This is an archive of ALL betting system reviews including current reviews and final reviews.

BP Racing pic

BP Racing – New Review

Today we are starting a new trial of a service called BP Racing. 

Despite the logo on their website, the “BP” doesn’t in fact stand for British Petroleum, but rather for “Betfair Price.”

From the Punt Hub stable of tipsters, this is a service that tips at Betair SP and for that reason is one we imagine will be popular with those of you who have had your bookie accounts restricted. 

Yes, there is no need to worry about being gubbed, or having to react like lightning when tips are released to grab the advised prices before they get smashed in. 

With this service you can just put the bets on at Betfair SP and go about the rest of your day. 

It is a relatively new service having only been running since 24th April, but the results so far look very impressive.

Over 200 points profit has reportedly been made at one-point level stakes at a return on investment of 18%. 

Those are exceptional results to have achieved at Betfair SP where it is notoriously hard to eek out any kind of profit at all. 

There is quite a large volume of bets, with a few given out each day normally before 10am daily via Telegram. 

Just to say there is currently a special discounted rate of just £10 for the first month (normally £25 per month) so a pretty decent offer there.

We would like to see this one do well as we know a lot of you are keen for a service that is profitable at Betfair SP. As ever though we will reserve judgement until we have conducted our trial. 

Results will be updated here as we go along.

In the meantime you can check out BP Racing for yourself here.

 

 

 

ImRigged -Final Review

Well this is one of the shortest reviews we’ve ever run here at Honest Betting Reviews.

Just a couple of weeks after starting our trial, we received this e-mail from Tipping Gurus:

“Many apologies for the lack of communication over the last couple of days regarding ImRigged.

A decision has now sadly been taken to close the service. All existing members will be contacted individually over the next 24 hours and given the option of refunds where applicable or an option to switch elsewhere (with benefits).

Over the last 12 months or so the ImRigged tipster has ‘quit’ on multiple occasions, always out of the blue with no notice. Each time we have managed to talk with him, calm him down and get him back on board.

Unfortunately these ‘swings’ in mood/temperament resulted in a lack of consistency in how the service was run with constant changing from evening to morning tipster and also the type of tips offered which unsettled many current and previous members.

He insisted on offering ‘free months’ if the service didn’t hit certain targets.. then wanted to walk away when those free months were being honored.

It is most disappointing as we have stood by him through all of this hassle but eventually there comes a point where it can continue no further.

Les sent a short email instructing us that due to ‘unforeseen circumstances the service could no longer continue’. We haven’t been able to get hold of him since.

It is very sad as Les is without doubt a very capable tipster and could have built up a very fine service.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask, otherwise, we will be in touch with you all over the next 24 hours.”

So not much more we can add to that really, other than to say it happens in the world of tipping sadly. It’s a tough business to make a success of!

Anyway, this service goes in the defunct pile unfortunately. Hopefully we’ll have more luck with our upcoming reviews and they last longer than a couple of weeks…

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Im Rigged – New Review

24th June 2021

We are starting a new review today of a horse racing service with the intriguing name of ImRigged. 

This tipster is based at the Tipping Gurus stable and they started tipping back in August 2019.  According to the information on the Tipping Gurus website, ImRigged is a professional horse racing tipster willing to put his neck on the line every single month.

The tipster has a long history in the racing business and has fine tuned his process to what he feels are optimum levels.

The results to date back that up, with a profit of over 280 points made since starting up two years ago.

That has been achieved with an excellent return on investment (ROI) of just under 20% and a solid strike rate of 22%. 

Looking at their results from a visual perspective, the profit graph shows good progress throughout:

They are coming off some good form, with a profit of £437 made last month and £493 so far this month to £10 stakes. 

Selections are sent out each evening between 9 and 10pm and are generally 1pt win or 0.5pt e/w. There are around 2-3 bets per day although some days can be busier. 

This looks like a promising service then so we are eager to see how they get on during our live trial. Please note we started receiving tips on 19th June so will record results from then. 

As usual we will update progress here as we go along so you can see how they are getting on.

In the meantime you can check out ImRigged for yourself here.

 

 

 

Strike rate racing pic

Strike Rate Racing – New Review

Today we are starting a new review of a service called Strike Rate Racing.

This is a service that a few of our members asked us to take a look at so we thought we would give it a go. It claims to have made its members over £50,000 per year from its racing tips. There is no breakdown of what staking this was based on though, or ROI etc.

There is a screenshot on their website of a William Hill account with over £52,800 in it, although we would point out that this doesn’t mean much in itself. Things like that can easily be fabricated, or they could have just deposited those funds rather than having won them. We would also have thought profits would be spread around different bookies rather than concentrated in just one.

Anyway, leaving this aside, they claim to be “a team of highly experienced professional horse racing tipsters who make ourselves a financial income and luxurious lifestyle through horse race betting.”

They say they come from a variety of backgrounds including accounting, bookmaking, computer science and racehorse training.

In terms of their approach to selecting the tips, they say they study “odds, form, jockey and trainer combinations, weather patterns” and anything else that can give them an edge. There isn’t much reference to where the idea of a high strike comes in to it though.

There are also no published results on the website, which is a little worrying. Usually we would look for full results to back up the claims of profits a service makes.

In any event, we will reserve judgement until we have conducted our review and can see what kind of results they can produce under a live trial. As usual we will update things here as we go along.

In the meantime you can check out Strike Rate Racing for yourself here.

 

 

 

Laysonthefootball – New Review

We are starting a new trial today of a football betting service called Laysonthefootball.

This is a service that lays in a variety of soccer markets on Betfair including match odds, first half goals, over/under 2.5 goals, half time result and more. 

It claims to have made £1038 profit in two months from 71 bets using £25 lay stakes. 

There isn’t much information about what the strategy is or how they go about finding the bets, but there are some screenshots from Betfair of their bets which show the results. 

Of course these things aren’t always genuine and it’s a small sample size so we shouldn’t be getting carried away. 

The sales page talks about previously being a “mug punter” whereas now they are acting like a bookmaker by placing lay bets.

That’s all pretty obvious to regular bettors but for those new to betting it provides some background to how lay betting works.

In any event, it looks interesting enough to test out so we will set up a review and report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Laysonthefootball for yourself here.

 

 

 

Betting Without Bets

Betting Without Bets – New Review

We are starting a new review today of an intriguingly-named service called Betting Without Bets.

This is a horse racing service which aims to make a profit by backing horses to finish second or third. It is not clear exactly how it does so, but it says it is not by backing them each-way or to place. Well you only get to find out if you sign up we suppose!

It’s run by a guy called Martin Taylor and he says he uses “a very under-utilised feature that puts the odds back in our favour!”

He says he’s been using this method for over a year now and he cashes out his winnings every 3 months. Last year those 3 payments apparently added up to £8,100.

That’s from placing £20 bets on 2-5 selections per day and equates to an average of £1,185.70 profit per month, or 59.28pts profit per month, almost 2pts profit per day.

A 50-point bank is recommended and you need access to a particular bookie who offers these bets.

It all sounds very interesting as we say and we are intrigued to find out what it’s all about.

As ever we don’t want to get ahead of ourselves and are always a little sceptical when we see sales pages like these.

The proof of the pudding will be in the eating though so let’s see how it pans out. As usual results updates will be posted here on this page.

In the meantime you can check out Betting Without Bets for yourself here.

 

 

 

exponential bet

Place Betting – New Review

One of the most neglected forms of betting when it comes to horse racing is place betting. Very few tipsters or betting systems focus on it and there is little discussion in the racing media about betting on the place market. 

It is almost an afterthought in many cases, something that is only talked about with reference to the each-way market.

However, this lack of attention on place betting does mean there is potential to find value in the market and the system we are looking at today attempts to do exactly that.

From Exponential Bet – who our long term members will know well from a number of other reviews of their systems we have done – this Place Betting System is an automated betting system for the horse racing place markets on Betfair. 

Using the same Cloud Bet Bot software that is utilised for a number of their other systems, the bets are placed automatically on your Betfair account via the cloud, without you needing to run a VPN or keep your computer on day and night. 

There are essentially three elements to the Place Betting strategy:

  • Place Back Multi – Backs up to five horses in the place market within applicable races.
  • Place Lay Multi – Lays up to five horses in the place market within applicable races.
  • Place Lay Single – Lays one horse in the place market within applicable races.

You can play all, one or two of the strategies at the same time, it is up to you.

The results so far look very impressive, with the respective totals since starting last December for the three systems (using the “straight exchange” approach) as follows:

  • Place Back Multi: +162 points
  • Place Lay Multi: +273 points
  • Place Lay Single: +86 points

So that’s 521 points profit overall for the three systems. 

We will be following all three, using the straight exchange approach. The two other options are BSP and target profit, but as we say the results are best for the straight exchange method.

We are really looking to testing this system out because as we say there is a real gap in the market for a good place betting system and this looks very promising. 

As we always warn though, it is better to reserve judgement until we have seen how it performs under live trial conditions.

Anyway, we will record updates here as we along so you can see how the system is getting on.

In the meantime you can check out Place Betting from Exponential Bet here.

 

 

 

20 Minute system pic

20 Minute System – New Review

We are starting a new trial today of a betting strategy called The 20 Minute System. 

This is the latest system from perennial systems developer Mike Cruickshank, who as long-term followers will know we are big fans of. 

Mike was the original matched betting guru, releasing the excellent Bonus Bagging and then Profit Maximiser, giving punters the tools to match-bet successfully and finally put one over on the bookies. Those systems were then copied by countless other system developers.

Mike has gone on to develop more and more sophisticated systems however, most notably his Each Way Sniper Auto Software. It’s an ingenious piece of software that places bets for you automatically with the bookies. You can read our full review of that one here.

His latest system as we say is The 20 Minute System, which is a golf system. It has reportedly made a very impressive 519 points profit in 18 months at one-point level stakes, which is excellent stuff.

At £20 per bet that would equate to £10,380 profit. 

The “20 minutes” refers to the time it supposedly takes to place the bets each week, which is something we like the sound of. That’s one of the benefits of golf betting in that with only two tournaments per week normally it can be a fairly low-workload sport to bet on. 

You will need bookie accounts to follow this system – and preferably a few of them. The good news though is that supposedly you can use gubbed accounts. That may be because you can follow the system with small £1 stakes and still make a decent profit. 

In any event, we will learn more as we get into the trial and start using the system ourselves. We will look to get going next week, which will be good timing as it happens to be the Open Championship! 

Anyway, as ever we will update results here as we go along.

In the meantime you can check out The 20 Minute System for yourself here. 

 

 

 

Tipping Maestro

Tipping Maestro – New Review

Today we are starting a new trial of a horse racing tipster called Tipping Maestro.

The service is run by a guy called Colin who makes his living and funds his lifestyle by betting on the horses. He is based in Portugal but maintains his passion for British horse racing which he follows intensely.

All his bets are win-only rather than each-way as he says he’s “an all or nothing guy.”

Since joining the Betting Gods platform in October 2020 the results look pretty good, with 112 points profit made at a very high return on investment (ROI) of 34%.

The strike rate is also good at 31%, particularly considering they bet win-only rather than each-way.

The bank has more than doubled since starting and nine out of ten months so far have been profitable, which is an enviable level of consistency.

Tips are sent out early in the morning on the day of racing, normally between 7 and 8am UK time.

Just a note to say we started receiving tips on 30th June so will record results from then. As usual updates will be recorded here as we go along.

In the meantime you can check out Tipping Maestro for yourself here.

 

 

 

Adam Scott

Golf Forecast – Final Review

We have completed our five month trial of Golf Forecast and here are the final results (i.e. for the diversified algorithm):-

 

Profit/Loss:  +713 points profit
Strike Rate:   10%
Bank Growth:   71%
ROI:   23%
Average number of bets:   20 bets per tournament
Cost:   £2.99 for first 7 days then £29.99 per month
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here. (please note you can see the results for the two approaches plus the past results in the tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet)

 

Golf Forecast – Full Review

 

We originally reviewed golf betting system Golf Forecast around five years ago, when it received a passed rating after notching up an impressive 172 points profit in that original trial. 

Golf Forecast is a little different from most golf services as it is not a “tipster” as such but instead finds its selections via an algorithm. This algorithm is based on the Shotlink data that compiles a huge array of stats on each player and the strengths and weaknesses of their game.

Where the bookies’ odds are significantly above what the algorithm says they should be based on that data, the player then becomes a bet.  

The algorithm also apparently uses machine learning to update itself and improve in light of new data.

After our original review of Golf Forecast finished in 2016, we kept an eye on the service for the next few years, during which time it continued to compile impressive profits. So we initiated a re-review back in November 2019, wanting to take a closer look at the results again as it seemed to be performing consistently well. 

Unfortunately though it struggled somewhat in that re-review, losing 280 points. Such are the ups-and-downs of traditional golf betting unfortunately. 

However, they then introduced a new approach – namely their “diversified algorithm.”

This idea behind this is to spread your risk across more golfers, backing around 20 players per tournament rather than the traditional approach of backing 4-5 golfers per event. 

Anyone who has bet on golf or followed a golf tipster for any length of time will be accustomed to the huge swings you can experience, with long losing runs followed by a big winner – if you’re lucky that is. It can be tough on the nerves and require a lot of patience, as well as a massive betting bank, to weather the lengthy drawdowns. 

The aim of this new “diversified model” is to smooth out those peaks and troughs and provide more regular returns. 

Here they explain the difference between their two models:-

In theory you might think the diversified model is more risky as you are backing more golfers, but if you are spreading your stake across them in such a way that you are actually betting the same amount as you would when backing just five golfers, then in fact it is less risky and should smooth out the ride.

For example, if you are risking £100 per tournament you spread this across 20 golfers, meaning on a few of them you are just risking £5-6 each. This is the staking used in our results spreadsheet. 

This smoother ride is borne out by the long-term results, which as you can see from the graph below shows a pretty smooth profit graph, without the big ups and downs normally associated with golf betting:-

 

Anyway, we commenced a fresh review at the start of this year looking at both the new diversified algorithm and the old approach – dubbed the “ROI algorithm.” 

In truth we were more interested in how the diversified algorithm got on as it is a new, innovative approach to gambling on the golf and we were eager to see if it really could smooth out the big ups and downs you normally get with golf betting.

We are pleased to say that after five months of following it, the diversified algorithm did as advertised and produced a very healthy – and steady – 713 points profit. 

If following the £100 per tournament approach, that translated into a decent £713 profit and bank growth of over 70%.

Whilst the strike rate was still on the low side at 10%, the ride was much smoother and less bumpy. The ROI was also excellent at 23%. 

So in terms of the diversified algorithm, we are happy to award it a PASSED rating and we really like this new, more measured approach to golf betting that is less of a roller-coaster. 

In terms of the traditional ROI model, unfortunately that did not perform so well and lost 711 points, which on top of the 280 points lost the previous year, means quite a hefty overall loss so it is not a strategy we would recommend following.  

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: As mentioned above, there are around 20 bets to place per tournament, so you have to set aside a fair amount of time to get the selections placed. You can either have the bets e-mailed to you or log in to the website to get them.  

Availability of prices: We didn’t notice any particular issues with obtaining the recommended prices. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for our trial was 10%, which is obviously low but it didn’t prevent a steady return during our trial. The long-term average is to produce a profit in every 2-3 events and in our trial there weren’t too many tournaments without a return of some kind at least. 

Advised Betting Bank: In effect a 100 point bank betting bank is recommended for the diversified algorithm (or £1000 if betting £100 per tournament), which seems reasonable to us although a 150 point bank could be utilised to be on the safe side. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs at the time of writing are £2.99 for first 7 days then £29.99 per month.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

Golf Forecast is a service we originally reviewed back in 2016 and gave a passed rating to after a successful trial. We took another look at the service more recently but unfortunately it made a substantial loss in that trial.

Recently though they have introduced a new strategy – called the “diversified algorithm” – which involves backing around 20 golfers per event and aims to smooth out the big ups and downs you normally see with golf betting.

We are pleased to report that it managed to achieve that aim during our trial, notching up 713 points profit over the course of five months at an excellent ROI of 23% and warranting a PASSED rating. 

Their more traditional approach of backing 4-5 golfers per event made a loss though so we would recommend focusing on the diversified algorithm if you are going to follow this service. 

That diversified strategy looks very promising to us as a means to smooth out the roller-coaster ride of golf betting and make it a much smoother and more enjoyable journey!  

 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

16th April 2021

It’s continued to be a mixed picture for Golf Forecast, with their diversified model having made £224 profit but the ROI model having lost £467 since our last update.

That means the diversified model is now £534 up but the ROI model is £617 down for our trial overall, so a net return of -£83.

You can view full results here. (please note you can see the results for the two approaches plus the past results in the tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet)

Just to recap – the  diversified model means spreading the risk across more golfers, backing around 20 players per tournament where as the ROI model means backing 4-5 golfers per event.

The aim of the diversified model is to smooth out the ups and downs of golf betting and it certainly seems to be doing that here, with steady progress made throughout our trial so far. That is looking like the model to follow at this point.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

8th March 2021

It’s been somewhat of a mixed month for Golf Forecast, with their diversified model having made 14 points profit (or £140 to £10 stakes) but the ROI model having lost 39 points (or £390 to £10 stakes) since our last update.

That means the diversified model is now 31 points up but the ROI model is 15 points down for our trial overall, so a net return of +16 points.

You can view full results here. (please note you can see the results for the two approaches plus the past results in the tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet)

Just to recap – the  diversified model means spreading the risk across more golfers, backing around 20 players per tournament where as the ROI model means backing 4-5 golfers per event.

In theory you might think the diversified model is more risky as you are backing more golfers, but if you are spreading your stake across them in such a way that you are actually betting the same amount as you would backing just five golfers, then in fact is is less risky and should smooth out the ride.

We are seeing that play out already in our review and would expect it to be the case over the long term too.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

1st February 2021

We are having something of a reboot of our review of Golf Forecast in 2021. 

As you may recall, they didn’t perform too well during our trial last year losing 280 points, after having an excellent original trial back in 2016 when they made 172 points.

Such are the ups and downs of golf betting and having long losing runs followed by massive wins (or vice versa) are par for the course, if you’ll excuse the pun.

To counter this they have developed a new “diversified algorithm” which in layman’s terms means backing around 20 golfers per tournament rather than five. 

The idea is to spread your stakes across a greater number of golfers to reduce the risk and produce a more consistent return.

At the same time they will still be running their previous model of backing 4-5 golfers per event – this is referred to as their “ROI algorithm” but is higher risk as we say and is more likely to have those big ups and downs.

There is a fuller explanation of the two approaches here:

So we are going to cover both approaches in 2021 and compare how they get on.

So far this year the results have been good for both, with the diversified model having made 17.5 points profit (or £174.70 to £10 stakes) and the ROI model making 24 points profit (or £241 to £10 stakes).

You can view full results here. (please note you can see the results for the two approaches plus the past results in the tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet)

The main source of profits has been Harris English who won for both approaches at 30/1 and Kevin Na who won for the diversified approach at 60/1

It will be interesting to see how that approach gets on and if it can smooth out some of the big swings normally seen with golf services.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

21st October 2020

It’s been a tough time for Golf Forecast lately, with a loss of 67 points made since our last update a month ago. 

That means they are now 280 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

They also have a separate strategy known as the “diversifying algorithm” (nothing to do with spread betting as we previously thought) which backs a lot more golfers each week (e.g. 15-20 per tournament). The idea is to reduce risk and smooth the curve as it were. We have been keeping an eye on that strategy and since it was introduced in mid-September it has made around 90 points profit, so quite a lot better than the main strategy. 

Hopefully the main strategy can get back on track again soon – a big winner would certainly help! 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

21st October 2020

A bit of an improvement recently for Golf Forecast, with a profit of 21 points made since our last update a month ago.

With the previous losses however they are still 213 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

We mentioned last time their new spread betting algorithm, which uses spread betting prices to help guide selections, but you still bet in the fixed odds markets with the bookies. Well the spread betting algorithm managed to pick out both winners last week – Jason Kokrak at 100/1 and Adrian Otaegui at 66/1, so seems to be working well. Although it does involve backing 15-20 players per tournament so is obviously more likely to pick out winners than backing 5-6 players per tournament.

Anyway, we will try to have a look at getting the results together for the spread betting algorithm and hopefully including those in future updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

18th September 2020

The tough times continue for Golf Forecast unfortunately, with a further 71 points lost since our last update a month ago. 

That means they are now 234 points down for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

As we mentioned last time, it is worth bearing in mind that this service uses very high staking, with up to 14 points (7pts e/w) per bet recommended. So it looks a lot worse than if they were using 1 point e/w stakes for example. 

Interestingly they have introduced a new “spread betting algorithm,” which as we understand it uses spread betting prices to help guide the algorithm, but you still bet in the fixed odds markets with the bookies.

The spread betting model has apparently produced a much smoother profit with less volatility though, which would be welcome, but involves backing a lot more players each week. We will keep an eye on that to see how it gets on anyway. 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

16th August 2020

It’s been somewhat of a disastrous run for Golf Forecast recently, with 205 points lost since our last update just over a month ago. 

That means they are now 163 points down for our trial overall.

You can view full results here.

One of the reasons for the large drawdown lately is the high staking used, with up to 14 points (7pts e/w) per bet recommended. So it can really add up quickly when you hit a losing run.

As we always say with golf services however, just one winner can turn everything around when you are tipping at odds of up to 150/1. So let’s just hope they hit one of those soon. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

12th July 2020

A small profit for Golf Forecast since our last update, with a gain of 5 points made since golf resumed on the PGA Tour following the covid break. 

That means they are now 42 points up for our trial overall.

You can view full results here.

They were quite unlucky with one of the their picks for the RBC Heritage, Abraham Ancer, who came up just short at 60/1 after Webb Simpson finished with a rash of birdies to deny him the title. That still resulted in a placed finish though and a nice profit of 33 points on Ancer. 

With golf back in full swing now (if you’ll excuse the pun) and the European Tour back in action again it should be full steam ahead for the next few months. 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

20th March 2020

It’s been a positive start to our re-review of Golf Forecast, with a profit of 37 points made so far after just over one month of following the selections. 

You can view full results here.

There is a slight difference between our results and their published results as they had Lee Westwood placed at the Honda Classic where as we did not. The reason for that is the forecast table, and thus the tips, can be recalculated up until midnight on Wednesday. However, they send the tips email out on Tuesday morning. As such it’s possible that the bookies’ odds move and so their algorithm’s tips could change in that time. i.e. one of the previously tipped player’s odds shortened and Lee’s odd’s drifted, therefore Lee was better value. 

We will stick with the tips we receive in the e-mail on Tuesday as our official results, although if you are member you are of course able to keep checking up until midnight on Wednesday to see if there are any further selections.

Anyway, either way it’s been a good start and the highlight was definitely Sungjae Im at the Honda Classic who they had a maximum five point each-way bet on at 33/1, which brought in 180 points profit. 

Obviously now with the coronavirus golf is on hold for the time being and it looks like we may not get any more events until July. The Masters and PGA Championship have been postponed and no decision has been taken on the US Open yet, so let’s keep our fingers crossed that can go ahead at least. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Re-Review

21st November 2019

Just over three years ago we did a review of a golf betting service called Golf Forecast (see below).

This service is a little different from most golf services however as it is not a “tipster” as such but instead finds its selections via an algorithm. This algorithm is based on the Shotlink data that compiles a huge array of stats on each player and the strengths and weaknesses of their game.

Where the bookies’ odds are significantly above what the algorithm shows they should be based on that data, the player then becomes a bet.  

The algorithm also apparently uses machine learning to update itself and improve in light of new data.

The results during our original review back in 2016 were excellent, with a profit of 172 points made during our seven month trial. 

Since then they have apparently also done extremely well, with over 700 points profit made at an ROI of over 35% – although we weren’t able to fully proof those results.

So we thought it would be well worth checking out the service again and seeing if it can continue the excellent results under a live trial – when we do proof the results.

As ever with golf services, beware the potential of long losing streaks as there was a drawdown of around 400 points in 2018-2019, so clearly a very big bank is required here (perhaps 1,000 points). 

However, when the winners come along they can be massive, with 100/1+ winners having been landed before.

Let’s hope for more of the latter rather than the former during our re-review in any event. We will record results here periodically during our re-review.

In the meantime you can check out Golf Forecast for yourself here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Final Review

21st November 2016

We have reached the end of our seven month trial of Golf Forecast and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:   +172 points
Strike Rate:   12%
Bank Growth:    57%
Cost:   £1.99/month, £6.99/year or £22.99/lifetime
ROI:   102%
Average number of tips:    3 per week
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Golf Forecast Full Review

 

Golf Forecast is a service that uses a complex algorithm to generate each-way selections for each week’s tournaments. 

Their approach is an interesting one – basically they say that “no one really knows who is going to win any golf tournament.” What they can do though, using their algorithm, is find selections who offer value for the punter.

The algorithm is based on the Shotlink data that compiles a huge array of stats on each player and the strengths and weaknesses of their game. It then apparently uses machine learning to update itself and improve in light of new data.

We have written before on this website that we strongly believe computing power will be the future of betting and will become more and more sophisticated in the coming years.

So the question is, how well did the system work during our trial?

The answer is – pretty darn well!

Yes, we made 172 points profit during the trial, which was an astonishing 102% return on investment!

That is the highest we have ever recorded over a whole trial.

Now it is worth pointing out, as is nearly always the case with golf tipsters, that the results fluctuate wildly based on just one or two big priced winners.

For example, Thorbjorn Olesen winning the Turkish Open at 150/1 brought in a massive 188 points of profit. Without add, the trial would have actually finished in a loss. 

Here are the results for the trial in graph format:

Golf Forecast Profit Graph

Things were bobbing along fairly steadily for most of the trial before a massive jump at the end.

As we say though, that is the way of things with golf betting – long losing streaks followed by big wins (hopefully!)

The only disappointing thing about the trial was that we had problems generating the selections early on in the trial (something wrong with the website apparently) and then later on there were problems accessing the website at all because the security certificate wasn’t up to date.

It is a shame there were those problems as the results were so good, no doubt people have been put off by those issues.

But presuming these technical issues can be ironed out, we are happy to give Golf Forecast a recommended rating and think there are definitely on to something with their algorithm-based approach. We feel it also warrants a place in our list of the best golf tipsters

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: You have to log in to the website to find the selections and it can be a little cumbersome as you often need to click on the “forecasts” first before you click on the tips. Anyway, with only one to two tournaments per week, it is a pretty low workload overall. 

Availability of prices: They don’t actually quote prices as such, but we recorded the best price available from the main bookmakers on Oddschecker on a Wednesday. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 12%, which is pretty standard for golf and means you will need a large betting bank and quite a bit of patience when following the service. 

Advised Betting Bank: There was no betting bank advised, but we used a 300 point bank, which was never in danger during the trial. 

Subscription costs: Subscription costs are an incredibly low £1.99/month, £6.99/year or £22.99/lifetime.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

Golf Forecast is an innovative betting service that uses an algorithm to generate selections.

It performed very well during our extended seven month trial, generating over 170 points profit at a return on investment of over 100%.

There were a couple of technical issues with the website which was a shame as otherwise this looks to be a high quality service.

Certainly when you bear in mind how cheap it is at just £22.99 for a lifetime subscription, then there is a lot to like about Golf Forecast. 

Presuming the technical issues have been ironed out, we are happy to give it a recommended rating and will watch its progress with interest. 

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

6th November 2016

The Golf Forecast website is still having problems with its security certificate, which is a shame because if you had been able to access their tips then you would have landed at 150/1 winner today in the shape of Thorbjorn Olesen at the Turkish Airlines Open.

That takes them to 173 points up for our trial overall.

You can view full results here.

This shows once again in golf betting how one winner can make such a huge difference.

We hope that they do sort out their security certificate soon so that the website is readily accessible as it seems like they have a decent betting service here. 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

7th October 2016

We have had some problems accessing the Golf Forecast website over the last couple of months due to a security certificate issue.

Therefore we have not been able to record all of their selections.

However, the selections we have recorded unfortunately made a loss of 24 points, taking them to 8 points up overall for the trial.

You can view full results here.

Let’s hope the issues can be sorted out as there have been a few problems with the website since our trial started.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

17th August 2016

Things have moved on steadily for Golf Forecast, who have made 24 points profit since our last update to sit at 32 points in profit for the trial overall.

You can view full results here.

They had a good winner in the shape of Henrik Stenson at the BMW International Open at 10/1 and a good place finish on Ben Martin last week at the John Deere Classic at 125/1.

The only problem we have had so far is that the website does not always update to show you the week’s tips.

That may be because there aren’t any or may be because the system isn’t working properly, but it would be good to know either way and it might be an idea for them to supply the tips by e-mail in future to avoid such issues.

 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – Results Update

26th June 2016

It has been a solid start to our trial of Golf Forecast, a golf tipping service providing selections each week on both the PGA and European Tours.

So far after two months they are 7.5 points in profit.

You can view full results here.

As is normally the case with golf betting, you often go a long time without a winner and need a lot of patience during these periods.

This has been the case here and although we haven’t had a winner yet, we have had a few good placed finishes, most notably Ken Duke at the Players Championship at 50/1 for the place (200/1 for the win).

There were unfortunately some teething problems with the website and some weeks we had trouble finding the tips for the tournaments, but thankfully these issues appear to have been sorted now.

Hopefully we will hit a winner soon, but in the meantime they have done well to be in profit so far.

Back soon with more updates.

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Golf Forecast – New Review

18th April 2016

With the golf season getting into full flow, we recently started a new trial of a golf tipster in the form of Golf Betting Expert.

So we are pleased to have come across another golf tipster of promise to put under the spotlight of a review here at Honest Betting Reviews.

The tipster in question is called Golf Forecast and is a relatively new kid on the block. 

It might be more accurate to describe this as a golf tipping system and stats package rather than just a tipster.

Firstly they have a tips section which highlights a small number of tips that have potential for high profit bets yet with a strong chance of winning. 

Secondly they have a separate section that provides statistics for the main golf tournaments so people can use our data to make their own decisions.

There is also info on the World Golf Rankings and the week’s tournaments.

Things seem to have been good recently with one of their tips for the Masters being Danny Willett.

That was before our trial started of course so can’t be included in our results.

But still, shows some potential.

So without further ado we will kick off our trial of Golf Forecast and will be back soon with our first update on how things are going.

 

 

 

Donkey Lays

Donkey Lays – Final Review

We have reached the end of our three month trial of Donkey Lays and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +37 points profit
Strike Rate:   77%
Bank Growth:   37%
ROI:   9%
Average number of bets:   4-5 bets per day
Cost:   £39.50 per month or £89.50 per quarter
VERDICT:   PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Donkey Lays – Full Review

 

Donkey Lays is a service from the Pro Betting Club stable of tipsters and lays horses to lose in the win and place markets on Betfair. 

Horses are only a selection if the odds are below 4.0 in the place market on Betfair at the off – if they are below 4.0, then you lay them in the win and place market. It’s a case or both or neither. 

Whilst the cut-off of 4.0 does limit the liabilities somewhat, it can still allow horses to be laid in the win market at quite high odds, so a decent sized bank is required if following this service. 

We have been running Honest Betting Reviews for over six years now and have found very few good laying services in that time, with notable exceptions like Little Acorns. 

So when we came across Donkey Lays which had some promising results coming into our trial, we had a mixture of scepticism and hope. 

Scepticism because we have seen many promising laying services in the past that only turned out to be disappointing in the end, but hope that this time might be different…

It is strange in a way that there aren’t more good laying services out there, as in theory it should be possible to make a profit from it in the same way as you can from backing.

In any event, we ran a three month trial of Donkey Lays and in that time there was a good sample size of 428 lay bets.

As we say, some of the lays can be at quite high odds on the win part of the bet and in fact the trial started off with an unsuccessful lay at odds of 18.0, thus dropping 17 points on the very first bet. Not a great start!

Whilst that did not appear to auger well, it was actually the highest unsuccessful lay of the trial and things did improve considerably from there.

In fact we are pleased to report that the trial finished with a profit of 37 points, which is very commendable when you consider it was at one-point level stakes laying. 

As you can see from the graph below, after a tough start they recovered nicely over the rest of the trial:

The only real issue we had was that – as mentioned in our review updates below – there were quite a large number of discrepancies between our results and the official Pro Betting Club ones (via the proofed-tipsters website). 

This was a continual problem throughout our trial and we never really received an adequate explanation from the Pro Betting Club about it. They just said it was “A system error on the proofed tipsters page,” which didn’t really clarify things for us. 

However, in terms of overall results, ours were actually somewhat better than the official ones (+37 points vs +21 points), so we don’t think it was a case of them trying to embellish the results or anything like that. It was just that for some reason the results didn’t appear to be reported accurately at their end. 

That does give us cause for concern as any serious tipping platform or tipster site should be fastidious about the accurate reporting of their results. At the same time though, we don’t think it is fair to criticize Donkey Lays itself for that as the service made a healthy profit during our review.

So we are happy to award the service itself a PASSED rating as one of the very few laying services to have completed a successful review with us over the years, but with a proviso that we hope the Pro Betting Club can ensure the accurate reporting of results going forward.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: You have to log in to the site each morning to find the bets as they are not provided by e-mail. Generally we prefer it when tips are sent by e-mail as it is easier for members and means you are less likely to miss or forget about the tips, but we can understand some services opt for a log-in option as it is less likely for tips to be shared.

In any event, there are an average of 4-5 tips per day and if you are placing them manually you will need to check the place odds close to the off to ensure they are under 4.0. There is a bot you can set up (at extra cost) to place the bets though if you are not around to monitor the races during the day (which we imagine most people won’t be). 

Availability of prices: As Betfair SP is used for recording purposes, there are no issues with obtaining prices. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 77%, which is a very good level and meant lots of winning bets throughout the trial. 

Advised Betting Bank: We couldn’t find a specific betting bank recommended for this service, but used a 100 point betting bank for the purposes of this review. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs at the time of writing are £39.50 per month or £89.50 per quarter.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

In over six years of operating this site we have found very few good laying services, so we are pleased to report that horse racing laying service Donkey Lays finished our three month trial with a profit of 37 points. 

With a high strike rate of 77% and a decent ROI of 9%, the service is worthy of a PASSED rating from us. 

The only issue we had were a number of discrepancies between our results and the official ones, although the official ones actually recorded a lower profit for our trial period so we don’t think it was a case of trying to embellish their results, it just seemed to be some kind of system error. 

In any event, you can’t fault Donkey Lays for that as they just produce the tips, we just hope that the Pro Betting Club can improve their processes and ensure the accurate reporting of results going forward.

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Donkey Lays – Results Update

12th April 2021

It’s been an excellent month for horse racing laying service Donkey Lays, with a profit of 46 points made since our last update.

That means they are also 46 points up for our trial overall.

You can view full results here.

Just a reminder that horses are only a selection with this system if the odds are below 4.0 in the place market at the off. If they are, then you lay the horse in both the win and place markets.

That can mean you are laying at high odds in the win market in some instances (up to 18 so far for example), so a decent sized betting bank is recommended – we would say at least 150-200 points.

Anyway, good work from them over the last month – let’s see if it continues.

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Donkey Lays – Results Update

4th March 2021

After an up and down month and some big fluctuations, horse racing service Donkey Lays is right back where it started – at even for our trial so far.

You can view full results here.

The trial started off in the worst possible fashion with the first lay being unsuccessful at odds of 18.0 – ouch! But they have fought back well, particularly over the last week or so to get themselves back level for our trial.

Just a note that there are couple of small discrepancies between our results and the official results, which we have notified the Pro Betting Club of. These make very little difference to the overall results (just one point in fact), just the odd selection that should/should not have been a qualifier according to the system rules. 

Anyway, let’s see if there’s some positive progress from them over the next month. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Donkey Lays – New Review

4th February 2021

We’ve probably all been there. A horse that runs like it’s only get three legs. Or is moving in quicksand. Or it’s actually a donkey. 

Yep, those wretched selections that look like they couldn’t win a race if they ran every day between now and the next millennium. 

Well the service we are starting a review of today specialises in finding those very horses. Strange, you may say, to target such beasts. But in fact they are betting on these horses to lose – phew! 

Donkey Lays is a service from the Pro Betting Club stable of tipsters and lays horses to lose in the win and place markets on Betfair. 

Horses are only a selection if the odds are below 4.0 in the place market at the off. Whilst that does limit the liabilities somewhat, it can still allow horses to be laid in the win market at 18.0, so a decent sized bank is required if following this service. 

Donkey Lays has been running for five months now on the Pro Betting Club platform and each of those months so far has been profitable:-

  • – January 2021: +31.93 points
  • – December 2020: +16.3 points
  • – November: +46.09 points
  • – October: +28.81 points
  • – September: +44.11 points

So that’s 167 points profit in total.

The lays in the win market have had a 90% strike rate so far and the lays in the place market have had a 67% strike rate. Those are very solid figures and mean a high proportion of successful lays. 

Now we should point out that of all the laying services we’ve tried here at HBR, only one is still standing after passing a trial and that is Little Acorns. 

So it’s a tough discipline to succeed in but Donkey Lays looks promising enough to test out and see if it can break the mould.

Please note we started proofing on 1st February so will record results from then. As ever we will update results here as we go along.

In the meantime you can check out Donkey Lays for yourself here.