This is an archive of ALL betting system reviews including current reviews and final reviews.

ITV Racing Tips

ITV Racing Tips – New Review

Today we are starting a trial of a service we have been meaning to review for a while but that got put back due to the covid-19 pandemic. 

Now though we are pleased to get the trial underway and it’s one we are really looking forward to. The service in question is called ITV Racing Tips and it comes from renowned professional punter Carl Nicholson. 

Carl has been around the racing world for quite a long time and is a very respected name in the industry. We’ve reviewed his services before and he has also published a book setting out his strategy called Value Backing which we would recommend.

His approach over the years has been to focus on the big races as that’s where Carl’s traditionally made most of his profits.

So this service focuses solely on the big races – specifically those that are shown on ITV – hence the name of the service. 

For those outside the UK, just to clarify that ITV is the main terrestrial television station that shows racing in the UK. It shows the big meetings like Royal Ascot, Cheltenham, Newmarket and so on and normally just broadcasts races at the weekend (outside of the big festivals that is). 

The ITV Racing Tips service has been running for a few years now and has racked up some very impressive results indeed:-

  • – 2017: 94 points profit
  • – 2018: 254 points profit
  • – 2019: 166 points profit
  • – 2020 (so far): 73 points profit

So that’s over 580 points profit in just over three years at an impressive return on investment of more than 25%. The strike rate is a very healthy 40% and Carl has had winners at up to 33/1 and 40/1.  

The return on capital (bank growth) so far has been 394% which is excellent going and means those who have been following the service long term have had the chance to really grow their betting banks.  

What’s a real bonus about the service is that because Carl bets solely on the big races shown on ITV, the liquidity is normally excellent on those races and prices should hold up well. Plus the bookies tend to provide lots of bonuses such as Bet 365’s ITV 4/1 offer and extra places etc. 

All in all then there’s a lot to like about this service – let’s just hope we haven’t jinxed it and that results hold up! Fingers crossed anyway. 

We’ll kick things off today and report back soon on how it’s going.

In the meantime you can check out ITV Racing Tips for yourself here. 

 

 

 

soccer ball

Goal Profits – Final Review

It’s been over four years since we originally reviewed football trading service Goal Profits and they’ve added a whole host of new features since then so we thought it was high time for an update.

After having to take a break for coronavirus which disrupted our trial, we have been able to get back in the swing of things and complete our review. 

So here we are with our thoughts on Goal Profits having taken a look at all the new features they’ve added since our original review back in 2016. 

 

Goal Profits – Opening Thoughts

When we started the re-review process, we had wanted to produce some results for our trial, much like we do for the other reviews we do here at Honest Betting Reviews. 

However, having looked at the platform and discussing it with the Goal Profits team, it became apparent that the tools and approaches available to members are so varied and wide-ranging that for us to give results would be pretty much meaningless, as they would be completely different to the results of any other member. Everyone will be using the platform to find different trades in different matches and leagues so a comparison wouldn’t be very meaningful.

And that really leads on to a more general point regarding what Goal Profits is all about – and what it is not. 

In essence Goal Profits is a platform for people to learn how to trade football matches and to then provide them with the tools to find potential trades. It is an educational resource rather than a “tipping” platform in the traditional sense of churning out selections for you to copy.

You have to take the initiative and do some work yourself. Those who are prepared to do so clearly derive a great deal of benefit from the platform – hence all the awards Goal Profits has won, including our very own Best Football Service 2019 as voted for by our members. 

If on the other hand you have limited time to learn how to trade and just want bets or trades sent to you, this probably isn’t the service for you. So it’s important to bear that in mind heading in, but now let’s take a look at the various features of the Goal Profits platform. 

 

Goal Profits Members’ Area

After you have signed up to Goal Profits and logged in, you enter the Members’ Area which looks like this: 

You have the latest news which covers any additions or changes to the platform, new leagues they may have added and upcoming games. 

There is also an update on Chat Room Trades, telling you when professional traders Kevin and Steve will next be trading in the chat room. Finally there are e-mail addresses for you to request support, something Goal Profits is very strong on and are always on hand to offer help and assistance whatever your query. 

 

Getting Started – Launchpad

OK so you’ve signed in and taken a look around. The next place to go to really get started is the Launchpad. This is a training guide where they go through all the essentials of how to trade, discuss the tools on the Goal Profits platform including the Live Stats Module, Custom Shortlist Pro, Team Stats and introduce you to their trading strategies. 

It’s a good idea to take a good deal of time going through the Launchpad – whether you are a complete beginner or an experienced trader. Understanding exactly what’s on offer and how to use it is crucial to getting the most out of the service. 

The Launchpad is broken up into the following sections:

  1. 1. Trading Basics
  2. 2. Trading for Beginners
  3. 3. Intermediate Trading
  4. 4. Advanced Trading

As you can see in the example of Trading Basics below, you simply click to get started and are then taken through everything step-by-step:

There’s quite a lot of info in here on trading mindset and discipline as well, which is a key part of becoming a successful trader and is well worth reading. 

Click here to get access to the Launchpad.

 

Trading Strategies

Next up is the nuts and bolts of the platform – the trading strategies. These are the foundation of everything really as they are how you make use of the vast stats databases and other info in the site.

The trading strategies are covered in the Launchpad section but are also explained in great depth in this section, with any potential trades for the day indicated by the software, a full strategy guide and then an example video at the end. What more could you ask for really! 

There are currently 14 trading strategies included on the platform and without giving too much away most of them revolve around correct scores, trading certain parts of a game if given criteria are met, laying the draw in a particular half if conditions are right and so on. There are also some more advanced strategies involving tactics like going against the crowd and utilising the Asian handicap markets.   

Here’s an example of what the CS3 strategy looks like on the platform: 

 

Most of these strategies don’t involve having to sit in front of your PC for the whole game – in the main they are either strategies just for a specific part of a game or involve closing out a position once a certain score is hit. So you don’t have to worry that it will take up 90 minutes plus for each trade. 

 

Team Stats

OK, so you’ve gone through all the manuals in Launchpad, learned the trading strategies and now you want to start trading. 

Well the place to start is to look at the fantastic stats databases Goal Profits provide. They have made major additions and improvements to these databases as well as adding whole new ones since our original review in 2016 and these are a considerable improvement in our view. They now cover over 60 leagues worldwide. 

First up you have the Team Stats database, which is the overall guide to the day’s fixtures and all the stats on them you could need.

So for example for today we have a fixture coming up between Inter Zaprešić and Dinamo Zagreb. Clicking on the game presents us with a whole host of stats, including:-

  • – Percentage of games for each team with over 0.5 goals, over 1.5 goals, over 2.5 goals etc
  • – Matches where the teams scored at least one goal
  • – Average goals scored and conceded per match
  • – Goals per half
  • – Matches ending with a target score of the strategy CS3 referred to above
  • – And much more

So from that you could easily start finding games you want to trade if they have stand-out stats that show a very strong trend on one of these parameters that isn’t reflected in the odds. 

Click here to get access to all these stats 

 

Custom Shortlist Pro

Following on from Team Stats is Custom Shortlist Pro. This is where you can filter matches by a range of different criteria and build your potential trades from there.

So for example you might want to know matches today where the home team has won the first half at least 50% of the time and the away team has failed to score in the first half more than 50% of the time. 

You can enter these criteria and then the tool will find any matches that meet these specifications:

 

The great thing about it is you can add rows to create additional filters and sort by a whole range of different criteria. It really is a great way of narrowing down your potential trades for the day and saving a lot of time compared to sorting through all the stats manually.  

There’s so much else in the stats section too, including:

  • Compare Teams – pick any two teams and compare them as per the team stats section above
  • Database – the overall numbers analysing over 200,000 matches to give average stats on scores, over/unders, home wins etc
  • Form and trends – by last 5, 10 or 15 games
  • Tim’s Shortlist – GP member Tim’s picks for the day according to his own shortlist filters

So it’s really a treasure trove of info and a real geek’s heaven! 

Convinced? Click here to get your £1 trial

 

League Tables

This is one of our favourite features of Goal Profits and really sets it apart from most of the other footy offerings out there. 

It shows you league tables based on a range of factors you can choose from and then shows you that table, with each team compared to their position in the actual league table.

So for example you might want to know how teams tend to do when going 1-0 up in games. Well you can sort the table by exactly that – here’s the Premier League for example:-

So as you can see from the table, Crystal Palace for example are 6 places above their normal league position in terms of their results when going 1-0 at home, where as Leicester are 4 places worse off and Chelsea 6. 

This is great info for those in-running trades where you might want to take a contra position to the market if you think a team is a weak 1-0 leader in a game and will probably concede. 

You can get league tables by criteria such as results vs bottom half,  home attack v away defence, when level at HT and much more – amazing!

Get access to the League Tables and much more here.

 

Live Stats Module

Most of what we have seen so far concerns looking at stats from completed matches to get a sense of how matches may go. But what stats from matches in-play? 

Well Goal Profits have that covered as well! 

They have a Live Stats Module which provides in-running stats on games including shots, corners, possession etc and even alerts when it’s a good time to enter a trade based on the stats.

This is similar to some other in-play trading scanners but to have it included as part of Goal Profits in addition to everything else you get is very impressive. 

Click here to try Goal Profits for £1.

 

Chat Room

Finally on to perhaps the most important part of the platform in terms of where you can really learn – the Chat Room. This is where you can follow along with the professional traders Kevin and Steve. As mentioned above, they normally mention on the home page when they will next be trading so you can schedule when to be in the room.

Once in the chat room, they say which strategy they are following for a match and any moves they make during a game. Other members also chip in with comments and ideas and it’s also a chance to ask any questions you may have. 

This is where you can see the trading strategies in action and how the pro traders trade them, so as we say it’s a great way to learn and improve your own skills along the way. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT – PASSED

As you can see then the Goal Profits platform is incredibly comprehensive and we haven’t even covered everything here – there are also calculators, a forum, FAQs, Team Twitter lists and more! You would need to write a book really to do it justice. 

Given all the improvements they have made since our original review and the vast offering that’s available to Goal Profits members, we have no hesitation in upgrading this to a PASSED rating. For anyone contemplating becoming a serious football trader, this is the place to start. 

As stated at the outset of this review, this is a service for those who want to put in the time and effort and learn how to become a better trader. It provides you with the education, tools and guidance to do so, but how you use all of that is up to you. Those who put in the work and understand what is on offer clearly love the platform – hence all the awards Goal Profits has won. Its members really value everything they are provided with and derive great benefit from it. 

The only thing we would like to see added is perhaps some alerts sent through Telegram (like Trade On Sports), for those who don’t have the time to study the platform, learn everything and follow matches in-running. That is just our own personal preference and others may argue that is not what Goal Profits is all about. 

Either way though what you can’t argue with is the quality and depth of everything on offer from Goal Profits. It’s the most comprehensive football trading platform out there and has set the benchmark for others to follow.  

And the great news is you can get a 7 day trial for just £1 here. 

 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Goal Profits – Re-Review

19th November 2019

It’s now nearly four years since we reviewed football trading service Goal Profits (see below) when we awarded it a neutral rating.

In that time the service has changed almost beyond recognition, with a whole host of new features and tools added. In addition they have also won numerous awards since our original review, including our very own “Best Football Service 2018” award voted for by you, our members!

So we thought it was only fair to the Goal Profits team that we had another look at the service and checked out all the new features they’ve added to see if we should reevaluate our original rating.

There is no doubt this is the most popular football trading service on the internet and the community seems to absolutely love the offering, so we are really looking forward to getting stuck in and testing it out.

Today then we are launching a “re-review” of Goal Profits and will report back soon on our findings. There is an awful lot to get through so it may take some time but hopefully it will be worth it and we’ll be able to provide some decent insights into what the service is all about and whether it can make you some profits.  

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Goal Profits – Final Review

4th February 2016

We have come to the end of our three month trial of Goal Profits and here are the final results:

 

Profit/loss:   +12 points   
Strike Rate:   33%
Bank Growth:   30%
Cost:  £37 + VAT per month 
ROI:  6%
Average number of tips:   5 per week
VERDICT:  NEUTRAL
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Goal Profits Full Review

 

We have completed our trial of the much-heralded Goal Profits, a suite of systems for trading football matches on the exchanges such as Betfair.

We have to confess to being slightly underwhelmed at the results after three months of testing.

Following the trades of Steve (who runs the service) exactly for 3 months has yielded just 12 points profit over the course of 63 matches traded. 

So that would be nearly 100 hours of trading time to make 12 points profit, which at £10 per point doesn’t quite cover the subscription fees.

Now of course it wouldn’t quite have been 100 hours of trading because you would have been out of some matches before the 90-minute mark, but you get a good idea that lots of time needs to be invested here.

And for that amount of investment, we would like to have seen better results to make it worthwhile.

Here you can see the results for the trial in graph format – a good start followed by a long period of steady decline and then a big jump at the end.

Goal Profits Profit Graph

 

What do you get with Goal Profits?

As we said previously in our results update, there are essentially three different types of trading system included in the Goal Profits package:

  • Lay the Draw strategies
  • “Matrix” systems
  • Correct score strategies

In total you are given 28 potential strategies to trade with Goal Profits.

There are some bold claims made on the Goal Profits website that people trade these systems full-time for a living.

That may very well be true, but for us there needs to be much clearer direction given before we are convinced that anyone who joins can make such profits – or even just good profits.

We would expect there to be very clear instructions given for live trades. For example, an e-mail sent out prior to kick-off saying:

“Lay HT Draw in Liverpool v Chelsea at 2.4 for 1 point”

Then another e-mail after a goal saying:

“Trade out of Liverpool v Chelsea HT Draw market for 0.6 pts profit.”

If they did this across say at least half a dozen systems and these averaged a decent profit of around 5-6 points profit per month each, then we would be more convinced that following their systems can deliver a solid profit each month.

But as is, you can follow Steve’s trades in the forum for the most part and some of Kevin’s, but not the kind of clear, testable service outlined above we would like to see.

So the subscriber is left to test all these other systems for themselves and see what they can achieve.

For us there wasn’t anything in their 28 systems that jumped out as having a clear edge. And some of them are available elsewhere on line for free.

The “Lay the draw” system is well covered for free on the internet and we have our own strategy laid out here.

Plus we detail the “lay the draw at half time” strategy in our Football Betting Secrets manual which is available here.

So for us, whilst this made a profit over the trial, it wasn’t enough to merit a recommended rating and that is likely to remain the case for us unless they set up the kind of service we outlined above.

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: This is a heavy workload service to say the least. You will have to dedicate a considerable amount of time to firstly learning the systems and how they work and then to trading them. 

Availability of prices: The prices Steve records for his systems are generally readily available. The correct score market is the main market you will trade following his methods and it has very good liquidity. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 33%, which is good and you shouldn’t have too many losing trades in a row here.

Advised Betting Bank: We used a 40 point bank for following Steve’s trades which we felt with a fairly good strike rate and 3.2 points risked per trade, would be comfortable and that proved the cae here. However, for each system that you trade you will need either a separate bank (recommended) or to increase the overall size of your bank if using one for all systems. 

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are £37 + VAT per month, which are a little on the high side and there is no introductory offer for people to try for a period (e.g. 1 week or 14 days). 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: NEUTRAL

Overall we can see that a lot of work has gone in to creating a suite of trading strategies here and the owners of the service, Steve and Kevin, are dedicated to their cause.

We would not deride any system that can turn a profit and Steve has managed to do that with his correct score trades, gaining 12 points over the course of our trial.

However, we feel that there is not enough here to give this a passed rating. 

There are 28 systems provided, but excluding the correct score systems, we could not see that the other systems would guarantee a profit over the long term.

If there was a more systematic approach to providing live trading advice for those systems and they proved profitable, we could well be persuaded to change our view on this.

But until then, this goes into the neutral list for us. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Goal Profits – Results Update

11th January 2016

It has taken a little longer than normal to get our first update done on Goal Profits and we apologise for that if you have been waiting for it.

This one has been trickier to review than most systems we trial here at Honest Betting Reviews as there is an awful lot of information to take in – including a number of manuals to read, lots of videos to watch and about 30 potential systems to trade!

So that is probably the first thing to warn you about – if you do sign up to Goal Profits, be prepared to devote quite a lot of time getting to grips with it.

What is Goal Profits actually all about then?

Well Goal Profits is a set of systems for trading football matches on the exchanges such as Betfair. There are essentially three different types of trading system included:

  • Lay the Draw strategies
  • “Matrix” systems
  • Correct score strategies

In terms of the lay the draw strategies, these are widely available for free online – in fact we have done our own guide to lay the draw for your perusal here! 

Looking at the Matrix systems, we had a look through each system but struggled to find anything that either wasn’t available for free elsewhere or had a clearly identifiable “edge” as such.  Why would they make you money? That is the question we always ask with a trading system. There wasn’t an obvious answer for us when looking at those systems.

So that leaves us with the correct score strategies. These are probably the mainstay of Goal Profits and what the service is really about.

There are different methods for trading the correct score markets outlined, but basically they all centre on hitting certain “target scores” where you make a profit if a game finishes in certain scores like 2-3, 3-2, 3-1, 2-2, etc but a loss if it finishes 0-0, 1-0 or 0-1.

We have recorded the results for the main “Batman and Robin” trades that Steve, who runs the service, uses for his own trading.

You can view full results here.

After two months of trading and 50 matches traded, we are 4 points up overall.

Given the amount of time invested in having to be at the computer for the duration of those 50 matches, 4 points seems like quite a low return.

Plus, those are the official results if you have traded just like Steve and got exactly the same results as him. We have not managed to get as good results as these, but have been learning and are getting closer now.

It does take a bit of getting used to and knowing what you should do in each situation when a goal is scored.

So in summary the verdict so far is that the jury is still out on Goal Profits. We have struggled to make a profit after two months and a huge amount of time invested – and even following Steve’s trades exactly you would only be 4 points up.

We have a month to go in the trial so will be interesting to see how things turn out and if we can extract some more profit from this. 

Will be back in a month with our final review. 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Goal Profits – New Review

3rd November 2015

Today we are commencing a review of Goal Profits, a popular football trading product that focuses mainly on the correct score markets on Betfair. 

This is a sister product to Value Football Betting, a service we have reviewed and originally gave a passed rating to but downgraded to a neutral rating after a disappointing run of results.

There are some fairly bold claims made on the sales page of Goal Profits – such as that they can “turn beginners into full-time professionals” and that some of their members “now work part-time because their trading profits provide enough income.”

The guy who runs the service, Steve Brown, also claims that “my correct score trading strategies and exclusive Team Statistics software have changed the way football matches are researched and traded for profit.”

Well that is perhaps the boldest claim of all, because it is one thing to say people make a living out of trading systems and another thing to say you have changed way the market is traded, particularly with a massive worldwide website such as Betfair!

Their claims appear to be backed up by something though, as they have won a number of awards for being the best trading product in their field.

Goal Profits

So we are intrigued to find out what all the fuss is about and whether they can live up to their bold claims. At the end of the day, when you strip away all the hype and layers of theory and padding, any system ultimately comes down to results. 

A lot of trading systems we have come across rely on either unrealistic amounts needed to trade on markets without enough liquidity, are so ridiculously complicated that it would take a degree in trading to comprehend them, or rely on super-fast trading out.

Hopefully that won’t be the case here and trading strategies will be more sensible.

Anyway, the key question is can they produce consistent profits month-in month-out. Well our trial will endeavour to find out. 

In the meantime you can check out Goal Profits here.

 

 

 

USA Profit Club

USA Profit Club – Final Review

Well here we are once again having to finish a review early…it isn’t the first time and certainly won’t be the last either. In this case it’s because we have stopped receiving tips and it looks like the service has been discontinued. 

We started a review of the USA Profit Club during the lockdown when racing in the UK and Ireland had been called off. Racing was continuing in the US so it seemed like a good time to test out some US-based services. 

This one had some promising results on its sales pages so we gave it a go. 

Sadly from the off the results were disappointing however, with losses mounting up early and things never really recovered. Then in early June they started spamming us with emails for other services they were promoting instead of sending us their tips. There were reports from other members of not receiving tips even when we were.

We haven’t received any tips for over three weeks now and have had no response to our emails chasing up a response. It looks like the writing is on the wall then and the service has been discontinued. 

So it’s a FAILED/DEFUNCT rating from us for USA Profit Club unfortunately. It would be good to find some profitable American racing services as there are a real dearth of them out there, but sadly this was not to be one. 

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

USA Profit Club – Results Update

8th June 2020

It’s been a tricky start to our trial of American racing tipster USA Profit Club, with a loss of 23 points made so far at advised prices after just over one month. 

You can view full results here.

At Tote SP it is a similar story, with 21 points lost for our trial to date. 

It would be nice to have a profitable US racing tipster to add to our list of Winning Systems but so far the search is proving elusive. Let’s hope for some better news by the time of our next update.

 

 

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

USA Profit Club – New Review

3rd May 2020

With the lockdown continuing and no confirmed date for the restart for racing in Britain and Ireland, if we want a punt on the gee gees we can only turn our attention to those countries who have managed to continue running their racing schedules.

One such place is America, where racing has carried on unabated by the COVID-19 crisis. Courses like Tampa Bay Downs and Gulfstream Park are still holding high-quality race meetings, giving punters an alternative to follow during these sport-starved times.

So today we turn to a promising US horse racing called USA Profit Club. The service is run by a guy called Simon Pettit and the service covers all the daily racing across the USA from Gulfstream in Florida to Santa Anita Park in California and everywhere in between.

It’s a simple win tips service with 1 point win bets placed on each selection and around 4 bets per day on average. The tips are sent daily between midday – 3pm UK time each day (so that’s 7am to 10am ET in the US) . 

The results posted on their website look very impressive, with over 400 points profit apparently made since January 2019 and a profit made in 13 out of 15 months so far.

At £20 per bet Simon says he made a nice tax-free sum of £6,435.20 from his betting last year.

That all sounds very good, but as ever the proof of the pudding will be in the eating so let’s see how the service gets on under live trial conditions. 

The good news is they have a good offer of getting the tips for a minimum of 60 days (or until UK Racing returns if longer than 60 days) all for a one time fee of just £30.

We started receiving tips yesterday so will record results from then and will update progress here. 

In the meantime you can check out USA Profit Club for yourself here. 

 

 

 

trident racing pic

Trident Racing – Final Review

We were just about coming to the end of our trial of Trident Racing but before we could wrap up our review in the normal way, we have been forced to do so anyway as it appears the service has been discontinued. 

We have not received any tips since before the covid-19 break and the service is no longer listed on the WAP Tipsters website, so it looks like the writing is on the wall. 

They were 38 points down for our trial to advised prices, so were struggling to make the grade in any event. However, with the service no longer operational it is a clear FAILED/DEFUNCT rating from us. 

As we say so often in this game, it is very tough to make a long-term profit and only a very select few elite tipsters can do so. Countless tipsters fail to make it and fall by the wayside. This is another such tipster unfortunately. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Trident Racing – Results Update

3rd April 2020

It’s been a tricky time for Trident Racing since our last update, with 11 points lost at advised prices in that period. 

That means they are now 38 points down for our trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

A similar picture at Betfair SP with 11 points lost since our last update and 49 points lost for our trial overall. 

The BHA are apparently making plans for UK flat racing to recommence on 1st May behind closed doors with jumps racing to return on 1st July. How viable these plans are remains to be seen but it would be good to see racing back next month, presuming it can be done safely of course and with all the correct health procedures in place. 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Trident Racing – Results Update

28th February 2020

A small dip over the last month for Trident Racing, with 7 points lost at advised prices since our last update at the end of January. 

That means they are now 27 points down for our trial overall at advised prices.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP it is a similar story, with 6 points lost since our last update which puts them 38 points down for our trial overall at BSP.

The trial started well but unfortunately has gone into reverse over the last couple of months so let’s see if they can turn things around. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Trident Racing – Results Update

29th January 2020

It’s been a little bit of a tricky month for Trident Racing, with 26 points lost at advised prices since our last update at the end of December. 

That means they are now 20 points down for our trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP the picture is slightly worse, with 26 points also lost since our last update and 32 points lost for our trial overall. 

Let’s hope for some better news by the time of our next update and a move back into profit. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Trident Racing – Results Update

29th December 2019

A bit of a step backwards this month for Trident Racing, with a loss of 17 points at advised prices since our last update.

That means they are now 6 points up for our trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they have lost 16 points since our last update and are now 6 points down for our trial overall. 

So a bit of a backwards move but nothing too significant and plenty of time to get things back on track as we move into the new year. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Trident Racing – Results Update

27th November 2019

It’s been a solid start to our trial of Trident Racing, with 23 points profit made so far to advised prices after one month of following the tips.

You can view full results here.

At Betfair SP they are also moving along steadily, with 10 points profit made for our trial so far. 

Just a note to say that there was some kind of issue with the e-mails so we didn’t start receiving tips until 25th October rather than 10th October when our review was set up. 

In any event all is working well now and as we say the results have started in a positive fashion.

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Trident Racing – New Review

10th October 2019

We have just come across a new tipster platform which looks quite interesting called WAP Tipsters. 

They have a number of tipsters across various sports including golf, horse racing and greyhounds. 

To start off we are going to take a look at one of their horse racing tipsters, Trident Racing. 

We often say the most significant factor when looking at a tipster is their longevity and this one has been around for quite some time – over five years in fact having started up in 2014. 

Since then they have made an impressive 750 points profit at a very respectable ROI of 16% and with a strike rate of 22%.

The tips are provided by a guy named Rob who is 53 and lives in Scotland with his wife and two children, but is originally from Surrey.

He has been betting on the horses for over 25 years and got into racing around age 12 listening to his dad place bets on the phone. 

After falling ill in the 1990s Rob started logging horse racing results along with the stats about the individual horses and was finding he was having very good results. 

Since then he has honed his skills and now selects mainly handicaps and pattern Races, narrowing the fields down to 2-3 runners if possible and watching replays of past races. 

He doesn’t select odds-on shots and always look for value, generally looking above 9/4 selections. 

The long-term profit graph looks very good so we are looking forward to get a trial of this one underway. We will update results here during the review so you can see how things are going. 

In the meantime you can check out Trident Racing from WAP Tipsters here.

 

 

 

 

soccer pic

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – 15 Month Update

We have been following JK Diego’s Draw Betting System for 15 months now so thought it would be a good time for an update.

In our original review (see below), we awarded the service a PASSED rating and 4.5 stars after it produced $4366 profit over a six month trial. 

So how has it done since then? 

Well we are pleased to report it has continued to perform admirably and is now over $10,000 up to $100 flat stakes since we started following the service 15 months ago. 

You can view full results here.

Those are some of the best results we’ve seen from a footy tipster over a sustained period so we are more than happy to continue with our passed rating and 4.5 stars recommendation for JK Diego’s Draw Betting System. 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

It’s undoubtedly one of the most consistent and profitable football strategies we’ve come across from the hundreds of systems we’ve tested in all our years of soccer betting. 

Update Notes

Just a note on a couple of amendments to our original review, as the service has evolved over the time since then.

In our original review we found that cashing out at 85 minutes produced the best results, although now having a much bigger sample size of over 1600 bets, it appears that there isn’t much difference between letting the bets run to full time and cashing out. It was probably the case that we experienced an unusually high number of late goals in our original review which wasn’t maintained over a longer period.  

The other issue to note with cashing out is that where selections aren’t available on Betfair and you use bookies to place your bets, often you don’t get great value for cashing out. This is an area where the bookies have quite a high mark up and don’t tend to give a fair deal to punters, which is a shame.

On the other hand cashing out does shorten the losing runs, so some people prefer that (please note on our spreadsheet we use average cash-out odds of 1.25-1.29 at 85 mins based on Betfair exchange odds but bookies’ cash-out odds may be worse).   

Another point to note is that in our original review we had cautioned against using the increasing stake system on the basis that the losses could get out of hand. Whilst we would still maintain flat stakes – or a percentage of your bank – is the best way of following the service, JK has recently set out a stop-loss approach for the increasing stake system that at least limits the losses and makes it more manageable. 

It could therefore be something to consider and the profits would be over $20,000 for the increasing stake system over the last 15 months, although a larger starting bank would be needed as well. 

Anyway, whichever way you follow the service JK Diego’s Draw Betting System has continued to demonstrate a clear edge over the market for over 15 months now and maintains a definite “thumbs up” from us!

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – Final Review

2nd August 2019

We have reached the end of our six month trial of JK Diego’s Draw Betting System and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +$4366
Strike Rate:  44%
Bank Growth:  87%
ROI:  7%
Average number of bets:  3-4 per day
Cost:  $175/week or $497/month
VERDICT:  PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – Full Review

 

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System is a football tipping service that purely backs the draw in soccer matches around the world. 

It has been causing quite a stir in the betting world with some quite remarkable results achieved, with over 350 points profit to 1-point level stakes in 2018. It appears to be the first time for quite a while a tipster has found a way to make a sustainable and substantial profit from betting on football. 

The theory behind betting on the draw in football matches is that it is vastly under-bet, as the great majority of people want to bet on one team or the other to win a game. As we have discussed previously, there is value to be found in backing the draw, which this article confirms. 

From that starting point, JK Diego has crunched the numbers for over 8 years, refining his strategy of betting on the draw and identifying the key factors to focus on. Through all this work he seems to have perfected his approach.

Results

So that’s the theory, but how did it get on in practice?  

We ran an extended six month trial that encompassed a very good sample size of over 660 bets. 

There are different ways suggested for following the tips, with the main three below and their results:

  • – Backing all the tips at level stakes = $822 profit
  • – Backing them with level stakes but trading the games out at 85 minutes if they are drawing at that point = $4,366 profit
  • – Backing the tips with a staking-recovery method of increasing your stake by 1.5x until you hit a winner and then starting again = $8,992 profit. [You can see full results for this here].

Although it might look like the third method was the best, when you take the risk factor and betting bank required into account, the second method was in fact by far the best. 

The problem with the increasing stake system is that if you get a long losing run the stakes can end up getting completely out of hand. At one stage during our trial there was a 17-bet losing streak, which meant by the 18th bet you would have been staking over $19,000 on the match and would have been $37,000 down by that stage.

Suffice to say if you are going to follow that method it would be advisable to have a bank of at least $100,000 and even that could be at risk if a really bad run of say 20 losers in a row was hit. Plus you could struggle to get your bets on at those kind of stakes, particularly in the more obscure leagues that JK sometimes tips in. 

So overall we couldn’t recommend the increasing-stake system and would suggest using level stakes – or alternatively betting a fixed percentage of your bank on each bet (e.g. 2% of your betting bank on each tip). 

Then in terms of whether to just place the bets and let them run or to trade them out, during our review it was clear that trading them out at 85 minutes (if the match is drawing) was the better option. 

Here is the profit graph for the trading-out method. Although there was a dip halfway through, overall it was very good growth:

Not only did the trading-out generate an extra $3,500 profit to $100 stakes, but the strike rate was also higher at 44% versus 33% for letting them run. 

It is also much less wearing on the nerves as you don’t have to suffer those agonising injury-time goals that ruin your bet after having sat through 90 minutes of thinking you were going to have a winner!  

Achieving over $4,000 profit to $100 stakes at a 44% strike rate is obviously fantastic going, particularly in football betting which is notoriously difficult. 

However, it does come at a price with a very high subscription cost of $497 per month. 

It is understandable that JK charges this amount, as there is huge demand for his tips given his record and if they were much cheaper, the odds on his tips would crash – particularly in the more obscure leagues he often tips in. 

But in reality it means you need to have a big enough bank to make it worthwhile following the tips once you have taken subscription costs into account.

So we think a betting bank of at least $5,000 would be needed if backing at $100 stakes. 

If you have that kind of betting bank available then JK Diego is one of the best football tipsters we have ever come across and deserves his plaudits for having made a valuable breakthrough in the world of football betting. 

On that basis it is a definite PASSED rating from us for JK Diego’s Draw Betting System. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: The tips are normally sent out early in the morning UK time.  With an average of 3-4 bets per day there is a little bit of work involved in following the service, but not too much by any means. 

Availability of prices: JK doesn’t include advised odds with his tips but we used generally available prices for our results and included Betfair prices where available.   

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 44% for trading out the drawing games at 85 minutes, which is very good. If just letting the games run the strike rate was 33%. 

Advised Betting Bank: No betting bank is advised for following the service, but we think given the strike rate and losing runs, a 50 point bank would be reasonable at flat stakes. 

Subscription costs: As discussed, the subscription costs are high, but understandably so,  at $175 per week or $497 per month. 

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System produced excellent results of over $4300 profit to $100 stakes over our six month trial if trading the games out at 85 minutes. 

With an excellent strike rate of 44%, this receives a clear PASSED rating. The subscription costs are high however so you need to have sufficient funds available to make it worthwhile. If you have the necessary funds available though this is undoubtedly a top service.

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – Results Update

1st July 2019

It’s been a huge roller coaster over the last month for JK Diego’s Draw Betting System, with some big ups and downs during the course of June.

In the end one-point level staking finished one point up, meaning JK is now 13 points up at one-point level stakes for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

The real story of the month though was the increasing-stake system, which with a disastrous run of 17 consecutive losses culminated in what we had been warning about previously. The staking got to a colossal $19,919 by the 18th match. Not to mention that you would have been over $39,000 down by that stage!

Yes thankfully the 18th bet did win, netting over $37,000 profit, but the question is: would you have been able to get your stake on by that stage – and perhaps more pertinently – would you have any of your betting bank left? 

This for us is proof that any form of loss-recovery doesn’t really work – eventually you hit a point where you can’t afford it anymore or you can’t get your bets on. In essence, it’s the reason the Martingale system is so infamous in gambling circles. 

So we hope everyone following JK’s picks will now be using flat staking or something akin to it, if they weren’t already after our warnings. 

As for the trading out option, it didn’t have such a great month in June losing 7 points, but is still considerably outpacing letting it run, with 30 points profit made for our trial overall versus 13 for letting it run (all flat staking). You can see full workings for the trade-out option here. 

Anyway, with just one month left in our review, let’s hope it finishes in style. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – Results Update

1st June 2019

A small decline for JK Diego’s Draw Betting System at level staking since our last update, with a loss of 3 points made. 

That means at level staking he is now 12 points up for our trial overall.

You can view full results here.

JK’s increasing stake system (which is a form of loss-recovery whereby you start with $20 and then stake 1.5 times more each time until you hit a winner) has had another excellent month with a profit of $2,614 made and $6,783 profit amassed for our trial overall.

As we say each time however, you would need a huge bank and nerves of steel if following the increasing stake system (without trading out). 

The trading out at 85 mins option continues to significantly outpace letting it run, with another 11 points profit made at level stakes since our last update and 37 points profit made overall, versus 12 points in total for letting it run, so a 25 point difference (or $2,500 if using $100 flat stakes). You can see full workings for the trade-out option here. 

As we mentioned last time, if you are using JK’s staking system then trading at 85 mins would be a good option as it would reduce the losing streaks and mean you don’t have to stake as high. 

So the returns have been quite variable depending on which system you are using but overall for our trial all the staking systems are well in profit. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – Results Update

1st May 2019

More profits for JK Diego’s Draw Betting System, with another 5 points profit added at 1-point level stakes since our last update.

That means we are now 15 points up for our trial overall at 1-point level stakes.

You can view full results here.

JK’s increasing stake system (which is a form of loss-recovery whereby you start with $20 and then stake 1.5 times more each time until you hit a winner) has had an excellent month with a profit of $2139 made and $4169 profit amassed for our trial overall.

As we said last time however, you would need a huge bank and nerves of steel if following the increasing stake system. 

However, if you combined JK’s staking system with the trade-out at 85 minutes option, you would not have had to endure such long losing runs and therefore not had to increase your stakes as much as if letting it run. 

For example with the horror run back in February when there were 14 losers in a row, using the increasing stake system you would have had to stake over $5,000 on the 15th match.

However, if trading out at 85 mins, you would have had two winners during that run and only had to go up to stakes of $345, making it much more manageable. 

So combining the two would appear to be a decent option, although as we say you would still need a sizable bank for this. 

The trading out at 85 mins is still outpacing letting it run overall, although not as much as previously, with an extra 12 points having been made at 1-point level stakes from trading the games out throughout our trial. You can view the full workings on that here.

One staking option we have not assessed yet is progressive staking (e.g. risk 2% of your bank on each selection) and we think ultimately that could prove the most powerful approach over the long run, but it would take some time to work out the figures on that.

In any event, results to date have continued to be very good whichever option you use so this is still looking like one of the best football systems we have encountered in a long time.  

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – Results Update

1st April 2019

A very small loss of 1 point at level stakes for JK Diego’s Draw Betting System since our last update a month ago. 

That means he is now 10 points up for our trial overall at 1-point level stakes.

You can view full results here.

It has been a much better month using JK’s increasing stake system (which is a form of loss-recovery whereby you start with $20 and then stake 1.5 times more each time until you hit a winner), with a profit of $2106 made since our last update and $2030 profit made for our trial overall.

As we said last time however, you would need a huge bank and nerves of steel if following the increasing stake system. 

However, the really big news is that we have discovered a way of following the selections that would have produced significantly more profit.  

On JK’s website it says:

“Since late goals are common in soccer, you can always choose to cash-out your winnings, e.g. in the 85th minute, to secure a game that is currently in a tie but a late goal is likely.”

So we took a look at this and crunched the numbers on all the games since our live trial started, as if you had traded them out at 85 mins (if they are drawing at that time) rather than letting them run to full-time.

And guess what? 

It produced a HUGE increase in profit, bringing in a whopping 35 points profit for our trial so far at level stakes, compared to just ten points if letting the games run. So that’s an extra 25 points profit, or £2,500 if backing at £100 level stakes.*

Not only that, but it increased the strike rate from 34% to 47%, meaning more winners, shorter losing streaks and a lot less frustration from having a goal go against you in the 95th minute!

You can check out our full workings on the trade out option here. (Please note the trade-out figures are based on backing at average odds of 3.05 and trading out at 1.25).

We will continue to monitor this for the remainder of our trial. However, it seems a “no-brainer” really to use this approach given all the advantages and increased profit. 

Most games you can trade out on Betfair, but some games are not available on Betfair due to being in obscure leagues, so for those ones you will either need a bookie that has a cash-out option, which most of them do these days, or to dutch both teams to win for the relevant amounts.  

Anyway, we thought that update would be helpful if you are following the service and means this system – one of the most promising football ones we have come across in some time – could be even more profitable! 

 

*previously this was estimated at 42 points profit, but this probably overestimated the trade out value at 158, whereas 144 seems more accurate as a trade out value.

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – Results Update

1st March 2019

It’s been a very good start to our trial of JK Diego’s Draw Betting System, with 11 points profit made so far to 1-point level stakes.

You can view full results here.

Using JK’s increasing stake system (which is a form of loss-recovery whereby you start with $20 and then stake 1.5 times more each time until you hit a winner, then go back to the beginning), so far a loss of $76 has been made.

Regular followers will know we are not big fans of loss-recovery systems and this was illustrated early on in our trial when JK hit a 14-bet losing streak, which meant by the 15th bet you would have had to stake $5902 if following that approach. 

Thankfully that 15th bet won, but it demonstrates that if you are going to follow the loss-recovery system you need a very large bank – and nerves of steel! 

We have been using level staking however and that has been much more comfortable and working very well. Even with the bad run early on, JK has fought back valiantly and the results are living up to our expectations so far. As we said at the outset, most footy services would be delighted with 20-30 points profit in a year to 1-point level stakes and JK has managed 11 points already in just a few weeks.

We can see this is potentially an overlooked area of gambling to bet solely on the draw in certain leagues with certain teams and there does seem to be an edge over the bookies – although of course it is still too early in our review to make any firm conclusions. 

It is worth also mentioning that the free tips JK sent out for Chinese New Year made a nice 4 points profit at level stakes or $629 using the loss-recovery staking – you can view those results in the second tab of our results spreadsheet at the bottom.

And free tips he has sent since then have made a further 7 points or $309 profit, although some of those are JK sending out a sample of his main tips so aren’t to be counted “double” as such. 

As we said at the outset, this service is for high rollers only, as the subscription costs are high at $497/month or $175/week, so you need a large bank to be able to bet at high enough levels to cover the subscription fees. 

Anyway, the bottom line is we have been impressed with this so far and let’s hope for more of the same going forward. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

JK Diego’s Draw Betting System – New Review

1st February 2019

Occasionally something comes along that makes you think “this could be special” and today’s new review is one of those occasions. In fact we would say we haven’t been so excited about a new system for quite a while. 

That is because when you look at the results for JK Diego’s Draw Betting System (or as he also refers to it – “Get Rich Soccer Betting”), you will be blown away. 

The headline figures are that he made over $100,000 profit in 2018, which on its own is pretty incredible. 

That would be staking at quite high levels however, but even those starting with $20 stakes and using the advised staking would have been making around $2,000 profit per month on average.

Breaking it down further, we crunched the numbers (which took quite some time!) and found that even just at 1 point level stakes the profits for last year were over 350 points. 

That is pretty much unheard of in football betting, where if someone makes 20-30 points profit to 1 point level stakes in a year it is considered very good. 

We have been wracking our brains here at HBR trying to think of any football service that has delivered anything close to this and to be honest we can’t think of anything. 

So what’s the service all about and how has JK managed such great results?

Well as the title suggests, it is all about betting on the draw in football matches. JK has crunched the numbers for over 8 years refining his strategy and seems to have perfected it. 

As we have discussed previously, there is value to be found in backing the draw which this article in the Guardian confirms. 

But JK has taken it even further and managed to achieve a 43% strike rate on his draw picks at an average price 3.15. 

So if you are winning nearly half your bets at odds of over 2/1, you are talking about a hell of a lot of profit!

Now given such fantastic results, it is not surprising that JK Diego has had to take action to protect the prices of his picks and therefore subscription prices do not come cheap. 

However, if you have a large enough bankroll then the subscription fees would have been comfortably covered by the profits made to date. Plus there are also weekly and daily trial options so you can dip your toe in the water before deciding to take up a full monthly subscription. 

They are also running a free tips Challenge at the moment to try and make $500 profit by the Chinese New Year, so you can get those by signing up for e-mails on the website. 

We have been following the free tips and they have made $322 profit so far after 7 days, so very much living up to expectations. 

We are really looking forward to reviewing this service because as we say, if its previous results can be repeated during our trial then we are talking about something pretty special. 

So please check back here for updates on how the trial is going as we will be updating results regularly. 

In the meantime you can check out JK Diego’s Draw Betting System here. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bonus Accumulator

Bonus Accumulator – New Review

Whilst we are all waiting for sport to get going again properly, you may be wondering if there is anything worth betting on or if you should hold on to your cash and wait it out. 

Now the last thing we would normally recommend is that you turn to playing casinos. That is pretty much the fastest way to the poor house and is the domain of the “mug punter” – exactly the opposite of what we are aiming to do with this website in helping people profit from their betting. 

However, there is a way you can completely reverse the tables and turn casinos into a potential money-making machine for you and that is what we are going to look at now. 

Yes the service we are going to look at today is called Bonus Accumulator and it focuses on using all the casinos’ offers and bonuses to try and extract a profit. It comes from the team behind the very successful Profit Accumulator service, which we have reviewed previously and awarded a resounding passed rating to. 

There are literally hundreds of casino offers out there, with the potential to make hundreds or even thousands of pounds from them. It can really be quite lucrative if done right.

However, the offers have varying degrees of value. Some offers sound good in theory but once you read the small print aren’t quite so good. 

What Bonus Accumulator does is bring all these offers together in one place, explain how to do them, what the risks and catches are and also allows you to track your progress as you go along.

Even for seasoned gamblers like ourselves who have had bookies accounts for years and done a lot of the casino signup offers already, there is still the potential of many other offers, which is one of the things we are going to look at in our review.

Anyway, we will kick things off now and will report back soon on how we have got on.

Bonus Accumulator are currently doing a special offer of 50% off the first month which you can check out here.

 

 

 

Speedform pic

Speedform – Final Review

Speedform is a speed and form ratings service for UK horse racing. 

Ratings services are a longstanding feature of horse racing and provide a way for punters to compare horses based on a range of factors and to see how they line up for a race today. Ratings platforms such as Timeform and Raceform have been around for many years and proved popular with aspiring punters. Speedform focuses on the metric of speed but utilises other factors in its ratings calculations too. 

The Speedform ratings service is pretty simple to use and after signing up you get access to the daily ratings and their key metrics. 

We followed the ratings for just under three months, using a strict criteria:-

– Backing the top rated SF (the speed rating) horse when the rating is clear by 5 points
– Odds between 5.0 and 26.0 at BSP
– Only horses that have run within the last 30 days

We weren’t able to follow the ratings every day due to other commitments but that was OK, they are not “tips” as such so you can use them as and when you are able to.

Using the above criteria we did struggle however, finishing with a loss of 76 points after around 300 selections. 

In this instance we don’t feel it is appropriate to give a final “verdict” as such as there are multiple different ways you can use the ratings and we only tested one, so people using different strategies may have done better than us. But at the same time based on using the criteria listed above we couldn’t recommend the ratings at the moment either. 

We would like to see an option for e-mail selections to be sent out if you select certain criteria as that would make things much easier and user-friendly, so we hope such an option is added in future. It would also be useful to run various strategies in a “test mode” to see if they work and to find optimal use of the ratings, which at the moment would all have to be done manually. 

Anyway, as we say we aren’t able to give a definitive verdict on the Speedform ratings for now but unfortunately using the criteria described above we did finish with quite a considerable loss for our trial. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Speedform – Results Update

11th February 2020

Speedform is a ratings and form guide service for UK horse racing based on speed ratings. We have been following the ratings for just over two months now, using a strict criteria:-

  • – Backing the top rated SF (the speed rating) horse when the rating is clear by 5 points
  • – Odds between 5.0 and 26.0 at BSP
  • – Only horses that have run within the last 30 days

We haven’t been able to follow the ratings every day due to other commitments but that is OK, they are not “tips” as such so you can use them as and when you are able to.

It’s been a rough time recently though, with 49 points lost since our last update a month ago. 

That means we are now 57 points down for our trial overall. 

You can get full results here.

As mentioned last time, there have been quite a few seconds, including a number at decent odds, so the picture could be quite different right now.

As it is though things have been a struggle so let’s see if they can turn things around over the next few weeks. 

 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Speedform – Results Update

10th January 2020

Speedform is a ratings and form guide service for UK horse racing based on speed ratings. We have been following the ratings for just over a month now, using a strict criteria:-

  • – Backing the top rated SF (the speed rating) horse when the rating is clear by 5 points
  • – Odds between 5.0 and 26.0 at BSP
  • – Only horses that have run within the last 30 days

We haven’t been able to follow the ratings every day due to other commitments but that is OK, they are not “tips” as such so you can use them as and when you are able to. 

Anyway, so far we are 8 points down to 1-point level stakes. 

You can get full results here.

There have been quite a few second places so we could be in profit if just a couple of those had come in, but of course that is betting for you. 

The ratings are easy to use and it only takes 10-15 minutes each day to find the selections and place the bets. 

In any event, let’s hope a few of those seconds start turning into firsts by the time of our next update. 

 

 

 

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Speedform – New Review

3rd December 2019

We have something a little different for you today here at Honest Betting Reviews. 

We are taking a look at a service called Speedform, which is a speed and form ratings service for UK horse racing. 

Ratings services are a longstanding feature of horse racing and provide a way for punters to compare horses based on a range of factors and to see how they line up for a race today. Ratings platforms such as Timeform and Raceform have been around for many years and proved popular with aspiring punters. 

One aspect of ratings which has grown in ubiquity is rating horses based on their speed. In simple terms this means recording the time it takes for a horse to complete a race of a given distance and comparing it to the time taken by other horses to complete the same distance. 

Speed ratings are largely an American idea, popularised by Andrew Beyer in a number of very technical and in-depth books, the most famous of which is Beyer on Speed. 

Although not exactly a light read which you’d take with you on holiday, Beyer’s seminal work explained in great detail how the speed of horses is a very important, but largely overlooked, factor in horse racing. Speed ratings demonstrated they could be very profitable if used in the right way and therefore become very popular.  

The Speedform website explains the value of speed ratings quite well:-

“Most casual punters will simply look at the finishing positions of the horses in a race to determine the likely winner, but this often does not tell the whole story….

For instance, say we have a 7f race at Kempton, Horse A won it’s last race and Horse B came 4th, both over the same course and distance as today and carrying the same weight, Horse A is the obvious winner right?.

Wrong. Because if we look at the speed ratings the horses achieved in those races, Horse A achieved a speed rating of 86 compared to Horse B’s rating of 91, which means although Horse A won it’s race, that race was run in a slower time than Horse B’s race, so although Horse B only managed to come 4th, it covered the 7f in a quicker time, so all other things been equal Horse B should beat Horse A today.”

Just using speed ratings on their own isn’t a surefire way to success of course, but when used in the right context and in combination with other form factors, is a potential way to gain an edge on other punters. 

What really piqued our interest was the past results on the website, which show for instance:

  • – 581 points profit (BSP) from 2849 runners (ROI: 20%) for backing horses to a given criteria
  • – A profit of 95 points (BSP) from 546 runners (ROI: 17%) when backing at odds of 4/1 or less in given criteria
  • – A lay profit of 731 points (to early prices) to a morning price of 6/1 or less when laying to certain criteria. 

So very strong results there and well worth investigating further to see if they hold up in a live trial. 

With a ratings service like this of course it is all about how you use the ratings, so people will get different results depending on how they use the ratings.

What we will aim to do is give an overview of the service and then also provide a sample of results from following the criteria that gave the 581 points profit at BSP mentioned above (which was over about an 18 month period).

So we will kick off a review today and will report back soon on how things are going.

In the meantime you can check out Speedform for yourself here.

 

 

 

 

 

greyhound maestro pic

Greyhound Maestro – Final Review

We have reached the end of our seven month trial of Greyhound Maestro and here are the final results:-

 

Profit/Loss:  +73 points
Strike Rate:  29%
Bank Growth:  73%
ROI:  17%
Average number of bets:  1-2 per day
Cost:  Free for 1st 14 days then £33/month or £75/quarter
VERDICT:  PASSED
Rating:

 

You can view full results here.

 

Greyhound Maestro – Full Review

 

It’s been a while since we reviewed a greyhound service here at Honest Betting Reviews and in over five years we have only found one profitable one, Premier Greyhound Tips.

So it was good to get stuck into another promising greyhound service and we ran an extended seven month trial to get a really thorough look at Greyhound Maestro, from the Bet Hub tipster platform

We are pleased to say that after our extensive review it produced an excellent 73 points profit at a return on investment of 17%

The strike rate was a solid 29% so there were a decent proportion of winners and with just 1-2 bets per day it’s a very simple service to follow. 

It was also very consistent and they were never in deficit at any stage of our trial as you can see below:

So pretty steady growth as demonstrated in the graph, which matches the longer-term picture prior to our trial of solid profit building over a long period of time. 

And the really great news is that greyhound racing is still going during the coronavirus so you can follow the service right now! (Update 25th March – please note UK greyhound racing has been suspended for the time being. News of a planned recommencement date is awaited).  

Overall then we are pleased to award Greyhound Maestro a PASSED rating after an impressive trial and it’s nice to finally have a second profitable greyhound service. 

 

Service Breakdown

Ease of use: The tips are sent out via e-mail usually early in the morning but sometimes later in the day. With an average of just 1-2 bets per day it’s a very simple service to follow. 

Availability of prices: We didn’t notice any real pressure on prices during our trial so you should be able to match the published results fairly closely. 

Strike rate: The strike rate for the trial was 29% which is pretty solid and meant there was a steady stream of winners. 

Advised Betting Bank: We couldn’t find a recommended bank for the service but would imagine a 100 point bank would be more than sufficient for following the service and that is what we used for this trial.  

Subscription costs: The subscription costs are free for the first 14 days then £33 per month or £75 per quarter, which is pretty reasonable considering the consistency of the results.

 

OVERALL VERDICT: PASSED

In over five years of running Honest Betting Reviews we have only found one profitable greyhound service so it is really good to have finally found another one. 

With an excellent profit of 73 points made with a strong return on investment of 17% and very steady and consistent profits throughout our trial, Greyhound Maestro gets a definite PASSED rating. 

And the really good news is greyhound racing is still going on whilst just about every other sport is cancelled during the coronavirus, so you can join and get betting right now! (Update 25th March– please note UK greyhound racing has been suspended for the time being. News of a planned recommencement date is awaited). 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Greyhound Maestro – Results Update

17th January 2020

Not much change for the Greyhound Maestro over the last month, with a small loss of 3 points since our last update back in December. 

That means they are now 39 points up for our trial overall at advised prices. 

You can view full results here.

We’ve now been following this service for five months so next month we will be wrapping up the review. Hopefully we’ll see a big push towards the end and some nice profits to finish. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Greyhound Maestro – Results Update

10th December 2019

A slight drop lately for Greyhound Maestro, with a loss of just 2 points since our last update.

That means they are now 42 points up for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

Tips are normally sent out early in the morning which gives a good deal of time to get the bets on and with an average of 1-2 bets per day it’s a very simple service to follow. 

Back soon with more updates. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Greyhound Maestro – Results Update

11th November 2019

It’s been another solid month for Greyhound Maestro, with a profit of 10 points made since our last update.

That means they are now 44 points up for our trial overall.  

You can view full results here.

It would be good to find another profitable greyhound service as at the moment we only have one in the form of Premier Greyhound Tips from Betting Gods. Let’s see if they can keep up the good work. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Greyhound Maestro – Results Update

9th October 2019

Very little change for Greyhound Maestro since our last update, with just one point profit made over the last month.

That means they are now 34 points up for our trial overall. 

You can view full results here.

With around two bets per day on average it’s quite an easy service to follow and so far the results have held up well too so things looking good for the Greyhound Maestro. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Greyhound Maestro – Results Update

11th September 2019

It’s been a positive start to our trial of Greyhound Maestro, with 33 points profit made so far after one month.

You can view full results here.

Tips are normally sent out between 10 and 11am (UK time) and come with detailed write-ups. From those write-ups you can see they really know their stuff when it comes to the dogs. 

So far that knowledge is paying off nicely, let’s hope it continues. 

 

 

 

 

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Greyhound Maestro – New Review

8th August 2019

It’s been a while since we reviewed a greyhound service here at Honest Betting Reviews. That is mainly because there haven’t been any good ones to look at for quite some time. 

However, one worthy of attention has finally landed on our desk so we thought let’s give it a whirl.

The service in question is called Greyhound Maestro and it comes from the Bethub tipster platform. 

The dogs are an often overlooked gambling medium living under the shadow of their mightier cousin horse racing, but that lack of attention means there can be profitable angles to exploit and that seems to the case here. 

According to Bethub, the Maestro lives and breathes Dog Racing and can often be found giving his expert opinions on the couch on live TV meetings.

The Maestro was previously part of a well known tipping service platform and remains one of their top performing tipsters of all time. 

Certainly his record published on the Bethub website would appear to back that up, with 323 points profit made since January 2018 at a return on investment of 25%

The strike rate is also good at over 32% and they have shown admirable consistency with 14 out of 18 months having been profitable to date.

So this looks very promising and we are looking forward to getting a trial underway.

We will aim to run a standard three month trial and will report back here on how they are getting on.

In the meantime you can check out Greyhound Maestro for yourself here. 

 

 

 

 

golf ball

Golf Insider – New Review

Today we are starting a new trial of a top golf tipster who has an established and impressive long-term record. 

The tipster in question is the Golf Insider and they have been tipping since 2014, having made over 640 points profit since starting up. 

That has been achieved with an excellent return on investment of 27%, which is very good going over such a long period. 

They have landed some fantastic winners at massive prices, including:-

  • – Chris Kirk – WON at 125/1
  • – Rasmus Hojgaard – WON at 200/1
  • – Andrew Dodt – WON at 150/1
  • – Corey Conners – WON at 175/1
  • – Cameron Champ – WON at 150/1
  • – Hennie Otto – WON at 80/1
  • – Thomas Pieters – WON at 66/1
  • – Martin Kaymer – WON at 70/1

So as you can see some massive winners there. 

As a special bonus feature, new members now receive exclusive extra betting advice for the four golf Majors (US Masters, PGA Championship, US Open and Open Championship). 

These have done well, producing winners like Charley Hoffman at 90/1 in the first round leader market at the Masters and Erik Van Rooyen who was second at 125/1 in the Open at Carnoustie. 

All in all then this looks like a top service and it should be an interesting trial. 

As ever with golf services, the tricky part is having a big enough bank and being able to endure the inevitable losing runs, as when you are betting at odds of 100/1+ the drawdowns can be extensive, as we’ve experienced with some of the other golf services we’re reviewed. 

The flip side of course is that when they land a winner at 150/1 or more it is a fantastic feeling and makes it all worthwhile. 

So let’s hope we have more of the latter experiences than the former! 

Anyway, we will aim to carry out a six month trial here to ensure enough time for a proper look at the service and to hopefully see out the short-term ups and downs. 

We will update things here as the trial goes along so you can see how they are doing.

In the meantime you can check out the Golf Insider here.

 

 

 

 

caan berry

Caan Berry Trading Guide – Final Review

We have finished taking a look at Caan Berry’s Pre-Race Trading Guide and would like to provide a summary of our thoughts below. 

Trading guides and courses tend to be difficult to give definitive ratings on as it can depend so much on how you use the information, your own discipline and skill and so on. However, we will go through each aspect of the guide and provide our thoughts so you have a better idea of what it’s all about and then give our overall verdict on it. 

 

Who Is Caan Berry?

Caan Berry is one of the most famous Betfair traders. Having previously been in the army, Caan turned his attention to Betfair in 2009 and spent a great deal of time and effort learning how to trade effectively.

Having done so he apparently became very successful at it and went on to be featured on Betfair Learning, Betdaq Tips, BBC Radio 4, and in 2014 was featured by Betfair for their ‘pro traders’ campaign as well as being a recognised figure on the Betfair website. Mr Berry has also published a renowned book on sports trading. He currently has his own website featuring four trading courses, one of which is this is Pre-Race Trading Guide. 

 

What Do You Get With the Guide?

The Pre-Race Trading Guide comes in four main parts:-

  • – Basics – Correct Setup
  • – Main Guide
  • – Example video
  • – 2 x bonus videos

Looking at each of those in turn you have:-

1. Correct Setup

This part of the guide is in video form and shows you how to set up trading software from scratch. Caan uses Geeks Toy and goes through his own settings on that platform together with why he uses those settings. This section of the guide is useful for seeing exactly which menus, graphs and features Caan uses to help his trading and is certainly worth paying close attention to. You will also need to understand this for a lot of the information in the main guide to make sense. 

Caan even provides a settings zip file you can download and copy into your software which is very helpful, although as we say understanding why he uses those settings and what they mean is also important.

2. Main Guide

The main guide comes in the form of a 118 page document available to read within the website. It is a very comprehensive and detailed document and it will probably take a few readings to really grasp and understand everything in there.

 

In essence the guide covers how you should approach trading the pre-race markets and what to look for. This covers everything from:-

  • – How markets move and what affects them
  • – Things to watch for on TV (and how they affect the pre-race market)
  • – What times are best to trade
  • – What races are best to trade
  • – What style of trading is best suited to different types of race
  • – Which days are best to trade
  • – Price ranges and tick sizes
  • – Price-volume relationship
  • – Tools to use
  • – Live shows and TV channels
  • – Mentality, discipline and stakes
  • – Resistance points
  • – Trainers and jockeys

There is much more in the guide but those are some of the main themes. Essentially there isn’t a single strict methodology or set of rules to follow, it is more of a set of guidelines and advice and trying to help people understand how markets move and setting you up to potentially profit from them. 

3. Example Video

There then follows a video showing an example of Caan trading a particular type of race and where a particular jockey/trainer combo often leads to moves in the market. Caan makes £21.20 on this trade on Geeks Toy. 

4. Two Bonus Videos

Finally there are two extra videos, one covering another example of Caan trading a race before the off on Geeks Toy – this time more of a scalping opportunity rather than a swing trade and the other video covers mindset and discipline. 

 

Our Thoughts on the Guide

As we said at the start, it is often difficult to give definitive verdicts on trading courses because unless they provide a very strict methodology for trading – e.g. when these conditions are met, do this, then do that, etc – everyone will get different results depending on how much time they put in understanding the information, how much discipline they have whilst trading, their own aptitude for it and so on. 

This is certainly one of those courses that is more about guidelines and advice than a strict methodology. We would make an analogy to someone teaching you to fish – it is more like you are being given advice on what equipment to use, which rivers are best, what time of day to go, what to look for, which type of fish to focus on and what makes a good fisherman. It is up to you though to take the time to practice, learn and perfect the art of doing it consistently and make a success of it. 

The advice in the guide is very sound and logical and you can see that Caan understands markets very well. The things to look out for from a racing standpoint all make sense and should be things anyone with a reasonable knowledge of racing can follow. 

In terms of the actual trading examples and discussions, this is not for complete beginners and if you haven’t traded before we would recommend some beginners courses available on YouTube (e.g. Bet Angel have a good intro course) so you understand things like how the ladders work, how to put an order in, execute a trade etc. For regular traders it should be fairly straightforward to follow though.

One of the aspects discussed in the guide is the prevalence of certain jockeys and trainers to be gambled on and be good for trading, so it could benefit from listing those a little more comprehensively or at least point customers towards where they can find such info.

Other than that though we think this is a very sound guide and is definitely good value at just £45 when you consider some of the exorbitant and frankly ridiculous prices some people charge for trading courses these days.

Will it turn you into a successful trader and enable you to make a consistent profit? Well we couldn’t say that for sure, much of that will be up to the individual and how they choose to use the information. But we would say it is one of the better trading guides out there and well worth checking out if you want to learn from one of the best in the business and improve your pre-race trading.  

You can check out the Pre-Race Trading Guide here. 

 

 

 

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Caan Berry Trading Guide – New Review

22nd October 2019

One of the most famous Betfair traders is Caan Berry. Having previously been in the army, Caan turned his attention to Betfair in 2009 and spent a great deal of time and effort learning how to trade effectively.

Having done so he apparently became very successful at it and went on to be featured on Betfair Learning, Betdaq Tips, BBC Radio 4, and in 2014 was featured by Betfair for their ‘pro traders’ campaign as well as being a recognised figure on the Betfair website. Mr Berry has also published a renowned book on sports trading. 

Given his excellent reputation, we thought it would be a good idea to take some time looking at Caan’s trading courses and to see what we could learn. 

There are a few different ones to choose from, but we are going to start with the Pre-Race Trading Guide, which costs £39 and comes with:-

  • – Where to begin, how to get set up
  • – The understanding behind market limitations and characteristics
  • – How to best interpret streaming information and indicators within a live market environment
  • – Influencing forces and factors that cause market movement
  • – The 7 stages to market formation
  • – How to identify profitable situations, ready in anticipation to squeeze as much profit from them as possible
  • – Where to anticipate potential threats and dangers, avoiding them before they develop
  • – Practical methods to maximise trading efficiency
  • – Which tools are most helpful to read the market and why

All of which sounds pretty good and we are looking forward to checking this material out. Will it turn us into professional traders? Who knows, but hopefully there will be enough in there to point the way towards profits, which is all you can ask for really. 

So we will get the review underway and will report back in due course on how things are going. 

In the meantime you can check out Caan Berry’s Pre-Race Trading Guide here.