case however, things haven’t turned out quite so well under the spotlight of a live trial. 

Not to say they have done too badly either, with a profit of 20 points having been made at advised prices.

It was actually quite an impressive fightback to get back to profitability after they went over 150 points down at one stage, as you can see from the graph below:

However, with an average stake of 7.5 points per bet, that equates to around 3 points profit at 1 point level stakes and meant the bank only grew by 4% during the trial.

With a return on investment of just 3% aswell, we feel that the only fair verdict in this instance is a NEUTRAL rating.

Any profit is a profit, but it wasn’t high enough to warrant a passed rating, so it is a watching brief for us on this one for now. 

Of note was the fact that the Betfair SP results were quite a bit lower than the advised prices, with the BSP results finishing 69 points down in the end. 

So it is doubtful whether the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  The workload isn’t too bad, with just one bet per day on average and the tips normally provided the evening before racing, giving plenty of time to get the bets on.

Availability of prices: Prices are generally available if you get your bets on the same evening, but by the next day have often moved in and as we said above, at BSP the service was not profitable. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 37% including the placed horses. 

Advised Betting Bank: No bank was advised for following the service, but we used a 500 point bank for the trial. Given the average stake was 7.5 points per bet, that seemed reasonable and was enough to cover the losing runs with plenty to spare. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are fairly reasonable at £15 per week, £29 per month or £69 per quarter. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Betting each-way has the attraction of giving returns more often, shortening losing runs and improving the strike rate when compared to win-only betting.

Each Way Value Tips from the Tipstrr stable provides only each-way tips and prior to our trial had an amazing return on investment of over 40%, so we were quite hopeful coming into the trial that it could be something special. 

During our trial though a profit of just 20 points at a return on investment of only 3% was made, resulting in a NEUTRAL rating from us for the service.

It is a watching brief for now on this one and let’s see how it progresses over the Summer flat season. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Each Way Value Tips – Results Update

12th April 2018

Unfortunately Each Way Value Tips have given back just about all their profits accrued up to now in the trial, with 42 points lost at advised prices since our last update a couple of weeks ago.

That means they are now 4 points up at advised prices overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair things haven’t gone very well either sadly, with 44 points lost since our last update and 78 points lost overall.

So it’s questionable whether this is practical to follow at Betfair SP but at least we are up at advised prices. 

Anyway, back soon with more updates. 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Each Way Value Tips – Results Update

26th March 2018

There’s been a big turnaround recently for horse racing tipster Each Way Value Tips, with 199 points profit made at advised prices since our last update.

That means they are now in profit for the trial overall at advised prices – 46 points in profit to be precise.

You can view full results here.

Sadly at Betfair SP they are still down for the trial though, with 157 points profit made since our last update but still 34 points down overall.

Hopefully they can continue the recent turnaround and if so then they should move into profit at Betfair SP soon too. 

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Each Way Value Tips – Results Update

2nd March 2018

With all the adverse weather we’ve had here in the UK, there hasn’t been much racing around this week. That has meant there haven’t been many tips from the horse racing tipsters we are following.

The few tips that there have been from Each Way Value Tips unfortunately haven’t led to any progress in their results either.

Since our last update, they have lost another 14 points at advised prices and are now 153 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

It’s a similar story at Betfair SP, with another 27 points lost since our last update and 191 points lost overall. 

As we have said before, they tip generally at 5 points each way per bet, so the results aren’t as bad as they sound. However, we do need things to turn around for them soon. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Each Way Value Tips – Results Update

19th February 2018

The tough run has continued for Each Way Value Tips, with another 86 points lost to advised prices since our last update. 

That means we are now 139 points down for the trial overall to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have been a struggle too, with 106 points lost since our last update and 164 points lost overall.

It should be borne in mind that the results aren’t as bad as they sound however, as the average stake is close to 10 points per bet, so it is the equivalent of being around 14 points down at advised prices to 1 point level stakes.

So with one big winner things could turn around completely for them.

Let’s hope that turns out to be the case by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Each Way Value Tips – Results Update

1st February 2018

It’s been a bit of a tough start to our trial of horse racing tipster Each Way Value Tips.

After two weeks we are 53 points down to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a similar story, with 58 points lost so far.

It is worth bearing in mind with this tipster that they tend to bet 5 points each way on each selection, so the results so far aren’t quite as bad as they sound.

To 1 point each way stakes we would be around 10 or 11 points down so far, which isn’t a disaster or anything.

Anyway, let’s hope we have more positive news to report by the time of the next update.

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Each Way Value Tips – New Review

18th January 2018

Today we are starting a new trial of a horse racing tipster called Each Way Value Tips from the Tipstrr network.

This is a tipster with a very promising-looking record of over 1900 points profit amassed so far.

That has come at a very high 40% return on investment and 38% strike rate since starting up.

Although fairly new to tipping in just their fifth month of providing selections on the Tipstrr platform, their record looks impressive enough to be worthy of further investigation.

As the name suggests, this service focuses on each-way selections, with nearly all bets being on that basis rather than win-only. The average odds so far is 7/1, so betting each-way you can see how the strike-rate of close to 40% is obtained. 

There isn’t a lot of info on how selections are chosen or the person behind the tips, but clearly they have been working very well so far.

If those results could be repeated in the long run then it would be very impressive indeed.

It looks like the tips are sent out in good time before races start, with most sent out at least 12 hours before races start.

There is currently an offer to join up for just €13 for the first month, whereas normally it is €35 per month so a pretty decent offer considering the results achieved to date.

All in all then this looks like a very interesting service and we are keen to get a new trial underway.

As usual, we will record results in full and will report back here regularly on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Each Way Value Tips here.

 

 

 

 

Thoroughbred Betting

Thoroughbred Betting – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Thoroughbred Betting and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss    -16 points
Strike Rate:  25%
Bank Growth:   -16%
ROI:  -7%
Average number of bets:   2 per day
Cost:  £1 for the first 14 days then £37/month 
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Thoroughbred Betting – Full Review

 

This is our second time reviewing Thoroughbred Betting. We reviewed it originally back in June of last year and gave it a failed rating after it finished 25 points down at the end of our three month trial.

However, as the service passed to new ownership (and a new tipster) we were prepared to give it another look as it is like starting from scratch again really with a new tipster at the helm.

Unfortunately though the results have turned out pretty similar in the end. We finished 16 points down this time to advised prices versus 25 points down last time, both of which were disappointing in all honesty. 

As you can see from this graph, we were in deficit for most of the trial:

Thoroughbred Betting Profit Graph

We were nervous at the outset when the new owner said “I don’t have losing months. NEVER. 25-50 points per month without fail. GUARANTEED.”

Firstly very little in life is guaranteed (other than death and taxes), but certainly nothing is guaranteed in the tipping game. It’s an up and down ride and even the best will have losing months sometimes.

So unsurprisingly the guarantee didn’t last longer than a couple of months and when someone makes a claim like that it damages their credibility to a certain degree.

Anyway, whilst it was a disappointing trial, finishing 16 points down was not a complete disaster and only represented a small loss of the bank, so we think a NEUTRAL rating and two and a half stars is an appropriate rating for Thoroughbred Betting this time.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: Pretty straightforward service to follow, just a couple of bets per day on average sent the evening before racing, with the occasional late tip sent out on the day.  

Availability of prices: We didn’t see much of an issue in obtaining the advised prices. The Betfair SP results were only 8 points worse than the advised prices, with a loss of 24 points.

Strike rate: The strike rate during the trial was 25%, which is a little below the long term average of 36%. 

Advised Betting Bank: No bank was advised for following the service but we used a 100 point bank which proved to be sufficient. 

Subscription costs: The costs to sign up are £1 for the first 14 days then £37 per month.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Although under new ownership, unfortunately Thoroughbred Betting returned similar results to the previous owners, with a 16 point loss being made to advised prices at the end of our three month trial.

Whilst that wasn’t a calamity by any means, we feel it is a watching brief for now until there are signs that the service can start generating some regular profits. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Thoroughbred Betting – Results Update

15th January 2018

The slow improvement has continued for Thoroughbred Betting, with another 5 points profit made since our last update.

That means we are now level for the trial at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

There has also been a small improvement at Betfair SP, with 2 points profit made since our last update.

However, that still leaves us 10 points down for the trial overall at Betfair SP.

The highlight of the trial came on Saturday when they managed to land three winners in a row, at prices of 15/8, 5/1 and 11/4, which would have been nice if you had it in a treble.

Anyway, good to see the service has recovered to get back to even and let’s hope it can now finish the trial with a flourish.  

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Thoroughbred Betting – Results Update

15th December 2017

There’s been something of an improvement for Thoroughbred Betting since our last update, with 12 points profit made at advised prices.

That means we are just 5 points down for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP things have picked up as well, with 9 points profit made since our last update, but we are still 12 points down for the trial overall.

Hopefully they are back on the right track now and we will see things move into profit for the trial overall soon.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Thoroughbred Betting – Results Update

22nd November 2017

It’s been a rocky start to our trial of Thoroughbred Betting, with 17 points lost to advised prices so far.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been a little bit worse, with 21 points lost so far.

In the introduction to the review we copied an e-mail from Thoroughbred Betting say they would make “25-50 points per month guaranteed.”

We always cringe a little bit whenever a tipster says that because no matter how good you are, profits are never guaranteed.

And they will have to go some not to finish well down for this month, so that guarantee is looking a little hollow right now.

To be fair to them though, it is still early days in the trial and far too soon to draw any conclusions. They have also had quite a large number of second places so with a little bit of luck results could be a lot better at this point.

Let’s hope some of those seconds start turning into wins for them going forward.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Thoroughbred Betting – Re-Review

1st November 2017

Back in June we completed a trial of Thoroughbred Betting (a horse racing tipster) and gave it a failed rating after it lost 25 points during our trial.

However, the service has since been taken over by someone else and they are taking a completely different approach to it.

So we thought we would give it a look and see if the new owner can do a better job than the previous one of making some profit. 

In many ways it is like a brand new review, but since we already have a “Thoroughbred Betting Review” here on the site, we thought best to clarify what was going on so there was no confusion.

The new Thoroughbred Betting service is run by a guy called Paul and he says the reason he bought the service was due to the large social media following as well as having a fully functioning website.

That sounds fair enough to us. 

He says he is not a tipster as such, just a very well connected member of the horse racing community and gets insider info which he uses to his advantage.

Here is what Paul has to say about his service in his own words:

“I’m connected with well over 100 very influential people in racing and this allows me a clear upper hand when tipping horses. Having said that it doesn’t take into account factors such as unknown injuries/illness with the horse, jockey error etc so its never a guarantee.

The best way I can sum it up is every time I tip a 6/1 you can basically expect it to run like a 3/1, and a 4/1 will most likely run like a 2/1 and so on.

Its like flipping a coin that 65% of the time will land on heads. If you only flip it 3 times it may still land on 3 tails, its unlikely but it can happen. But flip that coin 300 times and you know for a fact they’ll be more heads than tails.

That analogy sums up what my service offers. Its absolutely guaranteed monthly profits. I can’t believe that some tipsters have losing months and say its just a blip. I don’t have losing months. NEVER.

25-50 points per month without fail. GUARANTEED.”

Well we’ve heard that before a few times and virtually all of such promises have failed to deliver, but we will put our scepticism aside for the moment and see how the new Thoroughbred Betting gets on during a live three month trial here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Since taking over the service, the results published on the website look promising with 36 points profit made at an ROI of 46%.

Our own trial results will be updated on this page periodically during the trial and we hope we will have some good news to deliver.

We started receiving the tips on 29th October and they have started well so that is a good sign. Let’s hope it continues like that. 

You can check out Thoroughbred Betting here. 

 

 

 

 

 

racing wins

Racing Wins – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Racing Wins and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:   -21 points 
Strike Rate:  29%
Bank Growth:  -21%
ROI:  -7%
Average number of bets:  2.5 per day 
Cost:  £14.95/month or £79/per year 
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Racing Wins – Full Review

 

Racing Wins is a horse racing tipping service provided by a chap called Pete Thomson.

The service was unveiled a few months ago to quite a bit of fanfare so we were eager to check it out and see if it could live up to the hype of the launch.

So we subjected to a live three month trial here on the site, recording all selections to both advised prices and Betfair SP.

After three months then, how has Racing Wins got on? Has it lived up to the hype of the launch?

Well if you’ve seen the results above then you will know it has ended up somewhat disappointing us, with a loss of 21 points being made to advised prices and a 25 point loss at Betfair SP. 

With the 100 point bank that we used for the trial, that worked out at a loss of 21% of the bank – so about a fifth.

As you can see from the graph below, things were going ok for most of the trial but tailed off badly towards the end. 

Racing Wins Profit Graph

The return on investment was -7%, so not too great either unfortunately.

Overall then Racing Wins was somewhere between a failed and a neutral rating, but given it certainly wasn’t a washout by any means, we will err on the side of caution of plump for a NEUTRAL rating.

Hopefully they can turn things around and move into profit in the coming months, so we will keep an eye on things and see if they can manage to do that.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  Tips are normally sent out in the morning between 9 and 10 am. There are four tips per day when there are some tips, although some days there are no tips. Overall a fairly straightforward service to follow.   

Availability of prices:  There was no problem at all getting the advised prices and little difference between them and the BSP results.  

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was a solid 29%.

Advised Betting Bank: No betting back is advised for following the service, but we used a 100 point bank for the trial. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £14.95 per month or £79 per year which are very reasonable by today’s standards. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Racing Wins was released a few months ago to a good deal of interest from the betting community in what looked on paper like a very promising tipster.

As is so often the case though, the results in a live trial haven’t lived up to the pre-trial billing and we have ended up 21 points down after three months.

Whilst that’s not the end of the world, we were hoping for more so can only award this a NEUTRAL rating for the time being.

We will keep an eye on things for the time being and see if results improve over the coming months.

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – Results Update

1st September 2017

A reversal of fortunes for horse racing tipster Racing Wins since our last update a few weeks ago.

They have dropped 11 points in that time to advised prices, meaning they are now 10 points down for the trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a fairly similar picture, with 14 points dropped since our last update to put them 12 points down for the trial overall.

Just a few weeks left in the trial here, so we will need to see some really good results in that time for this to achieve a passed rating.

We will see… 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – Results Update

7th August 2017

A move back in the right direction for horse racing tipster Racing Wins since our last update three weeks ago. 

They have added 8 points of profit in that time to advised prices, meaning they are now 1 point up for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been pretty similar, with 10 points won since our last update putting them on 2 points up for the trial overall.

Good to see the positive momentum, let’s hope it continues for Racing Wins.

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – Results Update

15th July 2017

It’s not been a great start to our trial of Racing Wins, a new horse racing tipster service.

After just under a month of following the tips, we are 7 points down at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been a similar story, with 8 points lost so far.

Still, it’s early days and we are only a little down, so things could easily turn around quickly and get back on track.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Racing Wins – New Review

13th June 2017

Today we are commending a new trial of horse racing service called Racing Wins. 

This a new service and one which we have been asked to proof as part of their venture out into the tipping world.

The results prior to the official commencement of the service look promising, with four profitable months out of four and 164 points profit made.

In terms of the strike rate, that is pretty good too at over 33%, so it should be a reasonably sensible service to follow.

There are four different tip types as part of Racing Wins, including the Nap (i.e. best bet of the day), Next Best, Third Best & Outsider Bet.

Interestingly from the results published to date, the Third Best and Outsider have produced the most profit. Although perhaps that isn’t such a surprise when you consider that 

The tips are provided by a guy called Pete Thomson and he tips five days per week, i.e. taking Sundays and Mondays off – when the racing doesn’t tend to be much good anyway.

Subscriptions are very reasonably priced at just £14.95 per month or £67 per year, which if the live results match the pre-launch ones would represent excellent value.

Now just a quick note that Racing Wins doesn’t officially start until Monday 19th June – which as luck would have it is the start of Royal Ascot – but you can get your name down before then to make sure you get a place as this is the kind of thing that may sell out.

Anyway, we are looking forward to testing this out and will get going with proofing the results as soon as the service commences on 19th June.

In the meantime you can check out Racing Wins here.

 

 

 

ascot

FA Racing – Final Review

We have reached the end of our two month trial of FA Racing and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/loss:   -15 points 
Strike Rate:   23%
Bank Growth:  -15%
ROI:  -3%
Average number of tips:  6 per day
Cost:  £57/month, £137/quarter or £425/year
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

FA Racing Full Review

 

FA Racing is a horse racing tipping service from the same team behind the popular Football Advisor service (hence the initials FA).

It is based on the bets that John (who runs the service) has been placing himself for a number of years and apparently does rather well off.

John decided a few months ago to start making these selections public via the new FA Racing service and the results prior to our trial looked very promising indeed. 

But how would it get on under the spotlight of a live trial?

Well the first thing to say is that there are a large number of bets! There were nearly 400 bets in just two months, which is one of the highest bet volumes we have seen.

Sadly in this case though, quantity didn’t necessarily translate into quality and we ended the trial 15 points down to advised prices.

Here are the results over the trial in graph format:

FA Racing Profit Graph

As you can see, it was quite an up and down trial! However, most of the time it fluctuated from down back towards even and was only in surplus for a brief period early on. 

Using a 100 point bank, the final results represented just a 15% drawdown so it was certainly no disaster, therefore we feel a NEUTRAL rating is fair in this instance. 

Although it has not excelled during our trial, it hasn’t done too badly either so we don’t feel FA Racing warrants a failed rating.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use:  With an average of six bets per day this is a high-volume service and with some of the bets being multiples like Yankees and Trixies, there is quite a bit of work involved in following the service. 

Availability of prices:  Prices were generally fairly obtainable. There was an 18 point difference between the advised prices and BSP results, so a little bit of a gap but with over 400 bets being placed, it is actually a fairly small difference. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 23%, which is fairly reasonable. 

Advised Betting Bank: A 100 point bank is advised for following the service, which seemed adequate to us and was never in jeopardy during our trial.  

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £57 per month, £137 per quarter or £425 per year.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Football Advisor is a respected football tipping service and as the results of FA Racing prior to our trial looked very promising, we were optimistic that this could be a real winner.

Unfortunately though results during the trial were a little disappointing, with a 15 point loss being made to advised prices.

This isn’t the worse service we have come across and a 15% loss of the bank was no catastrophe, so we are awarding FA Racing a NEUTRAL rating.

It may be a service to keep an eye on to see how it develops in future, but for the moment it isn’t one we can recommend. 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – Results Update

20th August 2017

It continues to be a bit of a struggle for FA Racing, with 6 points lost to advised prices since our last update.

That puts them 15 points down overall to advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it has been considerably worse, with 8 points lost since our last update and 37 points lost overall, so it is looking questionable as to whether the service is practical to follow at Betfair SP.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – Results Update

8th August 2017

A bit of a reversal of form lately for FA Racing, with a winning position unfortunately becoming a losing one since our last update.

They have lost 18 points in that time at advised prices, meaning they are now 9 points down for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP the picture is slightly worse, with 22 points lost since our last update and 29 points lost overall.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – Results Update

20th July 2017

It’s been a solid if unspectacular start for horse racing tipster FA Racing, which is a trial service being tested out by Football Advisor (so doesn’t have its own separate website yet). 

We started receiving tips on 5th July and since then we have made 7 points profit at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

To Betfair SP it hasn’t been quite so good, with 7 points lost so far.

This is a high volume service, with a good number of bets per day and normally an additional Trixie or Yankee on top. 

A good start then, hopefully things will continue in the same fashion.

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

FA Racing – New Review

28th June 2017

A while ago we ran a review of the popular football betting service Football Advisor.

Although it only managed a neutral rating during our trial, it is a well respected service and has made over 300 points profit overall since starting a few years ago.

So our interest was piqued when we saw their new potential service – FA Racing – undergo a beta launch at the start of June.

Jon Robertson, who runs the Football Advisor service, started out his days with the racing website systemlays.co.uk which took a systems-based approach to horse racing betting and was a well-liked site.

Jon decided to sell the site in 2012 to concentrate on new avenues, including starting Football Advisor. Unfortunately the new owners of systemlays did not keep it going and it is now defunct. 

However, Jon has continued to bet on the horses himself over the years and to do rather well at it.

So with him making a nice additional income from horse racing, Jon thought it was time to run a three month trial to see if he could launch a new horse racing service based on his bets.

He did this at the start of June and it has been quite successful to say the least! So far June has given followers a whopping ROI of 45.5% and over 50 points profit.

Winners have included:

Caspian Prince 25/1
Hallings Comet 19/1
Marmajuke Bay 16/1
Artscape 14/1
Theflyingpoet 9/1

Plus just yesterday there was another winner at 5/2. 

So although it’s still early days, this does look like a promising service and one we decided it is worth investigating.

We have therefore paid our £20 and signed up for the final two months of the three month beta trial.

We will record results here for the next two months and if things go anything like as well as June has gone, then we fully expect this will turn into a full service in due course.

In the meantime, you can sign up for the final two months of the trial of FA Racing for just £20 here.